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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

15th Nov 2009
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club. 
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 9th  
N-S 
1st
Lars B & Lars G
63%
2nd  
Janne & Richard
55%


E-W
1st
Hans & Paul Sc
56%
2nd 
Sigurd & Tom
54%
Wed 11th 
N-S 
1st
Mike Wiss & Paul Q
60%
2nd 
Lars b & Jean
56%


E-W 
1st
Janne & Per-Ake
65%
2nd 
Hans V & Royd
58%

Fri  13th 
N-S 
1st
Janne & Lars B
56%
2nd 
Tomas & Dave
55%


E-W 
1st
Kristen & Richard M
57%
2nd =
 Gerry Cohen & Terje Loee
56%






      = Ian Wheeldon & Knud
56%

Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A LHO opens a Multi 2♦, partner passes and RHO bids 2♥. This is passed round to partner who bids 2♠. RHO
♠ K1062
♠ Q
doubles, what do you do?  So:   
2♦    pass
2♥
pass

♥ 3
♥ AK87





pass   2♠
dbl
   ?

♦ QJ75
♦ J1092


♣ 7652
♣ Q653
With Hand B it’s unfavourable vulnerability.


(a) Do you open?


(b) If so, what do you open? And what is your rebid when partner 

bids 1♠?
Bidding Sequence Quiz
C
2♥
2♠
dbl

2♥ is weak. What is the double – negative or penalties?

D
1NT
pass
2♣
pass
2♣ is Stayman, what is 4♣ - ace ask, keycard ask or a splinter?


2♠
pass
4♣

and what would 4NT by responder be – ace ask or quantitative?
Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1949.2 Janne Roos 
1924.0 Hans Vikman 
1891.4 Paul Quodomine 
1804.7 Sally Watson 
1734.7 Ivy Schlageter 
1725.8 Bob Short

1721.4 Bob Pelletier 
1721.3 Paul Scully
	690.6 Janne Roos
682.1 Hans Vikman
659.1 Paul Quodomine
636.6 Sally Watson
631.2 Per-Ake Roskvist

625.4 Jeremy Watson

625.0 Per Andersson

623.0 Lars Broman

621.4 Guttorm Lonborg 

619.7 Ivy Schlageter
	355.2 Janne Roos
351.7 Hans Vikman
337.1 Paul Quodomine
332.6 Per-Ake Roskvist
329.8 Per Andersson

326.0 Sally Watson

325.4 Jeremy Watson

325.3 Ivy Schlageter 

321.7 Bob Short

321.5 Lars Broman


Balance with a double

Board 15 from Wednesday 11th   
Two examples from the same deal!
Dealer:
♠ KJ86

Table A
South
♥ J103

West

North
East
South(B)
N-S vul
♦ A83

-


-

-

pass
(1)

♣ 1082

pass


pass

1♦

pass



1♠

pass

2♠

dbl
(2)
♠ 9753
N
♠ A1042

pass

3♥
(3)
dbl

all pass
♥ 94
W
E
♥ Q652
 

♦ Q76
S
♦ K54
Table B
♣ AJ74

♣ K9

West
North
East

South(B)
♠ Q


-


-

-

1♣
(1)
♥ AK87

pass


1♠

pass

1NT
(4)

♦ J1092
 
pass


pass

dbl
(5)
pass
♣ Q653



2♦
(6)
pass

pass
dbl
(7)
all pass
Table A:
(1)
Did you open with this South hand B in this week’s quiz? It’s 12 points but the singleton ♠Q is poor. However, the ♦J109x are worth more than 1 point and so it’s very marginal. This South chose to pass, fine.
(2) Having not opened, South has a problem. He has the ‘ideal’ shape for a balancing double – the only problem is that it asks partner to bid at the three level, vulnerable, and there may even be no fit. Note that I call this a ‘balancing’ double – it is not strictly balancing as it is not the pass-out seat, but LHO is already limited and it’s actually an Advance Balance.
(3) North is totally fixed of course. 

Table B:
(1)
This South decided to open, but what did you open with this hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? Some would open 1♦ and rebid 2♣ over 1♠, but I believe that with 4441 type shape you should always open your lowest suit and if 1444 (so open 1♣) and partner bids 1♠, then respond 1NT. It’s not perfect as partner will normally expect a doubleton, but it’s the best lie.

(4) The best lie, the ♠Q should be a good card now.
(5) Unlike the double at (2) above, this hand is not a good shape for a balancing double (implying the red cards).

(6) This time it’s West who is fixed. After some thought the 2♦ card appeared.

(7) South had seen East’s bidding before and ‘table presence’ indicated that he should double; that ♦J109x are now surely worth a lot more than one point!

And what happened? 3♥* went one down for 200 and the E-W top. 2♦* went for 300 and the N-S top. The common result was 1NT(S) +1 or +2. No E-W pair played in ♠’s and so I suspect that most South’s did indeed open.
The bottom line:

-
Be wary of balancing over 2♠ when vulnerable as it invites partner to bid at the three level. This deal demonstrates that it may sometimes be safer to open a shade light rather than come in later.
Why play in 2♠ doubled if you can play in 3♠ doubled?

Board 26 from Monday 9th  

Dealer:
♠ QJ3

West

North
East(A)
South
East
♥ 82

-


-

-

2♦
(1)
Both vul
♦ AK109

pass


2♥
(2)
pass

pass
(3)

♣ KQ43

2♠


dbl
(4)
3♠
(5)
pass
pass

dbl
(6)
all pass
♠ A9874
N
♠ K1062
 
♥ Q1094
W
E
♥ 3
(1)
Multi 

♦ 84
S
♦ QJ75
(2)
Relay – nothing to say
♣ A8

♣ 7652
(3)
Weak with ♥’s
♠ 5

(4)
Penalties – a dubious bid.


♥ AKJ765
(5)
Apparently not caring what the double meant
♦ 632
(6)
Penalties – a dubious bid.


♣ J109

And what happened? Deep Finesse says that 2♠ is the limit, but West made up for his partner’s poor bid by actually making the contract.
The bottom lines:

· When a pre-emptive bid is overcalled and the overcall is doubled, then it’s penalties.

Dave’s Column
Here is Dave’s first input on the play of the hand.
West
East

♠ K8653
♠ A1072
 

♥ AK54
♥ QJ3


♦ A95
♦ K1063
 

♣ 8
♣ AJ

East ends up as declarer in 6♠ and South leads the ♣3
The play proceeds:

Trick 1: ♣3, ♣8, ♣Q, ♣A

Trick 2: ♠2, ♠9, ♠K, ♠4

Trick 3: ♠3, ♠J, ♠A, ♣7

Trick 4: ♣J, ♣K, ♠5, ♣5

Tricks 5-7 ♥Q then ♥J then ♥K with all following.

What should East do now?

Dave’s Column answer

Board 10 from Wednesday 11th   
Dealer:
♠ QJ4



Book bidding
East
♥ 987

West

North
East

South
both vul
♦ 82

-


-

1NT

pass

♣ Q9654


2♣
(1)
pass

2♠

pass

4♣
(2)
pass

4♦
(3)
pass
♠ K8653
N
♠ A1072
 
4♥
(3)
pass

4♠

pass
♥ AK54
W
E
♥ QJ3

5♦
(3)
pass

6♣
(3)
pass
♦ A95
S
♦ K1063
 
6♠

all pass
♣ 8

♣ AJ

 

♠ 9


(1)
This is better than a transfer when 4-5 or 5-4 
♥ 1062

 
in the majors
♦ QJ74



(2)
A splinter. This would have to be agreed as 
♣ K10732



many would play it as Gerber.
(3)
Cue bid.

The play proceeds:




Trick 1: ♣3, ♣8, ♣Q, ♣A

Trick 2: ♠2, ♠9, ♠K, ♠4

Trick 3: ♠3, ♠J, ♠A, ♣7

Trick 4: ♣J, ♣K, ♠5, ♣5

Tricks 5-7 ♥Q then ♥J then ♥K with all following.

East has an unavoidable trump loser and so must somehow avoid losing a ♦. How would you continue?
South is known to have started with one ♠, three ♥’s, and thus nine cards in the minors. The lead of the ♣3 indicates that he holds no more than 5 ♣’s and therefore North can have no more than two ♦’s. Cash the ♦A and lead a ♦ towards the ♦K. If North ruffs he will have to give you a ruff and discard. If he could ruff but does not then win the ♦K and play a trump. North  will win but again have to give you a ruff and discard. Should North follow to the 2nd ♦, as here, win the ♦K and play a trump for the same endplay.
Note that without the information about the ♣ distribution provided by South’s normal lead, declarer might simply exit with a trump after the third round of ♥’s. That would work if the ♦ honours were split .

Terry note. This assumes 4th best leads against suit contracts which not everybody plays. Many at our club simply play low promises an honour and many more play 1-3-5. Also, since East is known to hold the ♣A is a ♣ lead best? 
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 6♠= three times, 4♠+2 twice,4♠+1, 6♠-1 four times.
Dave’s 2nd Column
Here is Dave’s second problem on the play of the hand.
North
South
You are North, declarer in 6♠ after East has 
♠ AQJ10742
♠ K53

overcalled in ♥’s and West shown ♣’s and ♥’s.
♥ A10
♥ 8

West leads the ♥K, plan the play.


♦ 653
♦ QJ10972

♣ 8
♣ AQ9


Dave’s 2nd Column answer

Board 11 from Wednesday 11th
Dealer:
♠ AQJ10742



Book Bidding
South
♥ A10

West

North
East

South
Love all
♦ 653

-


-

-

1♦

♣ 8


pass

1♠

2♥

2♠
(1)
4♣
(2)
4NT
(3)
5♥

5♠
(4)
♠ 6

N
♠ 98

pass

6♠
all pass
♥ J976
W
E
♥ KQ5432

 
♦ A84
S
♦ K
(1)
If playing Support Doubles, South would

♣ KJ532

♣ 10764


double to show exactly three ♠’s.
♠ K53


(2)
A Fit Jump, showing ♣’s and ♥ support.

♥ 8
 
(3)
A 4♥ cue bid may be preferable to bidding 
♦ QJ10972
 
RKCB with a wide open ♦ suit.
♣ AQ9

(4)
2 keycards without the ♠Q playing DOPI.
One glance at dummy and you know that you are in significant trouble in 6♠. Against top level company one declarer did bring home 12 tricks. Can you find a way to do so after the ♥K lead?
You know that you cannot make the contract but the opponents do not know that. The question is whether you can play the hand in such a way as to induce an opposition error?

In the 2004 Olympiad Open Teams, the datum was North-South 340, an indication that a number of pairs were too high in ♠’s . In the Denmark vs Egypt match both N-Ss reached the hopeless 6♠. Denmark was duly one down but Waleed El Ahmady of Egypt showed that you should never say die.
He won the ♥A and, recognizing the problem, quickly played the ♠A and ♠J to dummy’s ♠K. Then came the ♦2 from dummy. Thinking that East had the ♠Q, West was afraid that North might have the ♦K singleton. West therefore rose with the ♦A and the slam was home.

Although West might have judged the situation more precisely, full marks to declarer for creating the illusion in West’s mind. Note the play in trumps to suggest that East had the ♠Q.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Sensible bidding! with only one pair bidding 6♠ and going down one. The other eight North’s were all in 4♠+1.
Leading Quiz



Board 9 from Wednesday 11th
Dealer:
♠ J1042



West

North
East

South

North
♥ QJ2

-


pass

pass

pass
E-W vul
♦ J7

1♠


pass

2♥

pass

♣ A864


2♠

pass

pass

dbl
(1)

3♠

all pass
You are North, on lead against 3♠. Partner’s protective double promised the minors, what do you lead? and what do you definitely not lead?

Leading Quiz answer



Board 9 from Wednesday 11th
Dealer:
♠ J1042



West

North
East

South

North
♥ QJ2

-


pass

pass

pass
E-W vul
♦ J7

1♠


pass

2♥

pass

♣ A864


2♠

pass

pass

dbl
(1)

3♠

all pass
♠ AKQ8753
N
♠ 6


♥ 3

W
E
♥ AK985
(1)
Minors
 
♦ 853
S
♦ Q1064


♣ K7

♣ 1032

So what was your answer to the leading quiz?
♠ 9


Partner has shown the minors, but that does 
♥ 10764
 
not mean that you should lead one. The ♥Q may 
♦ AK92
 
cost a trick. I would probably lead the ♦J, and the ♠J 

♣ QJ95

is a safe lead, but that is not the point of this article. The point is – Do not lead an unsupported ace, even if partner has bid or shown the suit. The ♣A lead gave declarer his contract

And what happened? 3♠= was a near top.
Ten and a half tables – what movement?

On Wednesday we had 10 tables with Dave (the director) and a beginner left over – so 10 ½ tables. Eleven tables is not a great number for any movement. It really has to be a Mitchell and two boards against everybody is only 22 boards – too few. So you can play 3 boards against nine opponents – that’s 27 boards but you miss two pairs and there’s a three board sit-out. Is there something else? Yes!

When the odd pair are the director and a beginner who does not mind sitting out for three rounds (while getting some coaching) you can play 2 boards against 13 opponents. The movement used adds two extra rounds onto the 22 board movement. The director/beginner are a N-S pair and sit out for the first round and also the last two rounds. For the penultimate round there is a ‘revenge’ round against the pair you played first. For the last round E-W move to the table where the boards are that they have not yet played and play against that N-S pair again. 
Everybody liked this movement, Mitchells are easy and this movement means you play everybody if you are E-W and there is just a two board sit-out if you are N-S. Also, all boards get played ten times which is better than the 3 board movement where boards get played only seven or eight times. 

Paul’s Column 

Card Placement by Assumption (CPA)


Board 12 from Wednesday 11th
Dealer:
♠ Q742



Book Bidding
West
♥ 98

West

North
East

South
N-S vul
♦ A10

1♥


2♣

3♥

4♥

♣ AKQJ8


dbl

4♠
(1)
dbl

pass
5♥
(2)
dbl

pass

6♣
♠ -

N
♠ AJ1083

all pass
♥ AQJ1073
W
E
♥ K6542

 
♦ Q9743
S
♦ 86


♣ 64

♣ 7




♠ K965



♥ -
 
 
♦ KJ52
 

♣ 109532
I (Paul, North) fell from grace and bid 4♠ at (1). The red card from East was swift and sure, but partner passed.  West however pulled to 5♥, which I doubled.  Partner agonized a bit then bid 6♣ and all passed.  On a heart lead I saw dummy.
Reflecting on the auction I mentally placed East with spade length to the A and likely J and 10.  I breathed a sigh of relief at not receiving the ♠A and a spade for a ruff.  There was still work to be done though.  I had 5♣’s, 2♥ ruffs, a ♠, and 3 ♦’s if I could guess the ♦Q.  That’s only 11.

I ruffed the ♥ lead in dummy, pulled a round of trumps noting both followed, and ruffed my last ♥; now I drew the last trump with dummy’s ♣10 leaving the lead there.  Diamonds were next, but who to play for the ♦Q?  East had shown length in both ♠’s and ♥’s leaving more “free space” for West to hold the ♦Q and, if my assumption in spades was correct, he didn’t have much of a 1♥ opening without it.  The second CPA.  I led a diamond to the ♦10 and when I opened my eyes it had held!   The ♦A was cashed and I led a spade toward the ♠K.  East worked out that beating air with the ace wouldn’t help (this lead up to the ♠K is called a Morton’s Fork Coup), indeed it would hand me the contract, so he inserted the ♠10.  The ♠K won with West showing out.

Dummy remained with ♠965 ♥- ♦KJ ♣9 and I had ♠Q74 ♥- ♦- ♣AKJ.  On the ♦K I threw my second spade and then the ♦J to West’s ♦Q served a dual purpose.  It allowed me to pitch my third spade (loser on loser) and simultaneously end-play West who had only red cards left.  A red return allowed my last ♠ to be discarded while ruffing with dummy’s last trump.  The leaky ship had made port!

Should East have found the lead of ♠A and a spade?  My partner thought not without a Lightner Double but I disagree.  West might think, having opened so light and shapely, that even a spade ruff at trick one would not beat it.  But where was East?  I had bid something in spades, partner passed the double of 4♠, and his partner pulled the double to 5♥!  Was ever an auction more conducive to card placement by assumption?


< end of Paul’s Column >

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
Pass. RHO’s double is penalties. LHO is weak with ♥’s and if he is disciplined then he will trust partner and pass, exactly the same as if LHO opens a weak 2♥, partner bids and RHO doubles – it is penalties. The only difference is that in the actual Multi sequence partner may be quite weak for his 2♠ bid as he is balancing in the pass-out seat.
Hand B:
(a)
This is very marginal. The ♠Q singleton is poor but the ♦J109x is good. So consider what can go wrong. If you open there should be no problem – see (b) below), but if you decide to pass and the opponents bid and stop in 2♠ are you going to balance with a double and ‘force’ partner to the three level, vulnerable? For this reason I think it’s best to perhaps slightly overbid now by making an opening bid.

(b)
1♣. Open 1♣ and all of your potential problems are over – you always have a rebid. Over 1♠ you bid 1NT. Partner will normally expect two ♠’s but then the ♠Q should be a good card. I believe that a 1♦ opening followed by 2♣ over 1♠ is a distortion of this hand (well, more of a distortion than rebidding 1NT with the singleton ♠Q).
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers

C
2♥
2♠
dbl

The double is penalties. Negative doubles do not apply opposite an opening pre-empt.

D
1NT
pass
2♣
pass
This is up to partnership agreement. I believe that ‘standard’ is


2♠
pass
4♣

Gerber. I like to play it as RKCB and the author of this week’s  first Dave Column assumes that it is a splinter. There are also some conventional uses such as Sharples (minors). Obviously this decision affects what 4NT is, I like quantitative.
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