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Mon 5th     
1st
Bob P & Robbie
61%
2nd 
Dave C & Terry Q
58%
Wed 7th  
 
1st
Hans V & Janne 
         =

Dave C & Paul Q 
59%
Fri  9th   

1st
Gus & Mark
59%
2nd 
Janne & Per-Ake
57%
Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♦, (a) what do you bid?


(b)
Suppose you bid 1♠ and partner rebids 3♣, what now?
♠ AKQ10973
♠ KQJ9743





♥ J84
♥ 2


♦ 2
♦ 98
With Hand B partner opens 1♦, what do you bid?
♣ 98
♣ J84
Hand C
Hand D
What do you open with Hand C? 
♠ AQ109
♠ Q4

♥ -

♥ J3
With Hand D LHO opens 1NT and RHO transfers with 2♦, 
♦ KQJ10
♦ A9862
do you double or pass?
♣ K9654
♣ 8762



Bidding Sequence Quiz
E
1NT
pass
2♦
dbl

2♦ is a transfer and the dbl shows ♦’s, 
pass





what does opener’s pass signify?
F
1NT
pass
2♦
dbl

2♦ is a transfer and the dbl shows ♦’s, 
redbl





what does opener’s redouble signify?
G
1♦
pass
1♠
pass

What is the jump to 4♠, strong with good ♠’s or 
3♣
pass
4♠


weakish with good ♠’s and fast arrival?
Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1871.9 Janne Roos 

1848.0 Paul Quodomine
1846.2 Hans Vikman
	669.2 Janne Roos 
654.6 Hans Vikman 
640.1 Paul Quodomine 

626.8 Tomas Wikman
622.1 Sally Watson

619.8 Lars Broman
615.9 Jean Wissing

609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

597.8 Bengt Malgren
597.3 Jan v Koss
	344.6 Janne Roos 

337.6 Hans Vikman
329.6 Tomas Wikman
325.4 Sally Watson
323.4 Paul Quodomine 
322.9 Lars Broman

320.3 Jean Wissing 

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

316.0 Sigurd Zahl

314.2 Niels Krojhaard


When a transfer bid is doubled


Board 3 from Friday 9th July
Dealer:
♠ KJ72

West

North
East(D)
South
South
♥ A10852

-


-

-

1NT
(1)
E-W vul
♦ 7

pass


2♦
(2)
dbl
(3)
pass
(4)

♣ A43

pass


redbl
(5)
pass

pass
(6)
pass
♠ 965
N
♠ Q4


♥ K764
W
E
♥ J3


♦ KJ104
S
♦ A9862

♣ 105

♣ 8762



♠ A1083



♥ Q9


♦ Q53
 

♣ KQJ9




(1) South decided to upgrade his hand to 15 because of the good intermediates.
(2) I prefer 2♣ Stayman with a game forcing 5-4 or 4-5 in the majors.

(3) What did you bid with this East hand D in this week’s quiz? These ♦’s (and the hand) are not good enough for a double in my style and I would pass.

(4) Denying 2 or 3 ♥’s.

(5) North did not understand the pass from partner and so redoubled believing that partner had good ♦’s.

(6) South assumed that North hand good ♦’s.

And what happened? The bidding was not perfect, the defence was not perfect, but the declarer play was and 2♦** making scored 560 for a top. Other results were 4♠+1 three times and 3NT= 
The bottom lines:

-
Playing in a 2-1 fit redoubled is not usually recommended.

· It’s up to you what you play, but I believe that the following treatment after a transfer bid is doubled is fairly standard:

.
Complete xfer
= 3 cards, or 4 cards but not good enough to super-accept.

.
pass
= 2 cards but not a good holding in the cipher suit.

.
redouble
= a good holding in the cipher suit.

Dave’s Column

Here is Dave’s first problem, on the play of the hand.
West
East

Book Bidding
♠ Q6
♠ AJ2

West

North

East

South

♥ A92
♥ KQ


-


pass

1♦

pass
♦ KJ96
♦ A107543
 
2NT
pass

3♦

pass
♣ Q963
♣ K4




3NT

pass

6♦

all pass

You are East, declarer in 6♦. South leads the ♥4. Plan the play (trumps are 2-1).
Dave’s Column Answer




Board 9 from Wednesday 8th July 

Dealer:
♠ 9854



Book Bidding
North
♥ 1086

West

North
East

South
E-W vul
♦ Q2

-


pass

1♦

pass

♣ AJ105


2NT
(1)
pass

3♦

pass
3NT

pass

6♦
(2)
all pass

♠ Q6
N
♠ AJ2


♥ A92
W
E
♥ KQ
(1)
10-12 balanced, no 4-card major

♦ KJ96
S
♦ A107543
(2)
4♦ as RKCB is an alternative here.
 

♣ Q963


♣ K4



♠ K1073

 


♥ J7543

South leads the ♥4, plan the play; trumps are 2-1 
 
♦ 8


with North starting with ♦Qx.




♣ 872





Some might win the ♥ lead, draw trumps and try the ♠ finesse. When that fails the slam is one down. As long as you can deduce which opponent has the ♣A you can make sure of the slam if you have no trump loser.
After drawing trumps, if you place the ♣A with South, lead a low ♣ from hand. If South takes the ♣A you have two winners in dummy, the ♥A and the ♣Q. If South plays low the ♣Q wins and the ♣K can later be thrown on the ♥A.
Martin Bloom of Sydney reasoned that if North had the ♠K then the slam was safe. If South had the ♠K then the ♣A was slightly more likely to be with North. In addition, against a slam South might have led the ♣A.

He therefore placed North with the ♣A. He won trick one with the ♥K and played the ♦A and a ♦ to dummy’s ♦K. Then came the ♣3. If North rose with the ♣A declarer then has twelve tricks. In practice North played low and the ♣K won. Then came the ♥Q, a ♦ to dummy and the ♥A pitching the ♣4. The ♠ finesse then lost but the slam was made. 
This is a classic Morton’s Fork.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT+3, 3NT+2 three times and 3NT=.
The bottom lines:

-
I note that the author recommends 4♦ as RKCB here. There are often problems with using 4NT as Blackwood with a minor suit as trumps and Paul Q and myself have agreed that four-of-the-minor is RKCB.
Dave’s 2nd Column





Board 7 from Wednesday 8th July 

Dave’s second article this week is a simple bidding problem – what was your answer to question A(a) in this week’s quiz?
Dealer:
♠ AKQ10973



Table A
South
♥ J84

West

North(A)
East

South
Both vul
♦ 2

-


-

-

1♦

♣ 98


pass

1♠
(1)
pass

3♣
(2)

pass

4NT
(3)
pass

5♣
(4)
♠ 862
N
♠ 5

pass

5♠
(5)
pass

pass
(6)
♥ A1076
W
E
♥ KQ953

pass
♦ 86543
S
♦ 109

 

♣ 7



♣ Q10653

Book Bidding

♠ J4

 

West


North(A)
East

South
♥ 2

 
 -
-

-

1♦
♦ AKQJ7





pass

1♠
(1)
pass

3♣
(2)
♣ AKJ42



pass

4♠
(3)
pass

4NT
(7)

pass

5♠
(8)
pass

6♠
(9)

all pass

Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand A(a) in this week’s quiz? It is absolutely right to bid 1♠. Some players bid 4♠, saying that they want to keep the opponents out of the bidding. Not wise. North has a very nice hand, not a pre-emptive hand, and bidding 4♠ initially would not describe the hand well. A 4♠ bid would show something like Hand B – seven spades to the ♠KQJ and maybe a singleton.

(2) Forcing to game.

(3) What did you bid with this North hand A(b) in this week’s quiz? Mike Lawrence’s answer is below but I’ll just say my bit about this 4NT RKCB bid – it is appalling! Not only is it poor bidding to bid Blackwood with a weak suit in which partner has shown no values (♥’s here) as there may be two losers off the top, but here 4NT is asking for keycards with ♣’s which is pretty pointless.

(4) 0 or 3 keycards for ♣’s.

(5) Apparently North was worried that partner may have zero keycards, this is ‘impossible’ of course.

(6) Normally when you have 3 keycards, partner asks, and then signs off at the five level, you should correct to six. But here South has my sympathy as he obviously has three keycards and partner was presumably hoping for four?

Book:
(3)
So what did you bid with this North hand A(b) in this week’s quiz? Mike Lawrence says: ‘North should bid 4♠. It is completely unnecessary to jump because 3♠ would be forcing. A jump now should say something special about the ♠ suit and promise a prime card outside.’ I (Terry) would bid 3♠ as 4♠ may be construed as fast arrival rather than a solid suit and good hand.


(7) Now we have the right hand bidding RKCB and with ♠’s set as trumps. 

(8) Two keycards plus the ♠Q.

(9) Bid with almost certainty that there is just one possible loser.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 6NT=, 6♠= twice, 4♠+2 twice.
1NT opening with a void (or small singleton) is not allowed.

♠ AQ109

One player (not a beginner) opened this East hand 25 from
♥ -



Friday with 1NT. This is not only a very silly bid, but it is
♦ KQJ10

against the rules to open 1NT with a void (or small singleton). 

♣ K9654
It is also pointless as you will automatically get a zero score.
Paul’s Column 



Mandatory falsecards
On Monday 5th, board 5, my partner and I reached 6♠: 

North
South
North
South
Dealer:
♠ 98643
♠ AKJ
-
2NT


South
♥ A3 
♥ QJ              
3♥
*
4♠
**
N/S vul
♦ A865 
♦ Q103             
5♦
***
6♠
****
                                    ♣ 54
♣ AKJ106
all pass
*
Transfer to spades.


**
Super-accept
***
Delicate slam probe cue bid

****
This South is not known for delicacy.

North realized that opposite a super-accept (a marginal call at best with 3♠) Aces might be golden.  Not all slams require 33 hcp to bring in 12 tricks.  The opening lead of the ♦9 was ducked to the ♦K in East and a ♦ came back won in dummy to preserve entries to South.  A ♠ was played to the Ace with East playing low and West playing the ♠10.  South now banged down the ♠K, dropping the ♠Q10 in West and later established the clubs for 4 tricks giving 5♠, 4♣, 2♦ and 1♥ for 12.  When I asked at least 5 decent players at the club why South had rejected the idea of taking the spade finesse after re-entering dummy in ( none could provide a quick answer.  It’s simple really … if the ♠10 was a “true” card only the ♠Q10 would allow the contract to make since East would have begun with Qxxx if the ♠10 was singleton.

This led us later to discuss the importance of West making the mandatory false-card of ♠10 from ♠10x.  If N/S have a 9+ spade fit it doesn’t matter a bit, but if the layout is as above and both follow low on the first ♠ South will have little choice but to go with the odds and finesse East for ♠Qxx.

This leads to another interesting situation on defense.  After an auction where South opens a 15-17 1NT, North raises to 2NT after Stayman, and South bids the game you are East on defense.  Partner leads a low ♥ and you see in North:




♠KQx




♥xxxx




♦J9x




♣Kxx


You (East)






♠Xxxxx







♥Kxx







♦Q10







♣xxx

You win partner’s ♥ lead with the K and return a ♥ to his A, Q, and 10 declarer playing ♥Jx and discarding a ♠ and a ♣.  If you have been doing a little counting and reasoning South will need 5 cards in a minor to bring his total to 9 and partner exits safely with a ♠.  South wins with the ♠A and bangs down the ♦A, low from partner, low from dummy and … did you drop the Q in tempo??  South will now reason that West must have begun with ♦10xxx and lead low to the 9 following the logical conclusion.  If you didn’t, South’s only option will be to bang down the ♦K hoping to drop your ♦Q doubleton and 9 tricks roll in.  As you win your ♦10 you may mutter “Ooops!” as partner blesses your black little heart and North glares at partner.

The South hand:
♠Axx

♥Jx


I’ll have a few more of these for 

♦AK87x

future columns. 

♣AJx

Paul Quodomine.

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
(a)
1♠. This hand is too good for a pre-emptive 4♠ 
(b)
4♠, at least that’s what Mike Lawrence says, showing a good ♠ suit and something good outside. I would bid 3♠ if the 4♠ bid had not been discussed as many play that a jump to game in a game forcing sequence is fast arrival.

Hand B:
4♠. You do not want the opposition coming in. The hand is clearly far too good for 2♠ if you play that as a weak jump shift.
Hand C:
1♣ (or 1♦ or 1♠ depending upon your system/style). The point is that 1NT is not allowed with a void (or small singleton) and this opening is 100% sure to score a zero.
Hand D:
Pass. I prefer better ♦’s and a better hand for a lead directing double.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer
E
1NT
pass
2♦
dbl



pass





I play that pass denies 3 (or 4) ♥’s.
F
1NT
pass
2♦
dbl



redbl





I play that redbl shows good ♦’s.
G
1♦
pass
1♠
pass

I guess that this is up to you. At least one expert plays that 
3♣
pass
4♠


it is a good hand with good ♠’s. Others play fast arrival.
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