Our website is www.pattayabridge.com†††††††††††††††††††††††† ††Club News Sheet Ė No. 342

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880††††††††††††† ††31st May 2009

It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com

Mon25th ††††††† 1stJanne & Paul Q††††††††††††† 67%†††††††††† 2nd††† Jeremy & Sally††††††††††††††60%

Wed 27th ††††††† 1stBob P & Nick††††††††††††††† 61%†††††††††† 2nd †† Ivy & Richard M†††††††††††58%

Fri 29th ††††† 1stGene Moats†††††††††††††††††† 70%†††††††††† 2nd †† Paul Quodomine††††††††††††58%

       
bridge news sheets to news-sheet main page Bridge conventions No Trump bidding book
   
Pattaya Bridge Club to Pattaya Bridge home page
       
recommended bridge books reviewed to bridge book reviews to bridge conventions to No Trump bidding
   
   
Bridge CD's and bridge games to bridge CD's and computer games and software  

 

 

Bidding Quiz†††††††††††††† †††† Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

 

Hand A†††††††††† Hand B†††††††††† With Hand A itís favourable vulnerability. You open 1 and

7†††††††††††††††††† 84††††††††††††††††LHO overcalls a weak 2. This is passed to you, what do you do

AQJ97††††††††† AKJ64

K73††††††††††††† A6†††††††††††††††With Hand B itís again favourable vulnerability. RHO opens 1:

AQJ8†††††††††† AJ42††††††††††† (a) What do you bid?††† Suppose you choose to pass, then LHO

bids 2 and RHO bids 2, (b) What do you do now?

†††††††††††††††††††††††

Hand C†††††††††† Hand D†††††††††† Do you open Hand C in first seat?

87†††††††††††††††† Q1076543†††

Q1085††††††††† 94

KQ86†††††††††† 62††††††††††††††††With Hand D partner opens 1, what do you do?

KQ4††††††††††† J9††††††††††††††††

 

     
Ron Klinger web site
     
 
     

 

Current Championship standings

 

 

 

Gold Cup = Best 30

Silver Plate = Best 10

Bronze Medal = Best 5

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

1818.0 Janne Roos

1788.5 Hans Vikman

1775.5 Paul Quodomine

649.2 Janne Roos

639.3 Hans Vikman

636.0 Paul Quodomine

631.5 Sally Watson

615.1 Lars Broman

613.8 Jeremy Watson

611.1 Bob Short

609.2 Jean Wissing

607.6 Per Andersson

600.1 Ivy Schlageter

 

334.8 Janne Roos

329.0 Hans Vikman

326.9 Paul Quodomine

324.5 Sally Watson

321.7 Bob Short

321.3 Jeremy Watson

321.0 Per Andersson

318.2 Ivy Schlageter

316.1 Lars Broman

315.8 Gene Moats

 

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

Editorial

 

I apologize for the mess in last weekís news-sheet 341; the Dave column questions were copied from the previous news sheet and I forgot to change them. I also made a typing error in one of the bidding sequences. The errors are now corrected and the updated sheet is on the website.


Not a penalty double
††††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††††††††††
Board 5 from Friday 29th

 

Dealer:†††††††††††† KQ95†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Table A

North ††††††††††††† Q10973††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††† North†††††††† East(B)†††† South

N-S vul††††††††††† 85†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† -†††††††††††††††† 1††††††††††††† 1NT (1)††† all pass

††††††††††††††††††††††† KQ

Table B

A763††††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† 84†††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††††† North†††††††† East(B)†††† South

2†††††††††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† AKJ64†††††††† †††† -†††††††††††††††† 1††††††††††††† pass (1)††† 2††† (2)

Q32††††††††††††††††††† S††††††††††††††† A6†††††††††††††††††††††pass†††††††††† 2††† (3)††††† pass (4)††† all pass

107653††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† AJ42†††††††††††††††††

††††††††††††††††††††††† J102†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††

85††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

KJ10974†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††

98†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

Table A:†††† (1)What did you bid with this East hand B(a) in this weekís quiz? This 1NT overcall is certainly acceptable, the ís are certainly stopped and it is within the 1NT overcall range.

Table B:†††† (1)This East decided to pass and await developments. With length and strength in RHOís suit, pass is often the best bid and I would not argue with it here.

(2)   Obviously South should pass and maybe bid the ís later if necessary. A weak jump shift into 3 is also a possibility I suppose but I would like to have seven 's for the 3-level and I would pass.

(3)   This is OK unless you have the agreement that a reverse into 2 after a two-level response shows shape and not necessarily extra values.

(4)   What did you bid with this East hand B(b) in this weekís quiz? Double would be a poor bid as partner will undoubtedly take it as take-out for the black suits. Pass is clearly best now Ė take the money for a few vulnerable down tricks, and you never know, partner may make a balancing take-out double which you can pass.

 

And what happened1-2, 2-3, 1NT(E)=.

The bottom lines: -

-         With length and strength in RHOís opened suit it may be best to pass if 1NT is unattractive.

-         At this vulnerability I think that the pass chosen at table B is fine but 1NT is obviously also very acceptable.

 

 

Daveís Column†††††††††† Here is Daveís 1st input concerning the play of the hand.

 

††††† N†††††††††††††† 6542†††††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††††† North†††††††† East††††††††† South††††††††

W††† E††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† 1NT†††††††††† pass†††††††† 2

††††† S††††††††††††††† AKQ3†††††††††††††††††††††pass†††††††††† 2††††††††††††† pass†††††††† 4

††††††††††††††††††††††† KJ986††††††††††††††††††††† all pass

KJ98†††††††††††

A10542††††††††††††† You are East, on lead against 4 by North. You lead the A, K, Q. When

1065†††††††††††† ††††† all follow you have to search for a way to score the setting trick.

Q†††††††††You know partner must be nearly bust, how should East continue?


Daveís Column answer††††††††††††††††††††† Board 13 from Wednesday 27th

†††††

Dealer:†††††††††††† AQ107††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††    Book Auction

North†††††††††††††† KQ7†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††††† North†††††††† East(A)††† South

Both vul††††††††††† J72††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††-†††††††††††††††† 1NT†††††††††† pass†††††††† 2

††††††††††††††††††††††† A107††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† pass†††††††††† 2††††††††††††† pass†††††††† 4

all pass††††††

3†††††††††††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† 6542††††††††††††††††††

J9863†††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† -††††††††††††††††††

984†††††††††††††††††††† S††††††††††††††† AKQ3†††††††††East leads the A, K, Q. When all follow he has

5432††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† KJ986††††††††† to search for a way to score the setting trick.

††††††††††† KJ98††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† How should East continue?

A10542†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

1065††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

Q††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

 

ObviouslyEast cannot count on help from West, who must be virtually bust on the bidding.

The K looks attractive, but North would then have made his game easily; ruffing two ís in dummy using the trump suit for communication, and East would never get a ruff.

Eastís best bet is a trump switch; declarer is then helpless. After winning the trump switch North cashed the A and ruffed a . Then he led another trump to his hand to ruff his last with dummyís last trump. Stuck in dummy with no trump to lead, declarer had to lead a and East scored his ruff for one down.

An interesting deal, East having to switch to a trump himself in order to later get a ruff.

 

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4-2, 4-1 twice, 3-1 and 2(s)-1.

 

 

 

Daveís 2nd Column†††††† Here is Daveís 2nd input about the play of the hand.

 

North†††††††††††††† South†††††††††††††††††† You are South, declarer in 4. West leads the 2, you play

J1098†††††††††† AKQ653††††††††† low from dummy and Eastís J wins. The K comes back,

K1084††††††††† 9†††† ††††††††††††††††† plan the play.

72†††††††††††††††† A65††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††††††

AQ3†††††††††††† 742††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††

††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††† ††††

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

†††††††††††††††††††††††

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††


Daveís 2nd Column answer††††††††††††† Board 14 from Wednesday 27th

†††††

Dealer:†††††††††††† 72†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Book Bidding

East††††††††††††††††† AJ63††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††††† North†††††††† East††††††††††† South

Love all††††††††††† KQ104†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††-†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† 1††††††††††††† pass††

††††††††††††††††††††††† K105†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 3††††††††††††† pass†††††††††† 4††††††††††††† all pass

 

J1098†††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††† AKQ653†††††††

K1084††††††††††† W††† E††††††††† 9†††††††††††††††††††† South leads the 2, you play low from dummy

72††††††††††††††††††††††S††††††††††††† A65††††††††††††††† and North wins with the J. He shifts to †††††

AQ3†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 742 †††††††††††††† the K. Plan the play †††

††††††††††††††††††††††† 4†††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††

Q752††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††††† ††††

J983†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

J986

 

You could try the finesse, but if it loses you are down, losing a , a and two ís. Is there anything better?

Yes! Just look at those wonderful spots. Win with the A at trick two, play a to dummy and play the K. North wins with his A and you ruff high and play another trump to dummy. And lead the 10. Instead of ruffing, discard a . South takes this trick with the Q and cashes the J and shifts to a . But you win with the A and discard the remaining on the established 8. You get the remainder on a cross-ruff.

Note that a straightforward dummy reversal is a trick short (4 ís, 3 ruffs, 1 and 1 ).††††

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4= twice and -1 three times.

 

Paulís Column†††††††††††

 

The individual on Friday presented some interesting hands in bidding, play, and defense.

 

In bidding board 3 stood out for me, partner (R vs W) opens 1 in first seat and you hold AKQJ10, x, void, J1087xxx.What is your response?1 or 2?I chose 1 and after a tortured auction in which I twice rebid in we arrived in a hopeless 3NT opposite xx, Q10xx, KQxx, KQx.5 was easy.Should partnerís (Hand C) be opened?I think not, it lacks quick tricks or shape.My recommendation would be P, P, 1, P, 1 or 1 depending on style, P, 1 (less than a jump shift), P, 2NT, P, 3 (5 and longer ), P, 4, P, 5.

 

On board 8 partner opens 1NT (15-17) and you hold:

Qx

AQJ

KQ1073

Kxx

 

You are always going to slam with this, but decide to check for aces on the way with 4.Partner replies 4 (0 or 4).This is clearly impossible so you simply bid 6NT, which makes an overtrick when two finesses work.The responses to Gerber, which I know Terry has detailed here in the past, are NOT the same as keycard where a suit has been agreed and the Q of trump as well as a fifth keycard are indicated.They are 4=0 or 4, 4=1, 4=2, 4NT=3.

 

On board 15 a defender held:

x

K953

KQJ8††††††††††† †††††††††††And after an opening 1 on his left found himself

AJ106††††††††† ††††††††††† defending 4 declared to his right.The dummy was:

 

Qx††† ††††††††††† ††††††On the second round of spades he discarded a small heart allowing declarer,

AJ10xx†††††††† ††††††holding Qx in hearts, to pick up the entire suit via a finesse. This should be

xx††††† ††††††††††† †††††fairly easy, discard a and then a on the second and third rounds of ís.

KQxx

 

With the next hand (Hand D) from board 16 this same person responded 1 to a 1 opening holding:

 

Q10xxxxx†††† ††††††††††† If you play weak jump responses to opening bids this is a fairly clear 2

xx†††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† response, if you do not it is an equally clear pass.

xx

Jx.††††††††††††††† Anyway, the opposing side declared in 4 from his left and the dummy put down:

 

Jx

Qxx

J109xx

Axx

 

His partner led the K which declarer won.Declarer now led the K which his partner won and returned a low , declarer winning in hand with the king.Declarer played K and J (partner ducking both) and without unblocking the diamonds reverted to a spade to the J and this defenderís Q, partner showing out.How difficult is it to return partnerís suit destroying the entry to those diamonds?This person returned a diamond to declarerís Q and the hand was over.

 

On board 18 opener held, white vs red:

 

x†††††††††††††††††† A prime 17.His 1 opening was overcalled 2, P, P, and he chose to bid 3!

AQJxx††††††††† A penalty of 500 or 800 was thus missed by his failure to reopen with a double

Kxx†† †††††††††††instead netting 430 for 3NT +1 by his partner.

AQJx

 

Once again, Terry has stated many times over that if playing negative doubles you should strive to reopen with a double if short in the overcalled suit unless you your hand is weak and has unusual shape.

A small play error occurred on board 19, perhaps an oversight, but declarer holding a suit of Axxxx opposite Qx laid down the Ace and then led to the now bare Queen.As the cards lay it didnít matter but PLEASE, if the King was to his left he could score both the Q and A by leading low first!

Ah, Iím just cranky because I didnít win!

Paul

 

Terry comment: But you scored 58% despite your partners!

 

††††††††† ††††††††† ††††††††† ††††††††† <end of Paulís Column>


A re-opening double?†††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Board 18 from Friday 29th

 

Dealer:†††††††††††† Q††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Table A

East †††††††††††††††† 532†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††† North†††††††† East(A)††† South

N-S vul††††††††††† A10842††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††-†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† 1††††††††††† 2††† (1)

††††††††††††††††††††††† 7654††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† pass (2)††††† pass†††††††††† 3†† (3)††† pass

3NT (4)††††† all pass

A9852††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† 7††††††††††††††††††††††††

10†††††††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† AQJ97††††††††† †††† Table B

QJ65††††††††††††††††††S††††††††††††††† K73†††††††††††††††††††West††††††† North†††††††† East(A)††† South

K92†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† AQJ8†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† 1††††††††††† 2††† (1)

††††††††††††††††††††††† KJ10643††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† pass (2)††††† pass†††††††††† dbl†† (3)††† pass

K864††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† pass (5)††††† all pass

9†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††

103†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

 

Table A:†††† (1)A weak jump overcall.

(2)At this vulnerability West obviously wants to go for the penalty. So, playing negative doubles, he passes and hopes that partner will re-open with a double.

(3) What did you bid with this East hand A in this weekís quiz? This East decided not to double with a singleton . I donít like this 3 bidĖ it looks like an overbid to me; and pass is a bit feeble.

(4)   Somewhat disappointed that partner could not find the re-opening double, West bids the obvious 3NT.

Table B:†††† (3)This East knows all about the Ďautomaticí re-opening double. Now there are exceptions when you should not double, and a singleton trump is not good, but with this strong trick-taking hand at this vulnerability I think that East should certainly double. After all, if partner has a stack thatís fine (you donít mind defending) and if partner bids anything then that is also fine. So double is my answer to question A.

(5)A happy camper.

 

And what happened? 3NT(W)+1 twice (430) and 2*(S)-2 (500). Deep Finesse says that 2* can go -3, but -2 was good enough for a clear top.

The bottom lines: -

-         Remember the Ďautomaticí re-opening double if you play negative doubles.

-         Be more inclined to go for a penalty when opponents are vulnerable and you are not.

 

Bidding Quiz Answers

 

Hand A:††† dbl, Ďautomaticí. This is not so obvious with a singleton trump but the vulnerability is right if partner has a penalty hand (quite likely) and you have a good hand for defence. I cannot see that there is really any alternative, 3 is an overbid and pass timid; so double and you donít really mind what partner does. Paul also says dbl in his column.

Hand B:††† (a)1NT or pass. This one is close; 1NT is obviously fine but at this vulnerability it may be best to try the infamous Ďtrap passí.

(b)   pass. Take the vulnerable money, dbl would be take-out for the black suits.

Hand C:††† Paul says pass. Terry says itís 20 for the rule of 20, with points in the long suits, so 1 is acceptable (Paul and I do not always agree!).

Hand D:††† Paul says 2 if you play weak jump shifts, else pass. I agree, 1 is asking for trouble.

       

 Ron Klinger web site