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Last week’s winners:    Monday 15/9/03      Friday  19/9/03

1st Hans/Phil 60% 1st Hans/Jan 53VP
2nd Gerry/Dave 57% 2nd Clive/Jim 51VP

Bidding Quiz

Hand A Hand B With Hand A you open 1 and partner replies 1. What is
your rebid? And what if RHO had overcalled 3 (weak),

 A1076  K9842 what do you bid?
 43  AJ75 
 AQJ65  K7 With Hand B you open 1, partner replies 1NT, do you bid?
 QJ  A6

What do you open with Hand C? If you choose 1 then what
Hand C Hand D do you do after a 1NT response from partner?

 AK952  A1096 With Hand D RHO opens 1NT, what do you bid? Obviously
 J94  A9863 2 if you play multi-Landy or a similar defence to 1NT. 
 A7  AJ6 But you do not play this and so settle for a natural 2. This 
 AJ8  7 is passed round to opener who produces an unexpected 3 

bid. What do you do now?

Hand E Hand F With Hand E you are playing a strong NT and partner opens 
1, what is your reply? Is it the same if you play a weak NT?

 A6  AJ53
 Q1083  Q82 With Hand F you are playing Acol and open 1, opponents
 532  QJ73 vulnerable and you not. LHO overcalls 2 and partner 
 KJ92  AK doubles (negative). What do you bid at pairs? And at teams?

Hand G Hand H Hand J

 A862  1065  AQ654 Do any of these hands qualify as an opener?
 KQ9  AQ872  Q10
 J43  Q7  87
 K95  A95  KJ93

Hand K Hand L With Hand K LHO opens 1, partner bids 1 and RHO 
bids 1. Do you bid?

 K86  J842
 864  85 With hand L the opponent’s bid to 3NT against silent 
 K9  J6 opposition. A  lead is ‘obvious’, but which one?
 97652  AK1032



At King Arthur’s Court

King Arthur had been having a bad run at his gambling and so he decided to ask his magicians the odds
at a game where he had lost a considerable amount. He summoned Merlin and co. and asked them: -

Arthur: I have three golden sovereigns, one has two heads, one has two tails and the third is
normal. I place all three in a hat and pick out one at random. It is placed on the table and
suppose that it shows a head, then what are the odds that the reverse is also a head?

Griffendahl: Well Sire, that really is simple. You had a one in three chance of picking the double headed
coin and so the odds are 1 in 3.

Dumbledwarf: Great gobbling griffins, what nonsense. You have to think about sides. There are a total of
three heads and three tails. You can see one head so that leaves two heads and three tails.
The odds are thus 2 in 5.

Hogwarts: Double Dutch Dumbledwarf!. When will you grow up? Think about the coins. Suppose
that you pick the double headed coin, then it’s 100% that you place it on the table heads
up. But if you picked the genuine coin then it’s only 50%. Thus when a head appears it’s
twice as likely to be from the double headed coin. The odds are 2 in 3.

Merlin: Hogwash Hogwarts! You’re all wrong. There are just two coins with a head and this is one
of them. Either coin is just as likely to have been picked and so the odds are evens that this
is the double headed coin. 
So 1 in 2.

Seems just like a political debate; everybody is very persuasive and appears to have a good argument,
but most of them are talking nonsense. 1 in 3;  2 in 5;  2 in 3 or 1 in 2. Who is correct? Answer next week.

An Easy Game Missed (at both tables) Board 11 from Friday 19th 

West (C) East At the table where I was kibitzing they were playing a
strong NT and West chose to open 1. A 1NT opening is a 

 AK952  4 very acceptable alternative. Anyway, partner replied 1NT 
 J94  Q10 and West passed; 11 tricks were made in NT, who’s fault?
 A7  KQ9543 Playing a weak NT it is easy as East can respond 2 to a 
 AJ8  Q973 1 opening. Playing a strong NT you need 11 (or a very 

good 10 points) to bid at the two level. Some would 
upgrade because of the excellent  suit and bid 2, others would consider the shortage in opener’s suit a
liability and would be satisfied with 1NT. I think that either is acceptable. But after a 1NT response to the 1
 opening, West has to bid on. 2NT is the bid, it is too good to pass. I don’t know the bidding at the other
table but since they scored +210 I guess they were also in 1NT making +4?

 When the bidding starts 1 - 1NT, then opener needs about 17-18 points to bid 2NT. It does not
come up that often when you play a strong NT as most of the hands in the 16-17 point range would have
opened 1NT.



A Good Opener Boards 1 and 21 from Monday 15th – passed out!

East 1 (H) East 21 (J) Hand H was passed by one player on Monday. 
A cold bottom as 9 tricks were available in ’s.

 1065  AQ654 Seems to be catching, Hand J was passed by 
 AQ872  Q10 another player and 9 tricks were there in ’s.
 Q7  87 Do not pass 12 counts with a good 5 card major.
 A95  KJ93

Raising Responder’s Major to Game? Board 25 from Monday 15th 

West East (A) West North East South

 KJ53  A1076 - pass 1 pass
 K8  43 1 3 (1) 4 pass
 K10943  AQJ65 4NT pass 5 pass
 A10  QJ 6 pass pass pass

A hopeless slam, who’s fault? First of all consider East’s rebid if there was no interference. Raising
partner’s 1 to 2 is quite sufficient. A rebid of 3 would show a slightly stronger hand (about 15-17
pts) and 4 would show about 18-19 pts. After the weak 3 at (1) there is less room, after interference
you sometimes have to stretch. This East hand is worth 3, but only 3. A bid of 4 here shows about
17-19 points. The QJ are worthless and this East hand is about 6 points shy of the 4 bid. 

Leading Against No Trumps Board 3 from Monday 15th 

East (K) You are on lead against 3NT. I don’t know what the bidding was (it’s not
important). You choose to lead a , but which one?

 J842 Obviously you lead 4th best. The player in question led A. He most
 85 certainly deserved to find partner with Qx. And for all you unbelievers, 
 J6 there is someone out there? Partner did indeed have Qx and 3NT made +2
 AK1032 when a small  lead nets the first 5  tricks. Read this before? Of course

you have, it is virtually the same script an in news-sheet 24, and what’s
more it was the same player who led the ace then!! Seems that some players do not learn
even after they have let 2NT redoubled make.

An Opening Bid in 4th Seat? Board 14 from Friday 12th 

North (G) 13 high card points, totally flat with poor intermediates. Do you open? 
It is close. I would deduct a point and perhaps not open in 1st – 2nd  seat. 

 A862 4th seat is different and the rule of 15 applies (news sheet 24). With 12 
 KQ9 points (deduct one for this shape) and 4 ’s this adds up to 16 and so is a 
 J43 clear opener in 4th seat. What happened? I opened a weak NT at our table 
 K95 and made +2. It was passed out at another. At the 3rd table N-S managed  

to reach 3 (minus 2) on 4-3 fit. I have no idea how, partner had a flat 
10 count.



Bidding Over 1NT Board 13 from Friday 19th . Both vulnerable.
 

West (D) West(Ian) North East South (Clive)

 A1096 - pass pass 1NT
 A9863 2 pass pass 3
 AJ6 dbl (1) pass pass (2) pass
 7

It really is worthwhile having some sort of defence to opponent’s 1NT opening. There are dozens
around and Multi-Landy (similar to Cappelletti) is certainly one of 
the best, see news-sheet 15.

Anyway, West played a natural defence and bid 2. This was passed round to opener who bid 3.
It is not usually wise to bid again having opened 1NT, however South had a warped 1NT opener (six 
’s) and perhaps he knew his opponent? I don’t understand the double at (1). The player concerned said
that he did not think that 3 would make, quite why I don’t know. Anyway, a double here is for
penalties. Pass is 
the only sensible bid now; partner would then have bid 3 which makes easily, fine. 
He passed the penalty double and 3 made, not so fine.

The bottom line? Having something in trumps is normally sound advice for a penalty double! (especially
when partner has said nothing).

Responding to Partner’s Overcall Board 19 from Friday 19th , E-W vulnerable

West East (K) West North East South

 J73  K86 - - - 1
 AQ953  864 1 (1) 1 2 (2) pass
 AJ  K9 3 (3) pass pass pass
 A103  97652

The contract drifted four off for –400, a disaster at teams on a partscore hand. Things sat badly (A
with South and  KJ102 with North) but was anybody at fault in getting this high? Let’s have a look: -

(1) Obviously a sound overcall. An overcall at the one level can be anywhere between 7 and 17 points and
this is at the top of the range.

(2) Responding to an overcall is different from responding to an opening bid in that partner is limited to 17
points. If West had opened the bidding then East would be obliged to bid with this hand as there could
be a game opposite an 18 or 19 point hand. Opposite an overcall there is no game and East is under no
obligation to bid. This really is a very poor 6 count, LHO has opened the bidding and so you expect at
least one king to sit under the ace. Also three small is not a good trump holding and, as I have said
many times, points belong in long suits (or partner’s long suit). This is a miserable hand and should pass.
If the  and  holdings were interchanged then 2 would be a reasonable bid. In this auction opener
is bound to bid and you can bid 2 next go if you get a chance.

(3) This West hand is worth a try for game.



When Do You Need 5 Cards to Bid a Major? Board 26 from Monday 15th 

North (E) South (B) West North East South

 A6  K9842 - - pass 1
 Q1083  AJ75 pass 1NT (1) pass pass (2)
 532  K7 pass
 KJ92  A6

A reasonable 4 was missed, and in any case, a  partscore is better than NT. Who’s fault? North’s
1NT at (1) is correct, the hand is not strong enough to bid at the two level when playing a strong NT (you
need 11 points). Anyway, if playing a weak NT the bid would be 2, not 2. You need 5 ’s to respond 2
 to an opening 1 bid.

So, what about South’s pass at (2)? South thought that he needed 5’s to bid 2; this is incorrect.
Whereas North needed 5 ’s, South needs only 4. This shows 5-4 shape and offers North a choice
between 2, 2 or bidding on if he likes ’s. In this particular case North is max and likes ’s, he should
bid an invitational 3 which South should most certainly raise to 4. 

So, playing a strong NT the bidding should be 1 - 1NT - 2 - 3 - 4 - pass
And playing a weak NT 1 -  2  - 2 - 3 - 4 - pass

The board was played 5 times on Monday. The  game was reached at other tables (making +1) except
at one table where 3NT was reached (making minus two). The two players concerned have not had the
wisdom of my last dozen or so news sheets; after they catch up they will doubtless know all about the power
of the 4-4 fit.

Let’s continue the theme, board 3 from Friday 19th : -

North South     Table 1     Table 2
West North East South West North East South
- - - 1 - - - 1

 86  K9853 pass 1NT pass 2 pass 1NT pass 2
 K10832  AJ95 3 3 pass pass pass 4 pass pass
 62  Q5 pass pass
 QJ82  K5

Both North’s got it right to start with. You cannot respond 2 with just six points and 1NT is the only
bid. At table 1 there was an interfering 3 overcall, and with a known 9 card fit, 3 is correct. This is not
invitational but simply competitive. At table 2 North got carried away, an invitational 3 is an overbid, 4
is way over the top; opener has shown no more than a minimal hand with 5 ’s and 4 ’s. Even though
you know of a 9 card fit, the miserable doubleton in opener’s first bid suit is a bad omen. What happened? 
A was offside and just 8 tricks were available.



Passing a Negative Double? Board 19 from Monday 15th 

South (F) West North East South (me)

 AJ53 - - - 1 (1)
 Q82 2 dbl (2) pass pass (3)
 QJ73 pass
 AK

This hand is from Monday, I was playing Acol with Gerry. E-W were vulnerable: -

(1) Playing Acol I will open a 4 card major only if my rebid is NT, with 17 or more points. So 1 here.
Why do I only open a 4 card major with 17+ points? Because a 1NT response is often very awkward –
I want to be able to raise 1NT to 2NT( or 3NT).

(2) Negative, showing both minors and values to compete to the three level.
(3) Dangerous at teams, but pass is a serious contender at pairs. If you choose to bid 3 then you are at the

3 level with possibly only an 8 card fit. If you set the opponents by just one trick then you get +200, a
magic number at pairs. This illustrates the fallacy that you miss penalty doubles when you play negative
doubles, 2 would not be doubled if you played old-fashioned penalty doubles.

What happened? Partner did not have much, but 3 makes. However, 2 went one down for an
excellent score to N-S. At teams I would bid 3. This is where the type of scoring is important. You also
need to consider if the overcaller is a sound bidder, letting Hans play 2 doubled would be very dangerous,
this West was not Hans. +200 is a clear top at pairs and 2 making is a clear bottom; if the former is more
likely then it is a good bet. The same is not true at teams scoring. Doubling 2 only gains 100 when it goes
down but 2 doubled and making is a disaster.

Bidding Quiz Solutions

Hand A 2 is quite sufficient. After a 3 overcall then you have to show your 
support by bidding 3. 4 is a gross overbid in both situations. If you bid 4 then partner
will place you with a big hand and may go slamming.

Hand B Open 1 and rebid 2 over 1NT (or 2/)
Hand C A strong 1NT is acceptable. If you open 1 and partner replies 1NT then bid 2NT.
Hand D Having overcalled 2 at the first go you have said it all, pass now. A double is for penalties

and is absurd with a singleton trump.
Hand E Playing a weak NT then bid 2. Playing a strong NT this hand is not quite good enough for a

two level response and so bid 1NT.
Hand F You have 17 points and partner has shown values. At favourable vulnerability and pairs

scoring I would pass and hope for the magic +200 or +500. 3 is a feeble(?) alternative but is
best at teams.

Hand G A marginal opener in 1st or 2nd seat, but open in 3rd or 4th seat.
Hands H&J Clear openers in any seat.
Hand K Pass. Not good enough for 2 at this stage.
Hand LLead a small . Do not lead the ace or king.


