Our website is www.pattayabridge.com                           Club News Sheet – No. 396

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com                                 

My mobile phone number is 083 6066880                                                          6th June 2010

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com

Mon 7th            1st    Dino & John H               60%       2nd    Paul Q & Janne                      54%

Wed 9th            1st    Mike G & Terry Q         59%       2nd    Niels K & Janne                     53%

Fri  11th            1st    Janne & Sigurd               =                    Niels & Tonni                         69%


bridge news sheets to news-sheet main page Bridge conventions No Trump bidding book
Pattaya Bridge Club to Pattaya Bridge home page
recommended bridge books reviewed to bridge book reviews to bridge conventions to No Trump bidding
Bridge CD's and bridge games to bridge CD's and computer games and software  


Bidding Quiz                    Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.


Hand A           Hand B           What do you open with Hand A?


K62              KQJ863       With hand B you are dealer at favourable vulnerability:

AQ43           A86              (a)  What do you open?

KQ8             53                 (b)  Suppose you open 2, partner raises to 4 and RHO bids 5,

AQ4             84                      what do you do now?


Bidding Sequence Quiz


C     1NT   2      dbl                   What is double – take-out, showing ’s or penalties?


Ron Klinger web site



Current club championship standings



Gold Cup = Best 30

Silver Plate = Best 10

Bronze Medal = Best 5











1852.7 Janne Roos

1845.7 Paul Quodomine
1815.1 Hans Vikman

655.2 Janne Roos

642.1 Hans Vikman

640.1 Paul Quodomine

626.8 Tomas Wikman

619.8 Lars Broman

615.9 Jean Wissing

615.9 Sally Watson

609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

597.8 Bengt Malgren

591.0 Johan Bratsburg


334.4 Janne Roos

329.6 Tomas Wikman

327.9 Hans Vikman

324.8 Sally Watson

323.4 Paul Quodomine

322.9 Lars Broman

320.3 Jean Wissing

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

316.0 Sigurd Zahl

309.3 Jeremy Watson



That 4333 shape again                                         Board 21 from Monday 7th May


This has been mentioned a few times in the past, the totally flat 4333 type shape really sucks.


Dealer:             K62                                            Table A

North               AQ43                                         West          North(A)    East          South

N-S vul            KQ8                                           -                2NT (1)      pass         3NT

                        AQ4                                           all pass


AJ972                 N               8                         Table B

K86                W    E            J975                   West          North(A)    East          South

10                       S                96432                 -                1   (1)      pass         1    (2)

J852                                     K106                 1              2NT (3)      pass         3NT

all pass






Table A:     (1)  What did you open with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? It’s a balanced 20 count and doubtless everybody will open 2NT (20-21).

Table B:     (1)  This North is not everybody and correctly devalued this totally flat hand with no intermediates, and this is my answer to question A.

(2)   It’s a matter of partnership agreement/style as to whether you respond 1 or 1 with this hand.

(3)   18-19, which is all this hand is worth.


And what happened? 3NT-1 three times and 3NT= once. Even with a combined 27 count with stoppers in every suit, there are only 8 tricks. Why? Because declarer has no long suit to set up and this is very likely to be the case with 4333 type shape hands.

The bottom lines:

-         Deduct a point for a totally flat 4333 type shape hand.

-         It actually made no difference here as N-S are always going to reach the doomed 3NT, but this deal does again demonstrate how bad the totally flat 4333 shape is.

Pre-empt and bid again?                                      Board 3 from Monday 7th May


This has also been mentioned a few times in the past and I thought everybody knew about it. But one regular member strayed on this deal.


Dealer:             -                                                 Table A

East                  KJ7                                            West          North         East(B)     South

N-S vul            QJ106                                        -                 -                 2    (1)    pass

                        KQ10653                                  4              5   (2)      5    (3)    all pass


A1095                N               KQJ863             Table B

Q105              W    E            A86                    West          North         East(B)     South

A87                    S                53                      -                 -                 3    (1)    pass

AJ7                                      84                      4              5   (2)      pass (3)    pass

dbl             all pass






Table A:     (1)  What did you open with this East hand B(a) in this week’s quiz? The hand is top of the range for a non-vul pre-empt but it is not good enough for an opening 1 (only 19 for the rule of 20). 2 is fairly clear with 3 as the only reasonable alternative. I personally do not have a ‘gap’ between 1 and 2 and do not believe that pass is a sensible option.

(2)   It’s difficult for North to make the correct decision at the 5-level and a couple of players chose this optimistic 5 bid.

(3)   What did you bid with this East hand B(b) in this week’s quiz? This bid breaks the golden rule of not bidding again having pre-empted. And East’s excuse? He was maximum for his opening. That is no excuse whatsoever and bidding again at this vulnerability (when just 2 down doubled scores more than 5 if it makes) is a very poor bid.

Table B:     (3)  This East correctly passed. When you pre-empt you have said your hand and partner is the captain.


And what happened? 4= (with help from the defense), 4-1, 5-2 and 5*-3 (800).


Dave’s Column                     Here is Dave’s first input on declarer play of the hand.                                                                                                 

North               South                                       Bidding

754               AKQJ10                               West          North       East          South

932               AQJ                                     -                 -               -               2

653               AQ2                                     pass           2            pass         2

A843            52                                        pass           4            all pass


You are South, declarer in 4. West lead the K which you win in dummy. With just the one entry, which red suit finesse do you take?



Dave’s Column answer                      Board 23 from Wednesday 9th June  


Dealer:             754                                             Bidding

South               932                                             West          North         East            South

Both vul            653                                            -                 -                 -                 2

                        A843                                          pass           2              pass           2

pass           4              all pass

92                       N             863                      

K85                W    E          10764            

10874                 S              KJ9                      

KQJ6                                 1097                   



AQ2                           West lead the K and dummy’s A wins. Which red

52                              suit finesse do you try?


Taking the finesse gains a trick only when East has specifically king doubleton; you are going to get two tricks regardless. But taking the finesse has a 50% chance of showing a profit and that’s the finesse you should take.


And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT=, 4NT= and 4= twice.





Dave’s 2nd Column         Here is Dave’s second problem on the play of the hand.


West                East                                          Book Bidding

K108653      A2                                        West        North         East          South

K10954        72                                        1            -                 1            pass

K                  Q976                                   2            pass           2NT         pass

K                 A10762                                3            pass           3            pass

4            all pass


You are West, declarer in 4. North leads the A and switches to a low , plan the play.  


Dave’s 2nd Column answer                    Board 24 from Wednesday 9th June


Dealer:             Q9                                              Book Bidding

West                J83                                             West          North         East            South

love all              AJ43                                          1              pass           2             pass

                        Q983                                         2              pass           2NT           pass

3              pass           3              pass

K108653            N             A2                        4              all pass

K10954          W    E          72                  

K                        S              Q976                   

K                                       A10762         


AQ6                           North leads the A and shifts to a low . Plan the play.





It is tempting to win the K, cross to the A, discard two ’s on the Q and A, and lead up to the K. The trouble that even if South had the A, a trump return gives the defense two ’s, a and a .

Better is to win the first trick with the A and lead a . Then you make the contract if ’s are 3-2 and the A is onside.


And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4= twice, 3= and 3NT-1.



Bidding Quiz Answers


Hand A:    1 (with a 2NT rebid in mind). This totally flat hand with no intermediates is not worth a (20-21) 2NT opening, which is what I expect everybody chose? You should deduct a point for this totally flat shape and with no intermediates there is no reason not to devalue the hand.

Hand B:    (a)  2. The hand is maximum for the opening but does not conform to the rule of 20 and is not quite worth a 1 opener. 3 is an alternative I guess. I personally have no ‘gap’ between 1 and 2 and would never pass.

                  (b)  pass. The fact that the hand is maximum is absolutely no reason to break the golden rule of not bidding again having pre-empted.



Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer


C     1NT     2      dbl                 This is up to you, but I play that it’s penalties and that is certainly pretty standard if you have not discussed it.




 Ron Klinger web site