Mon 12th N-S 1st Bengt & Guttorm 61% 2nd Hans V & Jean 54%
E-W 1st Janne & Paul Q 63% 2nd Dave H & Tony C 58%
Wed 14th 1st Janne & Jan 58% 2nd Terry Q & Paul Q 57%
Fri 16th 1st Janne & Jean 62% 2nd Jan & Tonni 56%
|to news-sheet main page|
|to Pattaya Bridge home page|
|to bridge book reviews||to bridge conventions||to No Trump bidding|
|to bridge CD's and computer games and software|
Bidding Quiz Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A Hand B With Hand
A it’s love all. Partner opens 1♦ and
♠ A9852 ♠ J9754
♥ AJ73 ♥ AJ8 What do you open with Hand B?
♦ QJ2 ♦ AJ
♣ J ♣ AK7
Hand C Hand D With Hand C it’s love all. You open 1♦ and LHO overcalls with a weak 2♠. This is passed to you, what do you do?
♠ 10 ♠ 7632
♥ K106 ♥ 6 With Hand D partner opens 1NT
♦ AK10865 ♦ A92 (a) What do you bid if 1NT is 15-17?
♣ K54 ♣ AJ1076 (b) What do you bid if playing Acol, so 1NT is 12-14?
Hand E Hand F With
Hand E you open 1♦, partner bids 1♠ and
♠ QJ6 ♠ AK63
♥ A1076 ♥ 97 With
Hand F you open 1♣, partner bids 1♦ and
♣ J2 ♣ AQ9754
Hand G Hand H With Hand G partner opens 1NT. What do you bid and what do you plan to do next?
♠ AK ♠ AK1065
♥ KQ ♥ 75 With Hand H partner opens 1♦ and you bid 1♠. Partner then bids
♦ A643 ♦ AJ6 2♣, what do you do?
♣ KQ874 ♣ K86
J 1NT pass 4NT What is 4NT?
K 1♦ pass 1♠ 2♣
2NT How strong is the 2NT bid here?
The Re-opening Double Board 1 from Wednesday 14th
When playing negative doubles, don’t forget the ’automatic’ re-opening double.
Dealer: ♠ 10 Table A
North ♥ K106 West North East South(A)
Love all ♦ AK10865 - 1♦ 2♠ (1) dbl (2)
♣ K54 pass 3♦ pass 3NT
♠ J N ♠ KQ7643
♥ Q54 W E ♥ 982 Table B
♣ A87532 ♣ 1096 - 1♦ 2♠ (1) pass (2)
♠ A9852 pass dbl (3) pass pass
♥ AJ73 pass
And what happened? 2♠* went -5 for 1100. Other results were 3NT+3 three times. 5♦+1 and 7♦**-2
The bottom line:
- If you want to penalize an overcall when playing negative doubles, then pass and partner will usually re-open with a double.
Dave’s Column Here is Dave’s first input on declarer play of the hand.
North South West North East South
♠ AK1065 ♠ 7 - - - 1♦
♥ 75 ♥ A62 pass 1♠ pass 2♣
♣ K86 ♣ AQ52 pass 3NT all pass (1) 4th suit
You are South, declarer in 3NT. West leads the ♥K and East plays an encouraging card. West continues with the ♥4 to the ♥J. You duck again but must win the 3rd round with the ♥A with West playing the ♥10. What is the layout of the ♥ suit and how do you continue?
Dave’s Column answer Board 11 from Wednesday 14th
Dealer: ♠ AK1065 Book Bidding
South ♥ 75 West North(H) East South
Love all ♦ AJ6 - - - 1♦
♣ K86 pass 1♠ pass 2♣
♠ 7 best bid, looking for 3NT or 4♠.
♥ A62 (2) Promising a ♥ stop. Showing a stopper is the
♦ K10975 first priority when partner bids 4th suit forcing
West leads the ♥K and East plays an encouraging card (the ♥3 if playing low to encourage or the ♥8 if playing high to encourage). West continues with the ♥4 to the ♥J. Declarer ducks again but must win the 3rd round with the ♥A with West playing the ♥10. What do you think the layout of the ♥ suit is and how do you continue?
West is 99% to hold the ♥Q, even though East’s ♥J did not deny that card; West would have led a low card from ♥K104 and the ♥10 or low from ♥K1094. If West started with ♥KQ104 and East ♥J983 it doesn’t matter how you play the ♦ suit. If, however, West started with ♥KQ1094, you cannot afford to lose a ♦ trick to him.
Play the ♦10 from hand and run it unless West covers. Continue with a ♦ to the ♦J and claim the rest when it holds.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT+1 twice, 3NT= twice, 3♠+2 and 3NT-3.
Dave’s 2nd Column Here is Dave’s second problem on the play of the hand.
♥ J84 You are South, defending 3NT. North leads the ♥6 playing 4th best
♦ KQ5 leads, dummy plays low and declarer takes your ♥J with the ♥A.
♣ 65 West then leads a ♦ to the ♦10 which you win. Do you now play
or a ♥?
Dave’s 2nd Column answer Board 12 from Wednesday 14th
Dealer: ♠ 6 Book Bidding
West ♥ Q107632 West North East South
N-S vul ♦ 73 1NT pass 2NT pass
♣ J1094 3NT all pass
♣ AKQ2 ♣ 873
I (Frank Stewart) suspect that after E-W reached 3NT, South was willing partner to lead a ♠. Alas, North failed to get the message and led the ♥6 (4th best). West won with the ♥A and let the ♦9 ride. South took the ♦K and with hardly a pause for thought, tabled the ♠K.
Do you agree with this play?
West took the ♠A and lost another ♦ finesse to the ♦Q. South then cashed the ♠QJ, but as declarer held ♠A1095, he claimed the rest, making his game.
Since declarer’s ♥’s had been ♥Ax, South would beat 3NT if he returned a ♥ at trick three. Did South make a clear error or was he unlucky?
The ♠K switch looked like all but a sure thing muttered South after the contract made.
After West took the ♥A and lost a ♦ finesse at trick two, South shifted to the ♠K. He wound up with two ♠’s and two ♦’s, but West made his game. A ♥ continuation by South at trick two would have beaten the contract.
The ‘sure thing’ actually lay with North’s ♥’s. Assuming North’s ♥6 was his 4th highest ♥, the ♥A could be West’s only higher ♥. (South can apply the Rule of Eleven, subtracting partner’s spot card from 11 to learn that dummy, declarer and himself have only 5 ♥’s higher than the ♥6 and South can see all five of them once the ♥A appeared).
If South returns a ♥ when he takes the first ♦ he can lead his last ♥ later and North will run the ♥’s for two down. South’s actual defense was unsound as there was no reason why West couldn’t hold ♠A1095.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT+1, 3NT= twice, 3♦=, 3NT-1 and 3NT-2.
Hand Evaluation Board 16 from Monday 12th
I disagree with the club’s three top players on this one:-
Dealer: ♠ 8 Table A
West ♥ K763 West North East(B) South
E-W vul ♦ Q87432 pass pass 1♠ (1) pass
♣ J10 1NT pass 2NT (2) pass
♠ KQ N ♠ J9754
♥ 10542 W E ♥ AJ8 Table B
♣ Q85432 ♣ AK7 pass pass 1♠ (1) pass
♠ A10632 1NT pass 3NT (2) all pass
And what happened? Scores were all over the place, but 2NT is the limit of the hand. Three pairs did bid to the unmakeable 3NT, but the all made it! I don’t see how as both North and South have an obvious ♦ lead. Maybe South led the ♦5 and blocked the suit but it was made by West twice which looks impossible to me unless South subsequently blocked the ♦’s.
The bottom lines:
- So how much is this East hand B worth? Paul Q thought about it for a while and opened 1♠ when partnering Janne. At the end of the deal both Janne and Hans V agreed with Paul and said that the 1♠ opening was obvious. Paul’s argument was that if partner has 4 ♠’s and around 6 points then you may miss game if you open 1NT. That’s true, but it’s much more likely that you will go down in 2NT when partner is minimum or go down in 3NT if partner has 7 or so points as here. It was very lucky that West had 6 ♣’s and so could take 8 tricks off the top on a ♦ lead, give him just 5 ♣’s and 2NT is going down. So, I disagree with all three of them and 1NT is my answer to question B.
- Hand B has three aces its true, but the 5-card suit is horrible – points belong in long suits, and the hand is not worth 18 points in my opinion.
Gerber Board 2 from Wednesday 14th
A direct 4♣ Gerber bid is rarely a good choise (that’s why many play South African Texas). However, a simple Gerber bid easy reaches the correct contract on this deal. I give only the one biding sequence as the others I heard of are too embarrasing to print.
Dealer: ♠ AK West North(G) East South
East ♥ KQ - - pass 1NT
N-S vul ♦ A643 pass 4♣ (1) pass 4♠ (2)
♣ KQ874 pass 7NT (3) all pass
♠ Q9852 N ♠ 43 (1) What did you bid with this North hand G in
♥ 765 W E ♥ J9842 this week’s quiz? This is one of the rare
♣ 110962 ♣ 5 With this hand, you only need to know if
♠ J1076 there is an ace missing or not.
♥ A103 (2) Two aces.
♦ KQJ (3) Pessimistic people may ask for kings, but
♣ AJ3 7NT must be a good bet even if there is a
And what happened? 7NT=twice, 6NT+1, 6♣+1 and 5NT+2 twice. So just 33% of the club reached the grand with 37 points and 14 top tricks! The bidding given gets you there, and it also does if North asks for kings at (3). The other player to bid the grand simply bid 7NT at (1), which I think is silly (there could be an ace missing and it costs nothing to check), and all of the rest lost their way somehow.
The bottom line:
- 37 points is usually enough for the grand!
- Remember that if you bid 4♣ Gerber, then 5♣ asks for kings and 4NT is a sign-off.
The 2NT rebid
We all know that if we open 1x and partner responds 1y, then a jump to
2NT shows 18-19. But what about the situation where we open 1x, partner
responds 1y and
Hand E West North(E) East South North Board 12
♠ QJ6 pass 1♦ pass 1♠
♥ A1076 2♥ 2NT (1) …….
♣ J2 What did you bid with this North hand E in this week’s quiz? This 2NT bid
is wrong as it shows about 18-19 points. You should pass or double to show 3 ♠’s if you play Support Doubles.
Hand F West North(F) East South North Board 5
♠ AK63 - 1♣ pass 1♦
♥ 97 2♠ 2NT (1) …….
♣ AQ9754 What did you bid with this North hand F in this week’s quiz? This 2NT bid
is wrong as it shows about 18-19 points. You should pass or else double if you play that as penalties.
The Bottom Lines:
partner responds at the one level he is only promising 6+ points and so you
need 18-19 to jump to 2NT. If partner responds at the two level then he has 10+
and so 2NT is just 12-14. But if partner responds at the one level and
The thing to note is, who has
pushed up the bidding to the two level? If it is partner then you can bid 2NT
with 12-14 but if it is
- You can stretch the points slightly, but 13 or 14 are simply not good enough.
Well done Janne on winning the triple – with three different partners. He has now won it three times in a row and five times in all and so equals the club record for the most number of triples.
J 1NT pass 4NT 4NT is generally played as quantitive here, with 4♣ Gerber asking for aces.
K 1♦ pass 1♠ 2♣ 2NT here should be 18-19. Remember, it is an opponent and
2NT not partner who has pushed the bidding up to the two level.
Current club championship standings
Gold Cup = Best 30
Silver Plate = Best 10
Bronze Medal = Best 5
1819.6 Janne Roos
649.0 Janne Roos
641.2 Hans Vikman
638.2 Paul Quodomine
620.3 Tomas Wikman
619.8 Lars Broman
612.8 Jean Wissing
609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet
594.9 Bengt Malgren
580.6 Jan v Koss
580.4 Holger Renken
330.4 Janne Roos
329.6 Tomas Wikman
327.9 Hans Vikman
323.3 Paul Quodomine
322.9 Lars Broman
320.3 Jean Wissing
319.6 Sally Watson
319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet
320.3 Jean Wissing
308.2 Bob Short