Mon 21st 1st Jeremy &
Wed 23rd 1st Jan & Janne 60% 2nd
Dave & Ivy = Bob &
Fri 25th 1st Dave & Ivy = Terry & Lewis 57%
|to news-sheet main page|
|to Pattaya Bridge home page|
|to bridge book reviews||to bridge conventions||to No Trump bidding|
|to bridge CD's and computer games and software|
Bidding Quiz Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
a weak 2♥, what do you do?
♠ AQ95 ♠ KQ
♥ AKQ982 ♥ A5 With Hand B RHO opens 1♣ (could be short), (a) what do you do?
♣ 32 ♣ KJ9852 what do you do now?
Hand C Hand D With Hand C partner opens 1♦ and you bid 1♠. Partner then
♠ KQ8742 ♠ J104
♣ 5 ♣ AK10965
Bidding Sequence Quiz
E 1♦ pass 1♠ pass
1NT pass 2♥ Is 2♥ weak or forcing?
F 1♦ pass 1♠ pass
2♦ pass 2♥ Is 2♥ weak or forcing?
G 1♦ pass 1♠ pass
2♦ pass 3♠ Is 3♠ invitational or forcing?
H 1♦ pass 1♠ pass
3♦ pass 3♠ Is 3♠ weak, invitational or forcing?
J 1♣ 2♣ 1♣ may be short, what is the 2♣ overcall?
The long pause Board 19 from Wednesday 23rd
If you think for a long time and then pass, it often causes problems:
Dealer: ♠ 102 Table A
South ♥ 1032 West(B) North East South
E-W vul ♦ AK742 - - - 1♣ (1)
♣ 743 pass (2) 1♦ pass 1NT (3)
pass (4) pass pass (5) pass
♠ KQ N ♠ A9843
♥ A5 W E ♥ Q986 Table B
♣ KJ9852 ♣ 106 - - - 1♣ (1)
♠ J765 pass (2) 1♦ pass 1♥ (3)
♥ KJ74 2♣ (6) all pass
And what happened? 1NT made +1 for the top score. Three E-W’s were in 2♣ making (once) or making +1 (twice). 3♦ by N-S went -1. The bottom lines: -
- You are allowed to think. But if you pause for a log time, then do not pass. It is better to make a possibly poor bid than to pause and then pass – this only causes problems for partner (and the director if partner bids).
- Obviously you cannot pause and pass with the intention of banning partner from the auction – that is most certainly cheating.
- Note the effect of playing Walsh at table A, E-W had no idea that South had two 4-card majors, making the defense difficult.
Rebid a 6-carder or bid a 4-carder? Board 7 from Wednesday 23rd
Dealer: ♠ KQ8742 Table A
South ♥ KJ95 West North(C) East South
both vul ♦ K7 - - - 1♦
♣ 5 pass 1♠ pass 2♦
pass 3♠ (1) pass pass (2)
♠ 3 N ♠ AJ10965 pass
♥ A876 W E ♥ Q
♣ KQ984 ♣ 10732 West North(C) East South
♠ - - - - 1♦
♥ 10432 pass 1♠ pass 2♦
♦ AQ8643 pass 2♥ (1) pass 3♥
And what happened? 4♥ made or made +1 but somebody did manage to go -3 in 4♥. 3♠ was bid twice and went one or two down.
The bottom lines: -
- A new suit by responder is forcing except over a 1NT rebid by opener.
- Don’t automatically rebid a 6-card ♠ suit if you have 4 ♥’s – look for the golden 4-4 fit.
Dave’s Column Here is this week’s Dave input involving the play of the hand.
North South You are South, declarer in 4♠, West leads the ♦K and
♥ J2 ♥ AKQ105
♦ 5432 ♦ 10
♣ K7432 ♣ A5
Dave’s Column answer Board 26 from Wednesday 23rd
South ♥ J2 - - - 1♠
E-W vul ♦ 5432 pass 1NT - 3♥
♣ K7432 pass 3♠ pass 4♥
pass 4♠ all pass
♠ Q874 N ♠ 63
♥ 97 W E ♥ 8643 Ruff the 2nd ♦ and play the ♠A,K leaving
J86 ♣ Q109 two
♠ AJ1095 shortened again (♠’s may well be 4-2).
♥ AKQ105 Play out your ♥ and ♣ winners allowing the
opponents to score their two trump
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 4♠+1 twice, 4♥+1, 3NT= 3♠= and 4♠-1
Terry’s Comment. This is another type of safety play, generally inapplicable at pairs scoring; but in this case I think that Eddie Kantar’s line is possibly also correct at pairs scoring as the odds are that trumps are 4-2 and it’s 50% that you’ll guess wrong.
Dave’s 2nd Column Another Dave problem involving the play of the hand.
West East You are West, declarer in 3NT, and North leads the ♠Q,
♠ A43 ♠ K976 plan the play.
♥ 843 ♥
♣ AKQ ♣ J742
Dave’s 2nd Column answer Board 4 from Wednesday 23rd
Dealer: ♠ QJ108 Table A
West ♥ QJ9 West North East South
both vul ♦ Q872 1♦ (1) pass 1♠ pass
♣ 53 3♠ (2) pass 4♠ all pass
♠ A43 N ♠ K976 Table B
♥ 843 W E ♥
♣ AKQ ♣ J742 3♠ pass 3NT pass
♠ 52 4♠ all pass
♦ 96 This was the bidding at two of the table, with both
♣ 10986 failing to reach the sensible 3NT. What I think of bids
1,2 and 3 is unprintable. The bidding should be so trivial that I did not put anything in the quiz.
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 4♠ went minus 1 and minus 2. 3NT made exactly
twice, +1 and +2. I understand that at one table North
made it easy for declarer when he led the ♠8
and dummy’s ♠9 won the t
The bottom lines: -
- Don’t lead 4th best from QJ108
The re-opening double Board 3 from Monday 21st
Dealer: ♠ 2 West(D) North East(A) South
South ♥ 106543 - - - pass
E-W vul ♦ AJ85 1♣ 2♥ (1) pass (2) pass
♠ J104 N ♠ AQ95 (1) A (very) weak jump overcall, presumably
♣ AK10965 ♣ 32 against opponents who understand negative
♠ K8763 doubles.
♥ 7 (2) What did you bid with this East hand A in
♦ 96432 this week’s quiz? This is easy – pass and pass
(3) What did you bid with this West hand D in this week’s quiz? This hand has 13 cards and that is the main criteria for the automatic re-opening double.
And what happened? 1100 and a complete top.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand B: (a) pass. It’s usually best to pass when
(b) Pass or 2♣, either is fine. The only action that is not fine is to pause for a long time and then pass.
Hand D: Double, automatic. If you think that 2♣ is better, then do not play negative doubles.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
E 1♦ pass 1♠ pass 2♥ is weak. Responder does not like 1NT and opener must
1NT pass 2♥ pass or correct.
F 1♦ pass 1♠ pass 2♥ here is forcing. This is different from sequence E
2♦ pass 2♥ because opener has a good/long suit.
G 1♦ pass 1♠ pass 3♠ here is invitational.
2♦ pass 3♠
H 1♦ pass 1♠ pass 3♠ here is forcing. Opener has shown a good hand and
3♦ pass 3♠ responder is looking for the best game.
J 1♣ 2♣ I think it’s still best to play this as Michaels, the 1♣ opening bid is short only about 5% of the time. Of course you can agree to play it as natural if you so desire.
Club Rules. The club rules are clearly written up on the website and there is always a copy in my bag. If club members (here for 6 months a year or more) would like anything changed then we can vote on it. At the moment, psyches are not allowed and opening 1NT with a singleton is not allowed. Please inform Dave or myself if you disagree with either of these rules (or any of the others) and we can have a vote. This is a friendly club and I don’t give a hoot what the ACBL or WBF says, in my opinion psyches are not part of the game with a lot of inexperienced players around. Since we are not affiliated to the ACBL or WBF and do not hand out master points, we can have whatever rules we choose.
Something different. I understand from one of our members that the so-called ‘Dutch Club’ was raided by the police and that one of their members accuses me of sending them. When I left the ‘Dutch Club’ I advised them to get their own legal paperwork as I would not vouch for them. IF I had sent the police, you can be sure of two things:
(a) I would advise them to check that the paperwork was not a copy of mine.
(b) I would have told
them to go on a Sunday, when you blatantly disregard the laws of