Conventional Doubles





9th July 2006
Here are some examples of some of the most common types of conventional doubles: -
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This double by North is TAKE-OUT, and asks 

1(
dbl



South to pick one of the other three suits.
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This double by South is RESPONSIVE, and asks 

1(
dbl
 2(
dbl

North to pick the suit. By inference showing equal length in 

the majors in this case.
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This double by South is a COMPETITIVE 
1(
1(
2(
dbl

DOUBLE and asks partner to choose between the 




other two suits.
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This double by East is a COOPERATIVE 
1(
1(
2(
2(

DOUBLE and gives partner the choice of passing 

pass
pass
dbl
for penalties or bidding on. Since East has limited values, it cannot be strictly penalties.
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This double by West is a MAXIMAL OVERCALL
1(
2♥
2(
3(

DOUBLE and is simply a game try. There is no room
dbl




left for any other game try, 3( would just be competitive.
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This double by East is penalties without agreement to the

1NT
2(
dbl
contrary. But it is quite sensible to play this as Stayman, especially if the 2( bid is not natural.
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This double by East is penalties. You can only apply the 

1NT
2♥
dbl
‘stolen bid’ philosophy to a 2( (maybe 2() overcall. A double of any higher overcall of partner’s 1NT opening 
(or overcall) should be for penalties.
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This double by East is penalties. It cannot be Stayman 

1NT
pass
pass
2(

as he could have bid 2( first go and it cannot be for take
pass
pass
dbl


out as he would have bid Garbage Stayman last go.

Negative Doubles
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This double by East is NEGATIVE, in theory it shows the
1(
1(
dbl

other 2 suits. In practice, it generally promises 4 cards in the unbid major and may not have the other minor. 

See news-sheets 9 & 10.
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If East fails to bid or double the overcall and South passes,
1(
1(
pass
pass
then West should normally re-open with a double
dbl
pass
 
?

so that East can pass for penalties. I call, this an 
AUTOMATIC RE-OPENING DOUBLE. If East cannot make a penalty pass now, any other bid by him is weak. 

The only exceptions when opener is allowed another bid but the automatic double are: - 

(1)
when opener has a very shapely/weak opener and cannot stand to defend the doubled contract, in which case he either rebids his suit or bids another suit. 

(2)
when opener has a very shapely very strong hand (a near 2( opener). A jump rebid.

(3)
a weak hand with 3 or 4 of the overcaller’s suit. With length in overcaller’s suit it is less likely that partner has a penalty pass and some partnerships allow opener to pass under these circumstances.
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This double by East is penalties. Presumably he was happy

1(
1(
pass
2(
to have passed a re-opening double by West (playing Negative 

pass
pass

dbl
Doubles). This is just an extra 2 or 3 hundred. It is a notable exception to the rule about opponents bidding and agreeing a 

suit. Negative doubles really are fun. Incidentally, I had this exact sequence a few years ago playing with an excellent Australian partner. She bid 3( over my double, claiming that my double was for take-out. Absolute nonsense, if I had a hand that could bid for take out over 2( 
I certainly would not have passed over 1( (a Negative Double?). Bridge is quite often simply a matter of logic.

The negative double is ONLY in the situation where opener’s bid is overcalled directly; a double by responder is then the Negative Double. But there is an example of a situation where you could play something similar to a Negative Double: -
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This double by West is traditionally penalties. But a very

1(
pass
1(
1(
sensible treatment is to play that it is similar to a Negative  

dbl


Double and shows 4 (’s. If you go along with this, then be sure that you know about Action Doubles by responder.
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But with no unbid major I would play this double by opener as 

1(
pass
1♠
2♥
penalties unless you play support doubles: -

dbl




Support Doubles

 W
 N
 E
 S
This double by West is a SUPPORT DOUBLE if you have 
1(
pass
1(
2(
agreed to play them and shows 3 card support for partner. With 
dbl



no such agreement the double is for penalties
In general, a support double only applies when you could have raised partner to the two 





level. However, if partner has promised a 5 card suit, 

W
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 E
 S
then you can still (by agreement) play a support double;

1(
1(
2(
2(
thus distinguishing between 3 and 4 card support.

dbl



This is a support double, showing 3 card ( support.

If responder bids a minor suit at the two level, there is little point in playing a Support Double because 

(a) responder does not guarantee a five card suit and

(b) who’s interested in minor suit fits?
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This double by East is an ACTION DOUBLE. It says that

1(
pass
1(
2(
E-W have the majority of the points but that East has no

pass
pass
dbl


clear bid. In fact, if playing Support Doubles it is very 





important to usually make this Action Double in case opener

is sitting with a stack over South but could not penalise him  because that would have been a Support Double.
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This is an interesting one. (’s are unbid and so you could

1(
pass
1(
2(
play this as similar to a Negative Double to show 4 ♥’s. But 

dbl




partner has ‘denied’ 4 ♥’s and so the Support Double applies.
Support Doubles and Action Doubles are more deeply covered in a separate leaflet.





___________________
Silly(?) doubles: -
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This double by South is for penalties. In reality it is 

1(
1(
2(
4(
unlikely that South can set 5(. It is, in fact, a 

4NT
pass
5(
dbl
STRIPED-TAIL APE DOUBLE. The theory is that if you  feel the opponents have a sure slam, they may settle for 
a doubled game that scores less even with an overtrick. If you hear a re-double, you run like a striped–tail ape to 5( and opponents may double you there instead of bidding their certain slam (again good for you). Am I serious or not? Double Dutch? The Striped-tail Ape Double is, of course, tantamount to a psyche. Indeed, I would say it is a controlled psyche and illegal; certainly  so in the Pattaya Bridge Club.
The Snapdragon Double

After an unfortunate (for us) incident when my partner




forgot about Support Doubles, he muttered something about a SNAPDRAGON DOUBLE. Now I realise that you don’t really want to know what this, but just for the record it a double by the non-opening side in some competitive situations (it shows five cards in the unbid suit and 3 card support for overcaller). Can’t see much use for it myself.





___________________
Double for take-out or penalties?
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One member asked me a to indicate which doubles are for 

1(
1NT
2(
pass
penalties and which are for take-out (he was upset when his 

pass
dbl


partner converted his take-out double into a penalty by 

passing). He is of the opinion that virtually any low-level 
double is for take-out. I believe that I wrote a fair summary in new-sheet 17 and it is now expanded in the Double! section on the web. The culprit intended this doubles as take-out. It is not. It is penalties. It is impossible to have a take-out double if you have bid a natural NT. And the moral here? I guess that if you specifically ask me to write up something in the news sheets – then read it?
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And this one is from the club in 2006. This double is  

1NT
pass
pass
2(
penalties – opener is max with an excellent 4 or 5 card 

dbl


( suit.
A double of opponents after they have found a fit is usually for take out.

A double of any bid after anyone at the table has bid no trumps naturally is usually for penalties.

 W
 N
 E
 S
This is a notable exception, the double is for take out of (’s.

1(
pass
1NT
dbl
But be wary, you need a good hand as partner has passed, East has shown values and West is unlimited.
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And the double of a transfer bid (or 2( Stayman) shows  

1NT
pass
2( 
dbl
a good holding in the cipher suit, suggesting that lead should opener end up as declarer.
For a more detailed guide as to when a double is penalties or not, refer to the Double! leaflet or web page.
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