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Mon 7th     
1st
Dino & John H
60%
2nd 
Paul Q & Janne
54%
Wed 9th   

1st
Mike G & Terry Q
59%
2nd 
Niels K & Janne
53%
Fri  11th   

1st
Janne & Sigurd
= 

Niels & Tonni
69%

Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
What do you open with Hand A? 
♠ K62
♠ KQJ863
With hand B you are dealer at favourable vulnerability:
♥ AQ43
♥ A86
(a)
What do you open?
♦ KQ8
♦ 53
(b)
Suppose you open 2♠, partner raises to 4♠ and RHO bids 5♣,
♣ AQ4
♣ 84

what do you do now?
Bidding Sequence Quiz
C
1NT
2♥
dbl

What is double – take-out, showing ♠’s or penalties?
Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1852.7 Janne Roos 

1845.7 Paul Quodomine
1815.1 Hans Vikman
	655.2 Janne Roos 
642.1 Hans Vikman 
640.1 Paul Quodomine 

626.8 Tomas Wikman
619.8 Lars Broman
615.9 Jean Wissing

615.9 Sally Watson

609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

597.8 Bengt Malgren
591.0 Johan Bratsburg

	334.4 Janne Roos 

329.6 Tomas Wikman
327.9 Hans Vikman
324.8 Sally Watson
323.4 Paul Quodomine 
322.9 Lars Broman

320.3 Jean Wissing 

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

316.0 Sigurd Zahl

309.3 Jeremy Watson




That 4333 shape again

Board 21 from Monday 7th May 
This has been mentioned a few times in the past, the totally flat 4333 type shape really sucks.

Dealer:
♠ K62

Table A
North
♥ AQ43

West

North(A)
East
South
N-S vul
♦ KQ8

-


2NT
(1)
pass

3NT

♣ AQ4

all pass

♠ AJ972
N
♠ 8

Table B
♥ K86
W
E
♥ J975

West
North(A)
East

South
♦ 10
S
♦ 96432
-



1♣
(1)
pass

1♦
(2)
♣ J852

♣ K106

1♠


2NT
(3)
pass

3NT

all pass
♠ Q1053



♥ 102


♦ AJ75
 

♣ 973




Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? It’s a balanced 20 count and doubtless everybody will open 2NT (20-21).
Table B:
(1)
This North is not everybody and correctly devalued this totally flat hand with no intermediates, and this is my answer to question A.
(2) It’s a matter of partnership agreement/style as to whether you respond 1♦ or 1♠ with this hand.

(3) 18-19, which is all this hand is worth.

And what happened? 3NT-1 three times and 3NT= once. Even with a combined 27 count with stoppers in every suit, there are only 8 tricks. Why? Because declarer has no long suit to set up and this is very likely to be the case with 4333 type shape hands.
The bottom lines:

· Deduct a point for a totally flat 4333 type shape hand.

· It actually made no difference here as N-S are always going to reach the doomed 3NT, but this deal does again demonstrate how bad the totally flat 4333 shape is.
Pre-empt and bid again?

Board 3 from Monday 7th May 
This has also been mentioned a few times in the past and I thought everybody knew about it. But one regular member strayed on this deal.

Dealer:
♠ -

Table A
East
♥ KJ7

West

North
East(B)
South
N-S vul
♦ QJ106

-


-

2♠
(1)
pass

♣ KQ10653

4♠


5♣
(2)
5♠
(3)
all pass
♠ A1095
N
♠ KQJ863

Table B
♥ Q105
W
E
♥ A86

West
North

East(B)
South
♦ A87
S
♦ 53
-



-

3♠
(1)
pass
♣ AJ7

♣ 84

4♠


5♣
(2)
pass
(3)
pass
dbl


all pass
♠ 742



♥ 9432


♦ K942
 

♣ 92




Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this East hand B(a) in this week’s quiz? The hand is top of the range for a non-vul pre-empt but it is not good enough for an opening 1♠ (only 19 for the rule of 20). 2♠ is fairly clear with 3♠ as the only reasonable alternative. I personally do not have a ‘gap’ between 1♠ and 2♠ and do not believe that pass is a sensible option.
(2) It’s difficult for North to make the correct decision at the 5-level and a couple of players chose this optimistic 5♣ bid.

(3) What did you bid with this East hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? This bid breaks the golden rule of not bidding again having pre-empted. And East’s excuse? He was maximum for his opening. That is no excuse whatsoever and bidding again at this vulnerability (when just 2 down doubled scores more than 5♠ if it makes) is a very poor bid.

Table B:
(3)
This East correctly passed. When you pre-empt you have said your hand and partner is the captain. 
And what happened? 4♠= (with help from the defense), 4♠-1, 5♠-2 and 5♣*-3 (800).
Dave’s Column
Here is Dave’s first input on declarer play of the hand.


 



North
South

Bidding
♠ 754
♠ AKQJ10


West

North
East

South

♥ 932
♥ AQJ
-


-

-

2♣
♦ 653
♦ AQ2
pass

2♦

pass

2♠
♣ A843
♣ 52

pass

4♠
all pass
You are South, declarer in 4♠. West lead the ♣K which you win in dummy. With just the one entry, which red suit finesse do you take?

Dave’s Column answer

Board 23 from Wednesday 9th June   
Dealer:
♠ 754



Bidding
South
♥ 932

West

North
East

South
Both vul
♦ 653

-


-

-

2♣

♣ A843


pass

2♦

pass

2♠
pass

4♠

all pass
♠ 92
N
♠ 863


♥ K85
W
E
♥ 10764

♦ 10874
S
♦ KJ9

 
♣ KQJ6


♣ 1097

 

♠ AKQJ10


 
♥ AQJ



♦ AQ2


West lead the ♣K and dummy’s ♣A wins. Which red
♣ 52


suit finesse do you try?
Taking the ♥ finesse gains a trick only when East has specifically king doubleton; you are going to get two ♥ tricks regardless. But taking the ♦ finesse has a 50% chance of showing a profit and that’s the finesse you should take.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT=, 4NT= and 4♠= twice.
Dave’s 2nd Column

Here is Dave’s second problem on the play of the hand.
West
East

Book Bidding
♠ K108653
♠ A2

West

North
East

South
♥ K10954
♥ 72


1♠

-

1♠

pass
♦ K
♦ Q976

2♥
pass
2NT

pass 

♣ K
♣ A10762

3♥
pass

3♠
pass
4♠

all pass
You are West, declarer in 4♠. North leads the ♦A and switches to a low ♣, plan the play. 





Dave’s 2nd Column answer




Board 24 from Wednesday 9th June 
Dealer:
♠ Q9



Book Bidding
West
♥ J83

West

North
East

South
love all
♦ AJ43

1♠


pass

2♣

pass

♣ Q983


2♥

pass

2NT

pass
3♥

pass

3♠

pass
♠ K108653
N
♠ A2

4♠

all pass
♥ K10954
W
E
♥ 72

♦ K
S
♦ Q976

 

♣ K


♣ A10762
 

♠ J74


 
 
♥ AQ6

North leads the ♦A and shifts to a low ♣. Plan the play. 
♦ 10852



♣ J54


It is tempting to win the ♣K, cross to the ♠A, discard two ♥’s on the ♦Q and ♣A, and lead up to the ♥K. The trouble that even if South had the ♥A, a trump return gives the defense two ♥’s, a ♠ and a ♦.
Better is to win the first trick with the ♣A and lead a ♥. Then you make the contract if ♠’s are 3-2 and the ♥A is onside.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♠= twice, 3♠= and 3NT-1.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
1♣ (with a 2NT rebid in mind). This totally flat hand with no intermediates is not worth a (20-21) 2NT opening, which is what I expect everybody chose? You should deduct a point for this totally flat shape and with no intermediates there is no reason not to devalue the hand. 
Hand B:
(a)
2♠. The hand is maximum for the opening but does not conform to the rule of 20 and is not quite worth a 1♠ opener. 3♠ is an alternative I guess. I personally have no ‘gap’ between 1♠ and 2♠ and would never pass.

(b)
pass. The fact that the hand is maximum is absolutely no reason to break the golden rule of not bidding again having pre-empted. 

Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer
C
1NT
2♥
dbl

This is up to you, but I play that it’s penalties and that is certainly pretty standard if you have not discussed it.
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