29/4/05 Club News Sheet — No. 130

Mon 25" N/S I Chuck/Hans 58% 2 Kenneth/David 52%
Mon 25" E-W 1 Ursula/Jean-Marc 57% 2 Dave/Kees 52%
Wed 27 N/S 1 Clive/Ken 64% 2 Dave/Gene 57%
Wed 27"E-W  1* Monte/Richard (USA) 65% 2™ Kenneth/John 52%
Fri  29/4/05 I** John Gavens/Terry 63% 2" Clive/Ken 59%

Everything is back to normal now, I hope; thanks (nearly) everybody for your continual support. |
have re-started ‘the beginner’s page(s)’ and it will be issued as a separate document on Mondays with
the same number as the accompanying news-sheet.

Bidding Quiz

Hand A

A 982

v KJ865
¢ 6543
&3

Hand C

aQ

v Q109
+ KJ83

% KJ1052

Hand D

a AJ10764
v K4

¢ AJ654

& -

Hand E

A A9742
' -

s Q10952
% 863

Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand B With Hand A partner opens 1&, what do you do?
a Q53 With Hand B LHO opens 2+, what do you bid?
v KQJ984
¢ A3
A2
(a) Would you open with Hand C (if so, with what?)?

Suppose that you choose to open 1 &, then what is your rebid if ...
(b) Partner bids 1 ¢? (c) Partner bids 1 ?
(d) Partner bids 1a? (e) Partner bids INT?

With Hand D partner opens 1 &
(a) What do you respond?
(b) Suppose you bid 1 a, then what do you bid after partner’s 24 rebid?

Finally a tricky problem that occurred at the table on Friday.
LHO opens 2% and both partner and RHO pass, what’s going on?
Before you answer the final question (¢) (what do you bid), think about the
following questions: -
(a) Opener has about 8 points, where are the missing 26 points?
(b) Opener has 6 w’s, where are the other 7 »’s?
(¢) Why did RHO not bid or raise % ’s?
(d) Why did partner not bid?
If you work out all of the above then you should know the answer to ...
(e) ...what do you bid?

A ‘quickie’ question. With no opposition bidding, how many &’s does opener promise in this auction?
Il - INT- 2.



Don’t pass partner’s 14 with a singleton Board 11 from Monday 25"

Dealer: a 982
South v KJ865 West North(A) East South
Love all ¢ 6543 - - - le (1)
®3 pass pass (2) pass (3)
a K74 N a Q1065
v Q10 W E v 9743
¢ K109 S ¢ 12
% KQ652 % AJ7
a Al3
v A2
¢+ AQ97
% 10984

(1) N-S were playing Acol and so South could not open INT.

) What did you do with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? I would never pass a 1 & opening
with a singleton if I can muster up a bid. 1# looks best to me.

3) East could make a balancing bid here, but pass may well work out best.

And what happened? The 4-1 fit did not play that well and went two down for a joint bottom.

The bottom line: -
- D’ve said it many times before — don’t pass partner’s 1 & opening with shortage if you can possibly
scrape up a bid.

Lead quiz Jean-Marc gave me this hand from an internet game. You are West with
Lead quiz g g

this bidding. What card should you lead after
West partner’s double?
& Qxx West North East South
v 109xx - le pass le
¢ 8 pass 2 pass 34
% 98xxx pass 3a (a) pass 3NT (b)

pass pass dbl all pass

(a) 4" sui, asking for a & stop.
(b) Promisinga s stop

Partner has been silent throughout the auction but then doubles the freely bid 3NT contract. Why?
Answer next page.



Lead quiz_answer Jean-Marc’s hand from the mternet: -

West East West North East South
A Qxx A Axx - le pass(l) 1le

v 109xx v Qx pass 2 pass 34

¢ 8 ¢ AKQI10x pass 3a pass 3NT
& 98xxx ® QJx pass pass dbl (2) allpass

I won’t go into the bidding in detail as it’s a lead problem. East decided upon a ‘trap’ pass at (1); a
INT overcall or double followed by 1NT are alternatives but the pass should have worked out well if
partner had understood the double at (2).

So what did you lead in the quiz? Actually, it’s text-book stuff but you can work it out logically.
Partner has been silent throughout the auction but then doubles the freely bid 3NT contract. Why?

Because he has an excellent & suit. It’s similar to the Lightner double ofa slam and demands that
partner lead dummy’s first bid suit. So the answer is the ¢ 8.

Don’t make a weak bid with a strong hand Board 22 from Friday 29"
Dealer: a3
East v J97652 West(D) North East South
E-W wul + Q82 - - l& pass
* Q63 Ia (1) pass 2& pass
2¢ (2) pass 3 pass
a AJ10764 N a K8 3a pass pass (3) pass
v K4 W E v Q3
¢ AJ654 S ¢ 73
& - % AK 109874
a Q952
v Al108
+ K109
® J52

(1) What did you bid with this West hand D (a) in this week’s quiz? 1 # is correct when 4-4 (bid 4-4’s
up the line) or if you have more o ’s than & ’s. But with 5-5’s you bid the higher ranking first, so bid
1 & here.

(2) So what did you bid with this West hand D(b) in this week’s quiz? 2 ¢ here is not enough because it
is not forcing, 3 ¢ is correct. A jump to 4 # is wrong because as it’s an unnecessary jump (3 ¢ is
forcing), it would be a splinter agreeing «’s!

(3) East thought that West was weak and so passed.

And what happened? The comfortable 44 game was bid at just one table out of 5. I note that one
pair reached 5 o, presumably because West bid 1 # at (1) and East correctly gave preference to the first
bid suit. The bottom lines: -

- Don’t make a non-forcing bid if you know you have game values and partner does not.
- Bid the higher ranking of two 5 card suits in most situations.



Why no slam? Board 8 from Wednesday 27"

Dealer:
West
Love all

a AK3
v A1097
¢ A87
% 1062

Table A

‘Expert’
Table

A 865 Table A
v J8543 West North East South
¢ 64 INT (1) pass 2& (2) pass
% J43 2w pass 44 (3) pass
4¢ (4) pass 4v (5) pass
N a QJ7 pass (6) pass
W E v KQ2
S + KQ105 ‘Expert’ Table
% AQS West North East South
a 10942 INT pass ANT (2) pass
v o6 pass (7) pass
¢ JO32
% K975

(1) A balanced 15 count, so open INT? You all know me, I’ll deduct a point for the totally
flat 4333 type shape. But the great top cards, the good intermediates and the two 10’s
offset this and so for me a INT opener is OK.

(2) Unless you play a sophisticated system you should only bid Stayman if you have a 4
card major

(3) This pair had agreed the 44 was ace-asking, I’ll go mto the correct ‘standard’
responses on the next page.

(4) This player believed that 4 ¢ showed 0 or 3 aces. I guess that you could agree to play
that (I can’t see the point myself unless it’s Roman Keycard with the ¥ K included in the
responses).

(5) When youuse 4% as an ace ask, then 4NT is a sign off; quite why this East chose 4w
is a mystery. Anyway, East should have realised that a few wheels had come off as it’s
impossible for West to have zero aces and have a INT opener.

(6) And perhaps West should have realised that those wheels were rolling — East has asked
for aces (so looking for slam) but has backed off with a 3 ace response! That must be
impossible and so clearly East has not taken the 4 ¢ bid as 0 or 3 aces.

(2) So I'mnot too impressed with the auction at Table A, but how would our
‘experts’ bid it? Now there are mechanisms to locate a 4-4 (or better) minor
suit fit after a INT opening but they are beyond the scope of this news-sheet. So today
our ‘experts’ are simple souls. What did you bid at (2) with this East hand B in this
week’s quiz? With no 4 card major 2«& is pointless/misleading. If you have no
mechanism to locate a possible ¢ fit then the hand is maybe worth a slam force and I
think that with this totally flat hand it’s a toss-up between 6NT or a very pessimistic
quantitative 4N'T. This expert East was a pessimist and lucked out. I believe that most
expert pairs would reach 6NT.

(7) And East has an easy pass with his mmimal INT opener if East chooses 4NT.

And what happened? Our E-W pair at Table A lucked out for an average out as 4% made and two
pairs bid the hopeless 6NT slam.

But why is 6NT a poor contract with a combined 34 points? It basically needs two out of 3 suits
behaving to make — so it’s probably against the odds.

34 pts will normally be enough for slam, but the problem here is that both hands are totally flat with
no fit. If either hand had a 5 card suit then 6N'T would be odds-on. It boils down to what [ am
continually saying, you cannot over-emphasise how poor the 4333 type shape is (in either NT or a suit
contract). When you both have i, it’s hopeless!

The bottom lines: -



- Youneed a 4 card major to bid 2& Stayman.
- Know/agree your responses to Blackwood and Gerber.
- Deduct a point for the totally flat 4333 type shape.

Standard Responses to Gerber and Blackwood: -

If 44 asks for aces: - If4NT asks for aces: -
4¢ =0/4aces 5& =0/4aces

4 =1 ace 5¢ =1ace

44 =2 aces 5¢ =2aces

4ANT =3 aces 54 =3 aces

Now there are the ‘Roman’ response whereby the first step is 0/3 but this only really makes sense if
there are 5 ‘aces’. And it most certainly has to be agreed and is not commonly used over a 4& ask.

Discarding — Suit preference. Lavinthal (aka McKenney)

It’s time for a repeat of an article from news-sheet 99: - When you are defending and can not follow
suit then you have to discard something. It is often best to convey information to your partner with this
discard and there are various schemes. One of the best and most commonly used is Lavinthal, also known
as McKenney. The most important point is that you DO NOT discard in a suit that you like, but discard
from one of the other suits. There are two remaining suits and the size of your discard indicates which of
these remaining two suits you like, a high/middle card indicates the higher ranking and a low card the
lower ranking.

For example, you are discarding on ¥ ’s and would like partner to lead a #. Discard either a low
club (so asks for the lowest ranking of #’s and ¢ ’s) or discard a high a (so asks for the highest ranking
of &’s and & ’s). Note that you always have a choice of two suits to discard from and can usually make
the signal clear. When you are defending it is important to take special note of partner’s first discard —
that will tell you which suit he likes.

I have witnessed countless occurrences of people throwing away a trick in defence (especially in NT
contracts) by discarding in a suit to indicate that they like that suit — that system really sucks. Don’t
discard from a suit you like, play McKenney.

a A1063 Lavinthal Suit preference is also used in other situations. Suppose that you

v 74 are on lead defending a w contract. You lead the ¢ A and get an encouraging
¢ AKS83 49 from partner. So you continue with the ¢ K and he plays the ¢2. So he
& 873 encouraged. Suppose that you know from the bidding that partner is probably

ruffing the next o ; which ¢ do you lead? The answer is the 4 8. This is Lavinthal and
asks partner to lead back a & (the ¢3 would ask for a &).



What’s going on ...? Board 15 from Friday 29*

Dealer: a Q53 Table A
South v KQJ984 West North(B) East South(E)
N-S wvul ¢ A3 - - - pass
& A2 2w (1) pass(2) pass dbl (3)
all pass
a8 N a KJ106
v A107532 W E v o6 Table B
+ K87 S ¢ Jo64 West North East South
* J94 % KQ1075 - - - pass
a A9742 pass (1) lw dbl  (4) pass
v - pass (4) pass
¢ Q10952
% 863

Table A (1) This looks like a classic weak two opener to me. And, especially at favourable
vulnerability, I’'m sure that most people would open 2w.
(2) But unfortunately for West, North has a monster # hand sitting over him! But how can
North possibly penalise West? A double would be for take-out!
So what did you bid with this North hand B in this week’s quiz?
I guess that you could bid 2NT, but if your partner has his wits about him then it’s surely
best to pass and hope that partner has the guts to double?
(3) So what did you bid with this South hand E i this week’s quiz? Actually I was South at
Table A and I admit that it took me a little while to work it out!
Where are the w’s? Where are the points? Why have neither North nor East bid? If you
take the Spock (Star-Trek) approach there is only one logical conclusion. Partner has a
big hand with a w stack!
Thus you should double here. It is, in principle, a take-out double but in this situation you
‘know’ that partner is going to pass.
Table B (1) This West chose not to open, I guess they don’t play weak twos?
(4) An obvious take-out double.
(5) And can you really blame West for passing here? This sort of hand is one of the very rare
exceptions to the rule of never passing partner’s one-level take out double. INT is the
alternative.

And what happened? 1v doubled at Table B made +1 for a good score of 360 to N-S. But this
was beaten by the N-S at Table A where 2% doubled went 3 down for 500. One N-S pair bid 44 but
that looks like a dodgy contract to me. I guess that most West’s opened 2%, but no other N-S managed
to manipulate the double.

The bottom lines: -

- When RHO bids your suit, pass is usually the best bid.

- Insituations where a double by partner would have been for take-out, you can sometimes work out
that he has passed because he has a penalty hand.

- This latter scenario occurs frequently if you play negative doubles.



Obey the Law Board 6 from Friday 29"

Dealer:
East
E-W wvul

a A
v KJ842
¢ 10764
% Q6

Table A

Table B

A 6432 Table A
v A763 West North East(C) South
¢+ AS - - le (1) 18 (2)
% 974 2¢ 3) 2a 3w 4) 3a (5
4 (6) dbl (7) allpass

N aQ
W E v Q109 Table B

S ¢ KJ83 West North East South

% KJ1052 - - pass (1) 2a (8)

a K109875 all pass
v5
¢+ Q92
* A83

(1) So did you open this East hand C in this week’s quiz? It’s just 12 points and the singleton
Q is not worth two points. Still, with a reasonable 5 card suit, two 10’s and excellent
mtermediates [ would open 1 &.

(2) I would prefer a weak 2a here but North plays strong jump overcalls.

(3) Witha 5 card w suit and a good card in partner’s &’s, 2 is fine here.

(4) ButIdon’t really like this. This is a minimal opener with only 3 card support — I would
like 4 card support to freely bid at the 3-level here, I would pass Incidentally, there is a
convention (the support double) to indicate just 3 card support in this situation but that’s
probably best left to more experienced players.

(5) This is where the Law takes over. It’s a competitive situation and South has only
promised 5 a’s. With a 6 card suit the ‘Law’ says it’s ‘safe’ to go one more.

(6) But this is wrong! West has just the 5 #’s and 11 points that he has already promised
and so should not go beyond the level of the Law.

(7) Now North has 4 a’s (he has only promised 3) but this is where the ‘adjustments’ to
the Law come into play. If North’s points were mainly in & ’s then he should press on,
but with all of the points outside & ’s the double here is good judgement at pairs scoring,
4 a is reasonable at teams where you cannot afford the opponents to possibly make a
vulnerable game.

(1) This East chose to pass.

(8) And this looks like a classic weak 24 opener in any seat to me, although not
everybody may agree?

And what happened? 4% doubled went one down (declarer got the ¢ ’s wrong) and the resultant

200 gave N-S the top. 24 passed out made for a good score. All the other N-S’s got too high in 4 &
and all went down. The bottom lines: -

Obey the Law.
But if the opponents are too high, you can double them!
Be aware of pairs scoring. One down doubled vulnerable is 200 and a top/bottom on a

partscore hand. At teams scoring I would simply pass at (6) — you think it’s probably one down
but that’s a poor double at teams (but correct at pairs).



Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: 1w. Don’t leave partner floundering in a 4-1 or whatever fit if you can possibly muster up a
bid.

Hand B:  Pass. Double would be for take-out. 2NT is a possibility but surely it’s best to pass and
hope to get a penalty (hopefully doubled if partner has his thinking cap on and understands
balancing). You know that partner has at most a singleton ¥ and on a good day he may
make a take-out double in 4" seat or the bidding may progress in another way and you may
then get a chance to make a penalty double.

Hand C: (a) I would open 1& but I guess that pass is reasonable.

(b) Ifpartner responds 1 thenIbid 2 e.

(c) Ifpartner responds 1% thenIbid 2.

(d) Ifpartner responds 1a thenIbid INT (one ofthe very few occasions where I bid
INT with a singleton in partner’s suit — [ prefer it to the alternative of 2&).

(e) Ifpartner responds INT thenI bid 2& - we have a & fit (probably 5-4 but possibly
just 5-3 — work it out, or look at the ‘quickie’ answer). This 2& bid most definitely
does not promise a 6 card suit in this situation.

Hand D: (a) 1a. One bids 5 card suits from the top down in most situations. If you respond 1 ¢ and

then later bid a ’s then that shows either 4 ¢ ’s and 4 a’s or longer ¢ ’s than & ’s (and
usually only 4 & ’s).
I don’t like a game forcing 2a jump shift response here as it implies a better suit and
there’s not so much room to show the 2" ¢ suit.

(b) 3 ¢. Natural and forcing. 2 ¢ would be non-forcing and 4 ¢ is a splinter agreeing &’s and
looking for a & slam. 3a is not a good option as it’s generally played as not forcing (but
highly encouraging) and it leaves & ’s out of the picture.

Hand E:  (a) Partner probably has the lion’s share.

(b) Partner probably has most of them.

(¢) Because he has a mediocre hand with less than 3 #’s.

(d) Because he has a big hand with a  stack but could not double because that would be
for take-out.

() Double! Well done if you got this one right. Pass and 2 are somewhat less good
alternatives — note my toned-down language, in former days I would state a stronger
opinion about pass or 2 s .

‘Quickie’ The sequence 1& - INT - 2& promises only 5 &’s . Partner has denied a 4
answer: card major and must have at least 3 &’s and so there’s a & fit.
If your partnership style is to always respond 1 ¢ with 3343, 2344 or 3244shape then
there’s a guaranteed 5-4 & fit. Opener probably has a singleton in a major suit and so
does not want to play in INT.

Let’s hope that everybody is happy with this news-sheet? Terry



