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Jacoby Transfers
A transfer bid is a bid of one suit that requests partner to bid another (usually the next) suit. There are various transfer bids but here we are concerned with transfers after partner has opened 1NT. Why transfer? There are various reasons and perhaps the most obvious when playing a strong NT is that the strong hand becomes declarer. Is that important? Not always, but very often: -
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North, any lead by East is fine for declarer.

After an opening of 1NT we use 4-way Jacoby transfers as follows: -
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Note. Many players prefer to use 2( as minor suit Stayman and 2NT as an (ambiguous) transfer to a minor. However, we can locate minor suit fits using our shape ask after Stayman (SARS) and so we will use these 4 way transfers.

The 2( and 2NT bids here must be alerted (but the rules keep changing). There is no required point count for a transfer. Transfers to a major are 0+ pts and a 5+ card suit. Transfers to a minor need a few pts and a 6 card suit (as it is the 3 level) or else a very good (game forcing) hand with a good five card minor.

In this chapter we are concerned with major suit transfers. Transfers to a minor suit are covered in chapter 4.

Major Suit Jacoby Transfers

After partner’s opening bid of 1NT, the Jacoby transfer by responder is a bid of 2(/( which requests opener to bid 2(/( resp. The bid always promises 5+ cards in the suit shown and the point range is unlimited.

So, after a 1NT opening: -
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One of the advantages of playing transfers is that opener gets to play the hand. It is usually better for the stronger hand to be declarer and if you play a strong NT then this aim is achieved. It is usually better for the NT bidder to be declarer as, with a balanced hand, he is much more likely to have a tenace that needs protecting: -
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So what about this hand? Whether 3NT or 4( is the final contract is not so important (both are cold if played by West). The important thing is that West must be declarer, especially in 4( when N-S could wrap up the first 3 ( tricks and then the contract depends upon the ( finesse when East plays it. It is usually best for the more balanced hand to be declarer as he may well have tenace(s) to protect. This, of course, is even more true when a playing strong NT rather than a weak NT.



When is a Transfer not a Transfer?

So a 2( bid is a transfer to (’s and a 2( bid is a transfer to (’s. Is this always the case? There are some conventions that say ‘not necessarily so’. Let’s have a brief look at a couple of them: -

a)
Walsh Relays

Now we all play that a 2( is a transfer to (’s, simple, eh? Apparently not. Some players feel the need to complicate the issue : -

After 1NT - 2( - 2(,     2( cancels the transfer to (’s and is instead shows one of a number of strong hand types, depending upon responder’s next bid. I won’t bother to list all of the options, suffice it to say that we cover them all by far simpler means. And are there any problems playing Walsh Relays?

Yes. 

1-
If the next player bids over the 2( ‘transfer’ then subsequent bidding is very messy.

2-
Since the 2( bid may or may not be a transfer opener has to be very careful about super-accepting. Only one super-accept bid (2() is allowed and the continuations are somewhat convoluted. 

3-
There is considerable loss of accuracy when only one super-accept is available. 

4-
Of course, if the next opponent interferes over this super-accept (or normal accept) then responder is in a real pickle; opener cannot know if the transfer was anything but genuine.

5-
And, most important of all, we have a very useful meaning for 2( in this sequence.

b)
Compressed Transfers
If you use 2( as a transfer explicitly to (’s and 2NT as a natural NT raise (or visa-versa) then you have no bid to explicitly transfer to (’s. One solution is to instead use the 2( bid (or 2NT) as a transfer to (’s. Of course you then have no transfer to (’s and so you place a double meaning on the 2( ‘transfer’ bid: -

After 1NT - 2( - 2(,     2( cancels the transfer to (’s and is instead a transfer to (’s.

This, of course, suffers from all of the above problems 1-5 and in addition: -

6-
A 2( bid allows the opposition to come in cheaply when responder has a weak hand with (’s.

7-
When responder makes an artificial (transfer) bid there is always the danger that the next player will get in a ‘cheap’ double, to show values and/or as an opening lead indicator. If responder makes two such bids then it really does make life easy for the defenders.

So, in my opinion, it’s all nonsense and a transfer is a transfer is a transfer.

I have no doubt that there are also numerous other conventions that people have dreamed up (or will do) that cancel transfers. As Sidney James once said, let’s ‘carry on regardless’. 
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