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Mon 15th
N-S
1st
Bob P & Robbie
54%
2nd
Dinnie & Ivy
53%

E-W
1st
Janne & Jan
59%
2nd
Gerard & Derek
55%

Wed 17th
N-S
1st
Janne & Hans V
73%
2nd
Royd & Mike G
57%

E-W
1st
Dave C & Terry Q
55%
2nd
Lars G & Bob S
53%

Fri 19th    
N-S
1st
Mike D W
67%
2nd
Royd & Mike G
56%

E-W
1st
Lars B & Hans V
66%
2nd
Dave C & Tomas
59%

Bidding Quiz

Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A you open 1♣ and partner bids 1♥. What
do you bid?

♠ Q
♠ Q8542
♥ Q65
♥ 10753
With Hand B partner opens 1♣ and you bid 1♠. Partner then
♦ AQ72
♦ AJ
bids 1NT, what do you do?
♣ AKJ97
♣ 52 


Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C LHO opens 3♠ and partner bids 4♥. What 
do you do?

♠ Q94
♠ 9


♥ K1074
♥ K54
(a) What do you open with Hand D?
♦ AQJ10
♦ AKQJ542
(b) Suppose you open 2♣, what is your rebid over 2♦?
♣ AJ
♣ K10
(c) Suppose you open 1♦, what is your rebid over 1♠?
Bidding Sequence Quiz
E
3NT



What is the 3NT opening bid?
F
1♣
pass
1♠
3♠
What is 3♠?
G
1♣
pass
1♥
pass
 3♥



Is 3♥ weak, invitational or forcing?
H
1♦
pass
1♠
pass

3NT



How many points is 3NT?
It’s not forcing





Board 14 from Wednesday 17th Nov
Dealer:
♠ 1042



Table A
East
♥ A10982

West

North
East

South(A)
Love all 
♦ J6

-

-

pass

1♣

♣ Q103


pass

1♥

pass

3♥
(1)

pass


pass
(2)

♠ K9863

N
♠ AJ75


♥ KJ43
W
E
♥ 7

Table B
♦ 84
S

♦ K10953

West
North
East

South(A)
♣ 84


♣ 652


-

-

pass

1♣

♠ Q



pass

1♥

pass

2♦
(1)
♥ Q65




pass

3♥

pass

4♥
♦ AQ72






all pass

♣ AKJ97






Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? This South said that the bid was forcing – it is not, it is invitational. Anyway, it’s a poor bid as I require 4-card support for a jump raise.

(2)
With a 5-card suit, three tens, great ♣ support and solid trumps, North should perhaps accept; but presumably he is a points pundit.

Table B:
(1)
This is the obvious answer to question A. A forcing reverse showing the strength and minor suit shape.

And what happened? 3♥ made +1 and other results were pretty random.

The bottom lines:

· A jump raise of partner’s suit in most scenarios is not forcing, and certainly not here.

· A jump raise of responder’s bid should shows 4-card support.

Dave’s  Column



Here is Dave’s 1st problem this week.
♠ Q94



Book Bidding
♥ K1074

West

North
East

South
♦ AQJ10

-


-

3♠

4♥
♣ AJ


pass

6♥
all pass

N
♠ AJ108763


W
E
♥ 52

S
♦ 3


♣ 743

You are East, defending 6♥. Partner leads the ♠K, giving you a problem. Should you encourage in spades or play the ace and return the suit. Which do you think is best?
Dave’s Column Answer




Board 18 from Wednesday 17th November 
Dealer:
♠ Q94



Book Bidding
East
♥ K1074

West

North(C)
East

South
N-S vul 
♦ AQJ10

-


-

3♠

4♥

♣ AJ


pass

6♥
(1)
all pass
♠ K
N
♠ AJ108763


♥ 3

W
E
♥ 52

♦ 976542
S
♦ 3


♣ 109652


♣ 743


♠ 52

 


♥ AQJ986


 
♦ K8
You are East and partner leads the ♠K, giving you a problem. 
♣ KQ8
can East tell what to do?
East should play the ♠A for the simplest of reasons. If West has a singleton ♠K, this will set 6♥ assuming that he has a trump. If West has a doubleton ♠ then this defense sets up the ♠Q for declarer, but it is unlikely that it will make any difference.
East should realize that overtaking is the only chance for the defense. Dummy has great ♦’s which can probably be used for discards so if South has two ♠’s, he will likely be able to get rid of his loser on a ♦.

(1) Now onto the bidding: What was your answer to question C? Mike Lawrence’s answer is 5♥. Given that West did not bid, North must have a good reason for bidding 5♥. On this hand and auction, the only meaning is to ask South if he has one ♠ or two. If South has two, he passes 5♥ and if he has one, he bids the slam.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 6♥+1, 6♥= twice, 4♥+2, 4♥+1, 6♠*-5 and 3♠*-3. So it looks like only one East found the overtake when defending a ♥ contract.
Dave’s 2nd Column


Here is Dave’s 2nd problem.
North
South


West
North
East
South
♠ A53
♠ J82


1♠

pass

pass
2♥
♥ A962
♥ KJ1053
pass
2♠   (1)
pass
4♥
♦ J643
♦ AK10
all pass
♣ Q6
♣ 102
(1) Good ♥ raise

You are South, declarer in 4♥. How do you play on the lead of the ♠10.
How do you think the high cards are distributed? Remarkably, you have all the information you need to state an exact and best line before even playing a card from dummy.
Dave’s 2nd Column Answer


Board 20 from Wednesday 17th Nov
Dealer:
♠ A53



Book Bidding
West
♥ A962

West

North
East
South
both vul
♦ J643

1♠


pass

pass (1)
2♥

♣ Q6


pass

2♠
(2)
pass
4♥
all pass
♠ K10976
N
♠ Q4
 

♥ Q84
W
E
♥ 7
(1)
A 3♣ weak jump shift is an alternative.
♦ Q7

S
♦ 9852
(2)
Good ♥ raise.
♣ AJ5


♣ K98743



♠ J82




♥ KJ1053

♦ AK10

West leads the ♠10, plan the play. 

♣ 102

You can assume that if West held the ♠KQ he would have led the ♠K if he wanted to lead that suit, and that if he had the ♣AK he would have led one of them. Therefore East has both the ♠Q  and the ♣K, for a total of 5HCPs. Since he did not respond he cannot have either of the red queens.
You should win the ♠A and play West for the ♥Q in the process of drawing trumps, then try to drop the ♦Q singleton or doubleton. As it happens, you need three rounds of trumps including a second round finesse to eliminate West’s trumps, and you will need dummy’s ♥9 as an entry to cash the ♦J after playing the ♦AK10 and felling the ♦Q.
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 4♥-1, 3♥-2, 3♥+1, 3♥= twice, 4♣(E)-1 and 1NT (W)-4.
Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1929.6 Janne Roos
1918.1 Hans Vikman
1862.9 Paul Quodomine
1782.6 Tomas Wikman 
1756.7 Guttorm Longberg
1746.5 Jan Chris v Koss
1742.2 Bengt Malmgren
1734.7 Johan Bratsburg
1708.7 Mike Guin
1704.0 Bob Pelletier
	678.6 Janne Roos 
673.0 Hans Vikman 
642.6 Tomas Wikman
640.1 Paul Quodomine 

632.7 Sally Watson

629.1 Alan Kleist
628.9 Derek & Gerard
626.8 Lars Broman 
625.6 Jean Wissing

623.7 Jeremy Watson

	351.4 Janne Roos 

347.5 Hans Vikman
332.3 Tomas Wikman
327.5 Derek & Gerard 

326.8 Lars Broman 
325.6 Sally Watson

325.3 Jeremy Watson

325.1 Jan v Koss

325.0 Alan Kleist

323.8 Tonni Kjaer



Dave’s Extra Column




Board 28 from Wednesday 10th Nov
Dealer:
♠ AK2



Book Bidding
West
♥ 6

West

North
East
South
N-S vul
♦ KQ1097543

pass


1♦

1♥

dbl
(1)

♣ 9


pass

3♦

pass
4NT
pass

5♠
(2)
pass
7♦
♠ Q1095
N
♠ 86
 
all pass
♥ 854
W
E
♥ KJ1097

♦ 6

S
♦ J8
(1)
showing four ♠’s
♣ J10753


♣ KQ86
(2)
two keycards + the ♦Q


♠ J743




♥ AQ32

♦ A2




♣ A42


Bidding:
4NT is RKCB and 5♠ shows two keycards plus the ♦Q. Maybe South should bid the grand slam in notrumps but he judges that 7♦ is more likely to succeed than 7NT.

Play:

East leads the ♣K. As declarer you would try the ♠AK in the hope that the ♠Q drops. When that does not happen, you would run all of your trumps and finally take the ♥ finesse, fully expecting it to win based on the bidding.
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? Only one player bid the grand slam: 7NT=. Other results were 6NT+1, 6NT=, 6♦+1 three times and 5♦+2.
The bottom line:

· KQ1097543 is NOT five points, upgrade the hand.
Bid out your 5-4 shape?



Board 15 from Monday 15th Nov
Dealer:
♠ K1076



Table A
West
♥ 98

West

North
East(B)
South
E-W vul 
♦ Q732

1♣

pass

1♠

pass

♣ J84


1NT

pass

pass
(1)
pass
♠ AJ4

N
♠ Q8542

Table B
♥ K64
W
E
♥ 10753

West
North
East(B)
South
♦ K104
S

♦ AJ

1♣

pass

1♠

pass
♣ K973


♣ 52


1NT

pass

2♥
(1)
pass

♠ 9



2♠

all pass
♥ AQJ2



♦ 9865




♣ AQ106






Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand B in this week’s quiz? This pass does not look right to me. 

Table B:
(1)
I much prefer this answer to question B. It is general practice to show your 5-4 shape when partner rebids 1NT.
And what happened? 
When dummy hit the table West asked why East had not bid 2♥ at (1). His response was that “he did not play that”. At the end of the play dummy exclaimed “see, 2♠ stands no chance with the 4-1 split”. This is nonsense of course and even with the adverse 4-1 ♠ split 2♠ makes easily, probably with an overtrick.
The results?

1NT was bid twice, making exactly and minus one for the two bottom scores. There were various other scores but 2♠ was bid twice and made exactly or +1 for good scores. Deep Finesse says the 3♠ makes despite the 4-1 trump break.
The bottom lines:

· It is virtually always better to play in a 4-4 fit rather than 1NT.
· With a 5-3 fit it is not so clear; but if the 5-card suit is in the weakish hand (as here) then playing in the suit is probably going to be better as you may well never be able to establish the long suit if playing in NoTrumps (as here).
· When partner opens (1♥, ♦ or ♣) and you have a 5-card major and a lower ranking 4-card suit, then respond in the 5-card major of course. If partner then re-bids 1NT it is usually best to bid two of your 4-card suit as you will then find a possible 4-4 fit or a 5-3 major suit fit (as here). Worst case is a 5-2 fit which should play well as the 5-card suit is in the weaker hand and probably useless in NoTrumps.
With a big minor suit




Board 19 from Wednesday 17th Nov
Dealer:
♠ 9



Table A
South
♥ K54

West

North(D)
East

South
E-W vul 
♦ AKQJ542

-

-

-

pass

♣ K10


pass

2♣
(1)
pass

2♦
pass


3NT
(2)
pass

6NT
(3)
♠ AJ53

N
♠ KQ4

pass
(4)
pass

dbl
(5)
all pass
♥ 10
W
E
♥ AJ98762


♦ 86
S

♦ 1093

Table B
♣ 987642


♣ -


West
North(D)
East

South

♠ 108762



-

-

-

pass
♥ Q3




pass

3NT
(1)
4♥

pass
♦ 7






pass

4NT
(6)
pass

5♣
(7)
♣ AQJ53




pass

5♦

all pass
Sensible Tables

West

North(D)
East

South 
-

-

-

pass
pass

1♦
(1)
1♥

1♠
(8)

pass

3NT
(9)
all pass

Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this North hand D(a) in this week’s quiz? This North decided upon 2♣. I don’t like this, the hand has only 8 playing tricks and I also like to have more in the way of HCPs for this opening.
(2)
What did you bid with this North hand D(b) in this week’s quiz assuming you had opened 2♣? This 3NT is way over the top of course and 3♦ is the only sensible bid having overbid with your opening 2♣.

(3)
Expecting partner to have 25+ points.

(4)
After a long pause. This particular player is renowned for ‘thinking’ about nothing. There is nothing to think about and pass is very clear.

(5)
This looks fine to me (with the ♠K lead obvious). But N-S complained to me, saying that East’s double was influenced by West’s long pause. Normally I would say the double is fine, but we really have to start penalizing this particular West and so I deleted the double (this time it made no difference).

Table B:
(1)
So was this 3NT your choice of opening bid with hand D? I hope not – it is terrible. The overwhelming majority of bridge players that play a Gambling 3NT play it with absolutely no ace or king outside. This North simply said “I don’t play it that way”. This North was, of course, the same player as East from the previous deal. 
(6)
Presumably expecting a ♥ lead.

(7)
Asking partner to correct to his known ♦ suit. At this moment North did his usual maneuver of blaming partner before even seeing his hand, saying that he should obviously pass 4NT. I was East and politely asked him to shut up.

Table C:
(1)
This simple 1♦ is the answer to question D(a). 

(8)
promising 5 ♠’s.

(9)
And this is the answer to question D(c) when partner bids ♠’s 
And what happened? 

Because of all of the unnecessary commotion from North, I (East at Table B) got distracted. Thinking that I was defending 4NT, I led the ♠K, ♠Q and a third ♠. It was then pointed out to me that the ♠K had been ruffed. Anyway, this demonstrates how fatuous North’s claim that his partner should have passed 4NT was! North then proceeded to play the now cold 5♦ contract but went one down! It mattered not as 5♦ making got the same miserable matchpoint score.
The results?
6NT-3 (no double!), 5♦-1. And five good N-S results: 4NT+2, 3NT+4 and 3NT+3 four times, all by North. The ♠K lead against 4NT was clear to me at table B with North having presumably shown a ♥ stop and nobody bidding ♠’s; but at the “sensible tables” South had bid ♠’s and East presumably led a ♥.
The bottom lines:

· The vast majority of bridge players who play 3NT as gambling promise absolutely no outside ace or king outside, and this is the only sensible way to play it.
· I don’t like to open 2♣ with just 16 points.
· 2♣ followed by 3NT shows a huge hand (25+). I don’t like this anyway even with a balanced 25+ and play Benjamin, Multi, or the Kokish Relay so that a subsequent 2NT bid shows 25+ and partner can use Stayman or transfers at a sensible level.
· In my opinion the Norths at tables A & B got exactly what they deserved. A 1♦ opening followed by 3NT when partner responds in ♠’s is the way to bid this hand.
· Try not to  make a long pause and then pass. It is a fact that the director is called more for hesitation than for any other reason. West’s pause at (4) was totally unnecessary.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
2♦. A reverse and forcing. A direct ♥ raise is unwise as partner may have just four ♥’s.
Hand B:
2♥. There may be a 4-4 ♥ fit or a 5-3 ♠ fit. If not, even just a 5-2 ♠ fit will probably play better than 1NT. 
Hand C:
5♥. This conveys the message to partner: “pass if you have two ♠’s and bid the slam with a singleton”. An enthusiastic 6♥ may go down if partner has two ♠’s, and pass is a bit pessimistic.
Hand D:
(a)
1♦. The hand is nowhere near good enough for 2♣. If you play Benjamin twos then 2♣ is possible I suppose but I still prefer 1♦. A “gambling” 3NT is ridiculous of course with two outside kings.
(b)
3♦. The hand is nowhere near good enough for 3NT and 2NT is also a distortion.
(c)
3NT. This describes the hand perfectly – a good hand with a good long minor.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
E
3NT



A 3NT opening is best played as ‘gambling’. A solid 7 or 8 card minor with absolutely no outside ace or king.

F
1♣
pass
1♠
3♠
I guess that this may be up to partnership agreement. I would assume a long solid minor and asking partner to bid 3NT with a ♠ stop.
G
1♣
pass
1♥
pass

 3♥



3♥ here is invitational
H
1♦
pass
1♠
pass

This is a bit of a trick question as 3NT here is not about points. 3NT




It is best played as a good hand with a good ♦ suit. Hand D is 
typical.  
PAGE  
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