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Mon 20th 
N-S
1st
Bob S & Lars G
56%
2nd
Paul Q & Janne R
55%

E-W
1st
Aroni H & Bjorn T
55%
2nd
Jeremy & Sean
54%

Wed 22nd
N-S
1st
Bengt & Bam
56%
2nd
Mike G & Royd
54%

E-W
1st
Torbjorn & Gunn
64%
2nd
Hans V & Guttorm
55%

Fri 24th  
N-S
1st
Jeremy & Sally
57%
2nd
Olafur & Simon F
56%

E-W
1st
Duplessy & Coutelet
66%
2nd
Dave C & Tomas
61%

Bidding Quiz

Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
What do you open with Hand A?
♠ Q5
♠ AK983
With Hand B you open 1♠ and partner bids 2♣
♥ Q96
♥ AJ

(a)
What do you bid?
♦ AJ43
♦ K


(b)
What do you bid if playing Acol?
♣ KQ32
♣ Q9832



Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C you are vulnerable and opponents are not. Partner opens 1♣ and you bid 1♠. LHO overcalls a weak 3♦ and partner 

♠ AK10973
♠ -
doubles, what do you do? 
♥ K52
♥ 9532
♦ Q
♦ AKJ76
With Hand  D partner opens 1NT, how do you bid this hand?
♣ 1076
♣ Q863
Bidding Sequence Quiz
E
1♦
pass
1♠
pass

1NT
pass
4NT

What is 4NT? Ace ask, RKCB or natural (quantitative)?
F
1♠
pass
2♣
pass
(a)
Is 3♣ forcing?

3♣



(b)
Is 3♣ forcing if playing Acol?
G
1♠
pass
2♣
pass


4NT



What is 4NT?

H
1♠
pass
2♦
pass
How many ♦’s does 2♦ promise?

J
1♠
pass
2♥
pass
How many ♥’s does 2♥ promise?

Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20


	1937.0 Hans Vikman
1929.6 Janne Roos
1870.1 Paul Quodomine
1818.1 Tomas Wikman 
1758.9 Lars Broman
1759.2 GuttormLongberg
1755.1 Jan Chris v Koss
1751.1 Bengt Malmgren
1737.5 Paul Scully
1734.8 Johan Bratsburg
1726.4 Mike Guin
1711.3 Bob Pelletier
	682.9 Hans Vikman
678.6 Janne Roos 
655.7 Tomas Wikman
643.5 Paul Quodomine 
641.6 Sally Watson
631.5 Jeremy Watson 
629.1 Alan Kleist
628.9 Derek & Gerard
628.5 Lars Broman 
627.6 Sean Burgess
626.1 Duplessy &Coutelet
625.6 Jean Wissing
623.3 Jan v Koss
618.1 Johan Bratsburg
617.3 Guttorm Lonberg
614.2 Bob Short
613.2 Paul Scully
613.1 Tonni Kjaer 
608.8 Bengt Malgren
608.5 Sigurd Zahl
	354.8 Hans Vikman 
351.4 Janne Roos
341.8 Tomas Wikman
331.5 Sally Watson
327.5 Derek & Gerard 
327.4 Jeremy Watson

326.8 Lars Broman 
326.4 Paul Quodomine
325.6 Sean Burgess

325.1 Jan v Koss
325.0 Alan Kleist
324.4 Duplessy & Coutelet

323.8 Tonni Kjaer
321.4 Jean Wissing 
318.4 Sigurd Zahl
318.1 Bob Short
314.2 Niels Krojhaard
314.1 Guttorm Lonberg
313.8 Johan Bratsburg
312.0 Paul Scully




Dave’s  Column

Here is Dave’s 1st problem this week, on defence.
West
East

West

North

East

South

♠ 9632
♠ AKJ

-

-

2♣

pass
♥ A74
♥ K85

2♦

pass

2NT
(1)
pass
♦ 763
♦ KQJ
3NT

all pass
♣ 743
♣ AQ62 

(1) 22-24

You are East, declarer in 3NT. South leads the ♣J. North plays the ♣K and you win with the ♣A. How do you continue order to make the best use of dummy’s ♥A?

Dave’s Column Answer




Board 14 from Wednesday 22nd December 
Dealer:
♠ 105



Book Bidding
East
♥ QJ96

West

North
East

South
Love all 
♦ A10952

-


-

2♣

pass

♣ K5


2♦

pass

2NT
(1)
pass

3NT
(2)
all pass

♠ 9632
N
♠ AKJ


♥ A74
W
E
♥ K85
(1)
22-24
♦ 763
S
♦ KQJ
(2)
3♣, Stayman is the alternative.
♣ 743


♣ AQ62


♠ Q874

 


♥ 1032


You are East. South leads the ♣J. North plays the
♦ 84
 
♣K and you win with the ♣A. How do you continue

♣ J1098


in order to make the best use of dummy’s ♥A?

The first time this deal was played declarer did not make the best use of dummy’s entry. After he won the first trick he cashed the ♠A and spent dummy’s ♥A entry to finesse the ♠J. West took his ♠Q and with no further entry to dummy declarer had only eight tricks. 

East’s Play would work slightly more than 50% of the time, but the best play would succeed much more often: Declarer should cash the ♠AK followed by the ♠J. In the actual deal the  ♠10 falls and the ♦A is an entry to the established ♠9.

The play works if the ♠’s break 3-3 or if either the ♠Q or the ♠10 fall: nearly a 65% chance in all.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT= four times, 2NT+2, 2NT+1, 2NT=, 3NT-1 and 6NT*-4.
Dave’s  2nd Column



Here is Dave’s 2nd problem this week.
North
South


West
North
East

South
♠ A62
♠ 74


-


1NT

pass

3NT
♥ AQ10
♥ KJ9
all pass
♦ 83
♦ AK75
♣ AQ1082
♣ 9765

You are North, declarer in 3NT. East leads the ♠Q and West encourages and you duck. A 2nd ♠ is led to West’s ♠K and you duck again. You win the 3rd ♠. 
(a) 
What is your main objective in the play? – plan the play. 

(b) 
Suppose you cross to dummy and lead the ♣9, what do you do if - 

(c)
 West plays low

(d)
 West plays the ♣K

Dave’s 2nd Column Answer




Board 13 from Wednesday 22nd December 
Dealer:
♠ A62



Book Bidding
North
♥ AQ10

West

North
East

South
both vul 
♦ 83

-


1NT

pass

3NT

♣ AQ1082


all pass



♠ K103
N
♠ QJ985


♥ 8653
W
E
♥ 742


♦ Q10964
S
♦ J2
You are North. East leads the ♠Q and West 
♣ K


♣ J43
encourages and you duck. A 2nd ♠ is led to 

♠ 74

 
West’s ♠K and you duck again. You win 

♥ KJ9

the 3rd ♠. (a) Plan the play. (b) Suppose you 
♦ AK75
 
cross to dummy and lead the ♣9 upon which 

♣ 9765

West plays the ♣K, how do you continue?

(a) You need to keep East off lead.

(b) You should cross to dummy with the ♥J and lead a ♣. 

(c) When West plays low, play the ♣A, you cannot afford to let East in to cash two ♠’s.

(d) If West plays the ♣K, duck!

It matters not if the ♣K is singleton or not. It is safe to duck in situation (d), the actual layout. If East has five ♠’s then West cannot lead one and if the ♠’s are 4-4 then you have nine tricks. As it happens West does not have another ♠ and so you get four ♣ tricks and make +1.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? It looks like two players found this play and seven declarers failed the test: 3NT +1 twice, 3NT-1 seven times.
Pull partner’s penalty double?



Board 20 from Monday 20th Dec
Dealer:
♠ J8



Table A
East
♥ AJ3

West

North
East(B)
South
E-W vul 
♦ K109752

-

-

1♣
(1)
pass

♣ J4


1♠

2♦

dbl
(2)
pass

4♠
(3)
all pass
♠ AK10973

N
♠ Q5


♥ K52
W
E
♥ Q96

Table B
♦ Q

S

♦ AJ43

West(C)
North
East(B)
South
♣ 1076


♣ KQ32


-

-

1♣
(1)
pass

♠ 642



1♠

3♦
(4)
dbl
(5)
pass
♥ 10874




pass
(6)
pass
♦ 86



♣ A985






Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this East hand B in this week’s quiz? It’s up to you if you open 1♣ or 1♦ when 4-4 in the minors. I personally prefer 1♣ as a fit should then never be missed. 
(2)
Showing ♦’s in their style. Some play this as a Support double showing exactly three ♠’s.
(3)
With a great ♠ suit and 12 points opposite an opener, West goes for the vulnerable game.
Table B:
(1)
This East also chose 1♣, as would I.
(4)
With an eye on the favorable vulnerability this North decided upon 3♦.
(5)
East very reasonably shows his ♦ values. 
(6)
What did you bid with this West hand C in this week’s quiz? Partner is suggesting going for the penalty and you do have the ♦Q. But then you do need to set the contract by four tricks to score more than the vulnerable game your way. Gee has this mean North made life difficult! So ‘trust partner’ and pass or bid 4♠? It’s a close call but I would probably bid 4♠. Partner’s double is a suggestion not a command and it is quite reasonable to over-rule him with this hand, especially at this vulnerability. Maybe it depends upon how competent a player you think North is?
And what happened? 3♦* went just one down. All other E-Ws played in 4♠ (or 3NT) and scored between 620 and 650.
The bottom lines:

· Sometimes a penalty double from partner is a demand and sometimes a suggestion, showing values in the opponent’s suit.
· The sequences here are suggestions. A sequence like 2♠ - 3♥ - double  or 1NT - 2♥ - double  is a demand and the opener should not dream of bidding again as he has already described his hand pretty well.

· Basically, if you have already told your hand to partner, then do not pull a penalty double. If you have not yet fully described your hand, then use your discretion as whether to pass or bid.

Finding the ♣ slam



Board 11 from Wednesday 22nd Dec
Dealer:
♠ J6542



Table A
South
♥ 92

West(B)
North
East

South
love all 
♦ J105432

-

-

-

pass

♣ -


1♠

pass

2♣

pass

3♥
(1)
pass

4NT

pass
♠ AK983

N
♠ 10

5♥


pass

6♥

pass
♥ AJ
W
E
♥ Q543

7♣
(2)
all pass
♦ K

S

♦ A987

♣ Q9832


♣ AKJ4


Table B

♠ Q7



West(B)
North
East

South
♥ K10876




-

-

-

pass
♦ Q6


1♠


pass

2♣

pass
♣ 10765




3♣
(1)
pass

3♦
(3)
pass
3♥
(4)
pass

4♦
(5)
pass

5♣
(6)
pass

5♦
(7)
pass

5♠
(8)
pass

6♣
(9)
all pass

Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? Of course you need to make a forcing bid. This West was not sure if 3♣ or 3♠ were forcing (I play them both as forcing) and so he ‘manufactured’ a 3♥ bid. Now it is often a good idea to manufacture a forcing bid – but it is best to do it in a minor!
(2)
Unfortunately the 2♥ bid has led to an out-of-control auction and so West corrected to 7♣.
Table B:
(1)
This is forcing playing 2/1 and I play it as forcing playing Standard American (a 2-level response promises another bid) and 3♣ is my answer to question B. However, if you or your partner are not sure if it’s forcing (it is not playing Acol) then there’s nothing wrong with Dave’s suggestion of 4♣ which is most certainly forcing in any system and is obviously looking for a ♣ slam.
(3)
Here we see the advantage of playing 3♣ as forcing, East can cue bid at a low level.
(4)
Cue bid

(5)
And here we have something else interesting. First of all, it is dangerous to bid RKCB with this hand unless partner has shown something in ♥’s (and this low-level auction means that partner had the opportunity to cue bid with 3♥). But equally important is what you use for your RKCB bid. With a minor suit agreed it is very dangerous to use 4NT as Blackwood as it’s all too easy to be forced too high. There are two equally good solutions for RKCB with a minor suit agreed: 4-of-the- minor or Kickback (4 of the suit above trumps). This pair play Kickback and so 4♦ here is RKCB.
(6)
You use the usual step responses, so this is two keycards plus the ♣Q.

(7)
King ask

(8)
This pair play specific king responses, so this shows the cheapest king So this bid shows the ♠K, denies the ♥K, but says nothing about the ♦K.

(9)
East knows that the ♥K is missing and decides against the grand slam.

And what happened? This deal is very instructive. At one table they charged into Blackwood and got too high at 7♣ (the usual problem with 4NT as RKCB with a minor):

1♠  2♣  4NT  5♥  5NT  6♦  7♣.

 Results were: 6NT=, 6♣=, 3NT+3, 3NT+2, 5♣= twice, 7♣-3, 7♣-2 and 7♣-1
The bottom lines:

· It’s unwise to play 4NT as Blackwood/RKCB when a minor suit is agreed, as two pairs found to their chagrin on this deal. Play 4-or-the-minor or Kickback.
· Kickback is a great Marty Bergen invention and is explained on the website in the conventions section, it is applicable when ♣’s, ♦’s or ♥’s are trumps. 
· It’s often a good idea to invent a forcing bid, but be wary if it is in a major!
With shortage opposite a 1NT opener.

Board 26 from Wednesday 22nd Dec
Dealer:
♠ AJ97



Table A
East
♥ KJ106

West(D)
North
East

South
both vul 
♦ 53

-

-

1NT

pass

♣ J92


2♣
(1)
pass

2♦

pass
3♦
(2)
pass

3NT
(3)
all pass
♠ -

N
♠ Q65


♥ 9532
W
E
♥ AQ4

‘Walsh’ style
♦ AKJ76
S

♦ Q104

West(D)
North
East

South
♣ Q863


♣ AK75


-

-

1NT

pass

♠ K108432



2NT
(1)
pass

3♣ 
(4)
pass
♥ 87




3♠
(5)
pass

4♣

pass
♦ 982


5♣


all pass
♣ 104






Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this West hand D in this week’s quiz? This hand type is virtually impossible to bid unless you have agreed a treatment to show 3-suited hands opposite a 1NT opener. Most players simply bid 2♣ and hoped.
(2)
The problem here is that many players play this as showing a four-card major and 5+ ♦’s. 

(3)
East has no idea that West has a ♠ void.

Table B:
(1)
With the ‘Walsh’ treatment as described to me by Paul Q, this shows a 3-suited hand or a weak ♣ hand wanting to play in 3♣.
(4)
Forced.
(5)
Showing a ♠ singleton or void and good holding in the other three suits. 

And what happened? 3NT+2, 5♦=, 3♦+1 and 3NT-2 six times. So the good 5♦ contract was found just the one time and nobody found the excellent4-4 ♣ fit for 5♣ or 6♣!).
The bottom lines:

· Serious players/pairs need a convention to cope with three suited hands opposite a 1NT opener. 
· The ‘Walsh’ treatment is described on the website.
· There is a rather more complex system described in the NoTrump bidding book and on the website.
· With both of the above conventions a 2NT bid over 1NT is conventional. 
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
1♣. I guess this is up to your partnership understanding, but I always open 1♣ when 4-4 in the minors. I can see no advantage in opening 1♦ as a 2♣ rebid would imply 5 ♦’s and not mentioning the ♣’s means that a ♣ fit may well be missed. However, some experts do advocate 1♦, I don’t know why.
Hand B:
3♣ (if you play that as forcing, which it should be playing SA) or else 4♣.
Hand C:
Have a think! Partner’s double is penalties but because of the vulnerability I would pull the double to 4♠.
Hand D:
This is ‘impossible’ to bid without some agreements. If you bid 2♣ and partner responds 2♥ then you have no problem, and if he responds 2♠ you can bid 3NT, but what if he bids 2♦? A 3♦ bid by you would be reasonable but not show the shortage. Best is to have an agreement to show 3-suited hands. A fairly easy one is the ‘Walsh’ treatment where 2NT is either to play in 3♣ or a game forcing three-suited hand. So bid 2NT and over partner’s forced 3♣ bid 3♠ to show ♠ shortage.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
E
1♦
pass
1♠
pass
4NT here is natural – inviting 6NT. Now I realize that it may 


1NT
pass
4NT

seem unbelievable, but in discussing this sequence no less than 

three members disagreed, saying that it is some sort of ace ask. 

Now I have no problem with people disagreeing with me, so who should we consult about a possible Blackwood sequence? Can you suggest anybody more suitable than Easley Blackwood himself? In his book ‘Blackwood on Slams’ he emphatically states on page 19 “I recommend using the Gerber 4♣ bid to ask for aces when partner’s last bid was in notrump”. So please note that Gerber is NOT just over an opening notrump bid. 

F
1♠
pass
2♣
pass
(a)
I play 3♣ here as forcing.
3♣



(b)
But playing Acol it is not forcing.
G
1♠
pass
2♣
pass

4NT here is presumably RKCB for ♣’s, but it’s a bid I would 

4NT



never make because (a) It uses up too much bidding space and you know virtually nothing about partner’s hand.

(b) It’s best not to use 4NT as Blackwood with a minor suit.

H
1♠
pass
2♦
pass
2♦ can be 4 ♦’s.

J
1♠
pass
2♥
pass
2♥ guarantees 5 ♥’s.
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