Our website is www.pattayabridge.com                           Club News Sheet – No. 374

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com                                 

My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880              10th Jan 2010

It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com

Mon 4th    N-S   1st  Jeremy & Sally               66%       2nd    Janne & Jean                          65%

                E-W   1st  Hans V & Per And..       64%       2nd    Gier Helgemo & Rolf A          58%

Wed 6th    N-S   1st  Gerry C & Sally             61%       2nd    Morton & Terje Ly..               56%

                E-W   1st  Hans V & Janne             65%       2nd    Arne F & Lars F                    59%          

Fri  8th                1st  Janne & Jean                  57%       2nd    Hans V & Paul Q                   55%


bridge news sheets to news-sheet main page Bridge conventions No Trump bidding book
Pattaya Bridge Club to Pattaya Bridge home page
recommended bridge books reviewed to bridge book reviews to bridge conventions to No Trump bidding
Bridge CD's and bridge games to bridge CD's and computer games and software  



Bidding Quiz                    Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.


Hand A           Hand B           With Hand A you open 2 and partner bids 2, what do you

AQ10           -                   rebid?

A4                QJ

AKQ954      AJ765          What do you open with Hand B?

KQ              KQ8642                             


Hand C                                   What do you open in 2nd seat with Hand C?






Ron Klinger web site


A big balanced hand                                             Board 4 from Fridayday 8th  


Dealer:             8654                                           Table A

West                J53                                             West          North         East(A)    South

Both vul            63                                              -                 -                 2           pass

                        10974                                        2              pass           2NT (1)    pass

3NT (2)      pass           pass (3)    pass

J3                       N               AQ10                

Q10972          W    E            A4                     Expert Table

J2                       S                AKQ954           West          North         East(A)    South

A852                                    KQ                    -                 -                 2           pass

K972                                          2              pass           2    (1)    pass

K86                                            2    (4)      pass           2NT (5)    pass

1087                                          6NT (6)      all pass



Table A:     (1)  What did you bid with this East hand A in this week’s quiz? 3NT is the value bid but I hate it (it virtually rules out Stayman and transfers when partner has a very weak hand). This East chose 2NT, hoping that partner would not pass.

(2)   With a combined 31-32 points this West decided (correctly) that just as many tricks would be available in No Trumps as in ’s and decided not to transfer.

(3)   Of course East cannot sensibly bid on now.

Table B:     (1)  Our experts hate the 3NT rebid of course. As today’s pair have only one strong opening bid (2) they play the Kokish relay. 2 here shows either a game forcing hand or a 25+ balanced hand. With this suit this hand is easily worth a game forcing sequence.

(4)   Forced and asking partner to clarify his hand.

(5)   Big balanced

(6)   With a known 33+ points, West again opts for NoTrumps rather than bothering with a transfer.


And what happened? 6NT=, 3NT+3 twice, 3NT+2 and 6-2.

The bottom line:

-         The sequence 2 - 2 - 3NT really sucks (as does a strong opening 3NT). There are numerous way round it. Play Benjamin twos (when 2 - 2 - 2NT is game forcing); play the multi two diamonds (where 2 - 2 - 2NT is game forcing) or play the Kokish relay.


Dave’s Column                         Here is Dave’s first input on the play of the hand.


North               South                             West            North             East            South

KQ109754   632                             -                   -                     pass           1

6                   QJ9                            pass             1                  pass           1NT

A6                QJ102                        pass             4                  all pass

Q94             AK3


East led the J, West encouraged, and South won to lead a to hisK. Upon discovering the 3-0 trump break (East discards the 8 playing standard discards and so asking for a ), how should declarer play the hand? 

Dave’s Column answer                                                Board 11 from Wednesday 6th   


Dealer:             KQ109754                                 Book bidding

East                  6                                                 West          North         East            South

Love all            A6                                             -                 -                 pass           1

                        Q94                                           pass           1              pass           1NT

pass           4              all pass                

AJ8                     N             -                         

K1042            W    E          A8753                 

7543                   S              K98               East led the J, West encouraged, and South won

72                                      J10865           to lead a to hisK. Upon discovering the 3-0

                        632                                       trump break (East discards the 8 playing standard

QJ9                                      discards), how should declarer play the hand?  




What happened when the hand was first played was that declare r led a to the K in order to leas another through West. West won his A and led a to East’s A so that he could score a ruff. Could declarer play better?

Yes. After discovering the 3-0 trump break, instead of returning to dummy with a This farsighted play is not as difficult as it may seem. On the first West had signaled encouragement (the 2 if you play low to encourage) and on the first trump East had signaled for a . Clearly it was time to cut defensive communications. Regardless of which defender won the lead, declarer can prevent East from giving his partner a ruff.


And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4+1, 4= five times, 1+2, 4NT-1 and 4-2 twice.






Dave’s 2nd Column         Here is Dave’s second input on the play of the hand.


West                East                                West            North             East            South

K64              A85                            -                  -                     1             pass

QJ1097        A863                          1                pass               2              pass

AQ7             K53                            4                all pass

J4                 K85


You are West, declarer in 4. North leads the 4. plan the play.


Dave’s 2nd Column answer
                  Board 10 from Wednesday 6th  


Dealer:             Q32                                            Book Bidding

East                  54                                               West          North         East          South

Both vul            J642                                           -                 -                 1           pass

                        9762                                          1              pass           2            pass

4              all pass

K64                    N               A85                   

QJ1097          W    E            A863            North leads the 4. Plan the play.     

AQ7                   S                K53                   

J4                                         K85                  






What should West do after north’s passive trump lead? If he gets greedy and ducks in dummy he loses the timing to make his game. South wins with the K and shifts to the J; and with South controlling the suit the defenders can establish a trick before declarer can build a winner.

It’s different if declarer wins trick one with the A. He then leads a low from dummy, South’s J wins and South switches to a . The J then drives out South’s A, another goes to dummy’s A but declarer wins the race as he can discard a on the K.

Note declarer’s play in ’s. Low to the J gives West two chances instead of one. If the J loses to North’s Q he still has time to lead to dummy’s K.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 5-1, 4-1 seven times and 4= twice.




Paul’s Column


 On board 29 the computer said N/S should make 6 hearts on the following layout:






                                                                                   Hand C         

K1075432                                          J96

102                                                     5

974                                                      AKQJ10

3                                                        J964






At first glance I didn’t see how South would avoid a club loser, but then it became obvious.  First, after North deals and passes, what did you open the East hand C in this week’s quiz?  Popular will be 1, but when my hand is ALL diamonds and no outside defense I’d personally stick the 5 in with the diamonds and open it TWO diamonds!  As for making 6 it seems like if clubs are 3-2 this is a no-brainer.  Accordingly South plays as follows: lose the diamond lead, win the next trick whatever it is, Ace and a spade ruffed after drawing trump, return in trump and FINISH THE TRUMPS!  Reduce the South hand to:  A875, the North hand to 9 KQ10 and what will East hold as his last 4 cards?  He can’t allow the ¨9 to become a winner as there is an entry, and he can’t discard a club from J964.  A simple squeeze!  The hand is an example of the BLUE law of squeezes … one hand must be BUSY in 2 or more suits (guarding them), the LOSER count must be met (declarer has lost all he can), one threat must be UPPER to the “victim” (to the left of) and there must be an ENTRY to the threats.  Hence BLUE.  There are exceptions to the LOSER requirement in highly specialized cases but they are rare.

Does it cost South anything to play in this fashion rather than test the clubs before finishing the trumps?  Not a blessed thing!  Testing the clubs first would cost this slam.

Open a 5-carder instead of a 6-cardsr?             Board 6 from Friday 8th


♠ VOID               A couple of hands from Friday the 8th caught my attention.  Terry was

♥ QJ                    kibitzing me and questioned my opening bid of 1 diamond with the

AJ765             following hand, board 6, all vulnerable:

♣ KQ8642


He felt that a 1 club opening was better with the hand playing strength being sufficient to bid diamonds later.  I clearly felt that if partner responded 1 of a major this was not worth a “Reverse” and I’d be trapped into a 2 club re-bid; furthermore if the partnership plays “Walsh” style responses to 1 club where a diamond suit may be by-passed to name a major with a limited response a diamond fit might be missed altogether.  At our table the 1 diamond opening was doubled to my left, partner raised to 3 (limit raise in his style) and after a pass I bid 5 which was doubled.  This made exactly for a tie for top when the doubler’s A K proved worthless.  Opening a 5-card higher ranking suit in preference to a 6-card lower ranking one is pretty much the norm when you lack 16+ HCP and want to simplify your re-bid.  One notable exception many experienced partnerships use is when opener holds 6 clubs and 5 spades with limited strength.  Since 1 spade can be re-bid over any 1 level response, and spades re-bid as cheaply as possible later, the nature of the hand is very accurately expressed.  Some extend this to 5 GOOD clubs and 5 WEAK spades.


<     End of Paul’s column     >



Bidding Quiz Answers


Hand A:    3NT or 3 I suppose – but I hate them both! It really is necessary to have an agreement on how to bid these big balanced hands so that a 2NT rebid shows 25+ balanced. Options are to play Benjamin twos, to play the Multi 2, or to play the Kokish relay. 2NT (22-24) is a gross underbid of course with this huge suit and use-full-looking 10.


The following two are from Paul’s Column and are his opinions:


Hand B:    1 is Paul’s answer. A 1 opening would lead to problems if partner responds 1 as the hand is not strong enough for a reverse into 2.

Hand C:    2. When my hand is ALL diamonds and no outside defense I’d personally open it 2 rather than 1.


 Ron Klinger web site