27th  Aug 2005
Club News Sheet – No. 147


Mon 
22nd   N-S
1st
Bill/Dave

59%
2nd
Paul/Chris
53% 

Mon 
22nd   E-W
1st
Kenneth/John

63%
2nd
Bob/Monte
54% 

Wed  
24th 

1st 
Kenneth/John
60%

2nd
Bob/Monte
57%
Fri1  
26th 

1st 
Clive/Ken
63%
2nd
Bob/Dave
55%

Editorial

The news-sheet is free* to club members and to visitors to the Monday or Friday sessions. It cost me some money and a lot of time to produce and I do not appreciate seeing copies torn up, sat upon, and/or scribbled on and discarded at the club. If you want any scrap paper – to write something on or whatever, then simply look in my suitcase where there are always loads of spare papers (under where the boards are kept) – or simply ask me.

Bidding Quiz
     
Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A RHO opens 1( after two passes, what do you do?
( K8432
( J82
With Hand B partner opens 1( and RHO overcalls a weak 2(.
( AK74
( 1082

What do you do?
( 865
( Q105
( K
( A1062


With Hand C it is unfavourable vulnerability. Partner opens 1( 
Hand C
Hand D
and RHO overcalls 1(, what do you do?
( AQ107
( 963
With Hand D partner opens 1(, what do you bid if: -


( J1093
( QJ9
(a)
RHO passes?


( 73
( Q65 
(b)
RHO overcalls 1(?



( 974
( Q732
(c)
RHO overcalls 1(?


Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E partner opens 1NT, what do you do?

( KQ73
( A752
With Hand F RHO opens 1(. 
( 953
( 876
(a)
What do you do?
( J9642
( AQ45
(b)
Suppose you double, then what do you do when partner 
( 5
( KQJ

jumps to 3(?
Hand G
Hand H
With Hand G LHO opens 3( and this is passed round to you.



What do you do?

( 4
( A8
( AK3
( A108432
( AJ54
( K
With Hand H partner opens 1(, what do you bid?
( AKQ95
( AK98

Play 4th suit forcing as a game force
Board 24 from Monday 22nd 
Dealer:
( 10942
Table A
West
( KJ75
West

North
East(H)
South
Love all   
( 973
1(

pass


1(
pass

( 74
1(


pass
2(
(1)
pass

2(

(2)
pass

3(
(3)
all pass

( KQJ7
 
N
( A8


( 9
  W    E
( A108432
Table B
( A10865
S
( K
West

North
East(H)
South
( QJ6

( AK98
1(

pass

2(
(4)
pass

( 653

2NT
(5)
pass
4(
(6)
pass


( Q6

4(


pass

5(


pass

( QJ42
 
5(


pass
6(

pass




( 10532
6NT

all pass
Table A
(1)
I don’t know if this was intended as natural or not; I would play it a 4th suit forcing. Some play that a jump in the 4th suit (so 3( here) is natural (and forcing).
(2) With a ( stop I would bid 2NT here.
(3) Now this jump to 3( would probably not be forcing if it was made at (1), but I like to play 4th suit forcing is forcing to game (it really does make subsequent bidding easier). So I would bid just 2( here, but this pair really have to sort out if they play 4th suit forcing or not. And if 2( at (1) was simply natural then is 3( here forcing?
Table B
(4)
What did you bid with this East hand H in this week’s quiz? This East solved all rebid problems by making a strong jump shift; this is game forcing. However, I don’t really like it with this hand as I would prefer a much
more robust suit. 
(5)
Partner’s bid has (virtually) ruled out (’s and so I think 2NT is OK here. 2( is equally good.
(6)
Now East has set up a game forcing situation, but this is a very common mistake – leaping off to the ace ask prematurely. East has two options here - 3( or 3( and should bid one of them to find out if partner has any sort of ( support. And even a quantitative 4NT is not too bad a bid, but simply charging into an impossible slam is not good bidding.

And what happened? 6NT was one down. All of the other tables were in 3NT or 4NT making the obvious 11 tricks.
The bottom lines: -

· Take it slowly in a game forcing situation – don’t charge into the ace-ask prematurely.

· A strong jump shift should be a good hand with a good (virtually self-sufficient) suit.

· Check if you and your partner both play 4th suit forcing.

· In my opinion it’s easiest to play 4th suit forcing as a game force.

· With 30-32 combined points, you generally need a good long suit or a fit to make slam, obviously a long suit with two (or three) losers is of no use.
1NT or a negative double?

Board 15 from Wednesday 24th 
Dealer:
( J5


South
( 862
West

North
East(A)
South(C)
N-S vul   
( AJ94
-


-


-

pass


( AQ83
pass


1(
(1)
1(
(2)
1NT
(3)

pass


pass

2(
(4)
dbl
( 96
 
N
( K8432
2(

pass

pass



dbl
( Q5
  W    E
( AK74
all pass
( KQ102
S
( 865


( J10652

( K



( AQ107





( J1093




( 73
 






( 974


(1)
I prefer 1( when 4-4 in the minors but it’s not that important.
(2)
What did you bid with this East hand A in this week’s quiz? It’s worth a noise but double is wrong with two-suiters (you’re stuck if partner responds 2(). It’s not that good a ( suit but either 1( or a Michaels 2( would be my choice.
(3)
What did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? Now this really is an interesting one as there are three very sensible options. You can pass, await partner’s double, and then pass that; but the vulnerability is wrong if partner has a decent hand. Or you can double (negative) to show your 4 (’s; but then you will never get to NT if that is correct (quite likely with these (’s sitting over the overcaller). Or you can simply bid 1NT. Now 1NT here shows some values (with a minimum 6-7 count you can always pass as partner has another bid if he has a good hand). I was South and chose 1NT.

(4)
What would you bid here? Even at this vulnerability it is dangerous to bid as South has shown a quite decent hand with (’s. Pass is the prudent option.

And what happened? 2( doubled was two down and the 300 to N-S was a complete top. One other East got to 2( and another to 2( but neither was doubled – was South asleep? And another South bid 2NT – that’s was too high and surely he could have doubled East?

The bottom lines: -

· When partner opens and  RHO overcalls then 1NT by you shows a decent hand.

· Bidding again having heard LHO respond 1NT over your original overcall is sticking your neck out.

· Don’t bid 2NT with insufficient values if you can make a penalty double.

Hand D
Let me just expand the theme about only bidding 1NT after an overcall when 


you have something to say. Partner has opened 1(, what did you bid with this 

( 963
hand D in the quiz?
( QJ9
(a)
If RHO passes then you have to bid, and so 1NT is correct. 

( Q65
(b)
If RHO overcalls 1( then 1NT is reasonable (some would pass).


( Q732
(c)
But if RHO overcalls 1( then you should pass. You have a minimum with no ( stop.
Garbage Stayman

Board 12 from Wednesday 24th 
I was asked by East to write this one up. I’m not sure if it was because of his good bidding or his partner’s play?
Dealer:
( -


West
( AJ106
West

North
East(E)
South

N-S vul   
( Q875
1NT

pass


2(
(1)
pass


( Q10632
2(


all pass


( AJ82
 
N
( KQ73


( K87
  W    E
( 953
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand E
( A10
S
( J9642

in this week’s quiz? My preferred version
( K984

( 5

of Stayman is ‘Garbage Stayman’. So East

( 109654

does not need invitational values as he is

( Q42

going to pass any response.

( K3
 





( AJ7


But the play was perhaps the most interesting point on this hand. N-S quickly wrapped up one ( trick and three ( tricks (an initial ( lead and (Q from South). North then switched to a low ( and so he’s going to score his (Q after West won with the (A. But how many trumps do you expect South to make in this resulting position, with West on lead? : -


( -
The answer is none! West correctly led a 


( 6
small ( to dummy and won the (K. A small


( Q87
DUMMY
( was then led to North. The ( return was 


( Q1062              (
ruffed and then a top ( from dummy left


South powerless. He ruffed with the (10

( AJ82
 
N
( KQ73
and West overruffed. West then ruffed another
( -
  W    E
( -

( with the (Q and another top ( from
( 10
S
( J964

table meant curtains for South. West had the
( K98

( -

(A8  and a top (  sitting over South’s (96.

( 109654

 

( -

And what happened at other tables? E-W


( 3

scored just above average as at another table

( J7

it was South in 2( (doubled) going for 800.
The bottom lines: -
Garbage Stayman
You can bid 2( Stayman without invitational values provided that you can cope with any response. There are two hand types where you can bid this ‘Garbage Stayman’: -
(a) 4441 type hands with short (’s (this one was 4351 which is acceptable as even a
4-3 ( fit should play better than 1NT.

(b)
54xx or 45xx type hands (9 cards in the majors) where you bid 2(, pass a major suit response and convert 2( into 2 of your 5 card major.
Bid first time or later?

Board 1 from Wednesday 24th 

I was also asked about this one, in particular what North should do.
Dealer:
( J82
Table A
North
( 1082
West

North(B)
East
South

N-S vul   
( Q105
-


pass


pass

1(

( A1062
2(
(1)
pass
(2)
pass

3(
(3)

pass


3(
(4)
3(
(5)
pass
( KQ9653
 
N
( 74
pass

4(

(6)
pass
( Q3
  W    E
( A96


( J6
S
( K743


( QJ7

( K985




( A10




( KJ754




( A982
 





( 43


(1) A weak jump overcall… 
(2) … that makes life difficult for North. I was asked what he should bid – what did you bid with this North hand B in this week’s quiz? There are just two sensible options, pass or 3(. Now sometimes you have to stretch when there is an overcall, but for me 3( is too much of a stretch. I would pass and then bid 3( over partner’s expected re-opening double (playing negative doubles). Life really is easier for North if playing negative doubles as he knows he has a chance to bid again without showing values that he does not have.
(3) Perhaps this pair don’t play negative doubles? Anyway, South decided to bid his (’s.

(4) And North obviously gives preference.

(5) But now East entered the lists. He has a reasonable hand (for either offence or defence) and the (Axx now look good (partner is presumably short).

(6) But this really is pushing it. North explained that he thought South must be very short in (’s if East has 3 (’s. But that does not really hold water, with 3 (’s East would (should) have raised to 3( at the first go. No, 4( is an overbid here; I would pass at teams scoring and double at pairs.

And what happened? 4( went two down, so 100 for a good score to E-W. This was only beaten by the E-W pair who were allowed to play in 2( (110).

Editorial

The web-site is now fully functional. I’m getting the hang of it now and I think it’s pretty decent for an absolute computer novice who only got the hang of e-mails and google 3 months ago! It is www.pattayabridge.com of course. Feel free to give me any comments/ suggestions/ improvements. You cannot write to the site, but you can e-mail or give me anything that you would like me to consider putting up.

Double with a flat hand? – part 1

Board 18 from Friday 26th 

Now regular readers of the news-sheets will know that I say that a take-out double is generally playable in the other three suits, and not to double when holding a flat hand. Now this is generally excepted, and with a flat hand you should get another go if partner knows about balancing. But there is a limit; and the limit is around 15-16 points. With a hand of this strength or more which is unsuitable for NT (no stop) then you really have to double.

Dealer:
( 4
Table A

East
( AK3
West

North(G)
East
South

N-S vul   
( AJ54
-


-


3(

pass


( AKQ95
pass


4(
(1)
pass

5(
(2)


all pass

( 8
 
N
( AJ107653


( J95
  W    E
( 864

Table B

( KQ82
S
( 63

West

North(G)
East
South

( J10832

( 7

-


-

3(

pass


( KQ92

pass


dbl
(1)
pass

4(
(3)


( Q1072

all pass


( 1097





( 64


Table A
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand G in this week’s quiz? Now normally it’s best to have 4 (’s but this hand is certainly playable in (’s (a Moysian fit will play very well when you can take a ruff in the 3-trump hand and have the top trumps. 

(2) And this shows why 4( is such a bad bid. South cannot bid 4( now (North has denied reasonable (’s) and a 4( bid here would show 5 decent (’s. And the bidding has gone past 3NT and 3( doubled so South is out of good bids.

Table B
(1)
This North correctly doubled.

(2) And South simply cannot go wrong!! Pass, 3NT or 4(  - he’s spoilt for choice.

And what happened? 5( was 2 down. 4( was reached at the other two tables.

The bottom lines: -

· You can sometimes double a major suit opening if you have 3 good cards in the other major. It’s nice to have 4 but 3 is acceptable with a good hand.

Double with a flat hand? – part 2
Board 24 from Friday 26th 

Dealer:
( A752
Table A
West
( 876
West

North(F)
East
South

Love all   
( AQ45
1(

pass
(1)
pass

pass

( KQJ
( 10964
 
N
( QJ3
Table B
( AKQ94
  W    E
( 2

West

North(F)
East


South
( 6
S
( 985

1(


dbl
(1)
pass
3(
(2)
( A64

( 987532

pass


3NT
(3)
all pass

( K8




( J1053

‘Expert Table’

( KJ10732
 
West


North(F)
East

South




( 10
1(

dbl
(1)
pass


3(
(2)

pass

3(
(3)
pass


3NT




all pass
Table A
(1)
This is poor. What did you bid with this North hand F(a) in this week’s quiz? Double is clear with this hand, especially as it has 4 (’s.

Table B
(1)
This North correctly chose to double.

(2) A jump in a suit after partner’s take-out double shows around 8-10 points, so this bid is just fine.

(3) What did you bid with this North hand F(b). This North assumed that South must have something in (’s and so bid 3NT. But there really is a better solution – see ‘Expert Table’.

‘Expert’
(3)
What North should really do is bid 3( - asking partner if he has a ( stop. In this particular case N-S have a ( stop whoever is declarer – but if South has something like (Kx then it is imperative that South is declarer.
The bottom lines: -

· If you have 15+ points and RHO opens at the one level, then you really should say something. With a stop in the suit bid a 1NT may be best; with no stop and no 5 card suit to overcall, then double is probably best.

· A jump response to a take-out double is around 8-10 points.

· If you have no stop in the opponent’s suit but feel that NT may be the best spot, then cue bid the opponent’s suit to ask partner if he has a stop.

Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A:
1( or 2( (Michaels). You do not have (’s and so should not double. Pass is an option but I would make a noise with this hand. It’s not that good a suit but a 1( overcall is reasonable and the only other reasonable option is 2( - showing a weak hand with 9 cards in the majors.

Hand B:
Pass. Hopefully you are playing negative doubles and you expect partner to re-open with a double which you will then convert to 3(. Now this does not show any values, but it is better than overbidding by making a noise now.

Hand C:
There are three reasonable options here: -


1.
dbl
- negative, showing 4 (’s.


2.
1NT
- showing about 8-9 points with at least 1 ( stop.


3.
pass
- intending to pass partner’s (automatic) double for penalties


At this vulnerability I think it’s one of the first two options and since the (’s are so much better than the (’s I think that 1NT is best.


Hand D:
(a)
1NT

(b) pass or 1NT, borderline. You do not have to bid but you do have a good ( stop.

(c) Pass. With a minimum and no ( stop you are under no obligation to bid. A bid of 1NT after an overcall should show a decent 8-10, hopefully with a stop.

Hand E:
2(, and pass any response. This is called ‘Garbage Stayman’.

Hand F
(a)
dbl. 16 points is too many to pass.


(b)
3(. It looks like there will be loads of ( tricks in 3NT, provided that partner has a ( stop – so ask him. Note that it’s best for partner to be declarer in a possible 3NT as something like (Kx is not a stop if you are declarer.

Hand G:
dbl. You do not mind if partner bids 4( as a Moysian fit should play well with these top (’s. And double also leaves room for partner to bid 3NT or pass for penalties – both of which you would be perfectly happy with. A 4( bid here is poor as it is unlikely to lead to a good contract.

Hand H:
1(. I prefer a much better suit for a strong jump shift to 2(.
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