Our website is www.pattayabridge.com Club News Sheet No. 457

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com

My mobile phone number is 083 6066880 21st Aug 2011

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My Windows Live Messenger is tj_quested@hotmail.com

 

Mon 15th        1st  Bob S & Niels                  67%       2nd     Bob P & Robbie                   65%
Wed 17th        1st  Dino & Dave                    62%       2nd     Paul Q & Hans                     61%
Fri 19th           1st  Lard F & Kris                   64%       2nd     Hallgeir & Bjorn-Arne         58%

Bidding Quiz          Standard American (short ♣) bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A           Hand B           With Hand A partner opens 1♣ and RHO doubles,
                                                what do you do?  
♠ 743               ♠ K973
♥ 84                 ♥ A64            (a)  What do you open with Hand B in 1st or 2nd seat?
♦ 10984           ♦ Q106            (b)  What do you open with Hand B in 3rd seat?
♣ AQJ5           ♣ K74            (c)  What do you open with Hand B in 4th seat?


Hand C           Hand D           With Hand C partner opens 1♠ and you bid 2♦. Partner rebids
                                                2♥, what do you do?
♠ 73                 ♠ A9
♥ Q                  ♥ Q103           With Hand D it’s both vul and partner opens 2♠/3♠ in 2nd seat
♦ AQJ92          ♦ K1084          (a)  What do you bid if partner opened 3♠?
♣ J9874           ♣ AKQ6         (b)  What do you bid if partner opened 2♠?        


Bidding Sequence Quiz            
                 
E      1♣    dbl     1♦      1♥              
         1♠     pass   3♦                         is 3♦ forcing?
F       1♠     dbl     2♥                        is 2♥ forcing?
G      1♠     1NT   2♥                        is 2♥ forcing?

 

 

 

Current club championship standings

 

Gold Cup = Best 30

Silver Plate = Best 10

Bronze Medal = Best 5

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

1799.7 Hans Vikman
1798.8 Janne Roos
1779.8 Bob Short
1725.0 Tomas Wikman
1716.6 Bob Pelletier

642.1 Hans Vikman
639.8 Per Andersson
640.2 Paul Quodomine
635.7 Bob Short
627.6 Janne Roos
624.0 Lars Broman
619.4 Paul Scully
617.9 Gerard Hardy
616.8 Derek Tyms
615.8 Terje Lie

332.2 Per Andersson
331.2 Bob Short
327.7 Hans Vikman
325.3 Paul Scully
321.9= Gerard Hardy
321.9= Derek Tyms
321.7 Lars Broman
319.7 Niels Steino
319.5 Dave Hurst
319.1 Paul Quodomine

 

Stay low with mis-fits                                          Board 17 from Friday 19th

Dealer:             ♠ AQ1094                                     Table A
North               ♥ K1064                                        West          North         East           South(C)
Love all           ♦ 85                                               -                 1♠              pass           2♦
                        ♣ K2                                             pass           2♥              pass           3♣    (1)
                                                                              pass           3NT           all pass
♠ 865                     N             ♠ KJ2                     
♥ AJ95              W    E          ♥ 8732                     Table B
♦ K103                  S              ♦ 764                       West          North         East           South(C)
♣ Q103                                  ♣ A65                     -                 1♠              pass           2♦
                        ♠ 73                                               pass           2♥              pass           2♠     (1)
                        ♥ Q                                                all pass
                        ♦ AQJ92                                       
                        ♣ J9874                                        

Table A:    (1)  What did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? I have no idea if this South
                        meant the bid as 4th suit forcing or natural, but either way I don’t like it.
Table B:     (1)  This is what the majority chose in answer to question C and I totally agree. It’s a misfit
                        and this South hand has nowhere near the values to force to game with 3♣. 2NT is an
                        alternative I guess but I prefer to play in the 5-2 fit with a misfit.

      And what happened? 2♠ is a very reasonable spot and goes -1. 3NT is not a reasonable spot and
goes -3. At the club 2♠ made or made +1 and 3NT (bid twice) went just -1 and -2 because West did
not realize that he had to hold up the first time a ♦ was finessed.


      The bottom lines:

  1. Stay low on mis-fits and avoid NoTrumps.
  2. 10 points and a mis-fit is most certainly not enough to force to game opposite a minimal opener.

 

Play Quiz                                                              Board 4 from Friday 19th

You are playing in 5♠ with these cards. You play the ♠K and East plays the ♠J which you win with the ♠A.
You then play a ♠ from the South hand and West follows. Assuming that you can get no inferences from the bidding,
(a) do you play for the drop or do you play West for an initial ♠Qxx?
(b) Is it a close decision or not?

North               South
♠ K7653          ♠ A1098                                 
♥ 6                   ♥ 73              
♦ 106               ♦ AJ72                                    
♣ AK942        ♣ 1053              


Restricted Choice or 8-ever 9-never?

  1. You should finesse.
  2. It is not a close decision – its 66% and all explained on the website

Links column > General Bridge Topics > Eight ever – nine never or restricted choice?

 

3NT or 4/ opposite a / pre-empt                Board 26 from Friday 19th

Dealer:             ♠ A9                                             
East                 ♥ Q103                                          West          North(D)   East           South
Both vul          ♦ K1084                                        -                 -                 pass           3♠     (1)
                        ♣ AKQ6                                       pass           3NT           all pass

♠ 75                       N             ♠ K3                       
♥ A8654            W    E          ♥ J9                        
♦ Q63                    S              ♦ A975                   
♣ J83                                     ♣ 107542               
                        ♠ QJ108642                                 
                        ♥ K72                                           
                        ♦ J2                                               
                        ♣ 9                                               

(1)  Some chose to open 2♠ and others 3♠ with this hand. My choice would be 3♠.
(2)  What did you bid with this North hand D(a) in this week’s quiz? It is usually best to play in partner’s
major when he has pre-empted and I would certainly bid 4♠. And my choice if partner had opened 2♠
would also be 4♠ rather than 3NT.

      And what happened? Just one pair reached 4♠, making for a clear top. The other four pairs all played
in the hopeless 3NT going one down (apart from one declarer who made it due to poor defence,
presumably covering the ♥Q with the ♥A).
      The bottom lines:

When partner pre-empts in a major and you have values for game, it is virtually always best to play in his suit rather than 3NT.

 

Dave’s Column

North               South                           Bidding
♠ KJ104          ♠ AQ9872                   West          North         East           South
♥ 7                   ♥ 965                           -                 1♣             pass           1♠
♦ A96              ♦ 872                           2♥              2♠              4♥              4♠
♣ A9852         ♣ 3                              pass           pass           dbl             all pass
                                                           
You are South, declarer in 4♠ doubled, with a great dummy. West leads the ♥K and switches to the ♦Q
won by Dummy’s ♦A. You can afford one round of trumps. Both follow, should you draw another round
of trumps and claim ten tricks or is there room to explore for an overtrick?
                                                                       
                                                                       


Dave’s Column Answer                     Board 13 from Wednesday 17th Aug
     
Dealer:             ♠ KJ104                                        Book Bidding
North               ♥ 7                                                 West          North         East           South
both vul           ♦ A96                                            -                 1♣             pass           1♠
                        ♣ A9852                                       2♥              2♠              4♥              4♠
                                                                              pass           pass           dbl             all pass
♠ 6                         N             ♠ 53                        
♥ KQJ1042       W    E          ♥ A83               
♦ QJ5                     S              ♦ K1043                 
♣ Q76                                   ♣ KJ104            West leads the ♥K and switches to the ♦Q won by
                        ♠ AQ9872                               Dummy’s ♦A. Declarer can afford one round of
                        ♥ 965                                       trumps. Both follow, should Declarer draw
                        ♦ 872                                       another round and claim ten tricks or is there
                        ♣ 3                                         room to explore for an overtrick?

 

Dealer:             ♠ K                                          Declarer can easily make 4♠ doubled, but there is
North               ♥ -                                           an excellent chance for an overtrick if he goes about
both vul           ♦ 96                                         it in the right way. South continues with a round
                        ♣ 9                                          of trumps and then a ♣ to the ♣A at trick four,
                                                                        ruffs a ♣ and leads a trump to dummy. Then a ♣
♠ -                          N             ♠ -                      ruff, a ♥ ruff and a ♣ ruff follow. That leaves this   
♥ QJ                  W    E          ♥ A                    position. As the ♣’s divide 4-3 there is a good ♣ in
♦ J5                        S              ♦ K104              dummy for a ♦ discard and it is reached by ruffing
♣ -                                         ♣ -                     the last ♥.
                        ♠ Q                                         
                        ♥ 9                                          
                        ♦ 87                                        
                        ♣-                                          

 

Dave’s 2nd Column

Dealer:             ♠ 109654                                       Book bidding             
South               ♥ 64                                               West          North         East           South
N-S vul            ♦ J10764                                        -                 -                 -                 pass
                        ♣ 3                                                1♣   (1)      pass           3♣   (1)      3♦    
                                                                              4♣             5♦              pass           pass
                                                                              6♣             ?      (2)

  1. artificial and strong in their system

What should you bid with this North hand at (2)?


Dave’s 2nd Column Answer           Board 15 from Wednesday 17th Aug  
     
Dealer:             ♠ 109654                                       Book bidding             
South               ♥ 64                                               West          North         East           South
N-S vul            ♦ J10764                                        -                 -                 -                 pass
                        ♣ 3                                                1♣   (1)      pass           3♣   (1)      3♦    
                                                                              4♣             5♦              pass           pass
♠ KJ                      N             ♠ AQ3                     6♣             ?      (2)
♥ 987                 W    E          ♥ QJ1032         
♦ AK                     S              ♦ -                     
♣ KQJ985                             ♣ A10764         (1)  artificial and strong in their system
                        ♠ 872                                       (2)  what should South bid now?       
                        ♥ AK5                    
                        ♦ Q98532               
                        ♣ 2                                         
                                                                       
In the final of the 2003 Bermuda Bowl, the USA E-W bid to 6♣ by East after South had opened 1♦
(because of the vulnerability). South doubled and North led a ♠ but West could not avoid two ♥ losers
and was one down for 200 to Italy.
At the other table after the bidding shown, the USA North bid 6♦over 6♣. East doubled and Italy
collected +1100 and +16 IMPs . North should pass 6♣ in answer to question (2) above. He has said
it all with 5♦ and should now leave the decision to partner. South would almost certainly double
(a Lightner Double, asking for an unusual lead, so in this auction not a ♥). A ♠ lead would lead to the
same +200 and a ♥ lead would lead to +500.


The bottom line:

  1. Do not bid again having pre-empted, your 5♦ pre-emptive raise has done its work.
    Looks like even some of the experts do not understand this?

 


Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A:   2♣. I guess that 1♦ or 1NT are alternatives? But the one bid that is certainly ridiculous is redouble.
                  That bid generally shows a misfit for partner. I was not going to put this in the quiz as it’s so basic;
                  but apparently two non-beginners found the redouble with this North hand 15 from Wednesday 10th.
Hand B:    (a)  Pass. This 4333 hand, with nothing special in intermediates, is not worth an opening. The rule of 20
                  applies in 1st and 2nd seat and this hand is only 19 with no redeeming features. Those who opened this
                  South hand 14 from Wednesday regretted it, with pass-out getting a good score twice.
                  (b)  1♣. Anything goes in 3rd seat.
                  (c)  1♣. In 4th seat the rule of 15 is a good guide for marginal openers; where the ♠ suit is all important
                  in competitive auctions. Add the length of the ♠ suit to the HCPs and if it’s 15 or more then open.
                  This hand is 16 for the rule and clearly worth an opening in 4th seat.
Hand C:   2♠, give preference. It’s a misfit opposite a possibly minimal hand and 3♣ is an over-bid. 2NT is possible
                  but I prefer to play in a 5-2 fit when it’s a misfit.
Hand D:   (a)  4♠. There may be no entry to dummy if you bid 3NT.
                  (b)  4♠. I believe that it’s exactly the same opposite a 2♠ opening. I Guess you could  try 2NT
                  (Ogust or feature ask) but I don’t think that either will really help.

 

Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers  
       
                 
E      1♣    dbl     1♦      1♥               3♦ is invitational. If you want to set up a forcing sequence,
         1♠     pass   3♦                         bid 2♥.
F       1♠     dbl     2♥                         2♥ is a weakish passable bid. With a good hand, redouble.
G      1♠     1NT   2♥                         2♥ is a weakish passable bid. With a good hand, double.