¢ Club News Sheet — No. 83 4/6/2004 v A
Monday 31/5/04 Friday 4/6/04
1*  Richard (UK)/Terry  60% 1+ Kenneth/Alex 64%
2" Jan/Kees 59% 2" = Richard(US)/Mike 58%
2" = Hans/Jan 58%
Bidding Quiz Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated.
Hand A Hand B What do you open with Hand A?
a 108 a AK7
v AKQS8632 w KJ10962 What do you open with Hand B?
.- ¢ AK93
% AJ9S & -
Hand C Hand D What do you open with Hand C?
a3 a AKS864
v AKIJ95 v K7 With Hand D partner opens 1NT. You transfer and partner
¢ AQJ432 ¢+ Q4 obediently bids 2a . What do you bid now?
®J * A974
Hand E Hand F With Hand E LHO opens 1 and this is passed round to you.
What do you do in 4" seat?
a Q1054 A J6
v Q73 vQ With Hand F LHO opens 1 and this is passed round to you.
¢ J72 ¢ 986 What do you do in 4" seat?
« Q64 % AQ109652
Hand G Hand H With Hand G you open 1 ¢ and partner responds 2. RHO
then bids 2, what do you do?
a KQ103 a QJ1095
v KQ4 v KQ32 With Hand H partner opens 1NT, (a) what do you bid.
¢ AJ985 ¢ J5 (b) suppose that you transfer with 2% and partner obediently
3 % 94 bids 2 &, what now?
Play Quiz
Dealer: a Q976
South v Q42 West North East South
N-S vul ¢ A9874 - - - pass
® 6 le pass INT all pass
a K1083 N This is the hand that caused all the controversy (see next page).
v AKS8 W E You are North and West is the dummy. Partner leads the Q
¢ KJ10 S which declarer (East) wins with the & A. Declarer then leads the
& 953 a J which you win with the & Q. What card do you return?



Another One Bites the Dust.

There was a bit of a rumpus on Friday 28" when John Gavens was very rude towards his partner
John Bourne, which resulted in John B walking out of the club. After the session I had a word with the
other players who were at the table and it become obvious that John G had behaved very badly. Now
this is not the first time that he has done this sort of thing and so, after studying the board in dispute, I
wrote a personal warning (reproduced below) to John G and gave it to him on Monday 31¢ . John read
it and said that he did not accept it and he also walked out. Fine. Anyway, here’s the note I wrote; it was
not intended for public consumption, but since John G has left us I feel that people may wish to know
why. Who knows, some may even suggest that [ was heavy handed? : -

Be Polite to Partner Board 15 from Friday 28"
Dealer: a Q976
South v Q42 West North East South
N-S wul ¢ A9874 - - - pass
® 6 le pass INT all pass
a K1083 N aJ5 I’m not sure, but I assume that this was the
v AKS8 W E v 965 bidding.
¢ KJI10 S ¢ 653
& 953 * AK874
a A42
1 v J1073
dummy ¢+ Q2
« QJ102

This is, as I understand it, what happened: - South led the &Q which East won. The aJ was then
led and this was won by North’s 4 Q.

A 976 North is now on lead with this holding, what should he lead? Obviously a a

v Q42 looks very unattractive, so it’s ¥ or a ¢. Which is the best bet?

¢ A9874 If declarer has the wJ then a w lead gives away a trick. But if declarer has the
& - ¢ Q then a & lead costs nothing. And if partner has the ¢ Q it still does not cost

as declarer will finesse it anyway (the % play with KJ10 in dummy is to finesse
the Q). So, I believe that North’s decision to lead a & is correct, but that really is not the issue. I believe
that you made remarks about this lead that were fotally out of order? And also against the rules. Now, as
you know, you have been associated with this sort of behaviour before (Thorlief and Dave) but I will not
accept any repeat. If you are rude to anybody in the club in future then you will be requested to leave.

Incidentally, do you agree with my analysis? Either way I believe that you owe John an apology.

So that is the note. John G disagreed with it and, just like with his partner’s & lead, he said ‘ I do
not accept it’. Up to him. I believe that my reaction to John G’s behaviour was the least I could do,
agreed?



A take out double? Board 9 from Monday 31+

Dealer: A 964
North v K62 West North East South
E-W wul ¢ 1052 - pass pass le (1)
& AJ98 pass INT dbl (2) pass
pass (3)  pass
a A1085 N a KJ32
v AI073 W E v 84
¢ 976 S ¢ KJ8
32 ® K765 (1) playing 4 card majors
a Q7
v QJ95
¢ AQ43
% Q104

This was not a success for E-W (it made), anything wrong? Yes. The double at (2) is a take-out
double of s and is not penalties (it also cannot be penalties as Fast is a passed hand). With a 4 card &
suit, West should bid 2a at (3).

And what happened? INT doubled made exactly for a top. At another table E-W made 2a +1.

A 4 level pre-empt? Board 3 from Monday 31+
Dealer: a AKQ762
South v 107 West (A)  North East South
E-W wul ¢+ Q1075 - - - pass
®2 4e (1) 44 pass pass
pass
a 108 N AS
v AKQ8632 W E v 94
.- S ¢ KJ842
® AJ95 % KQ743
A J943
vJ5
¢ A963
% 1086

44 went one down but was a clear top as E-W have 12 tricks in &’s or #’s. So what went wrong?
This West hand has about 8 - 9 tricks and if you believe the people (Hans) who say that this hand is
what you need for a pre-empt when vulnerable then please continue to do so, especially if you are
playing against me. This West hand is far too good for any kind of pre-empt, including 4w . It’s a strong
two if you play them, otherwise either 1w or 2&.

And what happened? Nobody bid the w slam; one was in 4% and two in 5¥. But one of these got
an easy top when North doubled 5w ! Did he really expect to make 2 or 3 a tricks against S5 ?? I’d be
happy to make just one.



5-4 (or 4-5) in the Majors opposite INT Board 3 from Fri4*, E-W wul.

Partner opens INT and youhave 5 a’sand 4 w’s (or4 a’s and 5 #’s) with game going values.
How do you bid it? Stayman or transfer?

Yes, I know, this is copied from last week’s news-sheet, when I said that either option is playable
(as long as that’s the option that you agree). But what do you do with just mnvitational values? I did not
explain that and unfortunately one player found a completely unsound 3 option at Table A on Friday.

West East (H) Table A Table B

a K43 a QJ1095 West East West East

v A9875 v KQ32 INT 2w INT 2%

¢ A102 ¢ J5 2a 3a (1) 2w 3v (2)
® A8 % 94 44 pass pass (3)

Now last week I explained about bidding 5-4’s in the majors when holding a game forcing hand
opposite partner’s opening 1NT. The first thing to consider s, is this East hand worth a game force? It’s
close, but with two excellent majors I would consider it a game forcing hand. My preferred method is to
bid Stayman and then raise a 2% or 2a response to game and jump to 3 a (forcing, showing 5 a’s and
4 w’s) over a 2 ¢ response.

Fine, but both of these East’s presumably considered the hand as only invitational. How does one bid
mvitational 5-4°s? That is not so easy!

Table A: At Table A East chose to transfer but I don’t know what he meant by his 3a bid?
3a at (1) shows a 6 card suit and is invitational. If you consider the East hand to be worth
game, then bid 3w, game forcing. If you consider it only worth an invitation then you have no
choice but to bid 2NT now; the # suit is then lost, that’s why it’s best to bid Stayman.

Table B:  They got off to the best start here. East bid correctly if he considers his hand as invitational.
West has a mmimum point count but with 3 aces, a 10, excellent ¥ intermediates and 5 card
v support, [ would accept the game invitation at (3).

And what happened? # contracts scored 11 tricks and 4a scored 10 tricks.

The bottom lines.
- Even with the use of transfers and Stayman there are not quite enough sequences to simply show
every responding major two-suiter hand type (5-5, 5-4 and 4-5) when weak, nvitational and strong.

- Some players incorporate the jumps to 3% and 34 but the best scheme is described in the NT
bidding book



Balance in 4" seat? — part 1 Board 18 from Friday 4*

Dealer: a 983 Table A
East v 85 West (B)  North East South (E)
N-S vul ¢ Q104 - - pass pass
& AK972 le (1) pass pass (2) dbl (3)
2e 4) pass pass (5) pass
a AK7 N A J62
v KJ10962 W E v A4 Table B
¢ AK93 S ¢ 865 West (B)  North East South
& - & J10853 - - pass pass
a Q1054 2% pass 2e pass
v Q73 2v pass 3 pass
¢ J72 3e pass 3NT (6) pass
* Q64 4v pass pass pass

4w is a comfortable contract (it should make +1), what happened at Table A?

Table A:

Table B:

What did you open with hand B in this week’s quiz? The hand has about 9 playing tricks and
is worth a 2& opener. Anyway, this West elected to open 1. Should East say something?
6 points and the ace of partner’s suit is surely worth a bid, I would bid 1NT. Anyway, the 1
v bid was passed round to South, do you make a noise? 7 points is enough to balance and a
4 card a suit makes it attractive. I guess that double is acceptable but, with nothing but
quacks, so is pass.

Anyway, this gave West another shot and I would be tempted to bid 4% at (4) (teach ‘ema
lesson), but then I would have opened 2&. Anyway, West bid just 2%, so should East say
anything this time? I would, South does not have much (he is a passed hand) and partner’s 2
v shows a non-minimum. North does not have much (he has passed twice). Where is all the
power? Somebody at the table is being very conservative and it can only be West.

They got this right, although I would prefer 4w at (6) with 66% of my points in partner’s 1*
suit (the other suits are far too weak to suggest NT).

The bottom lines. With 9 playing tricks, open a strong bid. If partner has opened and you have
passed (showing less than 6 points) then you are free to bid if you get a second chance (you have already
shown a poor hand).

Acol Bidding Quiz What would you open with these hands if playing Acol?
Hand 1 Hand 2 Hand 3 Hand 4 Hand 5 Hand 6
a Q7 a Q7 a Q7 a Q7 a QJ95 a QJ95
v QJ95 v QJ95 v QJ95 v AQJ9 v AJ9S v AJ9S
¢ AQ43 ¢ AQ43 ¢ AQ1043 ¢ AQ1043 ¢ 6 ¢ Q6
* Q104 « KQI10 * Q4 * Q4 * AQJ4 * AJ4

Answers at the end of this news-sheet.



Balance in 4" seat? — part 2 Board 16 from Friday 4*

Dealer: a AQ42 Table A
West v 10732 West (C)  North East South (F)
E-W wul ¢ K75 lv pass pass 34
« K4 3e pass 3w pass
4v pass pass pass
A3 N a K109875
v AKJ95 W E v 864 Table B
* AQJ432 S ¢ 10 West (C)  North East South
®J & 873 2 pass 2e pass
A J6 2¢ (1) pass 24 pass
vQ e pass 4e pass
+ 986 pass pass
% AQ109652

The Table A pairs were the same as in part 1, and it’s rock-crusher opener coupled with a dubious
bid in 4" seat yet again.

Table A:  What did you open with hand C in this week’s quiz? The hand has about 9 playing tricks and
is worth a 2& opener. Anyway, this West again elected to open 1w . This was again passed
round to South, do you make a noise? A better hand than last time but the ¥ Q is probably
useless. Pass is a real alternative (it perhaps depends upon the styles of partner and the E-W
players) but 2& is OK I guess. But one bid that is not fine is a ‘weak’ 3&. There is no such
thing as a weak jump overecall in 4" seat. 3& here is strong, showing a much better hand
(see news-sheet 81 for an example). Anyway, West got another chance and the easy game
was reached.

Table B:  This was very sensible bidding. It’s normally best to bid a 6 card suit before a 5 carder, but
the bidding would get uncomfortably high here.

The bottom lines.

There is no such thing as a weak bid in the pass-out seat. — News-sheet 81. Be wary of
balancing in 4" seat with weak & ’s.

If you have a hand that is so good that you would feel sick if an opening one level bid was passed out
— then don’t open with a one level bid!



A Non-NT rebid promises 5 of the 1* suit Board 19 from Monday 31¢, N-S vul

West East

West North East South
A 863 a QJ953 - - - pass
v A965 v K8 pass pass Ia (1) pass
+J3 ¢ AK764 INT(2) pass 2¢ (3) pass
® J975 K 2 (4) pass pass pass

Obviously a silly contract, where did the wheels come off? The pair were playing Acol and the first
two bids are obvious whatever system you play. 1NT is correct at (2) as it does not have enough for a
two level bid. Now 1a at (1) could have been a 4 card suit, but once the rebid at (3) is another suit then
this guarantees that the first bid suit was a five carder when playing Acol. And what should 2 at (4)
show? In any system it shows a weak hand with 6+ ¥ ’s. With a weak hand and less v ’s West should
should either pass or put opener back mto his 5 card a suit. Obviously 2a is correct here.

And what happened? 2 made scoring 110 but every other E-W pair were in a’s scoring 140.

Open a 4 card major when playing Acol?

As there are a number of Acol players in the club just now so I’ll just summarize when you open
4 card majors. You only open a 4 card major if your rebid is NT, thus when the hand has 15 or more
points. And, as I said above, if you rebid in a suit then that guarantees that the 1+ bid suit was a 5 carder.

Hand 1 Hand 2 Hand 3 Hand 4 Hand 5 Hand 6
a Q7 a Q7 a Q7 a Q7 a QJ95 a QJ95
v QJ95 v QJ95 v QJ95 v AQJ9 v AJ95 v AJ95
¢ AQ43 ¢ AQ43 ¢ AQ1043 ¢ AQ1043 *6 ¢ Q6
* Q104 « KQI10 ®» Q4 ®» Q4 * AQJ4 ®» AJ4

Hand 1:  We met this hand earlier, an Acol player incorrectly opened 1. This is wrong because you
then have no rebid over, say, 1 a. INT would show 15-16 points and 2& or 2 ¢ would
promise 5 #’s. The correct opening is INT.

Hand 2:  Slightly stronger now. This time the correct opening playing Acolis 1% as your rebid is INT
over 1 & and 2NT over 2«&/e.

Hand 3:  You may choose to open this INT. If you choose 1 ¢ then you cannot rebid INT over 14
(that shows 15-16 points in Acol) and so you have to rebid the o ’s.

Hand 4:  This time you have enough points to open the 4 card major (you can jump rebid n NT) but
with this shape it’s best to reverse (16+ points). So open 1 ¢ and rebid 2 over 1a/INT/2
.

Hand 5:  This one is tricky (4441 type hand are tricky in most systems). You have the values for a 4
card major opening but not the shape for a NT rebid. With this one I would open 1& playing
Acol Ifyou open 1% and partner responds 1NT you cannot then bid 24 or 2a as that
would promise 5 #’s; and if you open 1 a and rebid 2& or 2% then that promises 5 & ’s.

Hand 6:  This time you can open a 4 card major as you have a NT rebid. Open 1% and rebid 2NT
over 2/ . Note that you should not open 1a as thena # fit may be lost (a 2% rebid
would promise 5 &a’s.



No Jacks Board 16 from Monday 31¢, E-W wul

North South (D)

West North East South
A 953 a AK864 pass INT(1) pass 2v
v AQ4 v K7 pass 2a pass 46 (2)
¢ AK1093 ¢ Q4 all pass
® K8 * A974

A comfortable 64 slam was missed, just unlucky or was anyone to blame?

Now this one is tricky as there is no blatantly obvious culprit. The INT opening at (1)? It’s 16 points
but worth much more. A 5 card suit headed by the AK is an excellent +, as are the 10,9 in the suit. Two
aces and no jacks are a definite + also. Whether that all adds up to too strong for a INT opening is
debatable. So lets say it absolutely top of the range but acceptable.

Then what about South’s 4a at (2)? 16 points, but again very good ones. A 5 card suit headed by
the AK is a good +, and an outside 4-carder headed by the ace is another +. Two aces and no jacks are
a definite + also. This hand is worth 17+.

So it’s 17 + 15-17. 32 is usually only good enough for slam if there is a fit but South did not know
that North had 3 & ’s. Could he have done anything else?

Yes! The correct bid at (2) is 3&%. A 2 suit and game forcing. North then has a few options but if he
simply bid 3 a that would show 3 card support and slam interest (slow arrival). That’s all South needs
and the slam is then easy.

And what happened? Two pairs did bid the slam. Well done chaps.

The bottom lines.

- Jacks are the most over-rated cards in the deck. Add on a good + for a jackless hand. Note that the
addition of 3 jacks (%, ¢ &#) to these hands would not affect the outcome! Aces and kings are
equally under-rated. Add on a + for two aces. Add on a big big + for 5 card suits headed by the
AK.

- Ifpartner opens INT and you have a game forcing two suiter with a 5 card major, transfer and then
bid the other suit.

- Ifyouhave opened INT and partner transfers and bids another suit (so game forcing), 3 ofthe
major is encouraging; 3NT denies 3 card support for the major (and shows good guards in the two
unbid suits) and 4 of the major usually shows 3 card support but is discouraging.

- A jump to game in a game forcing situation is fast arrival and is weaker than the slow approach.



Nobody bids game! Board 17 from Friday 4*

Dealer:
North
Love all

A J97654
v J7

¢+ KQ6
% QJ

a KQ103 Table A
v KQ4 West North (G) FEast South
¢ AJ985 - le pass 2
®3 24 pass (1) pass pass (2)
N A - Table B
W E v A9832 West North East South
S ¢ 107 - le pass 2
& 986542 pass 26 (3) pass pass (4)
a A82 pass
v 1065
¢ 432 Table C
& AK107 - le pass 2%
pass 2¢ (3) pass pass (5)
pass

3NT is a very reasonable contract for N-S yet all three tables played in part-scores on Friday. Let’s
have a look: -

Table A:

Table B:

Table C:

What did you do with hand G at (1) in this week’s quiz? Unless you have agreed to the
contrary, double is most definitely penalties here. I have gone all through this in past
news-sheets (17 & 44); partner has shown values (11+) and you are sitting over the
overcaller, ergo penalties. It will be a glorious massacre, you really should be able to teach
people a lesson when they overcall at the two level with suits like this when you have shown
the power. If you play Support Doubles (as far as I know nobody but Chuck does) then you
have to pass at (1) and South should re-open with a double at (2).

Now then, what do you rebid at (3) when there is no intervention? 24 is a reverse and is
game forcing, South cannot pass at (4).

This depends upon your partnership style. 2 ¢ is reasonable if you need more for a reverse
and I would expect partner to make another bid at (5) having responded at the two level.

What happened? 2a by North made +1. 2a by West (undoubled!) went minus three. 2 ¢ by
North made +2. Nobody bid 3NT, in fact nobody even bid NT or any sort of game.

The bottom lines.
- Avreverse is forcing. A reverse after a two level response is forcing to game.
- The modern style in Standard American is that if you respond at the two level then you promise
another bid.
- Check up on penalty doubles. In this situation a double at (1) is penalties unless you have specifically
agreed otherwise (and if you do agree otherwise, then partner must re-open with a double at (2)).



Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: 2& or 1. It’s probably good enough for a game forcing 2&, but 1 v (followed by a game
forcing 3&) is also perfectly reasonable. What is not reasonable is any sort of pre-empt
including 4w, this hand is way too strong.

Hand B: 2. This hand is too strong for 1.

Hand C:  2&. Again, too strong for 1 ¢ or 1.

Hand D: 3 &. Game forcing.

Hand E: I would pass.

Hand F:  Either 2& or pass. 3& is not an option, it shows a strong hand — there is no such animal as a
pre-empt in the pass-out seat.

Hand G:  Double. ‘Standard’ is to play this as penalties — you are sitting over the bidder.

Hand H:  (a) I would consider this hand game forcing. My preferred method with 4-5 or 5-4 in the
majors is to bid Stayman and then jump to 3 of the long major if partner responds 2 ¢ . If you
consider the hand only invitational, then also bid Stayman; raise 2% /A to 3 /a and bid
2NT over a 2 & response.

(b) But transferring works equally well if you consider it game forcing. If you transfer then
your 2™ bid must be 3. This shows 5 a’s & 4%’s and is game forcing unless you have a
specific agreement to the contrary. If you consider the hand only mvitational then transferring
does not work as you then cannot show the % suit without forcing to game.

Play Quiz Answer

Alow ¢. A a is unattractive. A w will work if partner has the # J but will give away a trick
unnecessarily if declarer has the wJ. A low ¢, however, cannot cost. If declarer has the Q it costs
nothing and if partner has that card then declarer will obviously finesse it later.

Acol Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand 1: INT

Hand2: 1w

Hand 3:  1e (or INT ifthat’s your style).
Hand4: 1e

Hand 5: 1&

Hand 6: le



