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Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A you open 1NT. Partner transfers with 2♦ and
RHO doubles. You bid 2♥ and LHO bids 3♦. This is passed.
♠ AQ76
♠ AQ10962
to you, what do you do?
♥ KQ4
♥ K54
 

♦ J9
♦ J
With Hand B it’s favourable vulnerability and there are two
♣ K1084
♣ J32
passes to you. What do you open?


Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C you are in 2nd seat at love all. What do you open?
♠ J1098764
♠ K



♥ KQ32
♥ 95
With Hand D it’s favourable vulnerability. You open 1♦ and
♦ KJ
♦ AJ976543
LHO overcalls 1♥. This is passed to you, what do you do?

♣ -
♣ A4


Bidding Sequence Quiz
E
1♠
pass
3♠

3♠ is invitational, but how many ♠’s does it show?

F
1♠
pass
2♣
pass
How many ♣’s does the 2♣ bid promise…

2♦
pass
3♠

… and how many ♠’s does this 3♠ bid show?
G
1♣
pass
1NT
pass
What is the dbl…

pass
dbl



… is it a ‘trap pass’ penalty double or take-out?

Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1877.1 Janne Roos 

1852.8 Paul Quodomine
1846.2 Hans Vikman 
1702.4 Johan Bratsberg
	669.2 Janne Roos 
654.6 Hans Vikman 
640.1 Paul Quodomine 

626.8 Tomas Wikman
622.1 Sally Watson

619.8 Lars Broman
615.9 Jean Wissing

610.0 Derek & Gerard
609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

603.3 Johan Bratsburg
	344.6 Janne Roos 

337.6 Hans Vikman
329.6 Tomas Wikman
325.4 Sally Watson
323.4 Paul Quodomine 
322.9 Lars Broman

322.7 Derek & Gerard 

320.3 Jean Wissing 

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

316.0 Sigurd Zahl




Worth a 1♠ Opening? – part 1

Board 8 from Wednesday 21st July 
One of the club’s presumed better pairs came a cropper at table B. What do you think?

Dealer:
♠ J1098764



Table A
West
♥ KQ32

West

North(C)
East

South
Love all
♦ KJ

pass


1♠
(1)
pass
(2)
3♠
(3)

♣ -


pass

4♠
(4)
all pass

♠ -
N
♠ K52

Table B
♥ 10765
W
E
♥ AJ98

West
North(C)
East

South
♦ A10943
S
♦ 75

pass

pass
(1) 
1NT

pass

♣ 10862


♣ AK94

pass

2♦
(5)
pass

pass
(6)

♠ AQ3

 

pass
♥ 4

 
 
♦ Q862






♣ QJ753





Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? It’s 21 for the rule of 20 with great intermediates and clearly well worth a 1♠ opener in my opinion.

(2) A 1NT overcall is possible, but with a very weak ♠ holding pass is perhaps more prudent.

(3) I prefer to bid 2♣ (or a forcing 1NT if playing 2/1) followed by 3♠ to show an invitational hand with three ♠’s.

(4) Not only do I consider this hand a very sound opener, but I also think that this 5-loser hand is worth a game acceptance when partner has invited with 3♠.

Table B:
(1)
So what did you open with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? This North considered the hand not good enough for 1♠ and too good for 2♠ and so passed.

(5) Multi Landy - showing a single-suited major.

(6) South now went into a deep huddle. He reasoned that partner had ♥’s and probably only five (he had not opened with a weak two). So not wanting to play in a 5-1 fit he decided to pass, hoping that partner had ♦’s.
And what happened? Obviously South should not have been so devious, but should simply have bid 2♥ (pass or correct) at (6). The pass is certainly ridiculous as North cannot have ♦’s –would have bid 2♥ with 5 ♥’s and ♦’s, clearly South was not thinking clearly. But the good 4♠ contract will never be reached if North does not open. Other more sensible results were 4♠**=, 4♠=, 3♠=, 4♠-1 and 4♠*-1.
The bottom lines:

· As an aside, I personally do not like having a ‘gap’ between a 1♠ and 2♠ opening. With a six card major, if a hand is too good for a weak two bid then I always open at the one level.

· Now you may think that one alternative with the North hand is to pass and then come in later. I don’t like this as partner will never take you for such a strong hand, but also there may possibly be no ‘later’ – give South ♠Axxx ♥Jxx ♦Axx ♣xxx and the deal may well get passed out (especially because you have the ♠ suit) with other N-S making 12 tricks in ♠’s, how embarrassing!
Worth a 1♠ Opening? – part 2





Board 3 from Wednesday 21st July 

One of the club’s better pairs got a poor score as N-S at table B. What do you think?

Dealer:
♠ AQ10962



Table A
South
♥ K54

West

North(B)
East

South
E-W vul
♦ J

-


-

-

pass

♣ J32


pass

1♠
(1)
pass

1NT

pass

2♠

pass

pass
♠ 43
N
♠ K85

dbl
(2)
pass

3♦

3♠
(3)
♥ A83
W
E
♥ 97

all pass
♦ K653
S
♦ AQ872

 

♣ K986


♣ Q104

Table B

♠ J7

 

West


North(B)
East

South
♥ QJ1062

 
 -
-

-

pass
♦ 1094





pass

2♠
(1)
pass

pass

♣ A75



dbl
(4)
pass

3♦

3♠
(5)

all pass

Table A:
(1)
What did you open with this North hand B in this week’s quiz? The hand is 20 for the rule of 20 with an excellent suit and 1♠ seems clear to me in any seat, but especially in 3rd seat 1♠ is clear and may well be a lot weaker than this. 

(2) A balancing double, it would be nice to have four ♥’s but a double is a good bid anyway.

(3) South knows that partner has a decent hand with presumably six spades and so can raise.

Table B:
(1)
This North chose to open 2♠ With Hand B. I don’t like this at all – especially at this vulnerability and in third seat I would play a weak two as much weaker than this. 1♠ seems clear to me.

(4) As at (2) above West has a balancing double but is even more sure that partner has values as RHO is a passed hand and LHO pre-empted.

(5) But unlike at (3) above, South does not know that North has a good hand and so cannot raise to 3♠ with just ♠Jx.

And what happened? 3♦= was a top for E-W. Other results were 4♦(E)*-2, 2♠=, 2♠+1, 3♠+1.

The bottom lines:

· In my opinion 11 points with a good suit is much too strong for a weak two which I play as 6-9, maybe 10 if vulnerable. Note that a six-card suit with 11 points is always 20 or more for the rule of 20 which applies to 1st and 2nd seat 1-level openers (3rd seat may be weaker).

Dave’s Column

Here is Dave’s 1st problem, on the play of the hand.
North
South

Bidding
♠ Q5
♠ AJ9

West

North

East

South
♥ AKQJ1093
♥ 82
pass


1♥

pass

2♣
♦ K852
♦ 764
pass


3♥

pass

4♥
♣ -

♣ KQJ63



all pass

You are North, declarer in 4♥. East leads a low ♠, plan the play.
Dave’s Column Answer




Board 20 from Wednesday 28th July 
Dealer:
♠ Q5



Book Bidding
West
♥ AKQJ1093

West

North
East

South
both vul
♦ K852

pass


1♥

pass

2♣

♣ -


pass

3♥

pass

4♥
all pass

♠ K743
N
♠ 10862


♥ 754
W
E
♥ 6

♦ QJ9
S
♦ A103
 

♣ 942


♣ A10875

East leads a low ♠, plan the play

♠ AJ9

 


♥ 82

 
♦ 764







♣ KQJ63





Only a bona fide finessaholic goes down on this one. He plays low from dummy at trick one, loses to the ♠K, and then sees the ♦Q rammed through his ♦K. With the ♦A with East, this could mean losing three ♦ trick for down one. A cooler cat (you) wins the ♠A and leads the ♣K from dummy, intending to make a loser-on-loser play. If the ♣K is covered by West, ruff high, play the ♥A and then a ♥ to that wonderful ♥8 in dummy to pitch two ♦ losers on ♣’s.

If the ♣K is not covered, discard the ♠Q. Assuming the ♣K loses to East’s ♣A East has to be careful lest you make an overtrick. If he leads the ♦A then your ♦K is trick eleven. If he leads leads a ♠, play the ♠9 from dummy. If that drives out the ♠K you will ruff high and the ♠J is trick eleven. To save an overtrick when holding the ♦A, East must exit with a ♥ or a ♣. But you still make the contract and your loser-on-loser play in ♣’s has paid big dividends.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♥+1, 4♥=, 3NT= and 4♥-1 twice.

Dave’s 2nd Column

Here is Dave’s 2nd problem, on defense.
 N
♠ AQ96

West
North
East
South
W
 E
♥ 9753

-

pass
1♣
pass
 S
♦ 9

1♠ 

pass

2♠
pass

♣ AJ63

4♠
all pass
♠ J7

 


♥ J42

You are South, defending 4♠. North leads the ♦Q and you win with 
♦ A7643
the ♦A with West playing the ♦2. What would you do now?

♣ 1095
Dave’s 2nd Column Answer


Board 21 from Wednesday 28th July 
Dealer:
♠ 3



Book Bidding
North
♥ AQ10

West

North
East

South
N-S vul
♦ QJ85

-


pass

1♣

pass

♣ Q8742


1♠

pass

2♠

pass

4♠

all pass

♠ K108542
N
♠ AQ96


♥ K86
W
E
♥ 9753


♦ K102
S
♦ 9
You are South. Partner leads the ♦Q and you
 

♣ K


♣ AJ63
win with the ♦A, declarer dropping the ♦2.


♠ J7

 
What do you do now?

♥ J42

 
 
♦ A7643







♣ 1095





How will you get four tricks? The black suits do not look promising. It’s true that partner mat have the ♣KQ, but that is unlikely. And if you are getting no black suit tricks then you need three in ♥’s. In this position you should shift to the ♥J. Here that defeats the contract.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♠= twice, 3♠+1, 4♠-1 twice.

The Bottom Lines:

-
From Jxx or Qxx, if you need two tricks, lead low; but if you need three tricks, lead high.

Janne’s Column
♠ -

Here is the 2nd hand from Wednesday last week. RHO opens 3♠, and 
♥ Kxxxx

you pass. LHO passes and partner bids 3NT. Opener now bids 4♠, 
♦ J9xx

what do you bid? When you have decided, have a look at the last page
♣ AQxx

and what 60 “experts” bid.


<end of Janne’s Column>
Unauthorized Information







You are not allowed to pass information to partner by unauthorised means, and if such unauthorised information is passed to you, you have to ignore it. Two recent examples:

Hesitation





Board 3 from Monday 26th July 

Dealer:
♠ K832



West(A)
North
East

South

West
♥ AJ

1NT


pass

2♦

dbl
(1)
N-S vul
♦ KQ85

2♥
(2)
3♦

pass
(3)
pass

♣ J72


3♥
(4)
all pass

♠ AQ76
N
♠ 94

♥ KQ4
W
E
♥ 109873
(1)
Showing ♦’s and lead directional.

♦ J9
S
♦ 7
(2)
Best played as showing 3-4 ♥’s.
 

♣ K1084


♣ Q9653
(3)
After a ‘long’ pause.

♠ J105

 
(4)
What did you bid with this West hand A in

♥ 652

 
this week’s quiz? With just 3 ♥’s and minimal
♦ A106532





values this bid is dubious (partner has shown

♣ A



no more than zero points and both opponents 

have shown values).

So what happened? I was called over, N-S said that they wanted to reserve their rights as there was a long pause. West protested that it was not long – only about 6 seconds. My decision? It does not matter if it was 6 seconds or 10, East paused and West made a very dubious bid, possibly knowing that East was thinking about bidding and therefore had values. 3♥ was -1 for a good score to E-W and so I reset the result to 3♦+2 by N-S.

Asking about the auction





Board 6 from Friday 23rd July 

Dealer:
♠ KQJ9



West

North
East

South

East
♥ 6

-


-

pass
(1)
pass
E-W vul
♦ Q10

pass


1♣

2♦

2♥

♣ KJ9862


pass

3♣

pass

3NT

all pass
♠ 753
N
♠ 1062


♥ AQJ75
W
E
♥ K9

♦ 94
S
♦ A86532
(1)
This pair do not play a weak 2♦.

♣ A43


♣ 105


♠ A84



♥ 108432

Before leading West asked for a recap of the bidding.
♦ KJ7


On hearing the 2♥ bid he asked what the 2♥ bid was!

♣ Q7

Obvioulsy North simply said that it was natural. 

In my opinion West’s asking for a recap of the bidding was unnecessary, and his question “what was the 2♥ bid” totally uncalled for – it is ‘obviously’ passing unauthorized information that he himself has good ♥’s. West’s lead was a ♦ to East’s ♦A and what really surprised me is that that East then played the ♥K! Now East is a really excellent player and, with a singleton ♥ on table, he probably did work out that partner had good ♥’s – but I would never lead a ♥ under these circumstances. But I would give partner a good ticking off after the hand, explaining that his ridiculous question inhibited him from leading a ♥. 

A Difference of Opinion
♠ K
With Hand D it’s favourable vulnerability; this is hand D from last week’s


♥ 95
news-sheet. You open 1♦ and LHO overcalls 1♥. This is passed to you, what 
♦ AJ976543
do you do? I said “This is a classic example of when to re-open with a double”.
♣ A4
However, a few of our top players apparently disagree. 

This is a huge and very important difference of opinion. My feeling is that partner is very likely to have a penalty hand and this hand, with top cards, a singleton, two ♥’s, the ♦A when partner is likely to lead a ♦, and vulnerable opponents vs non-vul, is very suitable for defense. And in the event that partner does not have the penalty hand and pulls the double you can then always bid ♦’s. If you do not double with this hand then partnership trust diminishes, perhaps to the level that you should not play negative doubles as partner will not be happy to pass with a penalty hand if you do not re-open with a double with most hands? Presumably if you hold a penalty hand you have to bid some number of NoTrumps if partner will not usually re-open with a double? As it happens I am in the middle of reading a book on Bols Bridge Tips and Bep Vriend says “… after a double from partner, which in these times of negative doubles will almost always happen…”

Incidentally, a good simple test of whether to re-open with a double when it is likely that partner has a penalty hand is “would you pass a double from partner if playing penalty doubles”? With this hand the answer is clearly “yes”. Another criteria is that you have to be able to cope if partner pulls your double, and here that is no problem as you simply bid ♦’s. I know that Dave, Jeremy and Eddie agree with this philosophy (which I believe is main-stream, as hinted by Bep Vriend) of the ‘almost always’ re-opening double when playing negative doubles. But Paul Quodomine, Janne and I believe Hans disagree, I’ll let Paul have the last word:

“I am strongly in favor of negative doubles in overcall situations, and while I understand where Terry is coming from here I have played for many (30+) years using certain standards for re-opening doubles.  I know for a certainty they are mainstream in the U.S., and my Swedish friends/partners assure me they are also mainstream there and elsewhere.  Terry is correct in that this is a huge difference of opinion and as such I would like to state my views at length in a separate column next week.  I intend to include the rationale for given actions, and how they work well for partnerships accommodated to them.  Incidentally on the hand Terry cites one "expert" decided NOT to open 1diamond in first seat ... a decision I consider poor and he now agrees with me.”
Terry Question: What did the “expert’ open with this hand? It is 22 for the rule of 20, and while I understand that the singleton ♠K needs downgrading, a 1♦ is totally obvious in my opinion. The hand, especially with two aces, is far too good for a pre-emptive opening; and as with hand C this week partner will never believe that you are this strong if you do not open.

So, quite a few interesting and controversial hands and topics this week – see next week for the next exciting installment and Paul’s promised contribution! Sensible inputs for the news-sheet will be accepted from anybody, so please contribute and give your opinions to keep the news sheet entertaining.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
Pass. You have said your hand and completing the transfer after the double promises three (or 4) ♥’s. Partner is the captain. With only three ♥’s there is no reason whatsoever (especially with a minimum hand and a partner who has not promised any points) to bid 3♥.

Hand B:
1♠. This hand is 20 for the rule of 20 with a robust ♠ suit and so a sound opener in any seat, especially in third seat where an opening may be minimal. Some may disagree with this, but I believe it is certainly far too good for a 2♠ opener in this seat at this vulnerability which I play as a lot weaker.
Hand C:
1♠. This hand is 21 for the rule of 20 and with a very robust ♠ suit it is clearly a very sound 1♠ opener.

Hand D:
This is hand D from last week’s news-sheet. I said last week:- “double. This is a classic example of when to re-open with a double. It is very likely that partner has a penalty hand and, especially at this vulnerability, you should co-operate. If partner does not have a penalty hand he will bid and you can then bid ♦’s, so nothing is lost.” One of our top players disagrees, more next week.

Janne’s
dbl    37%
4NT  30%
5♠ 13%
Column:
pass
  8%
5NT   3%
5♥   2%

Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer

E
1♠
pass
3♠

The direct 3♠ here should promise four ♠’s

F
1♠
pass
2♣

This may possibly be just a three card ♣ suit…

2♦
pass
3♠

… and this follow up 3♠ bid shows three ♠’s.

G
1♣
pass
1NT
pass
This double is a take-out of ♣’s. It’s in the balancing seat

pass
dbl



and shows a typical take-out shape but without the values 

for an initial double.
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