
5th   Aug 2005 Club News Sheet – No. 144
 

Mon 1st    1st Chuck/Terry 63% 2nd Bob/Dave 55% 
Wed 3rd N-S 1st John Gavens/Terry 59% 2nd Jim/Tom 53%
Wed 3rd E-W 1st Jo/Guy 65% 2nd Phil/Jean-Marc 54%
Fri 5th 1st Chuck & Ken 57% 2nd Chris/Paul 55%

Bidding Quiz             Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated

Hand A Hand B With Hand A RHO opens 1 what do you do?

 94  AQ72 With Hand B you open 1 and partner responds 1, what
 AK1095  K98 do you bid?
 AQ954  A7 
 8  AQ72

Hand C Hand D With Hand C you open 1 and partner bids 1NT. 
(a) What do you bid? (b) What do you bid if RHO overcalls 2?

 9  AQ4
 53  - With Hand D you open 1, partner bids 1, you bid 2 and
 AK1098542  J10652 partner bids 2 (4th suit forcing). (a) What do you bid?
 A10  AQJ65 (b) Suppose you bid 3 and partner jumps to 4, what now?

Hand E Hand F With Hand E LHO opens 1 and this is passed all of the way
round to you. What do you do?

 AJ5  KQ92
 752  A10965 With Hand F RHO opens 1. (a) What do you do?
 Q9542  A102 (b) Suppose you double, LHO bids 1 and this is passed
 J8  10 round to you, what do you do now?

Hand G Hand H With Hand G RHO opens 1, what do you do?

 KQ109  J9853 With Hand H partner passes, RHO opens 1, you pass and
 AJ  KJ3 LHO bids 1NT. Partner and RHO then pass, what do you do?
 10763  863
 K105  J8

Hand J Hand K With Hand J partner opens 1 and you bid 1. Partner then bids
2NT (18-19), what do you do?

 9863  J8
 105  J73 With Hand K LHO opens 1 and partner doubles.
 KJ82  K53 (a) What do you do?
 K108  J9832 (b) What would you do if RHO had bid 1?

 
  



That infamous Unusual 2NT (or Michaels) yet again Board 1 from Monday 1st 

Dealer:  Q87642
North  876 West North East South(A)
Love all    63 - - 1 2 (1)

 QJ pass (2) 3 (3) pass 4 (4)
dbl (5) all pass

 -  N  AKJ103
 J542   W    E  Q
 K872 S  J10
 AK1042  97653

 94
 AK1095
 AQ954  
 8

(1) What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? Double is a possibility (and convert a 2
 response in 2 to show the two–suiter) but most people (including me) prefer a stronger hand for
that action. So how about a Michael’s cue bid of 2 - showing a two-suited hand with ’s and
minor. Perhaps reasonable, but Michaels (and the UNT) are weak, pre-emptive bids and this South
hand really is too good. Now many pairs play that Michaels/UNT are either weak or very strong –
but the problem here is that this South hand is not very strong. I would simply overcall 2 with this
South hand and perhaps get a 3 bid in later.

(2) West is very happy with the turn of events – he had a bad hand opposite a 1 opener but now that
the opponents have charged in things are looking rosey. Of course it’s best to pass here and simply
wait to see how big a penalty you will get later.

(3) North has no choice of course.
(4) And now we see the problem – you cannot bid Michaels (or UNT) with intermediate hands. South

has pre-empted himself and cannot now show a decent hand without going to the game level.
Michaels is a pre-empt and bidding again here breaks the golden rule – don’t bid gain having
pre-empted.

(5) West is extremely happy to be able to apply the axe now at the 4 level.

And what happened? 4 doubled went 3 or 4 down (the scoring was unclear) but just 3 down was
500 away and a disaster for N-S.

The bottom lines. 
- Michaels (and UNT) are pre-empts. A good 13 points is far too strong.
- Some more experienced players play that they are either weak or very strong. And by very strong I

mean just that – close to a 2 opener, this South hand is nowhere near.
- With a 5-5 shape hand that is in the middle range, simply overcall the higher ranking suit.
- Michaels (and the UNT) are the most abused conventions out there …(said that before).



Look for the 4-4 major fit after a 2NT jump Board 14 from Monday 1st 

Dealer:  J1054
East  A742 West(B) North East(J) South
Love all    943 - - pass pass

 53 1 pass 1 pass
2NT (1) pass 3 (2) pass

 AQ72  N  9863 4 all pass
 K98   W    E  105
 A7 S  KJ82
 AQ72  K108

 K
 QJ63
 Q1065  
 J964

(1) What did you rebid here with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? 2NT is best. This does not deny
a 4 card major as this strength showing bid is rarely passed and any 4-4 fit should come to light in
subsequent bidding. 3NT is a poor bid, especially as you may miss a 4-4  fit.

(2) And what did you bid with this East hand J in this week’s quiz? You have a 4 card major and so
should not bid 3NT. I prefer to play that any bid is forcing here and I would prefer to play 3 as
Checkback Stayman (asking opener to bid a 4 card major if he has one)  – but this had not been
discussed and so East simply bid his  suit.

And what happened? 4 was reached at 3 tables and made twice. Although 4 is not that great a
contract because of the bad split, it is still far better than 3NT which was bid at the other two tables and
justifiably went down both times.

The bottom lines: -
- After opener jumps to 2NT (18-19 points) then I think it’s best to play any bid as game forcing.
- I also like to play that 3 is Checkback Stayman (whether ’s have been bid or not) -asking

partner to clarify his major suit holdings, but this has to be agreed with partner.
- Either way, you should be able to locate the 4-4 major suit fit.
- The jump to 2NT is 18-19.
- The jump to 3NT is best used as a long solid minor suit.

 



3NT is usually better than 5/ Board 11 from Monday 1st 

I was asked about this one, in particular South’s bid at (4): -

Dealer:  J86 Table A
South  K107 West North East South(C)
Love all    J763 - - - 1

 KQ3 pass (1) 1NT (2) 2 (3) 4 (4)
pass 5 all pass

 KQ743  N  A1052
 842   W    E  AQJ96 Table B
 - S  Q West North East South(me)
 J8542  976 - - - 1

 9 pass (1) 1NT (2) pass 3NT(5)
 53 all pass
 AK1098542 
 A10

Table A (1) This West hand has good shape but is obviously not good enough to double. Over a 1
opening an infamous Michaels would not be too bad. But over 1 that’s out (it shows 
’s and ’s) and pass is probably the most prudent bid. I would overcall 1, but then I
am me.

(2) 1NT is a much better bid than 2 here.
(3) East has options here. Double is take-out of ’s and I think that either a 2 overcall or

a double are equally good. If you’re interested in what I would actually bid, I too would
overcall 2.

(4) I’m not actually certain what South bid here, but they ended up in 5 going one down
on a  lead. Now I was asked what South should bid here; what did you bid with this
South hand C in this week’s quiz? I think that this South hand is enormous after partner
has bid 1NT and I want (partner) to be in 3NT (at my Table B the bidding was slightly
different). Anyway, if you accept my philosophy that this hand wants to play in 3NT if
possible, what do you do after the  overcall? The answer is to ask partner if he has a 
stop – bid 3.

Table B (5) I was South here and with no interference I simply raised partner to 3NT.

And what happened? 3NT made 12 tricks on a  lead. It would make 3 tricks on a  lead but that
is not the issue. 5 was ‘wrong-sided’ so went one down. There were obviously the usual few spurious
results.

The bottom lines: -
- In my opinion (and many expert’s) it’s best to overcall with a 5 card major. 
- So I would make a (very) pushy 1 overcall with this West hand and I agree with the 2 overcall

(rather than double) with this East hand.
- If you need a stop in the opponent’s suit, cue bid the suit to ask partner.
- Don’t worry about no stop in an unbid suit when opponents have bid – partner may have a stop

there or it may well not be led.



About 4th suit forcing Board 6 from Wednesday 3rd 

I was also asked about this one, in particular East’s bid at (3): -

Dealer:  K652 Table A
East  9853 West North East(D) South
E-W vul    K3 - - 1 pass (1)

 743 1 pass 2 pass
2 (2) pass 3 (3) pass

 103  N  AQ4 4 (4) pass 5 (5) all pass
 AJ72   W    E  -
 AQ987 S  J10652 ‘Expert Table’
 K9  AQJ65 West North East(D) South

 J987 - - 1 pass 
 KQ1064 1 pass 2 pass
 4 2 (2) pass 3NT (3) pass
 1082 4 (6) pass 4 (7) pass

4NT etc. to 6

Table A: (1) At this vulnerability I would be tempted to bid with this South hand - in fact I did overcall
1 at my table and the opponents stopped in 4 after a competitive auction. But that’s
not the issue here.

(2) 4th suit forcing. Asking partner to describe his hand further.
(3) Now this is the issue, what should East bid? What did you bid with this East hand D(a) in

this week’s quiz? Should he show his  stop by bidding NT or should he show his 5th ?
See ‘Expert Table’ for what I think.

(4) I would play 3 as forcing here (after the 4th suit) but perhaps it’s safer for an unfamiliar
partnership to jump.

(5) What did you bid with this East hand D(b) in this week’s quiz. It’s pairs and you have
gone past 3NT. Partner is looking for a  slam. A cue bid of the  void is possible, but a
void in partner’s 1st  bid suit is not usually an asset. You could cue bid the A, but that
would probably confuse him as you have denied a  stop. Since 5 is bound to get a
poor score at pairs I would simply bid 6.

‘Expert’ (3) After partner’s 4th suit enquiry you have to describe your hand. The first
 Table priority is to bid NT with a stop. 2NT is fine, stating that you have a  stop and

leaving the final contract open. I personally would bid 3NT – to tell partner I’m not
interested in his ’s and to confirm excellent  stops.

(6) Setting trumps and looking for slam
(7) A cue bid, showing the A.

The bottom line: 4th suit forcing asks partner to define his hand further. Most players play that showing
a stop for NT is the highest priority and that showing belated support for partner or extra length is a suit of
your own is of lower priority and denies a stop in the 4th suit.



Pass and/or double need to be alerted??

Now as it happened on Wednesday I was at a stationary table next to Chuck’s stationary table. As
one would expect there was always a lot of discussion/dispute at my neighbour’s table and I could not
help but overhear some of it: - One of our visitors had an exchange with Chuck when Chuck asked why
the visitor’s partner’s conventional double (or it may have been a pass) was not alerted. The visitor
explained to Chuck that most passes and doubles need not be alerted. Chuck disagreed. Who’s right?

Both are a bit right. Pass and double are both bids and the most recent ACBL document says that
‘only passes or doubles with highly unusual or unexpected meanings’ need to be alerted.  So we just have
to determine what ‘highly unusual or unexpected’ means. I think that for this club it should be a meaning
that is not standard. For example, suppose you open 1, LHO overcalls 1 and partner doubles;
standard these days is that double is negative (showing ’s) and may or may not be alerted or announced
as such if you wish. If the double was showing the suit bid (i.e. penalties) then that should be alerted at this
club as it is not ‘standard’ these days. (Almost) everything that applies to our club is written up in the
‘Local Rules’ section on our web site and my policy is very simple – alert bids that are not ‘standard’. The
ACBL rules are a total mess, keep changing, and are impossible to logically comprehend.

The ‘local rules’ apply at this club, and if in doubt – alert. I have, however, written up the current
ACBL rules on Alerts which Guy was kind enough to provide me with. If you don’t have access to a
computer and want a copy of either then ask me. 

Dealer:  AJ5 About Balancing – part 1
East  752
Love all    Q9542 Board 14 from Wednesday 3rd

 J8

 86432  N  7 West North(E) East South(G)
 9863   W    E  KQ104 - - 1 pass (1)
 K S  AJ8 pass pass(2) all pass
 763  AQ942

 KQ109  
 AJ
 10763
 K105

(1) What did you bid with this South hand G in this week’s quiz? South does not have quite enough for a
1NT overcall. It’s the wrong shape for a double and has no 5 card suit for an overcall. So South has
to pass and hope that partner understands balancing.

(2) What did you bid with this North hand E in this week’s quiz? If you had length in ’s then pass
would be reasonable, but without  length you should bid. Where are the points? Partner obviously
has quite a few of them but was unable to bid because there was no suitable bid for him. So you have
to ‘protect’ him and with this North hand 1 is clear. In the balancing (or protection) seat you do not
need normal values for your bid. One common theme is ‘borrow an ace from partner’.

And what happened? 1 made +2 for a clear top to E-W. Good results were obtained for N-S when
they competed to 2 or 3.



About Balancing – part 2 Board 29 from Wednesday 3rd 

Dealer:  KQ64
North  A87 West North East South(H)
Love all    J4 - pass 1 pass 

 9643 1NT (1) pass pass (2) 2 (3)
pass pass (4) pass

 1072  N  A
 1062   W    E  Q954
 A107 S  KQ952
 KQ52  A107

 J9853  
 KJ3
 863
 J8

(1) 1NT is the best bid here. 3 tens are worth a point but deduct a point for the flat shape.
(2) I too would pass here. 2 would be a reverse and I would like a little bit more and a better  suit.

2 would generally promise 6 ’s and leaving 1NT is best I think.
(3) What did you bid with this South hand H in this week’s quiz? This is again the balancing (pass-out

seat) and although you have just 6 points it’s best to bid. I was South at this table and I did not want
to sell out to 1NT – so I bid 2.

(4) North should not raise here – he knows that partner is bidding four of his points.

And what happened? 2 made exactly for a near top. At another table West was left to play in 1NT
making +2 for a clear top their way.

The bottom lines: -
- Understand balancing. There have been whole books written on the subject. Basically, when you are

in the pass-out seat and the bidding has died at a rather low level, then partner must have some points.
So bid as if you had an ace more than you actually have. And partner should not raise as he knows
that you have ‘borrowed’ 4 points from his hand.



About Balancing – part 3 Board 28 from Friday 5th  

E-W scored a clear zero on this board, what went wrong?

Dealer:  A653
West  Q4 West(K) North East(F) South
N-S vul    J4 pass 1 dbl (1) 1

 KQ754 pass (2) pass (3) pass (4)

 J8  N  KQ92
 J73   W    E  A10965
 K53 S  A102
 J9832  10

 1074  
 K82
 Q9876
 A6

(1) What did you bid with this East hand F(a) in this week’s quiz? The experts continue to debate
whether to overcall the 5 carder or double when 5-4 or 4-5 in the majors. Either seems OK to me
(but I generally prefer to overcall).

(2) What did you bid with this West hand K in this week’s quiz? Without the bid from South West
would probably have to bid 1NT (6-9) but after South has bid he is now under no obligation to bid
this ill-fitting heap. So my answer to K(b) is pass.

(3) South’s bid generally denies 9+ points (otherwise he would redouble) and his bid at the one level is
considered forcing by most. I would bid 1 but pass worked out quite well …

(4) And what did you bid with this East hand F(b) in this week’s quiz? It has worked out perfectly for
him! His initial double promised a hand playable in ’s, ’s, or ’s. Now that South has bid ’s
everything is absolutely fabulous as a simple 1 bid now promises 5 ’s and 4 ’s (double would
show 4-4 in the majors). You should only pass 1 here with strength in ’s and this pass is simply
pathetic.

And what happened? 1 went one down but scored a complete top for N-S as the bidding went
higher at all the other tables. 2 by E-W would have been a good spot for E-W but all the N-S’s
competed further and all went for 200. 

The bottom line: It is rarely correct to pass out one of a minor in the pass-out seat when you have 9
cards in the majors!



Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: 2. The hand is far too good for a (pre-emptive) Michaels cue bid. And if you play that
Michaels may be either weak or very strong this hand is nowhere near strong enough for
‘very strong’. I do not like to double with this type of shape (you are fixed over a 2
response) and 2 looks clear to me.

Hand B: 2NT (18-19). This is not denying a 4 card major as a 4-4  fit will subsequently be
found. If partner actually has an extremely weak hand (such that he is going to pass 2NT)
which has 4 ’s then he should have bid 1 in preference to 1. Note that 3NT is a
very poor bid here as there may be a 4-4  fit.

Hand C: (a) 3NT. Full speed ahead and dam the torpedoes.
(b) 3. But after an overcall it would be foolhardy to blast 3NT. You need a 

stop from partner – so bid 3 to ask if he has one.
Hand D: (a) 2NT (or 3NT). The first priority after a 4th suit enquiry is to show a stop.

(b) 6. Partner is looking for slam and you have gone past 3NT. It is difficult 
to bid accurately now as you have denied a  stop – so just bid slam.

Hand E: 1. This is call balancing (bidding in the pass-out seat). Partner obviously has points but
was unable to bid (usually because he has a flattish hand – so no 5 card suit – and not
strong enough for 1NT and the wrong shape for double).

Hand F: (a) Double or 1. The experts are continually debating which to do with 9
 cards in the majors and I won’t argue with either.

(b) 1. Now you can show your hand perfectly, 5 ’s and 4 ’s. Pass is a very
poor option - you should only pass in this sort of position when you have  strength.

Hand G: Pass. Wrong shape for a double, cannot overcall with no 5 card suit, not enough points
for 1NT. With these flattish hands that are worth an opener you often find that you have to
pass if RHO opens. That is no problem if partner understands balancing.

Hand H: 2. Don’t pass and sell out so easily. This bidding has died far too low and partner has
points.

Hand J: 3. Partner’s strength showing jump does not deny a 4 card major – so look for a
possible 4-4  fit. Actually, this is not the very best solution – best is to play Checkback
Stayman in this sequence – so 3 asks for majors exactly the same as if it were over a
2NT opening.

Hand K: (a) 1NT – but only just. This is a miserable 6 count but bidding 1NT is better 
than bidding a 3 card suit.

(b) Pass. After RHO has bid you no longer have to. So a bid here would be a
‘free bid’ saying that you have something to say. With a 4 card major and 
about 6-9 points bid the major (you can have a point or two less with a 5 card
major). But a free bid of 1NT here should really be a decent hand (say 8-9 points).


