Club News Sheet – No. 184    www.pattayabridge.com  
13th May 2006
Mon 8th   
1st 
Bob Short & Jan
69%

2nd 
Dave Cutler & Kenneth
66%

Wed 10th 
1st 
Bill & Mike
63%

2nd
Bob Short & Jan
59%

Fri    12th   
1st 
Dave Cutler & Emil
57%

2nd
Paul Scully & Gene
56%

Bidding Quiz
     
Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A partner opens 1♦, what do you bid?
♠ AKQJ1098
♠ K1073

♥ 1074
♥ 10854
With Hand B LHO opens 1♥ and partner overcalls 1♠, what
♦ A
♦ A7
do you bid?
♣ Q5
♣ A74

Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C RHO opens 1♣, what do you do?


♠ KQ5
♠ 32


♥ A4
♥ AK98
With Hand D you open 1♦ and partner responds with a strong
♦ KJ87
♦ KQ10632
jump shift bid of 2♠. What do you bid?


♣ Q765
♣ 8

Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E partner opens 1♦ and you bid 1♠. Partner then bids
1NT, what do you do?

♠ AJ754
♠ A963


♥ 84
♥ KJ1073
♦ AJ10
♦ 53
With Hand F partner opens 1♣ and RHO overcalls 1NT (15-18), 
♣ AQ4
♣ 103
what do you do?

Bidding Sequences Quiz

All of these caused problems this week
G
1♥
1NT
2♠

The 1NT overcall is 15-18. Is 2♠ by responder weak or what? Is it forcing?
H
1♣
1NT
2♥

The 1NT overcall is 15-18. Is 2♠ by responder weak or what? Is it forcing?

J
1♠
dbl
redbl

What is the redouble by responder? Does it promise ♠’s?
K
1♠
dbl
redbl
pass
 


pass
2♣
dbl

What is the subsequent double by responder?
L
1♠
dbl
redbl
pass


pass
2♣
pass
What is the pass by responder? Is it forcing?
There is no interference in the following sequences: -

M
1♦ - 
1♠ - 
1NT
- 3♦
is 3♦ forcing?

N
1♦ - 
1♠ - 
1NT
- 3♠
is 3♠ forcing?

P
1♦ - 
1♠ - 
1NT
- 3♣
is 3♣ forcing?
How do you bid slam sensibly?
Board 2 from Monday 8th 

 Some players play weak jumps shifts, but they are more often abused than effective. A strong jump shift should have worked well on this deal from Monday: - 

Dealer:
♠ AKQJ1098


Table A
East
♥ 1074
West

North(A)
East
South(D)
N-S vul
♦ A
-


-

pass

1♦

♣ Q5
pass


2♠
(1)
pass

3♥
(2)
pass


4NT

pass

5♦
(3)
♠ 76
 
N
♠ 54
pass



5♠


pass

6♠
(4)
♥ J3
  W    E
♥ Q642
all pass
♦ J9875
S
♦ 4


♣ K643

♣ AJ10972
‘Expert’ Table

♠ 32


West


North(A)
East

South(D)
♥ AK98
-


-

pass

1♦

♦ KQ10632

pass

2♠
(1)
pass
4♣
(2)

♣ 8

pass

4♦
(5)
pass

4♥
(5)
pass

6♠
(6)
all pass
Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? If you play strong jump shifts (standard unless you agree to the contrary, which I don’t recommend) then 2♠ is ideal. It shows a strong hand and a self-sufficient ♠ suit.
(2) And what did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz? I believe that South meant 3♥ as natural, although when playing strong jumps shifts partner has set trumps (if a major) and so 3♥ here should be a cue bid showing the ♥A. Anyway, I would choose the ‘Expert’ bid below.

(3) One ace. South was not sure if 4NT was RKCB or what were trumps.

(4) A lucky gamble.

‘Expert’
(2)
This is the best answer to question D. North has set ♠’s as trumps and 4♣ here is 

Table 

a splinter showing a singleton ♣ and adequate trump support. 


(5)
Cue bids


(6)
South has shown the ♥A and so 6♠ is easy for North to bid. He could check with RKCB if he wished.
And what happened? Two pairs out of five bid slam.
The bottom lines: -

-
Strong jump shifts are standard. 
-
Playing strong jump shifts, a jump in a major sets trumps and invites partner to cue bid (or splinter) with minimal trump support.
-
In a minor it’s different as NT is often the best strain.

Redouble is for blood

Board 26 from Wednesday 10th
Dealer:
♠ 6




North
♥ K10754
West

North
East
South

E-W vul
♦ 986
-


-

pass
(1)
1♠



♣ AK109
dbl
(2)
redbl
(3)
pass
(4)
pass

2♣
(5)
dbl
(6)
pass
(7)
2♥
(8)
♠ 5
 
N
♠ QJ10932
pass
(9)
4♥

(10)
all pass
♥ AJ2
  W    E
♥ 83


♦ KQJ5
S
♦ 10743


♣ QJ542

♣ 6



♠ AK874




♥ Q96



♦ A2




♣ 873


(1) A solid suit, but it’s a bit weak for a vulnerable 2♠ opener.

(2) It’s nice to have 4 ♥’s for a double of 1♠, but this hand has high card compensation.

(3) 9+ points and often a mis-fit. This bid shows the balance of power and is often looking to penalise the opponents.

(4) I would bid 2♦ here as you don’t want partner retreating into 2♥. Perhaps East thought that he would like to defend 1♠ redoubled, but West is always going to bid in this situation.

(5) Obvious.
(6) 100% penalties.

(7) Again, I would bid 2♦. West’s double should be playable in the other 3 suits.

(8) E-W were going for a number, but South decided to let them off the hook. He claims that he thought that the double was take-out.

(9) Phew.

(10) Accepting that the 800 on offer has gone, North assumes that 620 is there in 4♥.

And what happened? South managed to go two down! Serves him right.
The bottom lines: -
· Redouble shows 9+ points and is often/usually looking for a penalty.

-
Don’t remove partner’s penalty doubles into a 3 card suit!

What does a 2♣ Stayman bid promise?

When I was moving the boards on Friday one member asked me if I had time to answer a bridge question. My response was that I always have time to answer a bridge question.

Anyway, the question was, ‘what does a 2♣ Stayman bid promise?’.

Now this is partially answered in the FAQ no 4 on the web site, but here’s the ‘complete’ answer: -

(a)
Generally speaking, 2♣ promises a 4card major (maybe both).

(b)
Generally speaking, 2♣ should promise invitational values (so 8+) or better.
The exceptions are 4-way transfers for (a) and Garbage Stayman for (b) and these are fully covered in the conventions section on the web.

A jump in partner’s overcalled suit is weak – part 1

Board 25 from Wednesday 10th
Dealer:
♠ 64




North
♥ J8653
West

North
East
South

E-W vul
♦ 8762
-


pass

1♦

1♥


♣ 73
1♠


3♥
(1)
4♦
(2)
4♥
(3)
pass
(4)
pass

pass
♠ KJ109853
 
N
♠ A7


♥ K102
  W    E
♥ -


♦ -
S
♦ AQJ1093


♣ KQ2

♣ J10654


♠ Q2




♥ AQ974


♦ K54




♣ A98


(1) This is best played as weak and pre-emptive. With a sound raise to 3♥ it’s best to cuebid the opened suit (so 2♦ would show a sound raise to 3♥).
(2) And the pre-emptive bid did it’s job. East is in an awkward position and decided to rebid his good 6 card suit.
(3) I believe that South mistakenly thought that North had a good hand.
(4) And I suppose that West was turned off by partner bidding his void twice.
And what happened? It was the same South as last board, but this time he could afford to go 13 down (-650) and still get a top (in practice he went only 4 down). E-W have a comfortable 12 tricks in ♠’s, so 680 for bidding game. 
The bottom lines: -
-
When partner overcalls, it’s best to play jump support as weak.
A jump in partner’s overcalled suit is weak – part 2

Board 27 from Wednesday 10th
Dealer:
♠ QJ964


Table A
South
♥ QJ3
West

North
East
South(B)
Love all
♦ J108
-


-

-

pass
(1)



♣ 106
1♥


1♠
(2)
pass
(3)
3♠
(4)
pass



pass

pass
♠ A82
 
N
♠ 5


♥ AK972
  W    E
♥ 6
Alternative Auction
♦ Q3
S
♦ K96542
West


North
East

South(B)
♣ J98

♣ KQ532
-



-

-

pass
(1)


♠ K1073


1♥



1♠
(2)
pass
(3)
2♥
(4)
♥ 10854
pass


2♠

all pass

♦ A7




♣ A74


(1) With two 10’s in 4 card majors some may consider opening this hand.
(2) This North considered that his 10’s and intermediates were worth a 1 level overcall.

(3) A negative double would be perfect here.

(4) What did you bid with this South hand B in this week’s quiz? This hand has the values to raise an opening bid to 3♠, but a 1-level overcall does not promise an opening hand (just 8+) and that’s why it’s unwise to jump here. The best scheme is to cuebid 2♥ to show a sound raise to 3♠ and invite game if partner has a decent overcall. 
And what happened? 3♠ was one down but scored an average.

But if you look at the ‘alternative bidding’ you see the beauty of playing jumps as weak (previous deal) and  cuebidding to show a sound 3-level raise. The thing is that if the overcall was weak then you stay at the two level!
The bottom lines: -
· When partner overcalls, it’s best to play jump support as weak.

· And cuebid to show a sound raise to the three level (say +-11 points).

Space Filler

"Dick Cheney walks into the Oval Office and sees The President whooping and hollering. "What's the matter, Mr. President?" The Vice President inquired. 
"Nothing at all, boss. I just done finished a jigsaw puzzle in record time!" The President beamed. 
"How long did it take you?" 
"Well, the box said '3 to 5 Years' but I did it in a month!"

Grumpy is at it again

Board 2 from Friday 12th 
 I have had a few complaints about the attitude of one or two players (yes, it is just one or two now as a number no longer play at this club). First of all, let me repeat what is clearly stated in the club rules and printed on the club convention cards: “NEVER CRITICISE OR OFFER ADVICE UNLESS ASKED”.

Now this is relaxed somewhat if a partner likes to be informed of mistakes. But continual criticism, especially if it is incorrect, really is unacceptable and creates a general bad atmosphere in the club.

I have had a word with one member, let’s call him Grumpy. Yet he still managed to incorrectly criticise both his partner and an opponent on this one deal.

Dealer:
♠ J842




South
♥ 96
West(F)
North
East
South(C)
Love all
♦ A10942
-


-

1♣

1NT
(1)



♣ 84
2♥
(2)
pass

pass
(3)
pass
♠ A963
 
N
♠ 107


♥ KJ1073
  W    E
♥ Q852


♦ 53
S
♦ Q6


♣ 103

♣ AKJ92



♠ KQ5




♥ A4



♦ KJ87




♣ Q765


(1) What did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? A balanced 15-18 with good ♣’s and so 1NT is absolutely correct, double is a terrible bid with length in the suit opened and no 4 card major.
(2) What did you bid with this West hand F in this week’s quiz? Double (penalties) is reasonable, but bidding this decent ♥ suit may well be best. Note that 2♥ here is a weak bid (double is the only strong bid) and this hand is on the upper limit.
(3) East knew that 2♥ was a weak bid and so passed. Of course he would be prepared to compete to 3♥ if necessary, but it was not.

And what happened? 2♥ made +2 for a decent score to E-W.

At the end of the hand North (Grumpy) criticised 
(a) his partner; saying that he preferred double instead of 1NT at (1) and 
(b) West; saying that he did not have the values for a 2♥ bid at (2). My reaction: -
The bottom lines: -
· If you have no idea what you are talking about it’s best to keep quiet?
· I currently keep most things anonymous, but keep it up and I see no reason why names should not appear?

· Continual criticism of partner, whether correct or not, is unpleasant for visitors to your table. If you wish to discuss things, them jot them down and have a discussion after the session, this is especially easy on Mondays and Fridays when we have hand printouts. And by all means ask my advice, I will always make time after any session to answer any queries and if they are interesting I’ll put them in the news sheet. Or you can always send me an e-mail with your questions.
Raising partner to 3 of his suit is not forcing
Board 12 from Friday 12th 

Dealer:
♠ 86


Table A
North
♥ KQ963
West(E)
North
East
South

Both vul
♦ 6543
-


pass

1♦

pass

♣ 52
1♠


pass

1NT
(1)
pass
3♦
(2)
all pass
♠ AJ754
 
N
♠ K102


♥ 84
  W    E
♥ J2
Table B
♦ AJ10
S
♦ KQ987
West(E)
North
East

South
♣ AQ4

♣ K86
-



pass

1♦

pass

♠ Q93


1♠



pass

1NT
(1)
pass
♥ A1075
3♣
(2)
pass

3♠
(3)
pass

♦ 2

4♠
(4)
all pass
♣ J10973


Table A:
(1)
1♠ is a reasonable alternative if that’s your style (it certainly is my style, especially with a weak by-passed doubleton ♥ suit) but some players prefer to virtually guarantee 4 card support.
(2) What did you bid with this West hand E in this week’s quiz? I assume that West thought that it (sequence M) was forcing; unfortunately it is not, and neither is 3♠ (sequence N). The best bid here is 3♣ provided that partner knows that this may be ‘dug up’ and will not raise to 4♣. A new minor at the 3 level is often a ‘dug up’ bid asking partner for major suit clarification.
Table B:
(2)
3♣ is the best bid here, I play it as game forcing.
(3) There really is no need for 4♠ (fast arrival) as these are decent ♠’s.
(4) But West has no slam ambitions.
And what happened? 3♦ made +4 for a bottom. Just one pair bid 4♠, making +3. Two East’s landed in a ‘silly’ 3NT but neither attracted a ♥ lead (♣J looks best from the South hand) and both made +1.
The bottom lines: -

-
Raising partner’s suit to the 3 level is usually not forcing.

-
Jumping to 3 of your own suit is not forcing.

-
It is permissible (and good technique) to ‘dig up’ a non-existent minor suit when stuck for a descriptive forcing bid.
Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A:
2♠. A strong jump shift; showing a self sufficient suit and game forcing.

Hand B:
2♥. A cuebid of opener’s suit, showing a sound raise to 3♠ if partner has a good overcall.

Hand C:
1NT. Balanced 15-18 with decent ♣’s. Pass is the only other reasonable alternative. Double is a terrible bid with length in the suit opened and no 4-card major.

Hand D:
4♣. A splinter showing ♣ shortage. Partner has set trumps with a solid suit and doubleton support is quite sufficient. 
Hand E:
3♣. I call this ‘digging up a minor’. The ‘problem’ is that neither 3♦ nor 3♠ are forcing and 3NT is a gamble with nothing in ♥’s. The 3♣ here is simply a bid to find out if partner has 3 card ♠ support (or ♥’s stopped). If partner is on the ball he will never raise such a bid to 4♣.

Hand F:
2♥. Note that this does not show the normal 10+ points for a two level response but is a weak, non forcing, bid. This hand is actually on the upper limit for the bid and a stronger hand should double. I would not argue if you chose to double here.
Bidding Sequences Quiz Answers
G
1♥
1NT
2♠

The 1NT overcall is 15-18. Is 2♠ by responder weak or what? Is it forcing? It is weakish (generally less than 9 pts) and non-forcing.
H
1♣
1NT
2♥

The 1NT overcall is 15-18. Is 2♥ by responder weak or what? Is it forcing? Same as above.
J
1♠
dbl
redbl

What is the redouble by responder? Does it promise ♠’s? Redouble is 9+ points and does not promise ♠’s. In fact it is usually short in ♠’s.

K
1♠
dbl
redbl
pass
What is the subsequent double by responder? Penalties.


pass
2♣
dbl



L
1♠
dbl
redbl
pass
What is the pass by responder? Is it forcing? It shows a hand 
pass
2♣
pass

interested in penalizing 2♣ but with only a mediocre ♣ holding. Opener is invited to double for penalties or else to bid something. The pass is forcing.
There is no interference in the following sequences: -

M
1♦ - 
1♠ - 
1NT
- 3♦

is 3♦ forcing? No, invitational.
N
1♦ - 
1♠ - 
1NT
- 3♠

is 3♠ forcing? No, invitational.
P
1♦ - 
1♠ - 
1NT
- 3♣

is 3♣ forcing? Yes, and it may not be a real ♣ suit.
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