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Mon 30th    
1st

Nina & Robbie
63%
2nd
Derek & Gerard
62%

Wed 1st   

1st

Hans & Janne
65%
2nd 
Sally & Tomas
58%

Fri  3rd 
    
1st

Derek & Gerard
63%
2nd 
Alan K & Janne
59%
Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B

With Hand A it’s love all in 2nd seat, what do you open?
♠ -

♠ 96
With Hand B it’s love all in 1st seat.


♥ K96

♥ K109863
(a) What do you open?
♦ 10

♦ 4
(b) Suppose you open 2♥ and partner bids 3NT, what now?
♣ KQJ1087643
♣ J653


Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C you open 1♣ in 4th seat and partner bids 2NT.
Do you accept with 3NT or not?
♠ KJ86
♠ Q9
♥ AQ2
♥ 93
With Hand D partner opens 1NT,
♦ 862
♦ 1097432
(a)
What do you bid?
♣ A76
♣ A104
(b)
What do you bid if RHO overcalls a natural 2♥?
Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E you open 1♠ and LHO overcalls 2♥. This is passed
to you, what do you do?
♠ AKQJ4
♠ 83
 
♥ AJ
♥ 954

With Hand F partner opens 1♠ and RHO overcalls 2♥. You pass
♦ J97
♦ 10653
and partner re-opens with a double, what do you bid?
♣ 962
♣ K754

Bidding Sequence Quiz
G
4♠
4NT
 

What is 4NT over RHO’s 4♠ opening?
Pre-empt and bid again



Of course everybody knows not to do this; but here are two examples from two weeks ago where two very experienced players did so!
Pre-empt and bid again? – part 1


Board 8 from Friday 20th August
Dealer:
♠ -



West

North(A)
East

South
West 
♥ K96

pass


4♣
(1)
4♥
(2)
pass
Love all 
♦ 10

pass

5♣
(3)
dbl

all pass

♣ KQJ1087643


(1)
What did you open with this North hand A in
♠ A1054
N
♠ KQ96

this week’s quiz? 3♣, 4♣ or 5♣? It’s up to you
♥ 54
W
E
♥ QJ1083

but the one bid I don’t like out of these is 4♣.
♦ KQ8743
S
♦ AJ
 
If you decide to go past 3NT then open 5♣.
♣ 5



♣ A2

(2)
dbl is better here.
 

♠ J8732

 
(3)
This is terrible!! , and from one of the club’s

♥ A72




better players. The pre-empt has worked and 
♦ 9653






East is declarer in a doomed 4♥ contract, 
♣ 9




bidding again converts a top into a bottom.
And what happened? East led the ♠K and so 5♣ is obviously one down. However, despite the fact that declarer had ruffed the first round of ♠’s East discarded his ♥’s on the run of the ♣’s, grimly holding on to his ♠Q and declarer thus made 3 ♥ tricks and his contract. 
Pre-empt and bid again? – part 2


Board 12 from Friday 20th August
Dealer:
♠ 832



West(B)
North
East

South

West 
♥ 4

2♥
(1)
pass

3NT

pass
Love all 
♦ KQ865

4♥
(2)
pass

pass

dbl

♣ 10987


all pass
♠ 96
N
♠ K1074
(1)
What did you open with this West hand B(a) 

♥ K109863
W
E
♥ J

in this week’s quiz? It’s just 4 points and only
♦ 4
S
♦ AJ3
 
14 for the Australian rule of 14/15 for pre- 
♣ J653


♣ AKQ42

 
empts, but with the superb ♥ intermediates I

♠ AQJ5

 

think that 2♥ is fine.
♥ AQ752



(2)
What did you bid with this West hand B(b) 
♦ 10972






in this week’s quiz? I can see no reason to
♣ -




bid here.
And what happened? 3NT may or may not have made, but 4♥ doubled deservedly went minus two and scored -300 for a complete bottom. 

The bottom lines (for both examples):

· Do not pre-empt and then bid again, but pre-empt to the limit and then keep quiet.

· In the first, North presumably bid again because he was maximum for his opening? In the second West presumably bid again because he was minimum for his opening? I do not accept either of these excuses.

That wretched 4333 type shape yet again

Board 2 from Wednesday 22nd Sept
Dealer:
♠ KJ86



West

North(C)
East

South

East 
♥ AQ2

-


-

pass

pass
N-S vul 
♦ 862

pass

1♣

pass

2NT

♣ A76


pass

3NT
(2)
all pass
♠ 753
N
♠ A92

This bidding seems fairly automatic for 
♥ 95
W
E
♥ K10876

those who do not realize how bad the 4333
♦ AK1043
S
♦ 85
 
type shape is.
♣ J108


♣ 532

 

♠ Q104

(1)
What 
did you bid with this North hand C in
♥ J43




this week’s quiz? You generally need 14 
♦ QJ7





points to bid 3NT here, deduct a point for 
♣ KQ94




4333 and this hand should probably pass.
And what happened? It’s a combined 25 points with decent intermediates, so usually enough for game. But 3NT stood no chance on a low ♦ lead and went two down. Why is that? You all know the answer, 4333 sucks and two 4333’s opposite each other really suck. I guess that South just about has his 2NT bid but North probably should not accept.
The bottom line:

-
Deduct a point for the terrible 4333 type shape.
Dave’s  Column


Here is Dave’s 1st problem on declarer play.
West
East



Bidding
♠ Q4
♠ K

West

North
East

South
♥ A10983
♥ Q7654

pass

pass

1♥

pass
♦ J3
♦ A64

2NT

pass

4♥

all pass
 

♣ A963
♣ QJ54

You are East, declarer in 4♥. South leads the ♦5 to the ♦J, ♦Q and you play the ♦4. North cashes the ♠A and plays another ♠. You win with the ♠Q and cash the ♥A. South plays the ♥J and North the ♥2. Plan the play.

Dave’s Column Answer

Board 10 from Wednesday 1st Sept
Dealer:
♠ AJ9862



Bidding
East
♥ K2

West

North
East

South
both vul
♦ Q98

-


-

1♥

pass

♣ 72


2NT
(1)
pass

4♥
(2)
all pass
♠ Q4
N
♠ K
(1)
Jacoby 2NT

♥ A10983
W
E
♥ Q7654
(2)
minimum opener, this hand is unsuitable for
♦ J3
S
♦ A64

showing ♠ shortage with 3♠.
 

♣ A963


♣ QJ54


♠ 10753


South leads the ♦5 to the ♦J, ♦Q and your ♦4.
♥ J

North cashes the ♠A and plays another ♠.  
♦ K10752



 
You win with the ♠Q and cash the ♥A. South
♣ K108


plays the ♥J and North the ♥2. Plan the play.
.

With two tricks lost already the contract depends upon avoiding a ♣ loser. This is possible if North has the ♣10x or if you can endplay North when he holds a doubleton ♣ but not the king. As this seems slightly better odds, you start by crossing to the ♦A and playing the ♣Q. When everybody follows low, ruff your last ♦, cash the ♣A and play a ♥. North will win the ♥K and give you a ruff and discard so the ♣ loser disappears. 
If South covers the ♣Q, win the ♣A, play to the ♣J, run your last ♦ and exit with a trump to achieve the same ending provided that you discarded a ♣ from hand on the ♠Q.

The defenders cannot defeat 4♥ after the opening lead provided that you play carefully. It takes a ♥ lead or the unlikely ♦K and a ♥ switch to do it.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 4♥=, 4♠*(N)-1, 5♥-2 twice, 4♥-2 and 4♥-1.
Dave’s 2nd Column


Here is Dave’s 2nd problem, on defence.
North
South



Book Bidding
♠ 5

♠ A632


West

North
East

South
♥ AKJ10
♥ 3
-


-

-

1♣
♦ J1098432
♦ Q7
pass
1♦

pass

1♠
♣ A
♣ KQJ1095
 
 
pass
2♥
pass

3♣
pass
3NT

all pass

You are North, declarer in 3NT. East leads the ♠Q.  Plan the play.

Dave’s 2nd Column Answer


Board 11 from Wednesday 1st September 
Dealer:
♠ 5



Book Bidding
South
♥ AKJ10

West

North
East

South
Love all 
♦ J1098432

-


-

-

1♣

♣ A


pass

1♦

pass

1♠


pass

2♥

pass

3♣
♠ K984
N
♠ QJ107

pass

3NT

all pass
♥ 98642
W
E
♥ Q75
 
♦ A5
S
♦ K6
North might have rebid his 7-card ♦ suit, but who
♣ 87


♣ 6432
wants to play in a near laydown 5♦ (unless they

♠ A632

 
start with the ♦AK and switch to a ♠) when you 

♥ 3


can suffer in 3NT?
 
♦ Q7




♣ KQJ1095

East leads the ♠Q; start suffering. What is your plan?
The solution. Duck the opening lead, and unless East is playing with mirrors he will continue with another ♠. You will then show some real class. You play the ♠A and discard the ♣A. You will then wait for the applause. Even if none is forthcoming, cash six ♣’s, at least two ♥’s and the ♠A for nine tricks. You also have a hand to write home about.
And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 6♦-1, 5♦=, 3NT=, 4♦+1, 3NT-1 and 2♥-1. Well done Janne, there’s no doubt at all that he has ‘real class’ (Eddie Kantar’s words) – bidding 3NT and playing as above. I have a postage stamp for Janne.
Stopping low when partner’s 1NT is overcalled

Board 4 from Friday 27th August
Dealer:
♠ 8653



Table A
West 
♥ 4

West(D)
North
East

South
both vul 
♦ AJ6

pass

pass

1NT

2♥

♣ QJ753


3♦
(1)
pass

3NT

all pass
♠ Q9
N
♠ AKJ74

Lebensohl Auction 
♥ 93
W
E
♥ A108

West(D)
North
East

South
♦ 1097432
S
♦ Q8
 
pass

pass

1NT

2♥
♣ A104


♣ K98

 
2NT
(1)
pass

3♣

pass

♠ 102

 

3♦
(2)
all pass
♥ KQJ7652




 
♦ K5





 

♣ 62
Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this West hand D(b) in this week’s quiz? West can be fairly sure that 3♦ is making but unfortunately 3♦ here is generally played as forcing.

Lebensohl
(1)
This is the answer to question D(b) – the Lebensohl 2NT. It demands that 
Auction:

partner bids 3♣ …

(2) … and then a subsequent 3♦ bid is to play.





And what happened? 3NT went -1 for the only E-W negative score, other results were 3♥*(S)-3, 4♦(W)+1 and 3♥(S)-1.
The botton lines:-

-
The Lebensohl convention is very under-rated. It is a great convention that, including over things, caters for most hands where partner’s 1NT opening is overcalled.
The re-opening double



Board 2 from Friday 20th August
Dealer:
♠ 10962



Table A
East
♥ KQ10732

West(E)
North
East(F)
South
N-S vul 
♦ K

1♠

2♥

pass

pass

♣ AJ


dbl
(1)
pass

2♠
(2)
all pass
♠ AKQJ4
N
♠ 83

Table B 
♥ AJ
W
E
♥ 954

West(E)
North
East(F)
South
♦ J97
S
♦ 10653
 
1♠

2♥

pass

pass
♣ 962


♣ K754

 
dbl
(1)
pass

3♣
(2)
dbl

♠ 75

 

pass

pass

3♦

dbl
♥ 86




all pass 
♦ AQ842





 

♣ Q1083
Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this West hand E in this week’s quiz? To me this re-opening double is automatic, but I believe that the Paul Q/Janne would not re-open with a double. I don’t know if they would pass or bid 2♠ but I think that both of these are poor options.
(2)
What did you bid with this East hand E in this week’s quiz? This 2♠ seems obvious to me.

Table B:
(2)
But this East is a founder member of the PaulQ/Janne philosophy for re-opening doubles, where partner’s double is ‘take-out’ and so I guess this 3♣ is the bid?
And what happened? 2♠-2, 2♠-1 twice and 3♦*-4
The botton lines:-

-
It is up to your partnership when you re-open with a double. There are detailed discussions of this topic, with differing views, in news-sheets 402 and 404. 


· In my opinion the re-opening double at (1) is clear – if you pass then on this deal 2♥ is making for a great score to N-S. 

· Given my style (and I believe the majority style) for re-opening doubles East should surely play at the two level in the known 5-2 ♠ fit rather than fishing at the three level.
Paul Q’s Column
Mandatory False Cards – part 2
In news-sheet 400 we looked at a couple of defensive mandatory false cards giving declarer a losing option. But two can play at that game.

Dealer:
♠ xxx



Bidding
North
♥ xx

West

North
East

South

♦ KQ

-


pass

pass

1NT

♣ Q109xxx


pass

3♣
(1)
pass

3NT
all pass
♠ KQx
N
♠ A10xxx


♥ K10xx
W
E
♥ Jxx
(1)
invitational, requesting that partner pass 
♦ xxxx
S
♦ Jxx

or bid 3NT
 

♣ Kx


♣ xx


♠ Jx



♥ AQxx

 
♦ Axxx



 


♣ AJx




I first saw the above play ascribed to Italian blue Team star Giorgio Belladonna who was playing in a team event more than 50 years ago. First, the auction: North’s 3♣ was aggressive, but at teams you must bid close games! I prefer to have two of the top three honours in the suit but little outside.

The Play: The opening lead of a low ♥ by West went to East’s ♥J and Belladonna’s ACE! Upon surveying dummy he could see that the fate of the contracthinged on the ♣ finesse with ♣’s no worse that 3-1. And if the finesse lost West could easily see that after a ♦ to dummy the ♣ finesse losing then the best place to attack would be ♠’s. Belladonna traded a possible overtrick to introduce an element of doubt: Had West’s partner begun with ♥QJxxx or the ♠A? Eventually he cashed the ♥K and continued with the ♥10 to Belladonna’s ♥Q and 10 tricks rolled in. The contract was the same at the other table, but South woodenly won the first trick with the ♥Q before crossing in ♦’s and finessing ♣’s. West could now clearly see that the only defense was to attack ♠’s and the contract went -2.

Is this applicable to matchpoints where you have 11 tricks by winning with the ♥Q and hoping that the ♣ finesse works? I think it is if you would like to record +630 against a strike of -200’s. West may be convinced that the hands lay like this:

♠ xxx


This is also a strong argument for the “Smith Echo”
♥ xx
on defense against NoTrump contracts. In that 
♦ KQ
case East would play the ♦J on the ♦ lead to 

♣ Q109xxx

dummy (partner I loved your lead) and small


otherwise. Belladonna’s charade would likely have
♠ KQx
N
♠ Jxx
been exposed and West would probably play the

♥ K10xx
W
E
♥ QJxxx
♠K to test the waters there.
♦ xxxx
S
♦ Jxx
♣ Kx


♣ xx


♠ Axxx



♥ Ax

 
♦ Axxx



 


♣ AJx
The mandatory false card has no guarantee of success, but it offers an opponent a losing option. Here is another example:

Dealer:
♠ Kx



Bidding
North
♥ KQJ10xx

West

North
East

South
N-S vul
♦ KQ10xx

4♠


4NT
(1)
pass

5NT
(2)

♣ -


pass

6♦
(3)
pass

6♥
(4)
all pass
♠ AJ10xxxxx
N
♠ x


♥ x

W
E
♥ x
 
♦ x
S
♦ xxxx

 

♣ Jxx


♣ AKxxxxx


♠ Q2



♥ Axxxx

 
♦ AJx



 


♣ Qxx
(1)
2-suited take-out.

(2)
please bid your lowest minor.

(3)
♦’s and ♥’s.

(4)
If North had bid 6♣, South would bid 6♦, to play when North has both minors. With ♣’s and ♥’s he corrects to 6♥.

South is a bit disappointed at the aceless dummy, but fights on. The immediate problem is the impending ♠ ruff. North’s 4NT bid was ambitious but not unreasonable.

The Play: West leads the ♠A and South drops the ♠Q! Now, is South ♠Q ♥Axxxxx ♦x ♣Axxxx  in pattern? Or is the hand more as shown? Can West be sure? The mandatory false card creates a losing option.
<end of Paul’s column>

Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
3♣ or 5♣. This is up to you and also perhaps partnership style. If you open 5♣ then this has the maximum pre-emptive effect but it rules out 3NT your way. If you open 3♣ then that may let the opponents in. So I think either is reasonable but the one bid I would not make is 4♣. That is not just because I play it as Namyats but if you decide to go past 3NT then I would like to pre-empt to the maximum with 5♣. 
Hand B:
(a)
2♥. It’s minimum, but with solid intermediates in the ♥ suit I would open. It’s 14 for the rule of 14/15 for pre-empts and so acceptable in our club.
(b)
pass. Being minimum is most certainly not an excuse to bid again.

Hand C:
pass. This one is very close and I guess that most believe that the hand is maximum and will accept with 3NT. But if you knock off a point for the terrible 4333 shape it’s a very marginal 3NT bid. 
Hand D:
(a)
2♠, this is probably the most popular method of signing off in three of a minor. Partner is forced to bid 3♣ and you then bid 3♦.

(b)
2NT, Lebensohl. You want to play in 3♦ but a direct 3♦ bid here is generally played as forcing.
Hand E:
double, seems automatic to me. I don’t know what Janne and Paul Q will bid. Now I can see the argument that partner is unlikely to have a penalty hand when you hold the ♥AJ, but he may have. And if he does not then either 2♠ or a 3♣/♦ bid with a 5-card or longer suit and not two ♠’s will probably be OK.
Hand F:
2♠, that’s if partner will ‘usually’ re-open with a double. If your partnership belongs to the ‘take-out’ school for re-opening doubles, as advocated by Janne and Paul Q, then I guess 3♣?
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer
G
4♠
4NT
 

This 4NT overcall is best played as a strong two-suiter.
Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1894.9 Janne Roos 

1892.7 Hans Vikman 

1861.6 Paul Quodomine
1714.7 Johan Bratsberg
	670.4 Janne Roos 
662.4 Hans Vikman 
640.1 Paul Quodomine 

628.3 Sally Watson
627.0 Derek & Gerard
626.8 Tomas Wikman

619.8 Lars Broman
615.9 Jean Wissing

610.7 Johan Bratsburg
609.5 Paul Scully

	344.6 Janne Roos 

338.9 Hans Vikman
329.6 Tomas Wikman
327.5 Derek & Gerard 

325.4 Sally Watson
323.4 Paul Quodomine 
322.9 Lars Broman

320.3 Jean Wissing 

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

316.0 Sigurd Zahl
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