
         Club News Sheet – No. 52 24/10/2003            

Last week’s winners:    Monday 20/10/03      Friday  24/10/03

1st = Kenneth/David 60% 1st Clive/Ken 56%
1st = Jeff/Alex 60% 2nd Dave/John 55%
 

Eddie was amused by the way that I explained that the sequence 1 - 1 - 3 - 3 is forcing last
week (he agreed of course). He’ll get used to my style in time. Actually, a jump rebid features in three of
the hands this week.

Bidding Quiz

Hand A Hand B With Hand A partner opens 1, do you respond 2 or 3?
Suppose you choose 3 and partner rebids 3, what now?

 KJ  AK7
 AQ3  A72 With hand B you open 1 and partner responds 1, what
 J5  75 is your rebid?
 KQ7654  AK1096

With Hand C you open 1 and partner responds 1, what
Hand C Hand D is your rebid?

 -  96543 With Hand D partner opens 1, do you respond? Suppose
 A763  KJ you reply 1 and partner rebids 2NT, what now?
 K8753  J962
 AKQ3  43 With Hand E you open 1 and partner replies 3; strong,

good  suit and game forcing. You rebid 3 and partner
Hand E Hand F says 4. Do you go slamming? And would you if partner

had said 3NT?
 A62  KQ75 And what would your initial rebid be if partner had 
 KJ  Q109 responded just 2 initially?
 AQ97432  A10
 8  J1093 You are dealer with hand F, do you open? Suppose that you

pass and this goes round to RHO who opens 1. What now?
At King Arthur’s Court

King Arthur had three convicted criminals lined up for execution. Axel the arsonist, one-eyed Pete the
pillager and Bromiad the blind beggar. Bromiad really was blind and Pete could only see Bromiad with his
one eye. Axel could see both the others. The king had 5 hats, two black and three white, and he had a hat
randomly placed on each criminal’s head. He said that if any criminal could correctly state the colour of the
hat on his own head then all three would be set free, otherwise it was off with their heads. 
After 60 seconds or so, one prisoner spoke up and gained their freedom. Which one? And what colour hat
did he have?



With A Void in Partner’s Suit … Board 13 from Friday 24th

West (C) East West North East South
 -  AQJ72 - pass pass pass
 A763  102 1 pass 1 pass
 K8753  J96 2 (1) pass 2 (2) pass
 AKQ3  J87 pass pass

I was spectating this hand. When the deal was over East said that West should have rebid 3 at (1) to
‘show his points’. Was he right? No, 3 is a very poor bid for two reasons –

-1- It shows a good 6 card suit (king and 4 rags certainly does not qualify).
-2- You should devalue this hand because of the void in partner’s suit.

East is a ‘points’ merchant, presumably he believes that with a combined 25 points you should always
be in game? This deal is a perfect example of why not! No game stands much of a chance and this bidding
was fine (except that East might consider bidding 2 at (2) and playing in the known 5-3 fit). Downgrade a
hand with a void in partner’s suit. The horrible 3NT was reached at the two other tables. 2 is the correct
rebid at (1); as I said 3 is lousy and the hand is not worth a reverse into 2 nor a game forcing 3. A
NT rebid with a void in partner’s suit would be ludicrous of course.

… So How About the Jump Rebid On this Hand? Board 4 from Friday 24th

West (B) East (D) West North East South
 AK7  96543 1 pass 1 (1) pass
 A72  KJ 3 (2) pass pass (3) pass
 75  J962
 AK1096  43

I was kibitzing the same pair this hand. So what about the bidding this time?

(1) I could never bring myself to pass 1 with this sort of hand, 1 is fine.
(2) The same player who suggested 3 with the previous hand. This is incorrect, a jump rebid shows a

good 6 card suit. It would be nice to be able to support partner’s ’s with this hand, but it is too good
for 2 and 3 or 4 promise 4 card support. Nothing is perfect, but I prefer a 2NT (18-19) rebid.

(3) West claimed that East cannot pass. Wrong - he can. 3 is not forcing. Pass is the only option, 3 or
any other bid by East at (3) would show a stronger hand and is forcing. 

And what happened? 3 made +1. 1 was passed out (+3) at another table. So what is the best
bidding sequence to reach a  contract? : -

3 at (4) is weak. West should West North East South
pass at (5) but 4 is perhaps 1 pass 1 pass
worth a go at teams. 2NT pass 3  (4) pass

pass (5) pass pass

The bottom line? Jump rebids show good six card suits. 3 makes 9, possibly 10 tricks.



Going Slamming? Board 26 from Monday 20th 

I was sitting behind Mike, South (giving the occasional bit of advice) when he bid this slam on Monday
playing with Jim (Sco).

North (A) South (E) West North East South (Mike)
 KJ  A62 - - pass 1
 AQ3  KJ pass 3 (1) pass 3 (2)
 J5  AQ97432 pass 4 (3) pass 4NT (4)
 KQ7654  8 pass 5 (5) pass 6 (6)

dbl (7) pass pass pass

(1) The jump shift shows a good hand (say 15+ pts) and a good suit. It is game forcing. 
I personally would bid just 2 as the  suit has no ‘body’, but I guess that 3 is OK.

(2) 3 is best, the auction is always game forcing.
(3) With points in both unbid suits I prefer 3NT, but 4 worked out well.
(4) Normal Blackwood.
(5) One ace.
(6) There is an ace missing, but partner had gone past 3NT. With  support opposite I think it’s clear to

bid the slam.
(7) West held Kx and assumed that east had an ace. A poor double.

Let’s start with the play for a change. West led a  and the J won. The  loser was then discarded
on the 3rd round of ’s and only then were trumps tackled and a trick lost to K. East then commented
that the double did not cost as nobody else (but me) would bid slam when partner had shown a suit in
which you have a singleton. I disagreed (and was proved to be correct), no prizes for guessing who East
was. Partner has supported ’s (4) and going past 3NT strongly suggests slam. 7 card suits usually come
in quite handy and I would always look for slam with the South hand. Also, 5 will get a poor score
compared with 3NT. 6NT would be a silly contract of course.

And what if North had bid 3NT at (3)? Not so obvious then, but 3NT promises some sort of 
support and I would still go slamming. It could be that the K needs protecting from the opening lead
(obviously a major) and 6 will be played from the correct hand.

I note that nobody was in 5. Clive and Eddie were also in 6 and the other 3 tables were all in 3NT.
Good show, I have frequently said that 5 of a minor is often a silly contract as 3NT (+1 or 2) scores more.
I bet that a year or so ago a number of pairs would be in 5, obviously the word is spreading.

Now I said that Clive and Eddie also reached 6, their auction is well worth noting: -

West North (Clive) East South (Eddie)
- - pass 1
pass 2 (1) pass 3 (2)
pass 4NT pass 5
pass 6 all pass

I prefer Clive’s 2 bid at (1) to a jump shift. And how about Eddie’s jump rebid at (2)? This is a fine
example – a good 6(+) card suit. Normal Blackwood then got to the reasonable slam. I like this bidding
sequence. 6 is not solid, but it’s a nice contract.



Open or come in Later? Board 1 from Friday 24th 

North (F) West North East South
 KQ75 - pass (1) pass pass
 Q109 1 dbl (2)   …..…………… and onwards to disaster.
 A10
 J1093

(1) 12 points with excellent intermediates. It conforms to the rule of 20 and is a perfectly acceptable
opener. Open 1 playing a strong NT or otherwise open a weak 1NT. 

(2) Now I am willing to accept that some people will choose not to open this hand, but a double here is a
really poor bid. Refer back to previous news-sheets if you are not sure what sort of hand constitutes a
take-out double. If you cannot open this hand then you certainly cannot produce a miserable double
now, pass!.

At King Arthur’s Court – Solution

It seems unlikely I know, but the blind beggar Bromiad spoke up. Despite seeing nothing he knew the
colour of his own hat after a while! His reasoning was as follows: - Axel obviously cannot see two black
hats as he would then have known that his own was white. Thus I know that the two hats (on me and Pete)
must be both white or one of each colour. Pete has also worked this out I hope, thus if Pete can see a
black hat on me then his own must be white and he would have spoken up by now. Hence he cannot see a
black cap on me and so mine is white.

Bidding Quiz Solutions

Hand A: I prefer a slow 2, but 3 is OK I guess. If you bid 3 then this shows about 15+ points and a
good  suit. After partner’s 3 I would then bid 3NT which I think describes this hand pretty
well.

Hand B: 2NT. 18-19 (or 17-19 if you play a weak NT).
Hand C: 2 is quite sufficient with this misfit.
Hand D: I would respond 1. After partner’s 2NT then 3 is OK as this is a weak bid.
Hand E: If partner bids 4 at his second turn then I am definitely looking for slam. Partner has gone past

3NT and 5 will lose to those in 3NT. And if partner had bid 3NT? I would still look for 6,
even with the singleton in partner’s suit, 
7 cards suits still play pretty well!
And if partner had responded 2 initially? This hand is good enough for a 3 jump rebid.
Again, a decent 7 card suit is an asset.

Hand F: I would always open this hand – either 1 or a weak 1NT, but I guess that some may choose to
pass. If you passed, then do not double RHO’s 1 opener but pass again, a double shows
short ’s and is a very poor bid with this flat hand.


