Mon 22nd 1st Dave H & Richard M 60% 2nd Bengt & Lars B 57%
Wed 24th N-S 1st Dave C & Nina 64% 2nd Dino & Mike G 59%
E-W 1st Hans V & Janne 63% 2nd Paul Q & Terry Q 57%
Fri 26th N-S 1st Dave C & Tomas 64% 2nd Johan & Tom 61%
E-W 1st Terry Ibbs & Tobjorn 60% 2nd Mark & Ivy 55%
|to news-sheet main page|
|to Pattaya Bridge home page|
|to bridge book reviews||to bridge conventions||to No Trump bidding|
|to bridge CD's and computer games and software|
Bidding Quiz Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A Hand B With Hand A it is
favourable vulnerability and
♠ - ♠ AK843
♥ 10872 ♥ AJ With Hand B ♠’s are agreed and partner asks for keycards with
♦ 9 ♦ K104 RKCB. You respond 5♦ (1 or 4) and partner bids 5♠, what do
♣ QJ1087542 ♣ A43 you do?
Current club championship standings
Gold Cup = Best 30
Silver Plate = Best 10
Bronze Medal = Best 5
641.8 Janne Roos
639.6 Hans Vikman
629.2 Paul Quodomine
619.8 Lars Broman
613.9 Tomas Wikman
609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet
600.5 Jean Wissing
582.8 Bengt Malgren
580.4 Holger Renken
573.5 Tom Grovslien
328.9 Tomas Wikman
327.8 Janne Roos
327.4 Hans Vikman
322.9 Lars Broman
319.6 Sally Watson
319.5 Paul Quodomine
319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet
314.7 Jean Wissing
300.8 Bengt Malmgren
299.7 Bob Short
Dave’s Column Here is Dave’s first input, this time on bidding.
♣ QJ1087542 What do you do over
Dave’s Column answer Board 22 from Wednesday 24th
Dealer: ♠ Q109864 Book Bidding
East ♥ K94 West North East South(A)
E-W vul ♦ 1073 - - 2NT ? (1)
(1) What did you bid with this South hand A
♦ 9 .
(1) What do you do when you hear an opponent open with 2NT? Do you more or less crawl into a shell and wait until the bidding is over? A theme that the author of this article has talked about in many places is that you should be willing to bid over an opening 1NT bid if you have good shape with a long suit or a hand with shape and two suits. Bidding against a 1NT opening does have a place in today’s competitive world.
But what about bidding over a 20-21 point 2NT?
South has a hand that would not expect to set 7NT if the opponents bid it. Given that E-W probably have at least a game, it behooves South to bid something.
What should that something be? The author suggests 4♣. This bid pushes E-W up to a level where they do not have any of their normal conventional bids. As you can see, South can take two ♥’s and six ♣’s so will go down only 300 points doubled.
Feel free to look at the E-W hands and see if you can bid sensibly to the best contract after South’s 4♣ bid.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Many Souths did indeed bid 4♣ and the end contract were: 6NT+1, 6NT= twice, 6♦=, 4NT+3, 4NT= and 6♥-1. I understand that the ridiculous 6♥ contract was when West bid 4♦ over the 4♣ overcall and East thought it was a transfer!
Dave’s 2nd Column Here is Dave’s second problem, on the play of the hand.
♠ KJ7 ♠ AQ98 - - - 1♣
♥ J8752 ♥ AQ3 3♦ 3♥ 5♦ 6♥
♦ - ♦ A2 all pass
♣ A10743 ♣ QJ95
You are North, declarer in 6♥. Playing MUD (Middle-Up-Down) leads East leads the ♣2 to the ♣Q, ♣K and ♣A. You lead the ♥2 to the ♥4, ♥A and ♥9. How should you continue?
Dave’s 2nd Column answer Board 23 from Wednesday 24th
Dealer: ♠ KJ7 Book Bidding
South ♥ J8752 West North East South
Both vul ♦ - - - - 1♣
♣ A10743 3♦ (1) 3♥ 5♦ 6♥
♣ K86 ♣ 2
Bidding can be awkward after an opponent’s pre-empt. North does not have a huge hand, but with the ♦ void it is better for North to bid than to pass (as Paul Q says – borrow a king from partner after a pre-emptive overcall). When East jumped to 5♦, South was confident that there would be no ♦ loser and bid the slam because of the fit in ♥’s and the extra strength.
Playing MUD (Middle-Up-Down) leads East led the ♣2 to the ♣Q, ♣K and ♣A. North led the ♥2 to the ♥4, ♥A and ♥9. How should declarer continue?
If ♥’s are 3-2 you will be safe by continuing ♥’s from dummy if West did not start with ♥K doubleton (about which you can do nothing anyway). Is it likely that the ♥’s are 3-2? If you judge that West began with six or seven ♦’s and three ♣’s then you might feel that the ♥9 is a singleton.
Note that West might have given North a tougher time by playing low smoothly on the ♣Q at trick one.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 6NT+1, 6♥=, 4♦*-3, 4♥+1, 5♣+1, 5♣=, 4♥= and 5♥-1.
One or 4 keycards? Board 12 from Monday 22nd
I was asked to write this one up, so here are my thoughts:
Dealer: ♠ AK843 West North(B) East South
both vul ♦ K104 pass 1♠ pass 2♠
♣ A43 pass 4♠ pass 4NT (1)
pass 5♦ (2) pass 5♠ (3)
♠ Q106 N ♠ J5 pass pass (4) pass
♥ 943 W E ♥ 8762
(1) Being maximum for his original bid, South decided to look for slam. A dubious decision.
(2) 1 or 4 keycards.
(3) Unsure if partner had one or four. I think that South could assume four as partner presumably has around 19 points and thus it is very unlikely (but just mathematically possible) that three keycards are missing. However, if partner understands RKCB properly then he will correct a 5♠ bid to 6♠ if he has four keycards.
What did you bid with this
North hand B in this week’s quiz? North
should correct to 6♠ here – he knows that partner was looking for slam and that his