
Fri 27/5/05          Club News Sheet – No. 134
Winners Runners-up

 
Mon 23rd N-S 1st Chuck/Lewis 56% 2nd Tomas/Phil 55% 
Mon E-W 1st Derek/Gerard 69% 2nd Clive/Ken 53% 
Wed 25th  1st Bill/Emil 61% 2nd Jo/Kenneth 61%
Fri 27th    1st Chuck/Walter 73% 2nd Clive/Ken 55%

Don’t forget that there’s an accompanying ‘beginner’s’ news sheet – no. 134. This week it covers
what you do after partner has responded to your take-out double. It will be the last in the series as I have
now obtained a teacher’s manual for Standard American.

Bidding Quiz             Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated

Hand A Hand B (a) Would you open Hand A in 1st or 2nd seat?
(b) Would you open Hand A in 3rd  seat?

 KQJ7  864
 K8762  AJ5 (a) Would you open Hand B in 1st or 2nd seat?
 43  AK7 (b) Would you open Hand B in 3rd  seat?
 J6  10954

Hand C Hand D With Hand C partner opens 1 and RHO overcalls 1. 
What do you bid?

 A86  A753
 Q108  AKJ8 With Hand D you open 1, partner bids 1, you bid 1 and
 A82  2 partner bids 1NT. What do you do?
 J962  KQ93

Hand E Hand F With Hand E you open 1, LHO overcalls 1 and partner
bids 1NT. What do you do?

 KJ  AK74
 K74  K93 With Hand F partner opens 1 and you respond 1. Partner 
 Q943  1087 then bid 2 (a reverse, showing around 16-18 points), what do 
 KQ53  1082 you bid?

Hand G Hand H With Hand G partner opens 2, what do you do? (if you 
have an asking method such as 2NT Ogust you find out that 

 Q  109 partner is max with poor ’s).
 10642  K98
 AK109  AK85 (a) What do you open with Hand H? (b) Suppose that you 
 AK42  Q932 choose 1, partner bids 1 and RHO overcalls 1. What now?

Hand J Hand K (a) What do you open with Hand J? (b) Suppose that you open
1, the what is your rebid when partner bids 1?

 Q3  AJ10
 AQ42  K984  With Hand K partner opens 1 and RHO overcalls 1, 
 A9542  Q542 what do you bid?
 A4  86



What does the double mean? West North East South
1 2 pass pass
dbl  (1) 3 pass pass
dbl  (2)

I was asked what these two doubles (in particular the 2nd one) meant. So what do you think? There is a
(very slight) difference if you play negative doubles and I give the answers for both styles in the solutions.

 

Passed out Board 11 from Monday 23rd 

Dealer:  864
South  AJ5 West North(A) East South(B)
Love all    AK7 - - - pass (1)

 10954 pass pass (2) pass

 92  N  A1053
 Q94   W    E  103
 J865 S  Q1092  
 KQ73  A82

 KQJ7
 K8762
 43  
 J6

(1) Did you open with this South hand A(a) in this week’s quiz? It’s one short of the rule of 20 but the
points are in the long suits. If the ’s and the ’s were reversed then I would open 1 as it’s then
an easy 2 rebid. This shape (4-5 in the majors) is sometimes a problem and that’s why the
Flannery 2 was invented. But that is rather a waste of the 2 bid in my view. Anyway, pass is fine;
1 is acceptable I suppose but there is no good rebid in some situations, especially if you play 2/1
and partner bids a forcing NT.
But in answer to question A(b) in the quiz, I would open 1 in 3rd seat.

(2) And what did you do with this North hand B in this week’s quiz? It’s a very miserable 12 count and
I would definitely pass in 1st, 2nd or 4th seat. But 3rd seat is different and anything goes; so I would
open 1.

And what happened? The hand was passed out twice. 2 + 2 for N-S was the top spot on the four
occasions when the hand was opened by somebody.

The bottom lines –
- Knock a point off for the 4333 type shape.
- You can open light in 3rd seat.



Raising partner’s 1NT response to 2NT – part 1 Board 5 from Wednesday 25th 

Dealer:  10964
North  Q75 West North East(D) South
N-S vul    984 - pass 1 pass

 AJ4 1 pass 1 pass
1NT (1) pass 2NT (2) pass

 QJ2  N  A753 pass (3) pass
 10   W    E  AKJ8
 KQJ106 S  2  
 7652  KQ93

 K8
 96432
 A753  
 108

(1) 1NT here is exactly the same as if it were bid one round earlier, i.e. 6-9 points.  
This is a great suit and so it’s top of the range but probably not quite worth 2NT.

(2) But what did you bid with this East hand D in this week’s quiz? Now partner’s 1NT bid is 6-9(10)
and you need a decent hand to raise to 2NT as partner may be as weak as 6 points. The norm is a
good 16 to a poor 18. This East hand clearly fits the bill exactly and 2NT is correct.

(3) But this is terrible. This West hand is super max for it’s 1NT bid at (1) and should obviously raise to
3NT here.

And what happened? 3NT was bid at every other table and made 10 tricks.
The bottom lines: -

- If you open and partner bids 1NT (either directly or at his 2nd turn) then that shows 6-9 (poor 10)
points.

- And you need a good hand (16-18) to raise to 2NT. With more, bid 3NT.
- Note that this scenario does not come up that often playing standard American as many suitable

hands would have opened 1NT to start with.
- But it’s much more common if you play Acol.



Raising partner’s 1NT response to 2NT – part 2 Board 10 from Wednesday 25th 

Dealer:  Q9743
East  9 West(C) North East(E) South
Both vul    KJ1076 - - 1 1 (1)

 107 1NT (2) pass 2NT (3) pass
3NT (4) all pass

 A86  N  KJ
 Q108   W    E  K74
 A82 S  Q943  
 J962  KQ53

 1052
 AJ6532
 5  
 A84

(1) A weak jump overcall of 2 is an alternative.
(2) What did you bid with this West hand C in this week’s quiz? A 1NT response is 6-9 and a 2NT

response is 11-12. As I said just last week, you have to decide what to do with 10 and it has to be a
very good 10 to bid 2NT. So what’s this West hand C worth? It’s 11 face value but knock off a
point for the 3334 shape and so it’s 10. But then you have to consider other factors; the hand has
excellent intermediates and two aces: + factors. But the deciding factor for me is the 10. The 
holding of Q108 has improved when RHO bids ’s and so I would evaluate the hand at a very good
10 to 11 points and bid 2NT.

(3) And what did you bid with this East hand E in this week’s quiz? As I said for the last deal, a raise of
partner’s 1NT response should be a good 16 - poor 18; this hand is nowhere near and should pass
1NT.

(4) But I guess that if one partner underbids and one overbids then they cancel each other out and
arrive at a decent contract?

And what happened? The cards sat well for E-W; 3NT was bid and made (or made +1) at most
tables.



A Reverse shows a strong hand Board 23 from Friday 27th 

A reverse shows a strong hand and is usually played as forcing. There are a few definitions of a
reverse (but they amount to the same thing) – the one that my students seem to like is that if you bid a suit
that partner has denied (i.e. by-passed) then it’s a reverse. 

A reverse by responder should always be considered as game forcing. A reverse by opener is game
forcing if partner has responded at two level but if partner’s response was at the one level and his rebid
after opener’s reverse is a simple bid of his own suit or partner’s first bid suit or 2NT then this shows a
minimal hand and opener may pass. There was an example of this going wrong on Friday.

Dealer:  J109
South  106 West(F) North East(J) South
Both vul    KJ3 - - - pass

 Q9763 pass pass 1 (1) pass
1 pass 2 (2) pass

 AK74  N  Q3 3 (3) pass pass (4) pass
 K93   W    E  AQ42
 1087 S  A9542  
 1082  A4

 9652
 J875
 Q6  
 KJ5

(1) I prefer this 1 opening to a somewhat off-beat 1NT.
(2) What did you bid with this East hand J(b) in this week’s quiz? 2 is correct. It is a reverse, and

promises around 16-18 points and is forcing in Standard American.
(3) What did you bid with this West hand F in this week’s quiz? East’s reverse here does not promise

another bid as West may have only 6 points. With far more than a minimum West must make a noise
(2, 2NT or 3 are minimal bids and are not noises). West said that he did not bid 3NT because
he had no  stop. Quite so, so the correct bid here is 3 - the 4th suit and asking partner to bid 3NT
with a  stop.

(4) The East hand is absolutely minimal for the reverse and pass here is certainly correct.

And what happened? 3 made 11 tricks. Just one pair bid 3NT (making) and other results were a
mixed bunch of partscores. I note that 2 made 10 tricks and 1NT made 11 tricks. 3NT is not that
good a contact of course, but will often make at our club.

The bottom lines: -
- A reverse by opener opposite a 1-level response is around 16-18 points.
- If responder then has enough for game, then he should say so (no minimal limit bid of 2NT or a

simple raise of his own suit or partner’s first bid suit).



Raise to 4 /  with a singleton? Board 17 from Friday 27th 

I often have to repeat myself in the news-sheets as some people continue to make the same mistakes.
So here we go again – if partner pre-empts in a major and you have sufficient values for a shot at game,
do not bid 3NT with a singleton in partner’s suit – you will have problems getting to his hand!

Dealer:  764 Table A
West  AJ983 West North East(G) South
Both vul    5 2 pass 3NT (1) all pass

 9653
‘Expert’ table

 KJ9852  N  Q West North East(G) South
 Q   W    E  10642 2 pass 2NT (1) all pass
 J84 S  AK109 3 (2) pass 4 (3) all pass
 QJ8  AK42

 A103
 K75
 Q7632  
 107

Table A: (1) So what did you bid with this East hand G in this week’s quiz? I would not bid 3NT as
there may well be entry difficulties in setting up partner’s ’s. I prefer 4, but the best
solution is probably that of our ‘experts’. 

‘Expert’ (1) The East hand is probably not quite good enough to go to game opposite a table:
minimal weak two and the answer is to play the Ogust convention. 2NT asks

how good West’s pre-empt was
(2) and the 3 reply says top-of-the range but with poorish ’s 
(3) top of the range is good enough for East and he chooses the best game.

And what happened? 2 was passed out once and scored average. 3NT was bid 3 times and went
down twice. Only one pair (Tom/Tomas) found the top spot and made 4+1.

The bottom lines: -
- When partner pre-empts in a major suit, it is usually unwise to bid 3NT with a singleton in his suit,

prefer 4 of the major.

Ogust

The Ogust convention is an artificial bid of 2NT after partner’s weak two opening; it asks how good
partner’s hand is. The responses are in logical steps: -

3 = lower point range, weak suit
3 = lower point range, good suit
3 = upper point range, poor suit
3 = upper point range, good suit
3NT = AKQxxx



Does partner have 3 or 4 card support? Board 13 from Friday 27th 

In competitive situations it is often essential to know how many trumps partner has (especially if you
are a follower of ‘the LAW’); an ideal example occurred on Friday: -

Dealer:  KJ863 Table A
North  53 West North East(H) South
Both vul    72 - pass 1 (1) pass

 AK75 1 1 2 (2) 2
3 (3) pass 3 (4) all pass

 AQ  N  109
 107642   W    E  K98 Table B
 J1063 S  AK85 West North East(H) South
 108  Q932 - pass 1 (1) pass

 7542 1 1 2 (2) 2
 AQJ ? (3)
 Q94  
 J64 ‘Expert’ Table

West North East() South
- pass 1 (1) pass
1 1 dbl (2) 2
pass (3) pass pass

Table A: (1) So what did you open with this East hand H(a) in this week’s quiz? I would always open
1 with equal length but 1 is not ‘wrong’ and is what some authors recommend for
some reason that I have not yet fathomed out.

(2) But what did you bid with the east hand H(b)? I don’t like 2 as that promises a 5+
card  suit. With these decent ’s I would bid 2 (but see the ‘expert’ table for the
very best solution).

(3) And here we see the problem. West assumes that it’s a 5-4  fit and correctly
competes to the 3 level.

(4) And East tries to rectify his ‘lie’ by converting to ’s.
Table B: (1) This East also chose 1 but that is not really the point here…

(2) .. the point is to support ’s at the 2nd turn.
(3) But unfortunately West is now in a predicament. If he is sure that East has supported

with 4 card support then 3 is correct (the Law) but if it’s only a   5-3  fit then he
should defend 2.

‘Expert’ (1) Our experts open 1 of course
  table: (2) But here’s where a conventional bid comes in handy. ‘Obviously’ East should 

support ’s; but, as we saw at (3) at Table B, West may need to know if partner has 3
or 4 card support. Our experts play ‘Support Doubles’ and a double in this situation
promises exactly 3 ’s.

(3) And so West knows to pass.

And what happened? 3 was bid at two tables and both went 2 down for 200 away and a joint
bottom for E-W when  contracts made just 140 or 170 the other way.



The Support Double

When playing Support doubles; then if you open, partner responds and the next hand overcalls then:
A raise of partner’s suit promises 4 card support.
A double promises exactly 3 card support.

Note that Support Doubles are not standard – they have to be agreed and also alerted. I prefer to
play them only when partner has responded in a major. As far as I know Chuck is the only club regular
who plays them.

The negative double Board 17 from Friday 27th 

If RHO overcall partner’s 1/ opening with 1 then it may be difficult to locate a possible  fit;
an ideal example occurred on Friday: -

Dealer:  K8652 Table A
North  2 West North East(K) South
Both vul    106 - pass pass pass (1)

 KQ1093 1(2) 1 1NT (3) 2
pass pass 3 (4) all pass

 Q7  N  AJ10
 AJ75   W    E  K984 Table B
 KJ873 S  Q542 West North East(K) South
 54  86 - pass pass pass

 943 1 1 dbl (3) 2
 Q1063 3 (5) all pass
 A9  
 AJ72

Table A (1) I would be tempted to open this hand in 3rd seat.
(2) And I would be equally tempted to pass this hand in 4th seat (where are the ’s?). But

then there would be no story, so West opens 1.
(3) What did you bid with this East hand K in this week’s quiz. Now 1NT would be fine

except that you have a 4 card  suit. In traditional methods that’s just tough; but these
days there’s a way to cope with this (see Table B).

(4) East knows that there is some sort of  fit and so reasonably bid 3.
Table B (3) But this E-W pair play negative doubles. Double here simply says that East would have

bid 1 without the overcall. It promises 4 ’s and no more than responding values (so
6+ pts).

(5) West now knows of the 4-4  fit and reasonably bids 3.

And what happened? 3 made +1 but 3 also made +1 for a better score.



Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: (a) Pass. 1 is also just about reasonable.
(b) 1. A clear 3rd seat opener.

Hand B: (a) Pass. This is a very miserable hand (deduct a point for the 4333 type shape) and is
nowhere near an opener in 1st, 2nd or 4th seat. 

(b) But 3rd seat is different and you should open 1.
Hand C: 2NT. (good 10)/11-12 points. You should knock off a point for the 3334 shape but the

good intermediates and Q108 sitting over the overcaller are sufficient compensation and it’s
worth 2NT.

Hand D: 2NT. This shows a hand with a good 16 – poor 18 points.
Hand E: Pass. You need a good 16+ to raise to 2NT as we mentioned with Hand D.
Hand F: 3, 4th suit forcing. First of all, partner has about 16-18 points and has limited his 

hand, you are now in charge (the captain) and if you make a minimal bid (2, 2NT or 3)
then partner will pass with a mere 16 points. So you have to ‘make a noise’. You cannot bid
3 with just a 4 card suit and 4 goes past 3NT. 3 would not be that good as it’s a
known 4-3 fit and you have no ruffing values. 3NT is out because you have no  stop. So
it’s unbiddable?
Fortunately not if you play 4th suit forcing. This is where 4th suit forcing comes to the rescue –
it’s the only alternative here. So bid 3 and await developments.

Hand G: 4. With this type of hand (a singleton in partner’s long suit) it’s best to play in partner’s
major suit rather than 3NT when he’s pre-empted as entries may be short.

Hand H: (a) 1. I prefer 1 but many experts recommend 1 (I can’t understand why) so I won’t
argue with 1.

(b) 2. Now the point of opening 1 is (I think) that you can rebid 2, but that promises
5 ’s. Anyway, whatever I had opened I will support partner here with this decent
3-carder and a doubleton . If you play Support Doubles then you double here to show
3 card support.

Hand J: (a) 1. I will occasionally open 1NT with 2245 and decent doubletons, but usually only with
the suits precisely in that order (4 ’s and 5 ’s) as then there is no easy rebid unless
it’s good enough for a reverse.

(b) 2. This is a reverse and you need about 16-18 points for the bid. 2 is certainly
correct here but it’s minimal for the bid.

Hand K: Double, a negative double promising 4 ’s. If you do not play negative doubles then you
should bid 1NT and a possible  fit may be lost.

What does the double mean? - answers
If you play negative doubles then: 
(1) is semi-automatic and simply means that you have an opening hand without exceptional distribution

and can stand defending 2 doubled if partner has a  stack. 
(2) is for take-out. Obviously North has a good hand with ’s and West has a good hand without ’s. 

If you don’t  play negative doubles then: 
(1) is for take-out, West has a good hand without ’s. 
(2) is again for take-out. Obviously North has a good hand with ’s and West has a very good hand

without ’s. 


