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Last week’s winners:    Monday 4/8/03      Friday  8/8/03

1st Martin/Chuck 60%       only 6 players,
2nd John/John 57%       so no results

A New Approach

Apart from the new front page (the quiz), I am trying a few new things to make sure that everybody
likes the news-sheets and appreciates how much time/effort I put into them. The last thing that I want to do
is upset anybody, so from now on I will refrain from mentioning people by name unless my comments are
complimentary (Chuck, of course, is excluded from this concession). Also, I understand that Chuck is going
to become a resident (does anybody know where I can purchase Valium tablets?) and so I will always
produce a draft copy of the news-sheet for comments on Friday to be included in the Monday issue;
Chuck (and anybody else present) will hopefully ‘approve’ it. If you wish to have an input, simply arrive
early on Fridays (I will always try to be there by 9.30 in future). I can also stay later if required. 

One thing remains unchanged; if anybody openly criticises anybody’s (especially my) bid or play during
any game then the gloves are off. I will print my/all opinions and mention names; if you don’t know what
you are talking about, then keep it to yourself. Criticising people (especially opponents) when they have not
asked for your opinion will most certainly be fully reported in the news-sheets if I consider that you are
incorrect.

Bidding Quiz

Hand A Hand B With Hand A you are playing 5 card majors and a strong 
NT. Partner opens 1 and RHO doubles. Nobody is 

 K10863  K7 vulnerable. What is your bid?
 J85  A9874 
 K6  A10954 With Hand B you open 1, LHO bids 2, partner bids
 AQ10  J 2 and RHO bids 3. What is your bid?

Hand C Hand D With Hand C partner opens 1 and RHO overcalls 1,
what is your bid?  

 KQ62  KQ62
 J832  Q832 With Hand D partner opens 1 and RHO overcalls 1,
 Q5  Q5 you make a negative double and partner replies 2.
 J96  Q96 What is your next bid?

Eight out of Ten for Chuck?

Chuck gave me his answers to last week’s bidding quiz. He got two ‘wrong’ and so scored 80%. Of
course Chuck sees it differently, he scored 100% and I get just 80%. 
We will have a look at the two hands where we found different bids and have Chuck’s and my comments.
We disagree on Hands G and H.



Inviting After a Transfer

Hand H Partner opens 1NT (15-17). You transfer and partner obediently bids 2. 
What now? I say pass, Chuck says 2NT. So, my opinions first: -

 J8652 We play super-accepts. Many experts play a super-accept as any 4-card
 103 support or a max with good 3 card support (the responses tell you what).
 K103 When you transfer with this hand and partner fails to super-accept, then 
 A52 game is remote. This is a miserable 8 count and if you bid on, you will go 

down (in either a part-score or game) much more often than you will find a makeable game.
Even if you so not super-accept with a good hand and 3 card support, 2NT is a poor bid
here as it is a miserable 8 count (poor ’s).

Chuck’s comment: - I will only super-accept with 4 trumps. Super-accepting has nothing to do with
rebidding 2NT or 3NT. Describe your hand, 8-9 pts with

5 ’s. Pard can have 17 pts for a good shot at 3NT or pass 2NT with 15-16 points and 2 ’s.

So, what do you think is more likely? Making 3NT (possibly 4 on a 5-3 fit) or going down in a
contract of 2NT, 3 or more? What happened at the table (I know it’s irrelevant?)? Partner had 15 pts,
contracts of 2NT or 3 went down; 2 was the limit and scored a clear top.

Nice Try, Chuck Board 12 from Friday 1st , Dealer West, N-S vul.

West (B) East West North East South

 K7  A9643 1 2 2   (1) 3
 A9874  K52 3 (2) pass 4 (3) all pass
 A10954  Q863
 J  9 Chuck was West.
  
(1) East has no option but 2 after North’s overcall. A negative double would show ’s but there is no

point as you already have a  fit. The 2 bid shows 6-9 points and may be either 3 or 4 card support.
(2) This is a game try. It asks partner to bid game (4) if he is non-minimum for his bid. 
(3) I liked my hand. Despite having only 3 trumps, the singleton , A and reasonable  suit are all plus

factors, so I bid the game.

An excellent game contract on just a combined 21 points. Nice (game) try Chuck. This West hand is
Hand B from the front page. A 3 bid would only be competitive (not invitational). 3 is the game try
inviting partner to bid 4, it is coincidental that West has a good  suit. This West hand has only 12
points, but the excellent shape warrants a try for game. Since Chuck gets his fair share of stick in these
news-sheets (he asks for it), it’s only fair to comment on his successes.
Chuck’s comment: -  ‘About time you recognised greatness’.



Redouble ! ? Board 8 from Friday 1st 

Partner opens 1 of a suit, RHO doubles. What does a redouble by you show? It should be 9+ points
(Chuck prefers 10+), showing that your side has the balance of power. You are out for blood. It shows a
desire to punish opponents for having the cheek to interfere with your auction and usually implies a mis-fit
with partner. Chuck disagreed with my bid on this hand and insisted that I write it up in the news-sheet (we
play 5 card majors).
I am always obliging, so here goes: -

East 8 (A) Partner opens 1, RHO doubles. Nobody is vulnerable. What is your bid?
Presumably you have game your way (Pard has 5 ’s) and that will score

 K10863 420 or 450. RHO’s double should show 4 ’s. A double of 1 should  
 J85 promise 4 ’s or a very good hand. I held this hand and realised that we 
 K6 had an easy 420+ in 4. However, I was looking for 800 or more! Even 
 AQ10 just 500 is fine. I believe that there is absolutely no point in letting the

opponents off the hook here. Redouble and see what happens! You can 
subsequently double both ’s and ’s for penalties. If opponents bid 2 and partner is unable to double
that (for penalties) then you simply bid the 4 game. Nothing is lost.

There is no point in bidding 1, RHO surely has 4 ’s and you already know about your 5-3 or
better  fit. I say that I am 100% correct here. Chuck says that I should have bid 1. I believe that this is
one of those rare (or 50%??) occasions where Chuck is talking nonsense. Although this hand does have
‘support’ for partner, the support is minimal and the hand has a good 12 points in the other suits – certainly
enough to make life very unpleasant for opponents in a doubled contract. I am a nice guy (?), but I just love
making things unpleasant for opponents. What actually happened? LHO bid 2, partner passed and so I
bid 4 and we made +1. No problem, but it would have been a glorious massacre if partner had had ’s.
Chuck’s Comment: -

A redouble shows 10+ points. You should not let the opponent’s interference change a bid that
you would otherwise make. You could miss a  slam. Go back to Disneyland.

This statement is obviously nonsense, if you don’t let opponent’s double change your bid then why is
there a re-double bidding card? Would anyone else bid 1 here? Am I wrong for looking for greater things
than a  game (a big penalty)? Am I a man or a mouse? Is Disneyland near Chicago? Let me know what
you think and I’ll write it up. Clive was at the table and was 100% and more behind me.

Chuck also says, ‘a double of 1 does not always promise 4 ’s’. True, but if it does not contain 4
’s then it must be a big hand. Since you have a good 13 points then that is unlikely (and it does not matter
anyway – the opponents are outgunned). Unfortunately some players will double with any opening hand,
despite my articles on take-out doubles in previous issues. The only way that these people will change their
ways is if they keep going for 800 or more. They will not if you meekly bid 1 on monsters like this.

Finally, you have to agree what a 1 bid here is. I play it as limited to 8 points (any more and I
re-double). You also have to agree if it is forcing or not – as it is limited to 8 points you can play it as
non-forcing.



That  slam again    

Remember the 6 that Joe bid last week? I say well done, Chuck says ‘lucky’.

Hand G Partner opens 1, you bid 1 and partner rebids 1NT (12-14). At the table this hand
temporised with 2 and partner responded 2NT. What slam

 KJ32 (if any) should you be angling for? I say bid 6 (as Joe did, after checking
 A4 on aces), Chuck says that you should bid 4NT (quantitive). So, my 
 J1064 opinions first: - If you play 4NT as quantitative here (I would) then it 
 AKQ invites partner to bid slam if he is maximum. You have 18 points and 

partner is 12-14. Even if partner is maximum your combined 32 points is not 
normally enough for 6NT. If you bid 4NT, partner may assume there is no fit and may well bid 6NT when
maximum, he will pass with a minimum. You do not want either, 6 is the only realistic slam. You do not
have a good enough hand to invite 6NT. The 4-4 (or better) fit normally produces an extra trick. The J10
are wonderful cards, especially in a  contract.

Hand E Hand F So, we have enough points for a  slam, but the only real
worry is the trump suit. Basically, does partner have good

 A6  A6 enough ’s? Two honours will suffice. Hand E was
 K1095  KQ85 partner’s actual hand and 6 is lay-down. Chuck says that
 KQ972  Q9732 Hand F is just as likely and stands no chance. Is he right?
 J8  J8 It certainly stands no chance, but is it just as likely?

We have 18 points, partner has 13 +- 1. What are the odds that we are missing two out of A,K,Q ?
It’s probably easiest to consider it the other way round; opponents have 9 points, what are the odds that
they have 5 or more points in a suit that partner has bid? Certainly way less than 50%. There is no way to
ask partner if he has good trumps (if the suit was a major, then 5 of the suit asks to bid 6 with good
trumps). With a minor you cannot, so go with the odds and bid the minor suit slam. One more point,
partner may have 5 ’s and Axxxx still gives us a chance of making. So, of course, does A9xx. All in
all, I would put the chances of the slam being good at about 75%.

South North How would I bid this hand? Playing with my twin brother,
we would bid like this. At (1) North knows enough to

1 1 figure that 6 is a good bet but first checks on aces.
1NT 4    (1) There is little point in bidding 2 (Checkback) as North
4 6 is not interested in a  suit nor 3 card  support. 

Chuck, in his usual eloquent manner, says that this is all bull. He says that opponents were lucky to bid
a slam that just happens to be lay down. Sure, they were lucky, but when you bet on 75% chances, then
you win 75% of the time. 



Chuck’s Comments (in italics): -

‘The extra trick in a minor is a poor score vs No Trump.’ 

I say not so if 6 of the minor makes and 6NT fails. 6 always scores more than 4NT plus one or 6NT
minus one. At IMPs always go for the safer contract. At pairs, only bid 6NT if it stands a decent chance of
making.

‘Hand F is just as likely as Hand E on the bidding. 75% over-rates your point’.

I disagree. I subsequently did a rough calculation of all the possible distributions of the 7 outstanding
high cards (A, Q, K, Q, A, K & Q), assuming they are divided 4 with opener and 3 with the
opponents. There are 35 possible permutations,  
7! / 4! * 3!.  Of these, the 15 that have opponents with 2 or 0 aces can be deleted (opponents have exactly
1 ace). That leaves 20 permutations; of these 20 the slam fails with 4, succeeds with 9 and is on a finesse
with the remaining 7. Thus the total % of the slam being good is (9 +3 ½)/20 = 62½ %. There are also
extra chances (singleton K or Q with opponents, partner having A9xx or similar or a 5 card suit. Now I
said that this was a rough calculation; in fact, since partner has a  suit, the odds slightly favour him having
honours in that suit. You would need to run a computer simulation to arrive at the exact % of this slam, but
it is certainly much greater that 50%. It is greater than 62½% and I think that 75% is possibly close.

And just one more final point about this hand. You should check on aces (I prefer 4 but 4NT is OK
if that’s what you’ve agreed). Not just because there may be two missing, but also because if partner
happens to have 2 aces then the odds are overwhelming that 6 is making. The quantitative bid is silly.

Enough. I will simply re-iterate the point I was trying to make (just in case you’ve forgotten it by now).
4-4 fits usually deliver an extra trick. You generally need 33 points for a 6NT slam. A 4-4 fit will usually
produce 12 tricks with 31 points in a suit slam. 
Well judged Joe. Is there a cultural thing here? Opponents bid to a solid slam; I say good show chaps,
Chuck says they were lucky! 

The Rule of Eleven

On Friday a query arose about the rule of eleven. A small card was led against a suit contract and
Declarer applied the rule of eleven. Unfortunately he came unstuck. Why? The rule of eleven was briefly
described in new-sheet 8. Anyway, against a NT contract, a smallish card led from an unbid suit is usually 4
th best and the rule of eleven applies. 

Against suit contracts it is inapplicable as implied in news-sheet 8). Against suit contracts, a low card
lead usually promises an honour but may just as easily be from a three card suit to the honour – no need to
lead from length against a suit contract. It could even be a doubleton (if not the two), MUD, or a singleton! 
The rule of eleven only applies in NT contracts.



Cover an Honour With an Honour?

 N     Quite often this is good advice, but not always. This
 A8      W    E      Q led situation arose on Friday. You are south. East had 

 S opened 3 and the final contract was 4. Dummy had
A8 and declarer led Q towards dummy. Do you cover?

   K75 No. Do not automatically cover. If you duck then you are 
assured of making the K later.

A Negative Double or 1NT? Board 27 from Monday 4th 

West East (C) West North East South
 

 J10  KQ62 - - - pass
 AQ95  J832 1 1 1NT pass
 AJ1083  Q5 pass 2 pass pass
 43  J96 2 all pass

Clearly 2 is a far better contract for E-W, was anybody at fault? I suggested to Joe (East) that a
negative double (showing 4 ’s) was preferable to 1NT. Joe prefers 1NT. Who is correct? I asked Chuck
and Guy, they would both negative double. I brought the board home to write it up – but then I had second
thoughts. It is not so obvious that a negative double is a better bid than 1NT!

Hand D First of all, consider this similar but slightly stronger hand. You get
the same 1 overcall and make a negative double. If partner bids 2  

 KQ62 then you bid 2NT – just in case partner has only 3 ’s. Perfect. You 
 Q832 have completely described this hand; 4 ’s, invitational values with
 Q5 good  stops. Excellent.
 Q96

But now back to Hand C. The problem is that this hand is not worth two bids opposite a minimum
rebid from partner. If opener has 4 ’s then a negative double works out best. If opener does not have 4
’s then 1NT will work out best. Interesting. So I award top marks for both 1NT or double with Hand C.

Chuck’s Comment: - double with Hand C; double and then rebid 2NT with Hand D.

Bidding Quiz answers

Hand A: re-double (Chuck says 1) 
Hand B: 3 (3 is not invitational)
Hand C: either double (-ve) or 1NT
Hand D: -ve double and then 2NT


