The Rule of 11

This rule enables a defender to determines declarer’s high card holding when partner has led 4* best and
dummy comes into view: -

a K1074 South is declarer n 3NT and leads the a 6. Declarer plays low,
v 654 which card do you play?
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If partner leads 4™ highest then the rule of 11 applies. You subtract the pips of partner’s card from 11
and the number left is the number of cards that are out higher than partner’s card. Since you can see Your
cards and dummy’s you can calculate the number of higher cards that declarer has.

So in this case with the 6 led that leaves 5 higher cards out. You have 2 of them and dummy has 3.
Therefore declarer has none and you can play the deuce.

Partner has led the &6 from & AJ86. The two unknown a’s are the #5 and a 3 which either partner or
declarer may hold.
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