Club News Sheet — No. 189 www.pattayabridge.com 17* June 2006
Winners Runners-up
Mon 12 1#N-S Jean-Marc & Michael 58% 2™ Jim & Phil 57%
I*E-W  Mike Bell & Sid 56% 2™ Clive & Dave 54%
Wed 14" 1¢ Chuck & Clive 66% 2" Hans Bijvoet & Henrik 61%
Fri 16" 1¢ Ivy & Terry 68% 2" Mike Guin & Bill Noe 58%
Bidding Quiz Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A Hand B With Hand A you open 1 and partner responds 14, what do you bid?
& A953 & KJ63
v AK9 v K72 (a) What do you open with Hand B?
¢+ AJ6 ¢ A106 (b) Suppose you choose 1 and partner responds 14, what do
& K104 & AK4 you bid now?
Hand C Hand D With Hand C partner opens 14, what do you bid?
& 8532 & KJ
v A103 v AQ542 With Hand D partner opens 14 and you respond 1%. Partner
¢ A87 +Q2 then bids 1NT, what do you do?
& QJ7 & ]942
Hand E Hand F With Hand E you open 1% and partner responds 14. What
do you bid?
& A43 & 765
v AKQJ962 ¥ AQ With Hand F you pass as dealer. This is passed round to RHO
‘- + KJ83 who opens 1&. LHO bids 1% and this is passed round to you.
& 752 & J732 What do you do?

Bidding Sequences Quiz

G le-1e-2NT
H 1e¢-2¢-2NT
J 1v-1a-3v
K 1v-2&-3v
L 1#-1v-1INT-3v

There is no interference in the following sequences: -

How big is 2NT?
How big is 2NT?
(a) Is 3% forcing? (b) Is it forcing if you play Acol?
(a) Is 3w forcing? (b) Is it forcing if you play Acol?
(a) Is 3% forcing? (b) Is it forcing if you play Acol?

Editorial - A Short & needs alerting

I believe that about 50% of the club play better minor and about 50% a short . Our club (and
mnternational) rules state that a short # (that may be two cards) needs alerting, If there is a failure to alert
and there is no convention card filled out then I see no reason why either opponent cannot ask ‘is that a
real #?°. This may imply that he himself has a & holding and thus passing unauthorized information but I
think that’s it’s OK if there is no convention card and no alert or pre-alert.



Why bid past game? Board 11 from Monday 12"

I was called over by a defender who queried the ‘ethics’ of an opponent’s bidding at table A. Now the
pair did not bid the hand perfectly, but had a reasonably sensible auction to the top spot and I see no reason
whatsoever why I should have been called: -

Dealer: & KQ42 Table A
South vQ West North East South(A)
Love all ¢ 972 - - - 1%
& A9765 pass 1e pass 2NT (1)
pass 3NT pass 44
& J76 N & 108 pass ANT (2) pass Se
v 865432 W E v J107 pass 64 all pass
¢ 1085 S ¢+ KQ43
& 8 & QJ32 Expert Table
& A953 West North East South(A)
v AK9 - - - 1%
¢+ AJ6 pass 1 pass 4 (1)
& K104 pass ANT(3) pass S5
pass 64 all pass

Table A: (1) What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? This 2NT jump shows a
balanced 18-19 points but it is not forcing and denies # support.

(2) After South has (belatedly) shown & support North decided to have a shot at slam. I would
not because I simply would not understand South’s bidding! Anyway, whether or not you
think that the opponent’s bidding is silly that is no reason for East to call the director.

‘Expert” (1) This is the correct answer to bidding quiz hand B. It promises a 18-19
Table count with 4 card # support and balanced (you splinter with shortage).
(3) Our experts play RKCB (0314) and the slam is reached with decent bidding.

And what happened? Just this one pair bid slam. 4 pairs were in 44 and one pair failed to find the
4-4 & fit and played in 3NT for a total bottom. Quite right too.

The bottom lines: -
- Never deny a 4 card major.
- The sequence 1% - 2NT denies a 4 card major.
But note that the sequence 1 - 14 - 2NT may well hide a 4 card ¥ and or # suit.
If you do not see the (subtle?) difference then have a word with me or I’ll write it up.
- DO NOT call the director just because you believe that the opponents have bid badly.



Deduct a point for the 4333 type shape Board 8 from Wednesday 14"

Here we go again (I mention this just about every week), and this time the ‘culprit’ knew all about it but
decided to try to prove the guideline wrong: -

Dealer: & A542 Table A

South v AQS West(B) North East South

Love all 4 853 - - - pass
& J32 I (1) pass le pass

14 (2) pass INT(3) pass

& KJ63 N & Q7 3NT(4) allpass

v K72 W E v J54

¢+ A106 S ¢ KJ92

& AK4 & 8765 Table B
& 1098 West(B) North East South
v 10963 - - - pass
+ Q74 INT(1) allpass
* Q109

Table A: (1) What did you open with this West hand B(a) in this week’s quiz? It’s a totally flat 18 and I

would open INT (knock off'a point for 4333 shape).
(2) What did you bid with this West hand B(b) in this week’s quiz (assuming that you had

opened 1#)? If you consider the hand too good for INT then jump to 2NT. This shows a
balanced 18-19 and may or may not have a 4 card major. This is not considered as
denying a 4 card major (it’s just like opening a 18-19 1NT) as partner rarely passes and
any major suit fit will come to light. 14 is not a good bid here as it is not forcing or even
encouraging and 24 would show a much more shapely hand.

Table B: (1) The best opening,

And what happened? Just two pairs out of 5 took my advice (actually it is the advice of most
experts), opening 1NT, and playing there. Three pairs bid to 3NT and all went one down. Serves them

right.

The bottom lines: -

- Deduct a point for the totally flat 4333 type shape. This really is important, 4333 hands are really
lousy and do not generate tricks.

- This deal is a perfect example. 25 points but nobody made 3NT.



Who’s the joker? - A Psychic cue bid Board 11 from Wednesday 14"

Chuck has told me that he does not like his name being mentioned in the news sheets. Then why does he
do things like this? Keep it up and keep getting written up!

Dealer: & A1083 West North East South
South vJ8 Chve Hans K Chuck  Terry
Love all ¢+ KQJ1053 - - - pass
&9 It 2¢ 2v pass
3v pass 4% (1) pass
+ KQJ6 N o - 4¢ (2) pass 44 (3) pass
v 1072 W E v AKQ96 5v (4) pass 6% (5) allpass
¢ A S ¢ 742
& Q10732 & KJ854 Sensible Bidding
& 97542 West North East South
v 543 - - - pass
+ 986 It 2¢ 2v pass
& A6 3v pass 34 (6) pass
4¢ (7) pass 6% (8) allpass

(1) A cue bid, showing 1* round control in &’s. Obviously this is simply stupid, the correct bid is 34
showing 1% round control in #’s. This psychic & cue bid was presumably meant to fool the defence. But
who was the fool? Read on.

(2) A cue bid, showing 1 round control in 4’s.

(3) A cue bid, showing 2™ round control in #’s.

(4) This says nothing more to cue. But 54, showing 2™ round ¢ control, is an alternative.

(5) 6%, offering 64 as an alternative final contract to 6% would be very sensible here. But why make a
sensible bid after two silly ones?

(6) A cue bid, showing 1* round control in #’s.

(7) A cue bid, showing 1* round control in ¢’s and denying the #A.

(8) As this East has correctly cue bid #’s first at (6) he has found out that the %A is missing and that there
is a real danger of # A lead and a # ruffif ¥’s are trumps. So he offers 6 as an alternative final
contract if West has a real # suit.

And what happened? I (South) was on lead. I asked if the 4 level bids were cue bids and Clive said
yes. Chuck was silent. So did Chuck have a # void? I assumed he was messing about and so I led the &
A. Now when this held I realised that Chuck would not leap to slam missing the A without 1¢ round #
control, so I followed with the #6 in the hope that partner had the #K - but a ruff was just as good.
Chuck said that I found a lucky lead and that I should have led a ¢, partner’s suit. Yes!! Chuck actually
tried to criticise an opponent after his ridiculous bidding! Of course I was lucky — to have an opponent
who, like Papa the Greek, tries to be too clever. And I did not lead a ¢ because I believed Clive’s ¢ cue
bid. I did not believe any of Chuck’s bids; seems I was right as every bid of his after 2% was a joke.

Just one pair did bid to 6& (well done Jean-Marc/Michael).

The bottom lines: -

- Psyching, or lying about a control, may be allowed in higher level competitions, but it is not allowed
at the Pattaya Bridge Club. However, I would not call going down in 6%, when 6 is cold, ‘higher
level’ bidding.

- Cue bidding is a very powerful tool if used correctly and should have enabled E-W to bid to the cold
6% contract.



Garbage Stayman? 1NT - 2& - 2¢ - 2% Board 17 from Monday 12*

Considering Chuck’s disgraceful behaviour on the previous page, | see nothing wrong with mentioning
what happened here. He said that he would never make a particular bid — but he had done so on a previous
occasion when partnering me! Fortunately not only do I have a good memory for things like this, but they are
all fully documented in the news-sheets on the web!

Dealer: & KQ5 West North East South
North v AQS Chuck
Love all ¢ 105 - INT pass 2% (1)
& KJ762 pass 2¢ pass pass (2)
pass
& 1084 N & A93
v 973 W E v 654
¢ AK62 S ¢+ QJ94
& 543 & A108
& J762
v KJ102
¢ 873
* Q9

(1) This really is a gamble. It will work well if partner has a 4 card major but you have nowhere to go if
partner responds 24. There may be a ¢ fit, but the worse case scenario is when opener is 3325 and it’s
a3-2 ¢ fit.

(2) Oh dear!

And what happened? It was the worst case scenario and the 3-2 fit did not play well! At the end of
the hand Chuck told his partner that if he chose to bid Stayman then he should have pulled the 24
response to 2% (promising a weak hand with 5 ¥’s and 4 #’s) and opener would then pass that or play in
a 4-3 & fit. Now I found this very amusing and nnocently asked Chuck what would happen if opener
raised the 2% bid to 3¥. Chuck said that he would never do that and that pass or a correction to 24 are
opener’s only options. You may like to refer to news-sheet 158 when I was partnering Chuck and bid 2%
n this same sequence which Chuck did ndeed raise to 3%, thus converting the top I would have got for
making 2% into a bottom for 3¥ minus 1. He blamed me of course.

The bottom lines
- Youare simply gambling if you bid garbage Stayman and cannot cope with a 24 reply.
- People who continually criticise others should perhaps remember their own blunders?
- Like everybody else, I too make blunders, but I do have the memory of an elephant.

Il just repeat some of the bottom lines from news-sheet 158 when it went
INT-2& -2¢-29 -39 :-

- When you open INT you have said it all — partner is the captain.

- The sequence INT - 2 - 24 - 29/a is weak and opener should pass.

- The above sequence shows 5 cards in the major bid — it is taking a view if you have only 4 and
obviously you should just ride it out na 1NT if partner is likely to bid on.

- Obey The LAW. 5 + 3 =8, so the two level. Opener bidding 3 is asking for a minus.



Psyching at our club

Psyching at our club is not allowed. That does not just mean psyching an opening bid, but includes
psychic control bids and bidding a non-existent suit with the express intention of inhibiting it from being led. I
did not bother to adjust the score on Wednesday’s board 11 as they got a bad one anyway, but I will give
psychers a zero score. Also, repeated psyching will lead to a suspension. People who cannot adjust to
playing with beginners and repeatedly disregard the club rules will be thrown out. And I like the California
rules — a third strike and it’s life.

Bear in mind that there are a lot of mexperienced players at our club. And it’s time for me
to quote the ACBL yet again: - ‘psyching against less experienced players is unsportsmanlike’. At our club it
simply gets you a zero and a suspension/ban for repeated offences.

Never deny a 4 card major Board 18 from Wednesday 14"
Dealer: & 8532 Table A
East v A103 West North(C) East South
N-S vul ¢ A87 - - pass le
& QJ7 pass 2NT(1) pass 3v (2
pass 3NT(@3) allpass
& J107 N * Q6
v Q5 W E v 9872 Table B
¢ K932 S 465 West North(C) East South
& 10532 & AK964 - - pass le
& AK9%4 pass le (1) pass 24
v KJ64 pass 3 (4) npass 44
+QJ104 all pass
&8

Table A: (1) What did you bid with this North hand C i this week’s quiz? This North thought that with
a totally flat hand and no points in the # suit that he should not bid the poor # suit and
simply show his values. I would bid as table B.
(2) South has a shapely hand and was worried about the #’s and so he elected to bid 3%.
(3) North has even more reason to bid #’s (so 34) now, but stuck to his guns.
Table B: (1) This North knew not to deny a 4 card major.
(4) A help suit game try (HSGT).

And what happened? 3NT went one down. Everybody else was playing in #’s and making,

The bottom lines: -
- Never deny a 4 card major (twice!).



It’s not forcing — part 1 Board 20 from Monday 12*

What was your answer to sequence L in this week’s quiz?

Dealer: & A86
West v 108 West North East(D) South
Both vul ¢ AJ976 1% pass 1v pass
& Q75 INT pass 3v (1) pass
pass (2) pass
& 9752 N & KJ
v K9 W E v AQ542
¢ K85 S +Q2
& AK106 & J942
& Q1043
v J763
¢ 1043
83

(1) What did you bid with this East hand D in this week’s quiz? With 13 points and a fit for partner’s &
suit East clearly has to make a forcing bid. Now I believe that this East was brought up on Acol and 3%
is indeed forcing here in Acol. But in Standard American the INT rebid is 12-14 (it’s 15-16 in Acol)
and so the 3% bid is just invitational. Anyway, to answer the question as to what to bid - in Standard
American you are too strong for 3¥. If you play Checkback Stayman then bid 2&. If you play new
minor forcing then bid 24. If you don’t know what I am talking about then bid 3¢ or 24 —it’s a ‘lie” but
it is forcing (none of 2%, 3% or 3¥ are forcing).

(2) And with little more than a minimum and only two ¥’s West reasonably passed.

And what happened? They lucked out as 3NT does not make and 3% making scored a top.

The bottom lines: -

- Sometimes you have to ‘dig up’ a non-existent minor (or sometimes a major) if you are stuck for a
forcing bid. Note that this is not psyching — you are making the bid because it is the most descriptive
forcing bid available, not with the mtention of misleading the opponents. I would consider 24 or 34 at
(1) perfectly acceptable as the more descriptive 3% or 3% bids are non-forcing.

- Read up on Checback Stayman (CBS) or New Minor Forcing (NMF). CBS is undoubtedly
superior as you have more room for the responses after a 1& opening but NMF is, for some strange
reason, more commonly played.

- Itis acceptable to ‘lie’ about a suit — especially a minor — if you have no other forcing bid available.



It’s not forcing — part 2

What was your answer to sequence J in this week’s quiz?

Dealer: & K6 Table B
North v 83 West
N-S vul ¢+ AQ973 -

& J983 14

pass (2)

& J10985 N & A43
v 74 W E v AKQJ962 Table B
¢ 854 S ¢- West
& AQ6 & 752 -

& Q72 14

v 105

+ KJ1062

& K104

North
pass
pass
pass

North
pass
pass

Board 21 from Monday 12*

East(E)
v
3v (1)

East(E)
1v
4v (1)

South
pass
pass

South
pass
all pass

Table A: (1) What did you bid with this East hand E in this week’s quiz? Unfortunately 3% is not forcing.

(2) And West passed.

Table B: (1) This ¥ suit is self-sufficient and 4% is the good simple approach. ‘Digging’ up a minor (3¢)
would also be reasonable but a 44 splinter is not wise as that would set #’s as trumps and

partner may have only 4 #’s.

And what happened? Everybody else reached game in ¥’s or #’s.

The bottom lines: -

- A jump rebid in your suit is not forcing over a 1-level response.
- With a self sufficient major suit and game values, bid game.



Balancing Board 16 from Friday 16

Ifthe opponents stop bidding at the one level, then say something: -

Dealer: & K943
East v J964 West(F) North East South
E-W wul +76 pass pass pass 1%
& K106 pass lv pass (1) pass (2)
pass (3)
& 765 N Q2
v AQ W E v 875
+ KJ83 S ¢+ Q1042
& J732 & AQ95
& AJ108
v K1032
¢ A95
& 84

(1) East cannot say anything here as South may well have a big hand sitting over him.

(2) Even though South is minimum, he should raise to 2%; to stop West form balancing cheaply...

(3) ... but fortunately for South, West did not understand balancing. What did you bid with this West
hand F in this week’s quiz? Once South passes you know that the points are evenly spread and that
partner has around 10. So don’t let the opponents play in an easy 1-level contract. Without 4 &°s |
would not double (but it is an acceptable alternative). Holding the ¥ AQ a INT bid looks right to me.
Note that this is not 15-18 pomts in the balancing seat — and obviously not by a passed hand. It simply
shows scattered values without 4 #’s (double) and hopefully a decent ¥ stop.

And what happened? 1% made exactly for a top to N-S, with the same bidding at another table. Had
West balanced then that would have scored a top for E-W. At two other tables N-S got too high and
went down. The computer saying that N-S can make no more than 1%/# and that E-W can make 2NT
or 4/¢.

The bottom lines: -
When the opponents stop bidding at the one level — then bid in the balancing seat.
INT in the balancing seat is not 15-18.
INT by a passed hand is not 15-18.
Understand balancing — either you will often make something your way or you will push the opponents

up.



Biddin:

Hand A:

Hand B:

Hand C:

Hand D:

Hand E;

Hand F:

uiz Answers

44, This shows a balanced 18-19 with 4 card # support. 2NT is wrong because

(1) it is not forcing and (ii) it denies 4 #°’s.

(a) INT. Knock offa point for the totally flat 4333 shape.

(b) 2NT. Ifyou considered this hand too good for INT then bid 2NT now. This is not
considered as denying a 4 card major as partner rarely passes and any major suit fit will
come to light.

1#. Never deny a 4 card major. 2NT (11-12 points balanced) is a poor bid as it denies 4 #’s

and partner is likely to be short in ’s when he opens 14, so NT may be a poor strain.

34 or 24, unless you play CBS(2&) or NMF(24). 3% is not forcing. Sometimes you have to

‘digup’ a non-existent suit in order to make a forcing bid.

4%. 3% is not forcing. Digging up a minor, so 3 is also reasonable. 44, a splinter, is not good

as it set’s 4’s as trumps.

INT (or maybe double or even 24). Do not sell out at the one level. Without 4 4’s I do not

like double too much but it is acceptable as you can pull 14 from partner to 2 - thus showing

the minors. Note that this does not show a strong hand as you have already passed. I would
never pass in the balancing seat and with Y AQ to protect I much prefer INT. Note that you
know that partner has around 10 points here when the opponents have stopped at the one

level. And since the opponents have a fit then that means that you do and so 24 is also a

reasonable bid. In fact, anything but pass is reasonable.

Bidding Sequences Quiz Answers

G le-14-2NT How big is 2NT? It is a big hand, 18-19, too strong to open 1NT. Partner may

have as few as 6 pomts and so this bid is highly invitational but can be passed if
partner struggled to find his initial response.

H 1e-2¢-2NT How big is 2NT? It is a big hand, 18-19, too strong to open 1NT. This is

exactly the same as sequence G, partner may have as few as 5-6 points and
2NT invites game. It most definitely is not about 14 pomnts and ‘looking for a
better spot’ as one distinguished member stated. I would be happy to
reproduce any article he would like to print to back up his ‘reasoning(?)’
behind this absurd statement.

J 1v-1a-3v (a) Is 3% forcing? No, but highly encouraging.

(b) Is it forcing if you play Acol? No, exactly the same.

K 1v-2&-3v (a) Is 3% forcing? Yes. Partner has promised a good 10+ for his two level

response and so a jump must logically have enough values for game.
(b) Is it forcing if you play Acol? No! In Acol the two level response only
promises 8+ points and so the bid is highly invitational but can be passed.

L 1#-1v-1NT-3¥ (a)ls 3% forcing? No opener is 12-14. 2% would be weak (to play) and 3%

is invitational. With a game forcing hand responder should bid 2& (CBS),
24(NMF) or else ‘digup’ a forcing bid like 34 or 24.

(b) Is it forcing if you play Acol? Yes. This time the INT rebid
is 15-16 and so a jump must be forcing.



