Fri 3/6/05
         
Club News Sheet – No. 135

Mon 
30th  
N-S 
1st
Jo/Kenneth
61%
2nd
Bill/Emil
60% 

Mon
E-W
1st
Derek/Gerard
59%
2nd
Hans/Ian
55% 

Wed 
1st   
1st 
Derek/Gerard
61%
2nd 
Hans/Ian
59%

Fri 
3rd     
1st = Jim/Richard (US)
56%
1st = Jo/Ian
56%

Bidding Quiz
            Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A you open 1( and LHO overcalls 1( and partner

bids 1(. (a) What do you bid?
( A964
( A107
(b) Suppose you choose 1( and partner bids 2(, what now?

( K
( A9
( J62
( AJ95
With Hand B you open 1NT and partner bids 2(. You respond
( AKJ76
( KJ53
2( which LHO overcalls with 2(. Partner now bids 2NT, what

do you do now?

Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C you open 1( and partner responds 1(, what do

you bid?
( J
( K7432



( AJ
( 764
With Hand D partner opens 2(, what do you do?
( A10954
( Q32



( AQJ97
( 64

Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E you are in 3rd seat at favourable vulnerability, 


what do you do?

( 104
( KQ9853


( Q108632
( J975
(a)
What do you open as dealer with Hand F?

( Q874
( 63

(b)
Suppose you pass and partner opens 2(. RHO doubles this,

( 6
( 2

what do you do now?

Editorial
There seems to be seems to be confusion about ‘our’ Bridge ‘club’. So let’s

clear it up, once and for all. Many moons ago ‘The Pattaya Bridge Club’ was 
set up by Barry Kenyon. It was a private enterprise and he ran it for a number of years. Barry put a lot of work into affiliating it to the Contract Bridge League of Thailand, registering it, and making sure that everything was legal etc. He sold ‘the club’ to me and the very reasonable price I paid was not just for a bag full of used cards and broken boards, but mainly for the name and the permission to play. I have since expanded the club and made a number of improvements. Just to mention a few: -
(a)
Barry would always play and had a regular partner. Anybody without a partner stood a 50% chance of being sent home. When I took over I changed the policy so that single individuals were encouraged to turn up and were never turned away (I don’t play if there’s an odd number and frequently play with a beginner).

(b)
We now play twice a week (Mon & Fri).

(c)
I also assist in the running of a Wednesday club.

(e)
We now have a news sheet (a lot of work), most ‘members’ really appreciate this.
(f)
We now have bidding boxes (very expensive and they need replacing periodically).

(g)
We regularly have a change of (high quality) playing cards as they also wear out. These cards certainly cost far more than the $1 a pack I heard quoted for inferior ACBL cards.
(h)
We now have far better boards, the original set were all broken.

(i)
I have made up movement cards for all movements to make it easier for everybody.

(j)
In the peak season we regularly have events where you get a free copy of all the hands at the end of the session. This involves considerable extra work (and cost) for me.
(k)
I have just obtained some fairly expensive software (Dealmaster-Pro) that will print out the hands and also indicate makeable contracts so you will soon get a printout at the end.

(l)
We have a web site (also very expensive) and will hopefully soon have the results (and full hands) put on the web the same evening and the news-sheet put up each week.
(m)
I give free lessons twice a week (10.30 – 12.00 on Wednesdays and Fridays) for players with some basic knowledge of the game.

(n)
I always bring along a few books and magazines that (almost) anybody can borrow.

(m)
We now have a far better, central location for all 3 clubs.
The club is run by me. Is that clear enough to everybody? If anybody has a problem with that then they know what they can do. Please don’t waste my time by harping on about a committee etc. It has proven not to work. And don’t sent me nasty e-mails, I will reply to comments (e-mail or whatever) in the news sheet, everybody is entitled to know what’s going on. And note that when the club first started the playing fee was 50 bht. 15 years later we have had numerous improvements but it’s still the same fee! About time it went up?
Dave runs the Wednesday club with my help. If anybody else is interested in helping to run that club (and maybe have a committee for just that club) then have a word with Dave. I have written a separate sheet about the Wednesday club with which Dave is in total agreement; anybody interested should read it. Currently the Wednesday club is under the ‘umbrella’ of ‘The Pattaya Bridge Club’ and is afforded the same privileges (legality, location etc.) and has the same ‘rules’ – single player are encouraged and virtually always guaranteed a partner. That necessarily means that anybody wishing to share in the running of that club would have to stand down and not play or play with a beginner when necessary.
If people don’t like the current situation (or don’t like me) then they have options. There is a ‘Dutch’ club that plays on Thursdays – I believe that you have to ‘book up’ and have a partner. There is also, I believe, a gathering on most Thursdays that is run by a woman in Jomtien; playing there is by invitation only and the woman has made a big point of not inviting me. Neither of these has any association with our club and they are probably illegal.

A weak jump shift?



Board 24 from Monday 30th 
Dealer:
( A964


West
( K
West

North(A)
East
South
Love all   
( J62
pass

1(



1(

1(
(1)

( AKJ76
pass

1(
(2)
pass

2(
(3)

pass

pass
(3)
all pass
( KJ3
 
N
( Q1075


( 9875
  W    E
( A2


( A5
S
( KQ1085
 

( 9852

( 104




( 82




( QJ10643





( 973
 



( Q3
(1) A weak jump shift (2() is an option here – but only if you have agreed it! Standard is that a jump (with or without an overcall) shows a good hand and a good suit.

(2) What did you bid with this North hand A(a) in this week’s quiz? It’s not good enough for a forcing 2( in my view and I bid 1(.

(3) And 2( is best here, it show a weak hand with good (’s.

(4) And what did you bid with the North hand A(b)? You have 16 points but it’s a mis-fit. Pass is correct.

And what happened? 3 pairs stopped in 2( making exactly for the shared top. 3( and 4( contracts were doubled and went down.

The bottom lines: -

· Stop a.s.a.p. with a known mis-fit.

Which contract?

West
East
Given the information that South has overcalled in (’s,


what contract would you like to be in with these cards?

( KQ85
( A107


( 864
( A9


( Q874
( AJ95


( Q8
( KJ53

Which contract – the complete deal


Board 3 from Wednesday 1st 

Looking at just the E-W cards and knowing that South has 5 (’s then 4( looks like the best try at game to me. Let’s see what happened at two tables: -
Dealer:
( 32

Table A
South
( Q53
West

North
East
South

E-W vul   
( 1063
-

-



-

pass

( A9764
pass

pass

1NT

pass
(1)


2(

dbl
(2)
pass (3)
pass
( KQ85
 
N
( A107
2NT

pass

3NT


all pass
( 864
  W    E
( A9


( Q874
S
( AJ95
Table B
( Q8

( KJ53

West
North


East(B)
South

( J964


-



-



-


pass

( KJ1072


pass


pass

1NT


pass
(1)

( K2
 

2(



pass

2(

2(
(4)


( 102

2NT
(5)
pass


3( (6)
pass

3(
(7)
pass


4(
(8)
all pass
Table A:
(1)
This hand is not good enough to make a noise.

(2) This double shows (’s and asks partner to lead a ( if he is on lead (most likely) against the final contract. I would like to have a much better suit for this action.

(3) East has two extra bids available now (pass and redouble) and it’s up to your partnership how you use them.

Table B:
(4)
Bidding here really is foolhardy. RHO has 15-17 and LHO has promised values (or at least 4 (’s). If South really wanted to bid with this hand then he should have done so at (1).

(5) Anyway, West now has a slight problem. He has the values for 2NT but no ( stop. So should he bid 2NT anyway? I think it’s OK as there really is no other option other than a rather dubious penalty double. And 2NT by West probably shows weakish (’s as otherwise he would double.

(6) But what did you bid with this East hand B in this week’s quiz? East has the values for 3NT but has only one ( stop. He needs help from partner in (’s and the thing to do in this sort of situation is to consult partner. 3( is the best bid here and asks partner for a (½) stop in (’s.

(7) West knows that East has something in (’s (he would not ask if he himself had nothing) and so West should bid 3NT with as little as (Qx, but he does not have that and so correctly bid 3(.

(8) And East has a shot at the only reasonable game, in the full knowledge that it was a Moysian fit.

And what happened? 3NT made at table A when a club was led. It went down at tables where the otherwise obvious ( was led. Unfortunately the (K was offside and the trumps broke 4-2 so the best contract of 4( was also defeated. The bottom lines: -

· Axxxx is not good enough to double for a lead.

-
The bid of the opponent’s suit generally asks for a stop (sometimes a ½ stop).

What’s your discard?



Board 20 from Wednesday 1st 
Dealer:
( AK10



South
( A109543
West

North
East
South

E-W vul   
( -
pass
(1)
1(



3(

4(
(2)

( 10754
all pass
( Q8
 
N
( J52


( 76
  W    E
( 82


( J85
S
( KQ1076432


( AKJ832

( -




( 97643




( KQJ



DUMMY(
( A9
 




( Q96



(1) A 1( opening is a reasonable alternative.
(2) South is in a bit of a spot here. Should he bid his 5 card ( suit? It’s a known 5-3 (at least) ( fit and I think that 4( is fine.

But this deal is not in print because of the bidding, but the play. 4 out of the 5 tables ended up in 4( or 5( by North, but only two managed 11 tricks. Fortunately for declarer East has no ( to lead and so led the (K. So (a) how should North play in order to avoid 3 ( losers, and what should he discard on the (A? And (b) how should he plan the subsequent play to make 11 tricks?
The answer (a) is that Declarer should discard the (10 from hand on the (A. Your plan is to subsequently discard 2 losing (’s on the ( suit – you can set up 2 ( winners in dummy if they split 3- 2 (most likely). But you do have to think ahead a little bit. If you draw 2 rounds of trumps, bang down the (AK and then cross to dummy with the last trump and ruff a (, you have set up the (’s but will not succeed as you have no entry back to dummy to cash the two remaining high (’s.
The answer (b) is to draw just one round of trumps before setting about the ( suit.

The bottom lines: - Plan out your play and preserve entries, even to the point of not drawing trumps if the trump suit is the only entry to dummy.
Enough is Enough



Board 10 from Wednesday 1st 
Dealer:
( A6543
West

North
East
South(C)
East
( K8
Kenneth
Emil
me
Bill
Both vul   
( 863
-

-



pass

1(

( K54
pass

1(

pass

2(
(1)

pass

2(
(2)
2(
(3)
2NT
(4)
( Q87
 
N
( K1092
pass

3(

(5)
pass


pass
(6)
( 10762
  W    E
( Q9543
pass
(7)
( K7
S
( QJ2


( 10632

( 8




( J




( AJ




( A10954
 





( AQJ97



(1) What did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? This is a 17 count and some would prefer to jump to 3( (game forcing in Standard American). But with partner bidding the singleton and with points in the short ( suit I think that 2( is fine, this is rarely passed as partner will usually give preference (or false preference) and you can then make a move that is non game forcing.
(2) This is simple preference and simply still shows 6+ points. I think it’s OK.

(3) Now East does not really have the values to come in here vulnerable, but both opponents have limited their hands, the (K looks good and partner must surely also have (’s.

(4) And I like this bid. This most definitely shows a good hand with a ( stop.

(5) But this is terrible. Partner has more (’s than (’s (or equal length) and North should convert to 3( holding a weak hand. But he is not holding a weak hand! – it’s a monster and he should clearly bid 3NT.

(6) Pass is clear here as partner has promised a minimum of only 6 or 7 points.

(7) And West knew that East was bidding West’s hand at (3) and so wisely did not compete. Also, of course, he knows that North’s 3( bid is probably very silly.
Now I don’t usually mention names but I’ll make an exception here as I cannot see that this North player will be playing here much longer. Before my partner had even led a card Emil was criticising Bill for not doubling 2(. Saying loads of rubbish like after a ( lead then they score 3 trump tricks so it’s a glorious massacre. I can’t see that 200 is sufficient compensation for the 600 available in 3NT. And Emil continued to harp on about it during the play – his own appalling bid was not mentioned of course.
And what happened? 3NT was bid and made at most tables. 

Bill came up to me later and said he had finally had enough and could take it no more -    I had told him a few weeks earlier that he did not need to put up with the abusive comments from Emil and that I could easily find him another partner.

The same cannot be said of Emil. I somewhat doubt that anybody in the club would wish to partner him. Any offers?

I will amend the club ‘rules’ to say that single players will ‘usually’ be found a suitable partner. Sometimes it may simply not be possible.

Return Partner’s Suit



Board 24 from Friday 3rd 

I was asked to write up this deal as declarer played it well and other pairs went down. Upon investigation it appears that all declarers probably played it well, but the defence slipped up at the table where 3NT made with an overtrick.

Dealer:
( 104
West

North
East
South
West
( K843
pass

pass
2NT
(1)
pass

Love all   
( Q63
3NT
(2)
all pass




( K865


( Q32
 
N
( A85


( 7
  W    E
( AJ102


( J10842
S
( AK5


( J932

( A74




( KJ976



       ↑
( Q965



DUMMY
( 97
 




( Q10



(1) This East hand is totally flat, but the excellent top cards and the J10 combination in a 4 card suit make it well worth a 2NT (20-21) opener.
(2) And in this situation (and most others) you don’t mention a minor suit – simply bid 3NT.

But this deal is another that is not in print for the bidding but the play. South led the (7 (4th highest), how should East play the hand?

You could try the (Q from dummy and then the (J. If North covers then you have an easy 9 tricks. But most players at this club know (I hope) not to cover touching honours and if North correctly holds up with the (Q then East is cut off from the (’s and will go down as he gets just 3 ( tricks.

Declarer’s best shot is to preserve the (Q in

( 4
dummy and play low at trick one. North plays

( K843
the (10 and East’s (A wins. Declarer now 


( -
bangs down the (AK and North wins the 3rd  

( K865
round with the (Q. 


( Q3
 
N
( 85
Now comes crunch time. What should North 

( 7
  W    E
( AJ102
lead? He knows that dummy’s (’s are good

( J10
S
( -
and that the (Q is probably an entry (unless

( J932

( A74
partner started with 6 (’s). So at one table he 


( KJ96

looked at dummy’s singleton ( and led one.

       ↑
( Q65

Declarer then comfortably made his contract 

DUMMY
( -
 
(+1). There are various clues for North to work


( Q10


out that a ( return is necessary. First of all, the 

(7 lead promises 3 higher cards and so a ( 
return will set up at least two (’s for South. But probably even more important is that N-S must have a signalling system. South discarded the (9 and that demanded a ( return when you play Lavinthal (McKenny).

Raise Partner’s Pre-empt – part 1


Board 2 from Friday 3rd 

Dealer:
( A2



East
( A
West(E)
North
East(F)
South

N-S vul   
( AKJ102
-

-



pass
(1)
pass

( AKJ87
2(
(2)
dbl
(3)
4(
(4)
pass
(5)

pass

dbl
(6)
pass

pass
(7)
( 104
 
N
( KQ9853
pass
( Q108632
  W    E
( J975


( Q874
S
( 63


( 6

( 2




( J76




( K4




( 95
 





( Q109543



(1)
What did you do with this East hand F(a) in this week’s quiz? Of course East should not open a weak 2( when holding a 4 card ( suit and pass is correct.

(2)
What did you do with this West hand E in this week’s quiz? In 3rd seat at favourable vulnerability ‘anything goes’ and I would certainly (did) open 2( here. 
(3)
Normally one should have 4 (’s for a double of 2(. The exception is when you have a very good hand, and this certainly is a very good hand.

(4)
What did you do with this East hand F(b) in this week’s quiz? There is absolutely no point in mentioning the (’s as you have a known 6-4 ( fit. So raise partner to the limit so that it’s difficult for the opponents to find their level/fit.
(5) And see what I mean, it would be a bold (reckless?) South who bid 5( here.

(6)
And North is now in a spot. Double is again for take-out but since it’s at the 4 level it’s quite likely to be passed out. 5( may be better than double here?
(7)
South should probably bid 5(, but that’s easy to say when looking at all 4 hands.

And what happened? 4( doubled went 3 down for 500 away. But this was little compensation for the 6( (+1 = 1390) bid at two other tables. The 4th table even bid a somewhat speculative 7( for 2140.
The bottom lines: -

· You can shade your pre-empts in 3rd seat, especially with favourable vulnerability.

· Always raise partner’s pre-empt to the limit at you first opportunity.

Raise Partner’s Pre-empt – part 2


Board 22 from Friday 3rd 

Dealer:
( 965
West(D)
North
East
South
East
( KQ52
-

-
2(
(1)
pass

E-W vul   
( A4
3(
(2)
dbl



pass

pass
(3)


( AK93
pass

( K7432
 
N
( AJ


( 764
  W    E
( 9


( Q32
S
( KJ10985


( 64

( 107




( Q108




( AJ8




( 76
 





( QJ852



(1) At this vulnerability (unfavourable) this East hand is about right for a weak two. Note the difference between this good hand/suit and the rubbish hand that opened a weak two non-vul in 3rd seat on the previous page.

(2) What did you bid with this West hand D in this week’s quiz? With 3 (’s (and so 9 combined trumps) the Law says to compete do the 3 level, so that’s what I did.

(3) And the 3 level now poses a problem for North. Should he bid 3NT or double and risk going past 3NT?

(4) And a bid at the 3 level posed a problem for this South after North’s double. With no 4 card major the only real choice is 4(, but that goes past 3NT. In the end he chose to pass.

And what happened? 3( doubled made, but even one down would have been a bottom for N-S as one pair were in the top spot of 3NT (+1) and the other two were in 5( making.

The bottom lines: - Always raise partner’s pre-empt to the limit at you first opportunity. Even a small nudge from 2( to 3( may be enough to make it difficult for the opposition.

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
(a)
1(. It’s not good enough for a forcing 2(. 
(b) Pass. It’s a mis-fit so stay low.

Hand B:
3(. Partner has invitational values with 4 (’s. What’s more you know that he does not have great (’s (he would have doubled for penalties) but he may have something like (Kx or (Qx. So bid 3( to ask him. If he denies a ( feature then the known 4-3 ( fit may well play very nicely and you can bid 4(.

Hand C:
2(. Some may prefer a (game forcing) 3( but I prefer a simple 2(. This is rarely passed and so you can often make an effort later.

Hand D:
3(. With 9 combined trumps raise the pre-empt immediately.
Hand E:
2(. In 3rd seat, non-vul against vul opponents I would open a (very) weak 2(. Hand F:
(a)
Pass. Do not pre-empt with a 4 card major.


(b)
4(. Raise partner’s pre-empt to the limit immediately - before the opponents have a chance to exchange information.
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9

