
         Club News Sheet – No. 40 1/8/2003            

Last week’s winners:    Monday 28/7/03      Friday  1/8/03

1st Chuck/Terry 68% only 7 players, so no results.
2nd Tobjorn/Gunn 62%

A New Format

In my eternal quest to make the news-sheet more interesting, I am trying something new. On this first
page you are given a number of bidding questions, all the hands are from recent weeks at the club. See how
you do.

Bidding Quiz Solutions appear throughout this news-sheet. 

Hand A Hand B You are playing a strong NT for these two.
With Hand A, partner opens 1, what do you reply? And

 AQ8  A10 what if you had passed initially, does that change your bid?
 985  AJ8753
 J3  A93 With Hand B, you open 1 and partner responds 1.
 QJ542  K7 So, 16 points and a 6 card suit, what is your rebid?

Hand C Hand D Hand C was held by an Acol player. So, playing 4 card 
majors and a weak NT, what do you open with Hand C?

 AQ  A104
 AQ98  10632 With Hand D partner opens 1. What do you bid?
 75  K If you choose 2, partner rebids 2. What is your 2nd bid?
 Q10952  AQJ43

You are playing a strong NT.With Hand E, partner passes
Hand E Hand F as dealer. You open 1 and partner responds 2. What is 

your bid?
 K5  J
 A742  K875 With Hand F you open 1 and partner responds 2
 KQ74  AQJ973 (promising 8+ pts – you are playing Acol). What is  
 876  K6 your rebid? 

What would your rebid be if partner had responded 1?

Hand G Hand H You are again playing a strong NT.
With Hand G, partner opens 1, you bid 1 and partner 

 KJ32  J8652 rebids 1NT (12-14). You try Blackwood/Gerber and partner
 A4  103 has 1 ace. What do you bid. Do you have enough for 6NT?
 J1064  K103
 AKQ  A52 With Hand H partner opens 1NT (15-17). You transfer and 

partner obediently bids 2. What now?



The Power of a Fit Board 19 from Monday 21st  

North (G) South North (Joe)     South (Bob)

 KJ32  A6 - 1
 A4  K1095 1 1NT (1)
 J1064  KQ972 2 (2) 2NT (3)
 AKQ  J8 4NT (4) 5

6 pass

(1) 12-14
(2) 2 is a new suit by responder and is forcing. Some players play this as Checkback/NMF but I believe

that Joe/Bob play it as natural. Sometimes it is OK to bid a three card minor and there is no better bid
here. 2, of course, would be weak and 3 is only invitational.

(3) Bob had choices here. If you play the 2 bid as natural then there is little point in bidding 2 (2
would not be a reverse as he has already limited his hand). Anyway, with good cover in the suits that
Joe had not bid, 2NT is fine. With 3 card  support, South would have bid 2 of course.

(4) I prefer to play 4 as asking for aces here (after partner’s last natural bid was NT). 
I believe that Joe/Bob had agreed to play 4NT Blackwood if ’s had been bid naturally. Either is fine
as long as you agree it with your partner.

Well done Joe/Bob. This board was played 4 times, and only they found the excellent 6 contract.
Others were in 6NT (one pair in 3NT) and justice was served when Q was offside so 6NT was -1. The
only injustice was that Chuck and I got a bottom (Joe/Bob bid this against us). 6NT depends upon the 
finesse, 6 is a doddle and depends upon nothing. These hands have 31 combined points, that is not
enough for slam unless you have a fit or a long suit to run. Of course, when you have a fit, you have to play
in it!

I have said repeatedly not to look for minor suit games, 3NT is usually better. I have also said that with
fits (4-4 or 5-4) in a major, bid the major suit game rather than 3NT. However, I have not yet said much
about slams. The principle of the 4-4 or better fit is also relevant for slam contracts, it will often give an
extra trick (as in this case). Minor suit 4-4 fits are fine for slam, do not bid 6NT just because you have no
major suit fit – if there is a minor suit fit, then bid the slam in the minor unless you have oodles (33+) of
points. A combined 31 points is not usually enough for 6NT without a long suit, it is enough for slam if there
is a fit.

But how does North know that South has 4(+) ’s? Playing a short  a 1 opening is always 4+.
Playing Better Minor an initial 1 opening may be 3 card. However, South’s bidding has denied 3 card 
support, so with just 2 ’s he must have 4 or 5 ’s.
Note that this is still an excellent slam even if South has only 4 ’s. e.g. replace 2 with the 2 and 6 is
still cold. Then, of course, 6NT would fail even is Q was onside.



A Two level response?     Board 1 from Monday 21st. Love all, South opens in 3rd seat.

North (A) South (E) North South

 AQ8  K5 pass 1
 985  A742 2 2NT
 J3  KQ74 pass
 QJ542  876

This really is a poor contract, 1NT is far safer. What went wrong? A two level response after passing
shows about 10-11 points and a 5 or 6 card suit. It is not an invitation for partner to bid on with a
miserable 12 count. South should pass, there is a known 5-3 or better fit. Mind you, I would not bid 2
with Hand A (but 1NT) as I would prefer a better suit to suggest a final 2 contract.

Chuck’s Comment: - ‘Why 10-11 points for a two level response? Pard does not have 15 (he
would have opened 1NT), so bid 1NT with 10 pts. If pard has a better than min hand then he will
give you another chance to bid. 2 by a passed hand shows 11-12 points.’

So there you have it. I don’t like the 2 bid here, Chuck rules it out completely.

Now consider the case where North is not a passed hand, say South dealt and again opens 1, what
should North bid now? 2 would be forcing and this hand is not good enough to cope with a probable
2NT response from partner.

Hand A Hand J Hand K    Let’s study this a little deeper. We are 
playing a strong NT and partner deals and

 AQ8  AQ8  AQ8 opens 1. What is our response with each
 985  J95  Q95 of these hands?
 J3  J2  J2
 QJ542  QJ1042  KJ1042

We have already discussed Hand A. It should bid 1NT. The reason is that if you bid 2 and partner
replies with the quite likely 2NT then you may well be too high.

And Hand J? Enough for an invitation? If partner had opened a weak NT (12-14), then you would
invite with 2NT. You are, however, playing a Strong NT. If you bid 2 and partner rebids 2NT (12-14)
then what? No room to invite. You have no idea whether to bid 3NT or pass. The wrong hand is making
the decision and you will get it wrong 50% of the time. So, the hand with the point spread has to make the
decision. Easy. The correct bid with this hand is 2NT showing a balanced 11 points. If opener has the
12-14 type hand then he knows whether to bid game or not. Chuck agrees, bid 2NT.

And Hand K? Here you will not be embarrassed by a 2NT rebid from partner. Respond 2 as you
can then safely bid 3NT over a 2NT rebid. Chuck recommends 3NT with hand K. I can’t really see why,
but a minor disagreement.

If you play a weak NT, then obviously a no-brainer. Bid 2 with all 3 hands.



Summary:  (when playing a strong NT)
If you had passed initially

After a 1 opening from partner: - and partner opens 1: -

Hand A : - 1NT Hand A : - 1NT (or 2?)
Hand J : - 2NT Hand J : - 2NT
Hand K : - 2 Hand K : - you would have opened

Inviting after a Transfer Board 1 from Monday 14th 

You do not always have to bid an excellent slam to get a clear top. Sometimes just having a good
understanding of hand evaluation (not just counting points) will also score a top.

East1 (H) You hold this Hand H and partner opens a strong NT. Obviously you 
transfer with 2 and partner completes the transfer with 2. What now?

 J8652 Simple really, all the books say that with 8 points opposite a 1NT opener
 103 you should invite. So bid 2NT, invitational (8 points) and showing just a 5 
 K103 card  suit. That’s what happened at three of the four tables on Monday.
 A52 3NT was reached twice and 3 once. They all failed. So, no problem, you have followed

the ‘rules’ and it failed – it will be the same for everybody? 
But what happened at the fourth table? Well, that East simply passed 2. What! Does this East not know
about points? Does he not read any books? Doesn’t he read the news-sheets?

Actually he does – it was me! Just look at that trump suit, jack high with no intermediates. High cards
are good in long suits, not 3 card suits. With very poor trumps, no touching honours etc. etc. this hand is
not worth an invitational bid. And what happened? 2 made on the nose. 

By the way, if 4 is going to make opposite this hand then partner will usually need a good hand with 4
trumps. We play super accepts and partner’s simple acceptance of the transfer denied 4 trumps.

The Jump Rebid Board 2 from Monday, dealer East

East (B) West East Hand B from the front page. Did you jump to 3?
If you did then you have plenty of company. The 

 A10 - 1 board was played 5 times on Monday and only
 AJ8753 1 2 Chuck/myself rested in 2. Other contracts of 3,
 A93 pass 4 and 3NT stood no chance.
 K7

A jump to 3 here is not forcing but is strongly invitational. It shows a good 6+ card suit and about
16-18 points. East has a good hand, but the  suit is too moth-eaten to jump to the three level when
partner has promised no support. A quiet 2 is quite sufficient with this hand. If game is on, partner will
make another move.



Skip a 4 Card Major and bid it later? West Hand 21 from Monday 21st 

Table 1 Table 2            Table 3

East (F) West (D) East West East West  East West

 J  A104 1 2 1 1  (1)  1 2
 K875  10632 2 3 4   (2) 6  (3)  2 2 (4)
 AQJ973  K pass pass  3   (5) 4    (6)
 K6  AQJ43  pass

Table 1: 3 made an overtrick, but 4 made +1 at other tables. What went wrong?
1 is the correct opening even if you play Acol. 2 by West is also correct. 

Should East bid 2 at his 2nd turn? No. That would be a reverse and this hand is not good enough, so 2
is fine. And West’s 3 bid? This is where it went wrong, West has values for game. 3 is not forcing and,
what’s more, it denies a 4 card major. A double sin. West should bid 2 (a new suit by responder, so
forcing) at his 2nd turn.

Table 2: This also went wrong when West bid on over 4. What was the problem here?
East’s jump to 4 at (2) shows a relatively balanced hand (no singleton), 

18-20 points and 4 ’s. It invites partner to look for slam. This hand is not good enough and it is not
balanced. Neither is it good enough for a game forcing 3 splinter, the trumps are too weak and the hand
is not strong enough. Be satisfied with a 3 bid over partner’s 1. Now what about that 1 bid at (1)?
As I said earlier, 2 is to be preferred. If you bid 1, what is your next bid if partner rebids 1NT or 2?
A  bid would show 5 ’s. If possible, try to bid out your shape; if West starts with 2 and then bids ’s
next go, that shows a game forcing hand with 5 ’s and 4 ’s – perfect. Having started out on the wrong
foot, what should West do at (3)? If partner indeed has about 19 points, then slam may well be there. I
suggest 5, which means ‘I have values for slam opposite your monster but I am worried about the quality
of the trump suit, bid 6 with good trumps’. 5 would have made because the A was onside with
North. So just two trump losers.

Table 3: They got it right. Perfect bidding. West correctly showed his good  suit first.
2 at (4) is a reverse after a two level response and is game forcing. 3 at (5) 

is stronger than 4 (fast arrival) and is encouraging. West wisely did not investigate slam at (6) because of
his poor trumps. Indeed, 4 could easily be the limit if the ’s lie badly.

Chuck’s Comment: - The only sensible auction was at table 3 and I agree with it 100%. At table 2
East’s 4 bid was an overbid and West’s bid of 6 is justified although the initial 1 response was
a poor bid. A minor and unimportant difference of opinion (about what West should bid over East’s 4 at
table 2). No problem, Chuck and I would both bid as Table 3.

Note. This concept of responder bidding the strong 5 card minor and then reversing into the 4 card major
was fully covered in news-sheet 23. It is standard practice.



Open a 4 Card Major? West Hand 19 from Monday 21st 

Hand C You are playing Acol (4 card majors, weak NT). What do you open?
A decent 4 card major, so open it 1? Many Acol players would, but what

 AQ is your rebid? Partner responded 1. If you now bid 2 then this promises
 AQ98 5 ’s. The holder knew that he now had a problem, and settled for 2, 
 75 with that resulting in a final contract of 4 minus two. So how do you bid 
 Q10952 this hand (playing Acol)? The answer is that although you play 4 card majors,

that does not mean that you must open a 4 card major just because you have
 one. Many people would open this hand 1, but you have the same problem after a 1 response from partner.
You do not have the values to reverse into 2, the hand is not strong enough for 2NT (15-16) and it really
would be sad to have to rebid that  suit. Easiest is to simply open 1NT. If you don’t like it, then read up on the
Crowhurst convention.

So when should you open a 4 card major when playing Acol? Personally, I rarely do. I will only open
a decent 4 card major and then only if my rebid is No Trump (so I have a balanced hand and 15+ points)
and I really only like to do it with a good 16+ (a hand where I will raise the ‘awkward’ 1NT response to
2NT).

Bidding Quiz answers

These have all been fully described earlier, but a summary is: -

Hand A: Respond 1NT to a 1 opening. 2 is a problem if partner rebids 2NT.
If you are a passed hand, then still respond 1NT. Although a response of 2 having passed is
not totally unreasonable, it should be a better suit.

Hand B: Rebid 2. The hand does not warrant a jump to 3.
Hand C: I prefer a weak 1NT opening. If you do not open 1NT with two doubletons, then open 1. You

have no rebid if you open 1.
Hand D: You should bid 2 at the first turn and then 2 if partner rebids 2. This

first 2 bid is not denying a 4 card major as you intent to bid it next go.
Hand E: You should pass partner’s 2 bid. You have a 5-3 or better  fit. You expect partner to have

5 good ’s or a 6 card  suit.
Hand F: Rebid 2 after a 2 response. The hand is not strong enough for a 2 reverse.

If partner’s initial response was 1, then rebid 3. The hand is not strong enough for a splinter
(3) nor good enough for a jump to 4.

Hand G: Bid 6. With a 4-4 (possibly 5-4) fit, the  slam has better chances than NT. You do not have
enough for 6NT.

Hand H: Pass! This  suit is too miserable to invite game.


