Mon 30th N-S 1st Jo/Bob 61% 2nd Dinie/Jacques 57%
E-W 1st Albert/Terry 69% 2nd Britta/Gun 56%
Wed 1st N-S 1st Alan/Hans(Hol) 66% 2nd Albert/Tomas 56%
E-W 1st John/Kenneth 64% 2nd Jim(Sco)/Jean-Charles 57%
Fri 3rd N-S 1st Jim(Can)/Tom 70% 2nd Jim(Sco)/Richard(Irl) 59%
E-W 1st Dave/Ruth 58% 2nd Bjorn/Knud 57%
Bidding Quiz Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated
Hand A Hand B With Hand A RHO opens 1♣, what do you bid?
♠ 98 ♠ 42
Q32 ♥ 5 With Hand B
♦ AJ1043 ♦ AK652
♣ A93 ♣ AKQ95
Hand C Hand D With Hand C
it’s love all. Partner opens 1♣ and
what do you bid?
♠ QJ6 ♠ 5
K5 ♥ Q8532 With Hand D
partner opens 1♠ and
♣ J75 ♣ Q6 (b) suppose you pass and partner jumps to 3♠, what now?
Hand E Hand F (a) What do you open with hand A?
(b) Suppose you open 1♣ and partner responds 1♦, then what
♠ AK9 ♠ AK53 do you bid?
♦ AJ ♦ K With Hand F you open 1♣, LHO overcalls 2♦ and this is passed
♣ 10863 ♣ K1086 back to you. What do you do?
Hand G Hand H With Hand G partner opens 1♣, what do you bid?
♠ 65 ♠ 43
♥ KJ87 ♥ AQJ With Hand H you open 1♦ and partner bids 1♥, what do you
♦ Q9643 ♦ KQJ96 bid?
♣ 92 ♣ 874
Hand J Hand K With Hand J you open 1♥ (because you do not play Benji) and
partner responds 1♠, what do you bid now?
♠ 543 ♠ A5
♥ KQJ10874 ♥ 642
♣ - ♣ Q5
Bidding Sequences Quiz All of the following occurred this week
L 2♥ 2NT(overcall) How many points would this 2NT bid typically show?
M 1♠ 2♣(overcall) pass pass 3♠ Normally I would expect opener to re-open with a double, so what is this jump to 3♠? Weak, invitational or strong?
N 1♥ - 1♠ - 3♥ No opposition bidding. Is 3♥ invitational of forcing?
P 1♥ - 1♠ - 4♥ No opposition bidding. Is 4♥ strong or shut-out (fast arrival)?
Q 1♥ - 1♠ - 4♠ No opposition bidding. Is 4♠ strong or shut-out (fast arrival)?
R 1♥ - 2♥ - 2♠ What is 2♠? Is it forcing?
S 1♥ - 2♥ - 3♠ What is 3♠?
Our Web-Site, - compliments are always nice
I am often complimented by members about the
news-sheets, web-site and the general way that the club is run and that
certainly spurs me on. As you probably realize, I spend a great deal of time on
news-sheets, our web-site etc. But the web-site is not only for members, but
for all bridge players world-wide who find it interesting. I received the
following e-mail last week from an unexpected source (I presume the
Subject: enjoy your column...
I've been reading your club news for so long now I thought I'd better send a note to thank-you for making/keeping it public...I love the format you've chosen.
I print them off as lessons from time to time...It's a treat to show some of our novices that even thousands of miles away, the same rules apply.
Keep them coming!!
If I'm ever in that neck of the woods I'm going to stop by...sounds like you have a very colorful club...
Go for the penalty Board 8 from Monday 30th
Dealer: ♠ 10742
Love all ♦ 98 pass pass 1♣ 2♦ (1)
♣ Q84 pass (2) pass 2♠ (3) pass
3NT (4) all pass
♠ QJ6 N ♠ AK53
♥ K5 W E ♥ AJ96
(1) What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? A 1♦ overcall seems obvious to me. South later explained that he ‘wanted to show his points’. I did not enquire further – the hand is nowhere near good enough for a strong or intermediate jump overcall and a weak jump overcall should be a weaker hand with 6 ♦’s.
(2) What did you bid with this West hand C in this week’s quiz? Playing negative doubles pass is best – just sit back, await partner’s automatic re-opening double, and pass that for penalties.
(3) What did you bid with this East hand F in this week’s quiz? Double is automatic, and is even more automatic with a hand short in trumps and with good top cards for defence.
(4) West reluctantly had to pull out the 3NT card and promised to teach partner about negative doubles at the very first occasion.
And what happened? 3NT was not a success on the ♦ lead and when South returned the ♦3 West played him for a six card suit and went one down. E-W (or rather East) had converted their expected top (2♦ doubled) into a clear bottom.
I asked East what he would have bid if West had doubled the 2♦ bid, and he said that he would have bid 3NT. It appears that he has no mechanism for collecting the huge penalty on offer in this sort of situation.
The bottom lines: -
- Playing negative doubles; if you open, LHO overcalls and partner passes then a double is almost automatic. There are very few hands where any other course of action is at all sensible and this hand is a perfect example of one that should most definitely double.
- Re-read the above paragraph over again, and ask me if you do not totally understand. It is a very important integral part of playing negative doubles.
Don’t bid you hand twice, as for 3 times… Board 11 from Monday 30th
Dealer: ♠ K4
Love all ♦ A1052 - - - pass
♣ QJ1052 pass 1♣ 1♥ (1) 1♠
2♥ (2) pass pass 2♠
♠ Q862 N ♠ 95 pass (3) pass 3♥ (4) pass (5)
♥ K3 W E ♥ AJ652 pass 3♠ (6) 4♥ (7) dbl (8)
(1) A totally obvious bid that pretty much states the hand exactly.
(2) Normally this would show 3 card support, but West bid it because (a) it may push the opponents up and (b) he wants a ♥ lead if defending.
(3) Quite happy with the turn of events.
(4) With just 5 ♥’s East has no reason to bid again – the Law. He has excellent defensive values and there is absolutely no reason to bid.
(5) Double is worth considering here.
(6) I would pass here. Perhaps North and East should form a partnership and bid slam on every deal?
(7) Totally absurd. East has earlier passed 2♥ and now bids 4♥. Why not wave a flag around saying ‘please double me’?
(8) South did not need a flag this time round.
(9) Really unhappy with the turn of events.
And what happened? East turned a total top (for defeating 3♠) into a total (-1400) bottom. West was not amused.
The bottom lines: -
Double of a major promises the other major Board 4 from Monday 30th
Dealer: ♠ AKQ1063
Both vul ♦ 104 pass 1♠ dbl (1) pass
♣ 42 2♥ (2) 2♠ 3♣ (3) pass
3♥ (4) pass 4♥ all pass
♠ J98 N ♠ 42
♥ Q10972 W E ♥ 5
And what happened? Just 400 away this time. West was not amused.
The bottom lines: -
Hold-up – part 1 Board 26 from Monday 30th
I don’t often go into the play of the hand, but this is a deal where a basic knowledge of hold-up play would have converted a bottom into a top.
Dealer: ♠ KQ9865
Both vul ♦ KJ6 DUMMY - - 1♣ pass
♣ 5 ¯ 1♦ 1♠ 2♦ pass
3NT all pass
♠ A42 N ♠ J
♥ Q42 W E ♥ AKJ
♠ 1073 but this deal is about the play.
♠ KQ965 South returned the ♠7 in this position, what
♦ KJ6 DUMMY He should duck, the contract is then safe if
♣ - ¯ South continues with yet another ♠ as South
has no more ♠’s when he gets in with his ♣A.
♠ A4 N ♠ -
♥ Q42 W E ♥ AKJ
And what happened? West jumped up with the ♠A immediately and 3NT was three down as South had another ♠ to get to his partner’s suit. Just 300 away this time. 3NT making would have been an outright top. East was not amused.
The bottom lines: -
- It’s up to everybody at the table to ensure that North places the board on the table in the correct orientation. This particular board was placed up-side down and I have the strangest feeling that this East would have made the contract had he been playing the West cards.
Hold-up – part 2 Board 7 from Monday 30th
A slightly more interesting and more subtle hold up occurred on this deal. Fortunately the board was placed correctly and I was West once again: -
Dealer: ♠ 1032
Both vul ♦ 954 DUMMY - - - pass
♣ K62 ¯ 1♣ pass 2♦ (1) pass
2NT (2) pass 3NT all pass
♠ QJ96 N ♠ A5
♥ K103 W E ♥ 642
♠ K874 week’s quiz? I would bid just 1♦ as I prefer a
♥ AJ5 better hand and suit for a strong jump shift.
♦ 7 (2) 12-14
Dealer: ♠ 1032 South lead the ♥J in this position: -
Both vul ♦ 954 DUMMY The rule of 7 says that you subtract the
♣ K62 ¯ number of cards that you/dummy have
in the enemy suit from 7 and duck that many
♠ QJ96 N ♠ A5 times. So in this case declarer/dummy have 6
♥ K10 W E ♥ 64 ♥’s and should duck only once.
♠ K874 more to lead when he gets in and if it’s 4-3
♥ J5 then there usually no problem.
♦ 7 But I was West, and ducked….why?
♣ J8743 I assumed that the ♥’s were probably 4-3 and
that South would probably continue the suit.
The thing is that I win the 3rd round of ♥’s with the ♥K and can then take a perfectly safe finesse of the ♠Q into the South hand to give me a safe 10 tricks even when the finesse fails (6 ♦’s, 1 ♥, 2♠’s and a ♣). Had I failed to hold up then I would have lost 3 ♥ tricks and the ♠K.
And what happened? 3NT was bid by West 7 times, only two players made 10 tricks.
The bottom lines: -
Hold-up – part 3 Board 26 from Wednesday 1st Feb.
Here’s another example of when a hold up was necessary, this time in a suit contract: -
Dealer: ♠ AK76
Both vul ♦ 1043 DUMMY - - 1♦ pass
♣ J106 ¯ 1♥ pass 2♥ (1) pass
4♥ all pass
♠ J92 N ♠ 43
♥ K985 W E ♥ AQJ
♠ Q1085 (1) What did you bid with this East hand H in
♥ 743 this week’s quiz? I much prefer this 2♥ bid
♦ A72 to rebidding the ♦’s or bidding 1NT.
Anyway, onto the play. North led 3 rounds of ♠’s. The 3rd round was ruffed in dummy leaving
this position. Declarer is in a bit of a spot now
♠ 7 as he had to use a trump from dummy and now
♦ 1043 DUMMY Anyway, he tried the ♦K in this position and
♣ J106 ¯ South popped up with the ace.
Declarer then simply won the ♣ return, drew
♠ - N ♠ - trumps and tossed the losing ♣’s on the
♥ K985 W E ♥ AQ established ♦’s (he still had a ♦ as an entry to
♠ Q then the contract would have failed.
♥ 743 Mind you, it’s not totally obvious for South to
♦ A72 duck in situations like this (a trump contract as
When partner doesn’t re-open with a double Board 9 from Monday 30th
N-S missed an easy 4♠ here, what do you think went wrong?
Dealer: ♠ 5
E-W vul ♦ KJ953 - pass pass 1♠
♣ Q6 2♣ pass (1) pass 3♠ (2)
pass pass (3) pass
♠ J10 N ♠ 8764
♥ A97 W E ♥ J1062
And what happened? Virtually everybody reached 4♠, making 10, 11 or 12 tricks.
The bottom lines: -
- You only need 6 points to negative double a one level overcall.
- In this situation (2) one normally doubles (playing negative doubles). Any other bid shows a shapely hand and a jump shows a very strong hand.
- 8 points opposite a very strong hand usually makes game.
Respond up the line - or Walsh? Board 2 from Wednesday 1st Feb.
If partner opens 1♣ and you have a ♦ suit and a ♥ suit, then most people respond ‘up the line’. But there is a treatment (known as Walsh) whereby responder will by-pass a 4-card (or even a 5-card) ♦ suit in order to bid his 4 card major when he has a weak hand that is worth just one bid. Here is an example of when playing Walsh would have worked out very well.
Dealer: ♠ AK9 Table A
Love all ♦ AJ - - - pass
♣ 10863 pass 1♣ (1) pass 1♦ (2)
pass 2NT (3) pass pass (4)
♠ Q843 N ♠ J1072 pass
♥ 543 W E ♥ 109
♠ 65 - - - pass
♥ KJ87 pass 1♣ pass 1♥ (2)
♦ Q9643 pass 4♥ (5) all pass
No need to think (if you have a signalling system) Board 10 from Monday 30th
Dealer: ♠ AKJ976 I don’t recall the bidding, it is not important.
both vul ♦ J East led the ♣AK and then the ♥A upon which
♣ 653 West played the ♥10. E-W had no previous
agreement and so HELD is standard.
♠ 843 N ♠ 102 East then went into a deep think and finally
♥ K102 W E ♥ AJ852 produced a low ♦!
♠ Q5 ♦A, lead the ♠Q, ruff a ♦, draw trumps and use the
♥ 97 ♣Q which East has so kindly set up as an entry to
♦ AK10962 the ♦’s which will run if they split 4-2 or 3-3
♣ Q84 wherever the ♦Q is. Fortunately for East declarer
did not see this line of play and went one down.
And what happened? E-W got an undeserved good score. East was very happy. West was totally unimpressed.
The bottom lines: -
You need some sort of signalling system when partner leads a suit. This is simply very basic bridge. It does not mater if you play HELD (High to Encourage, Low to Discourage), which is ‘standard’, or Upside-down attitude (low to encourage) but you simply have to play one or the other. With a holding like K102 any idiot can make it crystal clear provided that you have agreed a system or else play the standard (HELD). E-W (or rather East) certainly deserved a bottom on this board and it’s really a shame that North messed it up, 4♠ making would have been an absolute top.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
L 2♥ 2NT(overcall) 2NT is much the same as a 1NT overcall over a 1level opening, so about 15-18 (with stop(s) of course.
M 1♠ 2♣(overcall) pass pass 3♠ 3♠ here is very strong.
N 1♥ - 1♠ - 3♥ 3♥ is invitational. Typically around 17 points.
P 1♥ - 1♠ - 4♥ 4♥ is very strong. It’s the equivalent of about 19 points counting distribution with a self-sufficient ♥ suit. It most certainly is not fast arrival.
Q 1♥ - 1♠ - 4♠ 4♠ is very strong. It’s the equivalent of about 19 points and denies a singleton/void if you play splinters.
R 1♥ - 2♥ - 2♠ 2♠ is a game try and is 100% forcing. It may or may not be a 4 card ♠ suit.
Hand A: 1♦, of course. But one player chose 2♦ on Monday; whether he considered it as a weak jump overcall or too strong for a simple 1♦ I have no idea. Either is totally ridiculous and 1♦ is the only remotely sensible bid. A simple overcall is about 7-16 points and a 5 card suit. A weak jump overcall is similar to a weak opening two - 6 cards and about 6-9 points (but can be a bit more if partner is a passed hand). An intermediate jump overcall is around 15 points and a strong overcall even more. But most people play weak jump overcalls these days and any other type is alertable.
Hand B: 2♦ (with a view to bidding ♣’s later if you get a chance). The UNT (2NT) and bid again is a reasonable alternative but I would like a better hand. Double is a very poor bid with a singleton ♥.
Hand C: Pass (assuming you play negative doubles) and then pass partner’s automatic re-opening double.
Hand D: (a) Double. Negative promising 6+ points and 4+ ♥’s.
(b) 4♠. Partner has a very big hand with ♠’s and you have 8 more points than you have promised to date.
Hand E: (a) 1♣. This is a good 18 count and too strong for 1NT.
(b) 2NT. Showing a balanced 18-19. This does not deny a 4 card major in the modern style as it is rarely passed and if there is a 4-4 major suit fit it will subsequently will come to light.
Hand F: Double. Virtually automatic when playing negative doubles and absolutely correct with this hand. If you did not choose double then have a word with me and I’ll explain negative doubles to you.
Hand G: 1♦, of course, up-the-line. But actually there is a recognized alternative treatment called Walsh (which I highly recommend to experienced pairs) whereby a 4 (or 5) card ♦ suit is by-passed in preference to bid a major with a hand that is worth just one bid.
Hand H: 2♦ or 2♥? Either is acceptable but I much prefer 2♥. These are great ♥’s, it may be a Moysian fit but then you can ruff in the short trump hand. I do not like 1NT with these two weak black suits when I have such excellent support for partner.
Hand J: 4♥. Partner’s 1♠ bid has improved this hand and I think it’s now worth game. I guess an invitational 3♥ is OK but a bit timid for me. 4♥ here shows a very big hand and partner is invited to bid on, it is most definitely not fast arrival or shut-out.
Hand K: 1♦. In the modern style this hand/♦ suit is not good enough for a strong jump shift to 2♦.
The answers to the Bidding Sequences Quiz are on the previous page.