Club News Sheet – No. 176   18th  March 2006


                                    Winner                                             Runner-up


Mon 13th    N-S   1st    Clive/Dave                       67%       2nd  Chris/Paul Scully                   64%

                  E-W   1st    G. & L. Karlsson              59%       2nd  Lars/Rude                            57%

Wed 15th    N-S   1st    Barbara&Bev Estes          61%       2nd  Clive/Hans                            59%

                  E-W   1st    Albert/Dave                      61%       2nd  G. & L. Karlsson                  59%

Fri    17th    N-S   1st    Benny/Olle                       60%       2nd  Clive/Dave                           56%

                  E-W   1st    Trudy/Jennat                     56%       2nd  Bob P / Bob Short                54%



Bidding Quiz                           Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated


Hand A           Hand B           With Hand A you open 1 and partner bids 4. What do you do?


AK983         J32                                            

AK4             Q10832        With Hand B partner opens 1 and RHO overcalls 1, what do

K                  A1094          you bid?

J1098           7


Hand C           Hand D           With Hand C RHO opens 1, LHO bids 1, RHO bids 2,

LHO bids 2 which is passed round to you. What do you do?

KQ104         1084

J84               J75               With Hand D partner opens 1, RHO bids 2 and you bid 2.

QJ4               A86              LHO bids 3 and partner bids 3, what do you do?

962              A972


Hand E            Hand F            With Hand E you open 1, LHO bids 2, partner bids 2 and

RHO bids 3. What do you do?

KQ973         J953            

AK64           A52              With Hand F LHO opens 1, RHO bids 1, LHO bids 2,

107               A765            RHO bids 2 which is passed round to partner who bids 2.

Q4               107              RHO bids 3, what do you do?


With these 4 hands                   Hand G           Hand H           Hand J            Hand K

partner has opened 1,

what do you bid?                      Q765            Q7654          Q765            K765

                                                J3                 J32               AJ3              J32

                                                A2                2                   2                   A

                                                A7432          KQ95          A7432          A7432


These 4 hands all concern         Hand L            Hand M          Hand N           Hand P

opener’s action when

playing negative doubles.           AKQ97        AKQ9          J32               KQ54

In every case you open 1,      7                   A7                KQ103         72    

LHO overcalls 1 and this        7                   7                   Q4                Q

is passed round to you.             AKQ953      AQ9532       AQ76           K96532

What do you do?

Bidding Sequences Quiz – A Negative Double summary


For all of these sequences we assume that you play negative doubles


Q   1   1      pass                       What does the pass mean?

R   1   1      pass     pass           What does the double mean?


S    1   1      pass     pass           What does 1 mean?


T    1   1      pass     pass           What does 2 mean?


U   1   1      pass     pass           What sort of hand does opener have for his pass here?


V   1   1      1                          What does 1 mean?

W  1   1      dbl                         What does dbl mean?



The direct jump to game (4/) is weak            


I was asked about this deal. I don’t know which day it was. I was given the exact hand but I have made a minor change of interchanging two cards to make the point very clear.


AK983              N             Q765                    West(A)     North         East(G)    South    

AK4               W    E          J3                        

K                        S              A2                        1              pass           4    (1)    pass

J1098                                 A7432                  pass (2)      pass


(1)   What did you bid with this East hand G in this week’s quiz? It’s ‘only’ 11 points, but it’s worth much more when partner bids ’s. Those two 1st round controls are huge and the shape is great in support of ’s. The hand is easily worth a raise to 4. But the ‘problem’ is that a direct jump to 4 is a pre-emptive bid (such as Hand H in this week’s quiz) There are a few solutions. Best is to play some sort of strong raise (such as Jacoby 2NT or Swiss). The more basic method is to bid another suit (so 2 here) and then jump to 4 - this is called a Delayed Game Raise and shows a sound raise to 4.

(2)   What did you bid with this West hand A in this week’s quiz? If you accept that the direct raise to game is weak, than this hand should certainly pass.


And what happened?

An easy (75%) slam was missed. East asked West why he did not ask for aces. I’m 100%+ behind West’s pass.

The bottom lines: -

-         The sequences 1 - 4 and 1 - 4 are weak pre-emptive raises.

-         With a sound raise to 4/ then bid a minor and then jump to 4/ if you do not have any other methods (such as Jacoby 2NT).

-         With a sound raise to 4/ and a shortage (singleton/void) then splinter.


Another ‘Negative Double’ penalty missed       Board 2 from Monday 13th


Dealer:             108654                                      

East                  5                                                 West(B)     North         East(M)    South

N-S vul            QJ86                                           -                 -                 1           1

                        1064                                          pass (1)      pass           2    (2)    pass      

                                                                              2NT           pass           3           pass

J32                    N             AKQ9                  3              pass           4            all pass  

Q10832          W    E          A7                       

A1094                S              7                          

7                                        AQ9532              






(1)  What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? With these great hearts sitting over a vulnerable overcaller it is surely best to go for the penalty. So pass and await partner’s ‘automatic’ re-opening double.

(2)   What did you bid with this East hand M in this week’s quiz? Double is virtually always correct in these sort of situations and with these great top cards there is absolutely no reason to do anything else. Now I believe that East’s ‘excuse’ was something like ‘I did not know what sort of hand you had’.  Precisely! And that’s why you should double – and partner will tell you. If partner has a penalty hand then he’ll pass for penalties. If partner has a weak hand then he will bid something and you can then bid on strongly to show a very powerful hand.

With this actual East hand you should double, and if partner makes any sort of bid (he usually bids 1 in this sort of situation) then he does not have the penalty hand and you can then bid 2 to show this very strong hand.


And what happened?

4 went one down. The computer says that E-W make 8 tricks in ’s, so that is 50 away instead of a cool top for 1 doubled minus two vul (500). Note that even if 4 makes then 420 is less than 500.

The bottom lines: -

-         The situations where you should not re-open with a double (playing negative doubles) are few and far between. But I’ll cover them on the next page.

-         Look for the penalty at favourable vulnerability.


When you do not re-open with a double.


I was asked under what circumstances opener should not re-open with the ‘automatic’ re-opening double when playing negative doubles.

Now as I have frequently said, every pair plays negative double differently. I won’t go into my preferred treatment again, but I will answer the question.

When you play negative doubles; you open, LHO overcalls and this is passed round to you, it is usually correct to ‘automatically’ re-open with a double. But there are hands when you should not. The hand types where you should not re-open with a double are: -


(a)    Hand L          When you have a very powerful hand with game virtually in your own hand

AKQ97      and where you may well make slam opposite very little. With Hand L I

7                 would jump to 2. I guess that some would have opened 2♣, but I prefer the

7                 natural slow approach with two-suiters.



(b)   Hand N         When you have a decent opener but have so much in the opponent’s suit that

J32             you know that partner cannot possibly be sitting with a penalty hand. I would

KQ103       pass with Hand N.




(c)    Hand P          When you have a weak distributional hand with little defensive values. I

KQ54         think that 1 is reasonable with Hand P although I would not argue with

72               double. Some might argue that they would not have opened, but it does

Q                conform to the rule of 20 and a 1 opening would be a popular choice these

K96532     days.


Just pushin’ ‘em up – part 1                                Board 15 from Friday 17th


E-W got clobbered when they got too high here, who was at fault?


Dealer:             62                                              

South               KQ1097                                     West(C)     North         East(F)     South

N-S vuL           10932                                         -                 -                 -               1

                        KQ                                            pass           1              pass         2

                                                                              pass           2              pass         pass

KQ104              N             J953                     2  (1)        3             3    (2)    pass

J84                 W    E          A52                      pass           pass           dbl           all pass

QJ4                     S              A765                   

962                                    107                     






(1)   What did you bid with this West hand C in this week’s quiz? I think 2 is fine, this is a miserable flat hand but South has denied ’s and North has shown 5+ ’s. Thus partner probably has ’s and as the opponent’s have stopped bidding he also has points. This is called balancing – you are ‘bidding partner’s hand’ in the pass-out seat.

(2)   What did you bid with this East hand F in this week’s quiz? You should pass. Partner has ‘pushed them up’ from a great 2 contract into an inferior 3 contract, he has already bid your hand for you. Bidding here simply converts a top into a bottom. It is the opposite of balancing – it is called “hanging one’s partner”.


And what happened?

3 doubled went for 300 for a near bottom. 2 would have scored 140 or 170 for N-S, 3 would have scored 130 for N-S. it’s only 10 or 40 points difference but important at pairs scoring.

The bottom lines: -

-     When partner bids in the pass-out seat, he is bidding your hand for you. It is rarely correct to raise him.

Just pushin’ ‘em up – part 2                                Board 1 from Friday 17th


N-S got too high here, who is at fault?


Dealer:             KQ973                                      

North               AK64                                         West          North(E)    East          South(D)

Love all            107                                             -                 1              2            2

                        Q4                                             3    (1)      3    (2)      pass         4    (3)

                                                                              all pass

J52                    N             A6                           

1082               W    E          Q93                     

Q52                    S              KJ943                  

J1063                                 K85                    






(1)  A gentle nudge

(2)  What did you bid with this North hand E in this week’s quiz? With no more than a minimal opener I would pass. 3 is just competing and no too bad I suppose(?). Any other bid (3) would be a game try and this hand is too weak.

(3)  What did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz? South has a maximum, but that is not the point. North’s 3 is not an invitation, it is simply competing. If North wanted to invite game then any bid other than 3 would be a game invitation.


And what happened?

There are just 9 tricks there. Nobody else bid game and so this should have been an outright bottom for N-S. However, this is Pattaya bridge club and N-S got an undeserved total top when a mis-defence let 4 through.

The bottom lines: -

-     In competitive situations like this simply bidding one’s suit is just competing, any other bid is a game try. If there is no room (say E-W were bidding ’s and not ’s) then double at (1) would be the game try.



Bidding Quiz Answers


Hand A:     Pass. Partner’s direct jump to 4 is a weak pre-emptive bid.

Hand B:      Pass. And await partner’s ‘automatic re-opening double and pass that. If partner has just a minimal opening then you will get a decent penalty. If partner has a good hand (so that you have game) then you will get a huge penalty. 1NT is a very poor 2nd choice.

Hand C:     2. But only if your partner understands balancing.

Hand D:     Pass. You are max but partner is not inviting you to bid on, he is simply competing.

Hand E:      I would pass. I guess that some might bid 3 (just competing). Any other bid (3) shows a much stronger hand.

Hand F:      Pass. Partner has scraped up a bid in the pass-out seat and is bidding your hand for you and likely has just 4 ’s. You will get a better score for defending 3 than for defending 2 had partner passed. To bid (3 here) simply destroys his good work as you are bound to get doubled.

Hand G:     2 followed by a jump to 4. This shows a sound raise to 4. If you play Swiss or Jacoby 2NT then that is obviously best.

Hand H:     4. A pre-emptive raise.

Hand J:       4♦. A splinter, showing shortage and agreeing ’s.

Hand K:     Same as hand G. It is best not to splinter with a singleton ace as partner will devalue a king in the suit.

Hand L:      2. Showing an enormous two-suiter that is worth a 2 opener in the ‘modern’ American style. You probably won’t get enough from a penalty.

Hand M:     Double. No reason not to go for the penalty if that’s what partner has in mind (very likely – where are the ’s?).

Hand N:     Pass. You have nothing special and partner cannot have a penalty hand with you holding this holding. A rare situation.

Hand P:      1. Showing a weak distributional hand with little defense for ’s. Dbl is also fine.


Bidding Sequence Answers


For all of these sequences we assume that you play negative doubles

Q   1   1      pass                 What does the pass mean? Responder either has a hand that cannot make a noise over 1(so presumably very weak) or he is sitting with a ♥ stack and waiting for opener’s double.

R   1   1      pass     pass     What does the double mean? That he has 13 cards.


S    1   1      pass     pass     What does 1 mean? A weak distributional two-suiter.


T    1   1      pass     pass     What does 2 mean? A strong distributional two-suiter.


U   1   1      pass     pass     What sort of hand does opener have for his pass here?

Pass                                   An indifferent hand with good ’s.

V   1   1      1                    What does 1 mean? Natural and forcing. Some play it as showing 5+ ’s, depending upon you answer to W below.

W  1   1      dbl                   What does dbl mean? It is negative. I play it as simply showing exactly 4 ’s. Others play it as showing ’s and ’s.