
♣  ♦        Club News Sheet – No. 117       28/1/2005         ♥  ♠ 
 
       N-S winners        E-W winners  
       
Mon 24/1/05 1st  Valur/Valgaro  66 % 1st   Jon/Jan    63 % 
    2nd  Larse/Arne     65 %  2nd  Gerard/Derek   60 %  
 
Wed 26/1/05 1st  Clive/Terry  63 % 1st   Gerard/Derek    66 % 
    2nd Austin/Chuck  61 % 2nd  Larse/Arne  63 % 
 
 Fri  28/1/05 1st  Austin/Chuck  66 % 1st   Gerard/Derek  70 % 

 2nd  Ursula/Jeff 63 % 2nd  Mike/Jim (both Can) 55 % 
 
Editorial 
 

Yet another week with all Mitchell movements; it won’t last as people are beginning to 
drift back home now. And a couple of firsts this week: 13 tables on Monday! And a very rude 
French newcomer managed to get himself evicted from the club after just two rounds into his 
second appearance at the club! He’d already upset ½ a dozen or so players before he called 
me the rudest director that he had ever met! I guess that if you’ve gotta go ….. 

Both Chuck and Thorlief (both previously banned) have been playing regularly at the 
Wednesday club (not under my control) and both have behaved themselves admirably –         
I guess they know what happens when they misbehave? I have decided to let them both back 
into the Mon/Fri clubs on probation provided that they continue to behave themselves –       
no silly/unnecessary questioning of less experienced players (Chuck), no slapping down of 
bidding or playing cards (Thorlief), no brawls (Thorlief), no raising of the voice and 
absolutely no psyching (both). Along with Alex and Jeff these four may consider themselves 
‘on notice’. As Baden Powell once said, ‘Be Prepared’. 

Anyway, I needed to find a partner for Austin and Chuck is most certainly ‘ideal’. 
We had another ‘simultaneous’ on Monday and the hands were from a former World 

Championship. 
There were no less than 3 mis-boardings on Friday, so the curtain cards will be back for 

all Mitchell (all boards are played on the first round) movements. 
 
Bidding Quiz             Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated. 
 

Hand A Hand B With Hand A you open 1♥ and partner responds 1♠, what do  
  you bid?  
♠ AJ94 ♠ -  
♥ AKQ63 ♥ -  You are dealer at unfavourable vulnerability with this Hand B 
♦ J64 ♦ A1086532 freak. What do you open? 
♣ 2 ♣ 1098653 
 
Hand C Hand D With Hand C partner opens a weak 2♦ and RHO overcalls 2♥. 
  What do you do? 
♠ 65 ♠ J974   
♥ J108632 ♥ 732 With Hand D partner opens 1NT, what do you bid?  
♦ KQJ  ♦ K103 
♣ 74 ♣ A95 
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A well bid slam?   Board 20 from Monday 24th 

 

As when it was played at the World Championships, less than ½ of the tables reached the 
excellent slam on Monday: - 
  
Dealer: ♠ AJ94  Table A
West ♥ AKQ63 West  North(A) East  South  
N-S vul  ♦ J64 pass  1♥    pass  1♠ 

 ♣ 2 pass  3♠  (1) pass  4♠ (2) 
  all pass 
♠ K73  N ♠ 85   
♥ 98    W    E ♥ J1072  Table B
♦ K53  S ♦ 1097  West  North(A) East  South 
♣ 109843 ♣ KJ76  pass   1♥   pass  1♠ 

 ♠ Q1062   pass   4♣  (1) pass   4♦ (3)  
 ♥ 54   pass    4♥ (3) pass  4NT (4) 

  ♦ AQ82  pass  5♥ (5) pass  6♠ 
  ♣ AQ5 all pass 
 

Table A: (1) This was typical of pairs who missed the slam. 3♠ at (1) is fine (I guess?). 
 (2) But is the South hand worth an effort? It’s just about strong enough to look for 

slam but two small in partner’s suit is a very poor holding. I think that 4♠ is fine 
and as ½ of the World Championship contenders did not reach slam (and also less 
than ½ at our club) I suppose the majority agree with me? 

Table B: (1) What did you bid with this North hand A in this week’s quiz? I was North at 
this table but South did not have to think as I forced to game at (1). I liked my 
hand and 4♣ was a splinter agreeing ♠’s and showing a singleton ♣. Perhaps a bit 
of an overbid, but I have good trump support and the ♥AKQxx are excellent. 

 (3) 4♦ and 4♥ were cue bids, showing the ace resp. 
 (4) Now I have frequently said that you should not bid Blackwood with a weak 

doubleton but this sequence was perfect. It is usually best to cue bid before 
invoking Blackwood; it this sequence North has shown the ♥ ace and so South 
now bid Roman Key Card Blackwood. 

 (5) Two ‘key cards’ (the ♠K is included in the answer). Note that if you do not 
play RKCB it is not so easy to find out if partner has the ♠K or not after a two ace 
reply. With a keycard missing it’s easy to stay out of the grand. 

 
And what happened? 12 tricks were easy, just 5 out of 13 pairs bid the slam. And more 

than 50% of the World Championship finalists missed it also. Shame on them. 
Now after the session one North player did grill me over South’s 4♠ bid at (2), claiming 

that South should look for slam. I’ve stated my view (that North should splinter) but then 
only one of the World Championship contenders agreed with me! 

 
The bottom lines: - 

- AKQxx is worth far more than 9 points. 
- If you can describe your hand in one bid, then do so (the 4♣ splinter here). 
- Play splinters 
- Play Roman Key Card Blackwood (RKCB). 
- It’s usually best to cue bid before using RKCB. 
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Bad timing – part 1   Board 8 from Monday 24th 

 

Here we have an example of a silly bid at the wrong time. And a typical bit of Alex/Jeff 
theatrics too boot: - 
  
Dealer: ♠ 2  Table A
West ♥ 1098432 West  North East  South  
Love all  ♦ KQ73   (Alex)     (Jeff) 

 ♣ J4 1♠ (1) pass  (2) 2♣  pass  
  2♠  pass (3) 3♣ (4) pass 
♠ KJ9873  N ♠ Q6  pass (5) 3♥ (6) 3♠ (7) dbl (8) 
♥ Q75    W    E ♥ J  all pass 
♦ 104  S ♦ AJ8   
♣ A5 ♣ KQ98763  Table B 

 ♠ A1054   West  North East   South 
 ♥ AK6   2♠ (1) 3♥ (9) 3♠  dbl (10) 

  ♦ 9652  all pass 
  ♣ 102  
 

Table A: (1) On the border between a 1♠ and a weak 2♠ opener. With reasonable ♥’s I 
think that 1♠ is best (it’s best not to pre-empt in a major suit with a good holding 
in the other major). 

 (2) A very restrained pass from Alex, much better than a weak 3♥. With no 
honours and only a 6 card suit a 3 level pre-empt is unwise.  

 (3) And so it’s an obvious pass now that the opponents have exchanged 
information. 

 (4) Now this is not forcing in Standard American. Playing 2/1 it is generally 
played as forcing but in most systems it is just encouraging. With game values 
you have to find a forcing bid and it’s not easy (one reason why 2/1 is such a great 
system). Anyway, in Standard American it’s difficult now and I can’t see any 
alternative than an offbeat 3♦. Can you? Any ♣ or NT bid is non-forcing. 

 (5) Here’s where the theatrics start. Apparently West thought for a long time here 
and then passed. Alex told him that he can’t do that (nonsense of course) and so 
West called me over. I explained to Alex that West’s long pause followed by a 
pass was only significant if West’s partner gets another bid (i.e. if Alex bid now 
then East must pass unless he has a very clear-cut bid).  

 (6) Alex, of course, thought that he could take advantage of this and so he stuck in 
a stupid (opponents have exchanged oodles of information) 3♥ bid. 

 (7) And, of course, Alex called me back over when East bid. I looked at the East 
hand and stated that in my opinion he had a very clear 3♠ bid. 

 (8) And Jeff made an unwise double. 
 3♠ doubled made but Alex/Jeff did not get an outright bottom on the board, 

another North made an equally silly bid at Table B: 
Table B: (1) This West chose a weak 2♠ opener, fine. 
 (9) But 3♥ here is not fine! It is not a pre-emptive bid (there’s no such thing as a 

pre-empt over a pre-empt). This 3♥ overcall should show a good opening hand 
with a decent suit. 

 (10) And South obviously has loads to spare for a double in this auction. 
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And what happened? At most tables it was a part-score hand. 3♠ doubled made exactly 
against Alex/Jeff but they salvaged a point when it made +1 at Table B. 

 
The bottom lines: - 

- Don’t try to twist the laws. 
- It’s not a pre-empt when the opponents have already both bid twice. 
- You cannot pre-empt over a pre-empt.  
 
Bad timing – part 2   Board 21 from Monday 24th 

 
Here’s another example of East ‘pre-empting’ at the wrong time: - 

 
Dealer: ♠ Q3   
North ♥ KQ986 West  North East  South  
N-S vul  ♦ A107 -  1♥    pass (1) 3♥ (2) 

 ♣ QJ4 pass  4♥  (3) 4♠ (4) pass (5) 
  pass  dbl   all pass 
♠ 1085  N ♠ KJ9764   
♥ AJ103    W    E ♥ 5   
♦ 64  S ♦ K953   
♣ K762 ♣ 109   

 ♠ A2    
 ♥ 742    

  ♦ QJ82  
  ♣ A853  
 

(1) In the booklet the East hand overcalled either 3♠ or a weak 2♠. One of these actions or 
even just 1♠ is obviously better than a feeble pass. 

(2) This South hand is worth 3♥, you can either bid it directly as here of else bid a minor first 
(or a forcing 1NT if you play 2/1). 

(3) North has a clear acceptance, but the bad break means that 4♥ won’t make. 
(4) What a silly bid! If you want to pre-empt then do so at the earliest opportunity; to do so 

when the opponents have found a fit and gauged each other’s strength is simply silly. 
And, of course, this is not a pre-empt as it consumes no bidding space. 

(5) A forcing pass, so …. 
(6) North must either double or bid 5♥. With a decent defensive hand double is clearly best. 
 

And what happened? 4♠ went two down for a near top to N-S. 4♥ was bid 4 times and 
made just once. Most of the time it was part-scores. 

 
The bottom lines: - 

- Pre-empt to the limit at the first opportunity. 
- It’s not a pre-empt when the opponents have already bid game! It’s usually just silly. 
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3NT is usually better than 5 of a minor Board 24 from Wednesday 26th 

 

Same old story, but this time with a twist: - 
  
Dealer: ♠ AKJ   
West ♥ 92 West  North East  South  
Love all  ♦ KQ2 pass  1♣    pass  1♥ 

 ♣ KQJ74 1♠  2NT (1) 3♠  4♦ (2) 
  pass  4NT (3) 5♠ (4) pass (5) 
♠ Q7642  N ♠ 109853  pass  dbl   all pass 
♥ A765    W    E ♥ J4   
♦ 10  S ♦ J876   
♣ A52 ♣ 106   

 ♠ -   
 ♥ KQ1085    

  ♦ A9543   
  ♣ 983  
 

(1) 18-19 points (and obviously with ♠’s well stopped). 
(2) Now North’s 2NT is not strictly forcing and so South felt that he had to say something. I 
would like a much better (slam-seeking) hand to bid past 3NT. 
(3) North was not happy – he wants to play in 3NT and now cannot; still, 4NT should be 
safe. 
(4) This is silly. 4♠ last go would have been acceptable (the Law – but it may be too high as 
N-S obviously have all the points) but this is certainly too high. Perhaps he thought that he 
was interfering with the opponent’s Blackwood? 
(5) And whether South thought that 4NT was Blackwood or not will never be known. Pass 
here is consistent with DOPI, or it could be just a forcing pass. Only South knows. 
(6) Now North was not happy about being unable to play in NT and was sure that 5♦ would 
be a bad score, but 5♠ doubled certainly may get the top spot? 
 

And what happened? 5♠ doubled went minus 4 and that 800 gave N-S their (ill-
deserved?) top. East-West (well East anyway) got what they deserved. At other tables 3NT 
was bid 4 times making overtricks and one other pair obviously also do not listen to what I 
say about 3NT being better than 5 of a minor and went one down in 5♦. If East had simply 
passed at (4) and South had responded to ‘Blackwood’ then E-W would have got the top. 

 
The bottom lines: - 

- If it looks like the opponents don’t know what they are doing, them leave them alone! 
- If partner makes a (not strictly forcing) 2NT bid and the enemy interfere then a 

subsequent 4NT by him is unlikely to be anything other than to play? 
 
What’s a 2♣ overcall over a 1♣ opening?    South hand 8 from Monday 24th

 
♠ 52 Jeff held this hand and overcalled a 1♣ opening with 2♣. Alex was asked 
♥103 what the bid meant and he said ‘strong’. Now you can play it as anything 
♦ K532 you like; natural, strong, Michaels or whatever you wish, but regular 
♣ AQJ94 partnerships really should have an understanding on something as mundane  
  as this? Agreed Alex/Jeff? 
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A ridiculous 5♦ bid?   Board 5 from Wednesday 26th 

 
 

Dealer: ♠ -  Table A
North ♥ - West  North(B) East  South  
N-S vul  ♦ A1086532 -  3♦  (1)  3♥  pass 

 ♣ 1098653 3♠  4♣ (2) 4♠  pass 
  4NT  5♣  (3) pass  5♦ 
♠ AKJ109432  N ♠ Q87  5♠  al1 pass 
♥ 5    W    E ♥ AKQ974   
♦ 97  S ♦ 4  Table B
♣ A2 ♣ KQJ  West   North   East   South (C) 

 ♠ 65   -    2♦  (1) 2♥   5♦ !!!  (4) 
 ♥ J108632   5♠    all pass 

  ♦ KQJ   
  ♣ 74 
 
Table A: (1) Now 7-6 distributions do not come up every day of the week, so what did you 

open with this North hand B in this week’s quiz? I was North at Table A and 
chose 3♦ (with the intention of following up with a ♣ bid). I’m sure that 
everybody will agree that the subsequent bidding was very reasonable? 5♣ at (3) 
was both an attempt to disrupt the opponent’s Blackwood and a try to get partner 
to bid a sacrifice if necessary. 

Table B: (1) This North chose (in my opinion) a somewhat feeble 2♦ opening. 
 (2) And what did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? I would bid 

3♦, but pass is acceptable.  
But what is this ridiculous 5♦ bid? Now this was on the last round of the session and the 

South player had had to leave. There was a sit-out and on this last round it was Alex/Thorlief 
to sit out and so I asked Alex if he would play the South hands at this table. Now 
Alex/Thorlief had just played the boards but what else can I do? I expect people to bid/play 
‘normally’ under these circumstances. Anyway, for some reason Alex told Thorlief to play 
the boards. Thorlief had just played the hand 15 minutes earlier and knew that E-W were 
cold for 6♠, thus his ridiculous 5♦ bid!! This really is extremely stupid behaviour for 
somebody who has just had a life ban (tentatively) lifted! I guess it won’t be long before he’s 
banned again? If he pulls a stunt like this when playing with his real partner then he would 
most certainly be out again. 
 

And what happened? Just one pair bid the 6♠ slam and 5♠+1 scored average. 
 
The bottom lines: - 

- If you are asked to bid/play a hand that you have already played then you should try to 
behave normally. Rest assured that if/when numbers are down to the extent that I have to 
call for dummies then I will consider Thorlief incapable of performing this simple task. 
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A Game Forcing Auction?   Board 17 from Friday 28th 

 

Dealer: ♠ 4  Table A
North ♥ K843 West  North East  South  
Love all  ♦ Q10975 -  pass    2♣ (1) pass 

 ♣ Q76 2♦ (2) pass  2♠ (3) pass 
  4♠ (4) all pass 
♠ 9862  N ♠ AKQJ1075   
♥ J976    W    E ♥ 2  Table B
♦ 63  S ♦ K2  West  North   East  South 
♣ J54 ♣ AK9  -   pass   2♣  pass 

 ♠ 3   2♥ (5) pass  2♠ (6) pass  
 ♥ AQ105   pass (7) all pass 

  ♦ AJ84  
  ♣ 10832  
 
Table A: This was typical of most of the tables on Friday: - 
  (1) Strong. This is ½ trick short of game and is well worth a 2♣ opener. 
  (2) Negative. 
  (3) Game forcing in Standard American. 3♠, showing a solid self-sufficient suit is 

 a sound alternative 
  (4) There are options here. 2NT is often played as a 2nd negative (+/- 0-4 pts) but 
   I like the jump to 4♠ here (fast arrival). 
  Anyway. The reasonable 4♠ should always be reached? …. 
Table B: (5) Obviously this West does not understand strong 2♣ sequences.  
  (6) 3♠ is again an alternative (showing a solid suit in a forcing sequence).  
  (7) But this West did not appreciate that this was a game forcing sequence?? 
 

Now as it happens 4♠ is not a solid contract. It made at most tables but the play at Table 
B was interesting. Obviously a ♦ lead gives declarer 10 tricks and this South chose a small 
♣. Declarer tried the ♣J but North had the ♣Q and so East won. The ♠A cleared trumps and 
making 10 tricks now appears to depend upon the ♦A being onside? However, there is no 
need for haste and declarer simply led the ♥2 towards dummy (West) at trick two. South won 
with the ♥Q and, reluctant to break a new suit, returned a ♣ giving declarer 10 tricks. 

Where did the defence go wrong? Now North could have overtaken partner’s ♥Q and 
shot a ♦ through but I think that South was at fault. He knows that declarer has ample 
(trump) entries to dummy and if declarer had the ♥K he would have led ♥’s from dummy. 
And having taken the (incorrect) decision to take the ♥Q he should have exited with a ♥ 
rather than giving declarer a free ♣ trick. 

However, it was not disastrous for N-S as the contract was only 2♠ at this table! 
And what happened elsewhere? One other pair were in 2♠ (just +1). Most pairs were in 

4♠ either making or going one down and one pair overbid to 5♠ going minus one. 
The bottom lines: - 

- When partner opens 2♣ then 2♦ is the (artificial) negative bid. 
- When partner opens 2♣ then after any response than 2♦ the sequence is game forcing. 
- In Standard American after a 2♣ opening the only sequence that is not forcing to game is 

2♣ - 2♦ - 2NT -  pass, where 2NT shows 23-24  points and obviously responder is bust. 
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That flat 4333 type shape again  Board 15 from Friday 28th 

 

Dealer: ♠ Q1052  Table A
South ♥ K1086 West(D) North East  South  
N-S vul  ♦ 74 -  -    -  pass (1) 

 ♣ 1084 pass  pass  1NT  pass 
  2♣ (2) pass  2♥  pass 
♠ J974  N ♠ K8  2NT  all pass 
♥ 732    W    E ♥ AJ54   
♦ K103  S ♦ A962  Table B
♣ A95 ♣ K76  West   North   East   South 

 ♠ A63   -    -    -    pass 
 ♥ Q9   pass    pass   1NT  pass  

  ♦ QJ85  3NT (2) all pass 
  ♣ QJ32  
 

Table A: (1) It conforms with the rule of 20 (just) but with all these quacks I too would pass 
with this South hand. 

 (2) What did you bid with this West hand (D) in this week’s quiz? It’s 8 points so 
Stayman followed by an invitational bid?  

 No! And I’m happy to say that ½ of the club got this one right – deduct a point for 
the flat 4333 type shape. The correct bid at (2) is pass. 

Table B: (2) Obviously this West does not read, or take notice of, the news-sheets. 
 

And what happened? 1NT was bid 4 times but made on just one occasion and everybody 
else went down – the more they bid the more they (deservedly) went down. The bottom lines:  
- Deduct a point for the 4333 type shape. Now I realise that most of you are fed up with me 

saying this week after week, but I bet that without my continued writings then just about 
everybody would have made an effort with this West hand? It’s gratifying to know that at 
least ½ of the club listen to some of what I say and stopped in 1NT. 

 
Bidding Quiz Answers
 

Hand A: 3♠ (invitational) or a 4♣ splinter. Now 3♠ was the clear choice amongst the 
Word Championship contenders (just one chose a 4♣ splinter) but I think that the 
hand is worth a game force. Now the invitational 3♠ bid is usually around 16-17 
points and a game force (4♠ or a splinter) would be around 18-19. This hand is 
only 15 but with good trumps and a 5 card suit headed by the AKQ (worth far 
more than 9 points) and a singleton I think it’s worth a game force, and if you 
play splinters then 4♣ (agreeing ♠’s and showing a ♣ shortage) is perfect. Now 
4♣ may be a slight overbid but you have got the hand off your chest and 
described it perfectly; if slam is on then it’s child’s play after the descriptive 
opening bid and splinter. 

Hand B: 3♦. Pass is a possibility if you have the mechanism to show a minor two-suiter 
later but I prefer 3♦ followed by a subsequent ♣ bid. 2♦ is too feeble and a 
higher ♦ pre-empt rules out the ♣ suit. 

Hand C: 3♦. Nine combined trumps so that’s what ‘the Law’ says. Pass is acceptable. 5♦ 
is simply cheating if you have seen the hand before (the 5♦ bidder had). 

Hand D: Pass. It’s not worth a bid (2♣ followed by an invitation) as you should deduct a 
point for the 4333 type shape. 
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