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Last week’s winners:    Monday 25/8/03      Friday  29/8/03

1st Clive/Ken 63% 8 players, but no results
2nd David/Kenneth 56% as a couple were learning

Chuck Chucked out?

It seems like the vast majority of the club just want to play hassle-free bridge. Simply leave any decision
to the director! - that’s what he (gets paid?) for. Clive actually did give a very useful input - a warning is
meaningless, but a ban (for say 1 month) gets the message across. I believe that Chuck no longer wishes to
play here. Up to him, but he is banned up to the beginning of October. Time for reflection? Editor’s
Postscript: Chuck did in fact return to the fold in December.

And what caused Chuck to go ballistic? Apparently he objected to being given an adjusted score
(zero) for a controlled psyche (having also psyched on the previous board). For someone who is a stickler
for the rules (and continually calls the director if someone is within a mm of having possibly breached one)
perhaps he should read the club rules? News sheet 3 is perfectly clear about controlled psyches. Perhaps I
need to bring out a comprehensive set of club rules? (give me your opinion please) - wear a shirt, be polite,
no psyches, no assaults, arrive 10 mins before start time, etc etc … ?

Bidding Quiz

Hand A Hand B With Hand A, partner opens 1NT (15-17). What is your bid?
Pass, 2 or 2NT?

 A4  9854
 J1097  KJ83 With Hand B, partner opens 1NT (15-17). What is your bid?
 Q8752  7632
 J4  9  

Hand C Hand D With Hand C, partner opens 1 and RHO bids 1. Do you bid?
Suppose that you find a pushy 1 response; partner then 

 10764  K952 rebids 3, do you bid on?
 K965  6532
 Q10  AKJ With Hand D you open a strong NT and partner bids 2 
 983  A9 Stayman. Do you mention the motley  suit or bid 2?   

Classic Garbage

Hand B Partner opens a strong NT (15-17), do you bid? The answer is that you 
should if you play the standard (Garbage) version of Stayman. 

 9854 You should try 2 and pass any response (2//) from partner. 
 KJ83 This only ‘fails’  when partner has precisely 3325 shape (when you land in 
 7632 a 2-4  fit). Otherwise you will always play in a major suit 4-4 fit or in a 
 9 3-4 or better  fit.



Worth an Invitation after partner’s 1NT? Board 24 from Friday 22nd 

North (D) South (A) North South(1) Stayman
(2) 4 ’s, maybe also 4 ’s

 K952  A4 1NT 2 (1) (3) invitational; 4 ’s, 8 pts.
 6532  J1097 2 (2) 3 (3)
 AKJ  Q8752 pass
 A9  J4

The bidding shown is what I think is correct (at the table, South passed the 1NT opening). So, is the
South hand worth an invitation? 8 points is the norm and with good shape and excellent body in the  suit
I think it’s worth a go, most definitely if partner has a  suit. And so it turned out, South has a really good
hand for ’s and 4 at (3) would not be unreasonable. Anyway, 3 is the value bid and is best. North is
minimum and should decline the invitation.

So is this better that passing 1NT? Yes! As I have frequently said, the 4-4 fit normally produces an
extra trick. The quality of the trump suit is relatively unimportant. 1NT makes 8 tricks, 3 makes 9 tricks
(10 if opponents do not find a  switch in time).

And the answer to Bidding Quiz question D – never deny a 4 card major. Bid 2 in response to
Stayman even though your  suit is better. Size does not mater, locating the 4-4 fit is all important. If
partner has 4  ’s then you will locate that fit later.

A Bit Pushy? Board 6 from Friday 22nd 

North South (C) West North East South

 A  10764 1 1 1 (1)
 4  K965 pass 3 (2) pass 3NT (3)
 A9764  Q10 pass pass (4) pass
 AKQJ54  983

Would you bid at (1)? I believe it’s worth a bid, The K looks well placed and 983 is decent support
for partner’s suit. A point short of the 6 point norm, but the well-placed K, two 10’s and two 9’s make
up for it. 1NT is incorrect as it denies a  suit. Some players differentiate between 4 ’s and 5 ’s here
by double (-ve) (showing 4 ’s) and bidding 1 (promising 5 ’s). With no such agreement a 1 bid is
fine. Now what about 3 at (2)? This bid is not forcing and a reverse (2) is a better bid if you play a
reverse after a one level response as forcing. 

If 2 is not forcing in your system then 3 is a sensible rebid. I guess that some players might open the
North hand with 2 (artificial and strong) but I prefer 1 (with this shape, 1 will not be passed out).
Anyway, a 1 opener followed by 3 shows a big hand, but should South pass or is 3NT at (3) justified?
I think it is, that K is golden and 3NT stands chances even if the North hand was not quite so good.
North paused at (4) before finally passing; he later said that he was worried about the  suit. Don’t worry,
South’s 3NT bid guarantees a  stop.



Low Level Penalty Doubles ?

I gave a fairly comprehensive list of which doubles are for penalties and which for take-out in
news-sheet 17 (& 18 & 19). There was, however, some slight disagreement over my statement in
news-sheet 32 that the double in this sequence is for penalties (Hand A from news-sheet 32 – reproduced
here as Hand E): -

Hand E (E) West North East South

 AQJ9 pass pass 1 pass
 AK74 1 1 dbl
 7
 Q732

Some people (Hans) may disagree, but this sequence is a penalty double showing 4 (possibly 5) ’s if
you do not play support doubles here. Of course partner knows that this usually shows just 4 (decent) ’s
and may elect to pull the double with an unsuitable hand. That is the case with all the penalty doubles
mentioned in these next few pages.

Let me make it perfectly clear what I mean by a penalty double in these situations where doubler is
unlikely to have a 5 card suit. It means that he has a very good 4 card suit. Since it is at a low level, partner
is certainly entitled to pull the double and often NT will be a good spot. Do not be put off from showing a
good 4 card suit just because RHO has bid it. Double and leave it up to partner. It really is a good flexible
bid.

Consider this similar sequence, it is for penalties unless you have agreed to play support doubles. 

West North East South

1 pass 1 2
dbl

Before I get going on more definitions of low level doubles for penalties, let’s first define the negative
(or sputnik) double: -

A negative double is a bid by responder after partner’s opening suit bid has been overcalled with
another suit. It promises length (usually 4 cards) in any unbid major(s). This is the only definition of the
negative double, although some play that it also promises the other unbid suit. Only rarely does a negative
double promise minor suits: - If the bidding has gone 1  1  (or 1  2)  then a negative dbl shows
both minors.

1x  1y  dbl or         1x  2y  dbl are negative doubles, simple.

In order to avoid confusion in terminology, it is best to restrict the term ‘negative double’ to these exact
sequences. Other general take-out doubles are best called information or take-out or competitive. So, let’s
set out some ground rules. In addition to all the guidelines in news-sheets 17, 18 & 19 a double of a low
level contract is for penalties if all of the following hold: -



1) The doubler sits after the bidder, and
2) the opponents have no fit, and
3) we are not in a game forcing situation, and
4) partner has shown some values, and
5) it is not a negative, support or any other agreed conventional double.

Quite a mouthful, so we need a few examples. Clearly Hand E satisfies these criteria, the double is for
penalties. In all of the following, the hand shown is that of the doubler: -

Hand F (N) West North East South

 KQ1072 1 pass 1NT 2
 A65 2 dbl
 82
 Q93 Penalties. Partner has shown values and 2 will not make.

____________________________________

Hand G (W) West North East South

 K4 1 pass 2 2
 AQ654 dbl
 QJ92  
 83 Penalties.

With Hand type G there is no point in having the double to show a  suit. Partner has denied ’s, and if he
actually has them then that is because he is strong enough to bid again.

Hand G (W) West North East South

 K4 1 pass 1 2
 AQ654 ?
 QJ92
 83 The same hand, but this time it is best to pass. Partner has 

only promised 6 points so double (penalties) is too risky. Partner is quite
likely to double next (for take-out, extra values) and you can then pass for
penalties.

Hand H (W) West North East South

 K4 1 pass 1 2
 AQ654 dbl
 QJ92 Penalties. Same sequence as above, but this time you have
 AJ sufficient values (with partner’s 6+) for the penalty double.

_________________________________



Hand I (W) West North East South

 A43 1 1 dbl 2
 6 dbl
 AJ102 East’s double is negative, promising ’s.
 AK654 West’s double is penalties. 

____________________________________

Hand J (N) West North East South

 J1098 1 pass 1 2
 K1096 2 dbl
 AQJ8
 5 Penalties. Partner has values and opponents have no fit.

A mis-fit hand, so best to defend (preferably doubled!)
____________________________________

Hand K (N) West North East South

 42 1 pass pass dbl
 A10965 2 dbl
 QJ7
 KQ3 Penalties. West has stuck his neck out, so chop it.

____________________________________                                        
                                                                                                                 

Hand L (N) West North East South

 J106 1 pass 1 dbl
 A8 2 dbl
 Q97
 AQ1065 Penalties. Opponents have no fit. Partner has promised both red

suits and you would bid one of them if you wished to compete.
________________________________________                                      
                                                                                                                   

Hand M (W) West North East South

 Q 1 pass 1 2
 AJ108 dbl
 A97 Penalties. Unless you have agreed to play support doubles.
 AQ653 ___________________________________       

Hand N (W) West North East South

 AQ986 1 pass 2 3
 8 dbl
 QJ973 Penalties. Here you have 3 as the game try. East may,
 AK of course, elect to remove the double. But let’s hope not. 



Now some examples of non-penalty doubles: -

Hand O (W) West North East South

 AQ874 1 pass 2 3
 84 dbl
 KQ9 A game try. There is no bid available to try for game as
 AQ6 3 is just competitive. So an exception to the general rules.

East may, of course, elect to pass for penalties.
____________________________________                                        

                                                                                                                 

Hand P (E) West North East South

 A86 1 pass 2 2
 K2 pass pass dbl
 865
 A10932 Competitive, sometimes called values. It is not penalties as you sit 

under the 2 bidder. You will be quite happy if partner (W) passes
for penalties.
___________________________________          

Hand Q (S) West North East South

 6 1 2 pass pass
 Q10762 2 pass pass dbl
 76
 AJ982 A take out double. Showing values and giving partner a choice.

It is not penalties as you sit under the 2 bidder. 
____________________________________          

Hand R (S) West North East South

 AQ74 pass pass 1 pass
 76 2 pass 2 dbl
 87
 A10986 A take out double. You did not double first time because you had

nothing in ’s. It is not penalties as partner has not shown values.
____________________________________          

This is all fairly standard, you are welcome to agree different meaning for any of these doubles with
your partner. I have just given some generally accepted guidelines.

That’s it for this week – I’m running out of letters for the hands. If you have any strong opinions
(especially if they differ from mine) then let me know and I will print them. Maybe somebody disagrees with
some of these penalty doubles? As always, I am more than happy to print any sensible constructive
comments from anybody.


