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Mon 19th N-S   1st Bill/Dave 56% 2nd Alex/Thorlief 55% 
E-W  1st Clive/Terry 61% 2nd Philip/Tomas 59%

Wed  21st  1st Clive/Gerry 67% 2nd Chuck/Terry 65%
Fri  23rd  Individual 1st Jeff 69% 2nd Jan 66%

Contacting Others

It has been suggested that I compile a list of member’s/guest’s telephone/e-mail details. Now I do
have most of them in my little book, but it’s not available to everyone all the time! So I have now
included a page on our website. When you open the main page, click on ‘contact us’ and then at the very
bottom of that page you’ll see a ‘contact members’ link. When you click that you’ll be asked for a
password. At the moment it contains just ½ a dozen or so entries), if you would like your details included
then give them or e-mail them to me (if I don’t already have them) and I’ll include them and tell/e-mail
you the password.

Editorial 

Most players in the club play a strong NT and I recommend that people playing a weak NT either
announce the range or else fill in a convention card. I had to adjust one board on Wednesday when the
opponents felt that they were damaged by not knowing that the opposition played a weak NT (I gave
them an average). It did not affect the outcome of 1st or 2nd place and I let the original score by the
‘offenders’ stand. I suggest that everybody announces the range when partner opens 1NT, whatever it
is. I believe that that is the current WBF policy.

The club championship race is hotting up, with Clive charging up the rankings with a few good
results. He has now overtaken Ken and leads the Silver Plate (best 10 results) but has some way to go
before catching Bob, Dave or Chuck.

Bidding Quiz      Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated

Hand A Hand B With Hand A RHO opens 1, what do you do?

 KJ93  AJ64 With Hand B what do you do if RHO:
 J108  KQ84 (a) opens 1?
 J92  10 (b) opens 1?
 A43  A1054

Hand C Hand D With Hand C RHO opens 1, what do you do?

 QJ83  A64
 A97  Q764 With Hand D partner opens 1 and RHO overcalls 1, 
 K74  KQ109 what do you do?
 Q95  107



Don’t Pre-empt then bid again! Board 22 from Monday 19th   
 

I say the same things week after week, but who listens? …..

Dealer:  1052
East  10742 West North East(me) South
E-W vul    A102 - - pass 2 (1)

 K97 dbl 3 dbl (2) pass
4 (3) pass 4 (4) 4 (5)

 K7  N  8 pass pass dbl (6) all pass
 AQ63   W    E  K98
 J S  KQ843
 AJ10653  Q842

 AQJ9643
 J5
 9765  
 -

(1) Obviously South should open 3, some may even try 4.
(2) This is for take – out and generally denies 4 ’s (with 4 ’s, East would bid them).
(3) West is quite happy to show his  suit.
(4) And this 4 bid tells West that it’s a Moysian  fit, so choose between 4 and 5.
(5) What West would have done we will never know – because South broke the golden rule –

bidding again having pre-empted. And, what’s more, by doing it so late in the auction E-W have
had loads of space to gauge what’s going on.

(6) And East happily doubled – the Moysian fit in ’s was dodgy and the 5 level (5) may well be
too high.

And what happened? 4 doubled went two down for a joint top to E-W. 5 was bid and went one
down at two other tables. Nobody rested in 4 - I suspect that it would have gone down. 

The bottom lines: -
- Pre-empt to the limit first go.
- Do not bid again having pre-empted. 



Don’t Double with flat hands – part 1 Board 6 from Monday 19th   
 

I say the same things week after week, but who listens? …..

N-S got a poor score here, who would you blame?

Dealer:  Q10862
East  K62 West North East(me) South(A)
E-W vul    107 - - 1 dbl (1)

 Q92 redbl (2) 1 pass (3) pass
2 (4) pass 2 (5) 2 (6)

 4  N  A75 3 (7) 3 (8) dbl (9) all pass
 4   W    E  AQ9753
 AK8543 S  Q6
 K10865  J7

 KJ93
 J108
 J92  
 A43

(1) What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? I hope you passed – this is a very poor
double. Now South later explained to me that they had agreed to double 1 when holding 4 ’s.
Maybe they had mis-understood something that I have frequently said – that you should normally have
4 ’s for a double of 1. But the reverse is not true! I most certainly do not say that you should
double 1 simply because you have 4 ’s – you need to be short in ’s (i.e. playable in all other 3
suits) if not very strong. This flat hand is not the correct shape (and is too weak) for a double.

(2) Redouble shows 10+ points and generally a mis-fit for partner and an ability to penalise at least two
of their suits.

(3) East cannot punish ’s and so passes in case partner can. This is a forcing pass.
(4) But West does not have ’s either and so correctly bids his ’s.
(5) And East obviously shows his 6 card  suit.
(6) Unwise
(7) West shows his shape.
(8) And with 5 ’s North feels happy bidding 3.
(9) East knows it’s a mis-fit and feels that he has enough defence to double 3.

And what happened? 3 doubled went four down for a complete top (800) to E-W. 

The bottom lines: -
- Do not double with flat hands unless very strong.
- A take-out double should be playable in the other 3 suits. 



Don’t Double with flat hands – part 2 Board 8 from Monday 19th   
 

I say the same things week after week, but who listens? …..

The same N-S got a poor score here just two boards later, who would you blame?

Dealer:  QJ83
West  A97 West North(C) East(me) South
Love all    K74 1 (1) dbl (2) 3 (3) 3 (4)

 Q95 all pass

 AK94  N  752
 Q103   W    E  852
 A1093 S  J862
 A6  J73

 106
 KJ64
 Q5  
 K10842

(1) E-W were playing a weak NT and so West opened 1
(2) What did you bid with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? I hope you passed – this is a very poor

double. 
(3) Pre-emptive! I guess that East had gauged the ability of N-S in competitive situations and decided to

put them to the test?
(4) Very reasonable, if partner had had his bid.

And what happened? 3 went one down for a top to E-W. 

The bottom lines: -
- Do not double with flat hands unless very strong.
- A take-out double should be playable in the other 3 suits. 
- A jump in partner’s suit after a double is pre-emptive (although some may prefer something a little

better or more ’s than this actual East hand).

Now N-S were at each other’s throats throughout the session and I understand that they do not wish
to partner each other in future. The problem is, who in the club is going to partner anybody who
repeatedly doubles with miserable flat hands as both of these two do?



Don’t Double with the wrong shape Board 16 from Friday 23rd   
 

Dealer:  AJ64
West  KQ84 West North(B) East South
E-W vul    10 1 dbl (1) pass (2) 2

 A1054 dbl 2NT (3) pass pass (4)
pass

 K8752  N  10
 2   W    E  A107653
 AKJ86 S  4
 Q8  K7632

 Q93
 J9
 Q97532  
 J9

(1) What did you bid with this North hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? I hope you passed – this is a very
poor double. You have no sensible action after partner responds with the all-too-likely 2.

(2) I would bid 2. A two-level bid is weakish, generally 6 cards, and non-forcing after a double.
(3) Anyone who regularly reads the news sheets or has attended any of the bidding lessons knows that if

you double and then bid NT, that shows a hand that was too strong for an initial 1NT overcall – so
19+ points.

(4) And so I would have bid 3NT if I were South.

And what happened? 2NT made exactly for an average board. Luckily North was not playing with
me or he would have been in 3NT.

The bottom lines: -
- If you double and then bid NT then that shows a very strong (19+) hand.
- A take-out double should be playable in the other 3 suits (not the suit opened!). 



Bidding the opponent’s suit Board 17  from Wednesday 21st  
 

A cue bid of the opponent’s suit may mean many things and is often asking for a stop for NT
purposes. However, when partner overcalls in a major suit then a cue bid by you may have a different
meaning. Here is a sequence by Chuck and myself from Wednesday: -

Dealer:  KQJ94
North  52 West North East South
Love all    AJ87 (me) (Chuck)

 K7 - 1 2 pass
2 (1) dbl (2) pass (3) pass

 2  N  A753 3 (4) pass 3 (5) all pass
 K86   W    E  AQJ93
 KQ65 S  103
 QJ1064  53

 1086
 1074
 942  
 A982

(1) Chuck and I have agreed that a cue bid in this situation shows a limit raise or better (a direct 3 bid is
thus pre-emptive).

(2) North wants a  lead if he ends up defending.
(3) East could bid 3 here to show no more than a minimal two-level overcall.
(4) With a really good raise to 3 West made another try. This had not been discussed but is best played

as a help-suit game try (or else a cue bid if West bids on over a 3 bid from partner).
(5) And East has a minimum with nothing in ’s and so correctly signs off.

And what happened? 3 is an excellent contract and actually made +1 for a top. One other pair was
in 3 making for a good score and at the other tables N-S played in ’s for good scores their way.

The bottom lines: -
- A cue bid of the opponent’s suit can mean different things in different situations.



A 50% chance is 100% better than a 0% chance Board 20  from Friday 23rd 

Dealer:  J108762
West  982 West North East South
Both vul    3 1NT (1) pass 2 pass (2)

 KJ10 2 pass 4 (3) pass
4 pass 5 (4) pass

 Q93  N  AK54 5 pass 6NT pass
 A103   W    E  KQJ5  
 KQ102 S  AJ5
 A53  92

 -
 762
 98764  
 Q8764

(1) Now you all know to knock off a point for the 4333 type shape, but with two 10’s and a 9 a 1NT
opening is just about acceptable, especially in an individual tournament.

(2) I believe that one South did actually bid a vulnerable (Unusual) 2NT here. A bit rash.
(3) Gerber.
(4) 5 asks for Kings when playing Gerber.

 1087 Now the bidding was fairly straightforward
 - although one pair did end up in a somewhat 

       DUMMY optimistic 7NT. But this time it’s all about the 
 K                 play (or the defence, to be more precise).

I don’t know the exact details but it was pretty 
 Q9  N  K54 much the same at all 3 tables.
 -   W    E  - North led the J and dummy won and set about
 K S  - cashing the A and the red suit winners.
 5  9 That left this position, what should North discard

 - on the K lead from West?
 The answer is that he must discard the K – he 
 9  has a complete count of the  suit and knows that
 Q87 West has the remainder of the trick if he discards another

. If West has the Q then North is truly
squeezed and can do nothing about it, but it’s a 50% chance that partner has that card and 50% is a far
better bet than 0 %. Also, West may have decided to take the  finesse if he had held the Q.

And what happened? Every defender did not look at dummy and threw a  so that every West made
13 tricks.

The bottom lines.
If you know that you are the only defender covering a suit, then you have to keep your guard in that

suit and hope that partner has a guard in the other suit.



The Negative Double Board 15  from Friday 23rd 

Dealer:  97
South  K2 West North East South(D)
N-S vul    J42 - - - pass

 AQJ654 pass 1 1 (1) 2 (2)
2 (3) pass pass 3 (4)

 J53  N  KQ1082 pass 4 all pass
 1085   W    E  AJ93
 A76 S  853
 K982  3

 A64
 Q764
 KQ109  
 107

(1) With a 5 card and a 4 card major it’s generally considered better to overcall rather than double. If you
double then you may end up playing in ’s when you have a 5-3  fit.

(2) What did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz? A negative double (promising 4 ’s)
stands out a mile.

(3) Excellent, muddy the waters a little with support for partner. 
(4) But now South is a little fixed, he has close to opening values but has not even shown his  suit. He

chose a somewhat peculiar 3 bid. 

And what happened? 4 went 1 down for an average.
The bottom lines: -

- A negative double shows 4 cards in the unbid major and the point count is unlimited (although it is of
course limited by a passed hand).

Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: Pass. This flat hand is totally unsuitable for a double.
Hand B: (a) Dbl. The perfect take-out double.

(b) Pass. Double is terrible as you will be completely fixed over partner’s likely 2 response.
A take-out double should be short in the suit bid.

Hand C: Pass. This flat hand is totally unsuitable for a double.
Hand D: Dbl. A negative double promising 4 ’s and values to at least compete to the two level.


