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Winner Runner-up
 

Mon 13th N-S 1st Clive/Dave 67% 2nd Chris/Paul Scully 64%
  E-W 1st G. & L. Karlsson 59% 2nd Lars/Rude 57%
Wed 15th  N-S 1st Barbara&Bev Estes 61% 2nd Clive/Hans 59%
  E-W 1st Albert/Dave 61% 2nd G. & L. Karlsson 59%
Fri    17th  N-S 1st Benny/Olle 60% 2nd Clive/Dave 56%
  E-W 1st Trudy/Jennat 56% 2nd Bob P / Bob Short 54%

Bidding Quiz      Standard American is assumed unless otherwise stated

Hand A Hand B With Hand A you open 1♠ and partner bids 4♠. What do you do?

♠ AK983 ♠ J32
♥ AK4 ♥ Q10832 With Hand B partner opens 1♣ and RHO overcalls 1♥, what do 
♦ K ♦ A1094 you bid?
♣ J1098 ♣ 7

Hand C Hand D With Hand C RHO opens 1♣, LHO bids 1♥, RHO bids 2♣, 
LHO bids 2♥ which is passed round to you. What do you do?

♠ KQ104 ♠ 1084
♥ J84 ♥ J75 With Hand D partner opens 1♠, RHO bids 2♦ and you bid 2♠.
♦ QJ4 ♦ A86 LHO bids 3♦ and partner bids 3♠, what do you do?
♣ 962 ♣ A972

Hand E Hand F With Hand E you open 1♠, LHO bids 2♦, partner bids 2♠ and 
RHO bids 3♦. What do you do?

♠ KQ973 ♠ J953
♥ AK64 ♥ A52 With Hand F LHO opens 1♣, RHO bids 1♥, LHO bids 2♣,
♦ 107 ♦ A765 RHO bids 2♥ which is passed round to partner who bids 2♠.
♣ Q4 ♣ 107 RHO bids 3♣, what do you do?

With these 4 hands Hand G Hand H Hand J Hand K
partner has opened 1♠, 
what do you bid? ♠ Q765 ♠ Q7654 ♠ Q765 ♠ K765

♥ J3 ♥ J32 ♥ AJ3 ♥ J32
♦ A2 ♦ 2 ♦ 2 ♦ A
♣ A7432 ♣ KQ95 ♣ A7432 ♣ A7432

These 4 hands all concern Hand L Hand M Hand N Hand P
opener’s action when
playing negative doubles. ♠ AKQ97 ♠ AKQ9 ♠ J32 ♠ KQ54
In every case you open 1♣, ♥ 7 ♥ A7 ♥ KQ103 ♥ 72
LHO overcalls 1♥ and this ♦ 7 ♦ 7 ♦ Q4 ♦ Q
is passed round to you. ♣ AKQ953 ♣ AQ9532 ♣ AQ76 ♣ K96532
What do you do?



Bidding Sequences Quiz – A Negative Double summary

For all of these sequences we assume that you play negative doubles

Q 1♣   1♥ pass What does the pass mean?

R 1♣   1♥ pass pass What does the double mean?
dbl

S 1♣   1♥ pass pass What does 1♠ mean?
1♠

T 1♣   1♥ pass pass What does 2♠ mean?
2♠

U 1♣   1♥ pass pass What sort of hand does opener have for his pass here?
pass

V 1♣   1♥ 1♠ What does 1♠ mean?

W 1♣   1♥ dbl What does dbl mean?

The direct jump to game (4♥/♠) is weak  

I was asked about this deal. I don’t know which day it was. I was given the exact hand but I have
made a minor change of interchanging two cards to make the point very clear.

♠ AK983  N ♠ Q765 West(A) North East(G) South
♥ AK4   W    E ♥ J3
♦ K S ♦ A2 1♠ pass 4♠ (1) pass
♣ J1098 ♣ A7432 pass (2) pass

(1) What did you bid with this East hand G in this week’s quiz? It’s ‘only’ 11 points, but it’s worth much
more when partner bids ♠’s. Those two 1st round controls are huge and the shape is great in support of
♠’s. The hand is easily worth a raise to 4♠. But the ‘problem’ is that a direct jump to 4♠ is a
pre-emptive bid (such as Hand H in this week’s quiz) There are a few solutions. Best is to play some
sort of strong raise (such as Jacoby 2NT or Swiss). The more basic method is to bid another suit (so 2
♣ here) and then jump to 4♠ - this is called a Delayed Game Raise and shows a sound raise to 4♠.

(2) What did you bid with this West hand A in this week’s quiz? If you accept that the direct raise to
game is weak, than this hand should certainly pass.

And what happened?
An easy (75%) slam was missed. East asked West why he did not ask for aces. I’m 100%+ behind

West’s pass.
The bottom lines: -

- The sequences 1♥ - 4♥ and 1♠ - 4♠ are weak pre-emptive raises.
- With a sound raise to 4♥/♠ then bid a minor and then jump to 4♥/♠ if you do not have any other

methods (such as Jacoby 2NT).
- With a sound raise to 4♥/♠ and a shortage (singleton/void) then splinter.



Another ‘Negative Double’ penalty missed Board 2 from Monday 13th 

Dealer: ♠ 108654
East ♥ 5 West(B) North East(M) South
N-S vul ♦ QJ86 - - 1♣ 1♥

♣ 1064 pass (1) pass 2♠ (2) pass
2NT pass 3♣ pass

♠ J32  N ♠ AKQ9 3♠ pass 4♠ all pass
♥ Q10832   W    E ♥ A7
♦ A1094 S ♦ 7
♣ 7 ♣ AQ9532

♠ 7
♥ KJ964
♦ K532
♣ KJ8

(1) What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? With these great hearts sitting over a
vulnerable overcaller it is surely best to go for the penalty. So pass and await partner’s ‘automatic’
re-opening double.

(2) What did you bid with this East hand M in this week’s quiz? Double is virtually always correct in these
sort of situations and with these great top cards there is absolutely no reason to do anything else. Now I
believe that East’s ‘excuse’ was something like ‘I did not know what sort of hand you had’.  Precisely!
And that’s why you should double – and partner will tell you. If partner has a penalty hand then he’ll
pass for penalties. If partner has a weak hand then he will bid something and you can then bid on
strongly to show a very powerful hand.
With this actual East hand you should double, and if partner makes any sort of bid (he usually bids 1♠
in this sort of situation) then he does not have the penalty hand and you can then bid 2♠ to show this
very strong hand.

And what happened?
4♠ went one down. The computer says that E-W make 8 tricks in ♥’s, so that is 50 away instead of

a cool top for 1♥ doubled minus two vul (500). Note that even if 4♠ makes then 420 is less than 500.
The bottom lines: -

- The situations where you should not re-open with a double (playing negative doubles) are few and far
between. But I’ll cover them on the next page.

- Look for the penalty at favourable vulnerability.



When you do not re-open with a double.

I was asked under what circumstances opener should not re-open with the ‘automatic’ re-opening
double when playing negative doubles.

Now as I have frequently said, every pair plays negative double differently. I won’t go into my
preferred treatment again, but I will answer the question.

When you play negative doubles; you open, LHO overcalls and this is passed round to you, it is
usually correct to ‘automatically’ re-open with a double. But there are hands when you should not. The
hand types where you should not re-open with a double are: -

(a) Hand L When you have a very powerful hand with game virtually in your own hand 
♠ AKQ97 and where you may well make slam opposite very little. With Hand L I 
♥ 7 would jump to 2♠. I guess that some would have opened 2♣, but I prefer the 
♦ 7 natural slow approach with two-suiters.
♣ AKQ953

(b) Hand N When you have a decent opener but have so much in the opponent’s suit that 
♠ J32 you know that partner cannot possibly be sitting with a penalty hand. I would 
♥ KQ103 pass with Hand N.
♦ Q4
♣ AJ76

(c) Hand P When you have a weak distributional hand with little defensive values. I 
♠ KQ54 think that 1♠ is reasonable with Hand P although I would not argue with 
♥ 72 double. Some might argue that they would not have opened, but it does
♦ Q conform to the rule of 20 and a 1♣ opening would be a popular choice these 
♣ K96532 days.



Just pushin’ ‘em up – part 1 Board 15 from Friday 17th 

E-W got clobbered when they got too high here, who was at fault?

Dealer: ♠ 62
South ♥ KQ1097 West(C) North East(F) South
N-S vuL ♦ 10932 - - - 1♣

♣ KQ pass 1♥ pass 2♣
pass 2♥ pass pass

♠ KQ104  N ♠ J953 2♠ (1) 3♣ 3♠ (2) pass
♥ J84   W    E ♥ A52 pass pass dbl all pass
♦ QJ4 S ♦ A765
♣ 962 ♣ 107

♠ A87
♥ 63
♦ K8
♣ AJ8543

(1) What did you bid with this West hand C in this week’s quiz? I think 2♠ is fine, this is a miserable flat
hand but South has denied ♠’s and North has shown 5+ ♥’s. Thus partner probably has ♠’s and as the
opponent’s have stopped bidding he also has points. This is called balancing – you are ‘bidding
partner’s hand’ in the pass-out seat.

(2) What did you bid with this East hand F in this week’s quiz? You should pass. Partner has ‘pushed
them up’ from a great 2♥ contract into an inferior 3♣ contract, he has already bid your hand for you.
Bidding here simply converts a top into a bottom. It is the opposite of balancing – it is called “hanging
one’s partner”.

And what happened?
3♠ doubled went for 300 for a near bottom. 2♥ would have scored 140 or 170 for N-S, 3♣ would

have scored 130 for N-S. it’s only 10 or 40 points difference but important at pairs scoring.
The bottom lines: -

- When partner bids in the pass-out seat, he is bidding your hand for you. It is rarely correct to raise
him.



Just pushin’ ‘em up – part 2 Board 1 from Friday 17th 

N-S got too high here, who is at fault?

Dealer: ♠ KQ973
North ♥ AK64 West North(E) East South(D)
Love all ♦ 107 - 1♠ 2♦ 2♠

♣ Q4 3♦ (1) 3♠ (2) pass 4♠ (3)
all pass

♠ J52  N ♠ A6
♥ 1082   W    E ♥ Q93
♦ Q52 S ♦ KJ943
♣ J1063 ♣ K85

♠ 1084
♥ J75
♦ A86
♣ A972

(1) A gentle nudge
(2) What did you bid with this North hand E in this week’s quiz? With no more than a minimal opener I

would pass. 3♠ is just competing and no too bad I suppose(?). Any other bid (3♥) would be a game
try and this hand is too weak.

(3) What did you bid with this South hand D in this week’s quiz? South has a maximum, but that is not the
point. North’s 3♠ is not an invitation, it is simply competing. If North wanted to invite game then any
bid other than 3♠ would be a game invitation.

And what happened?
There are just 9 tricks there. Nobody else bid game and so this should have been an outright bottom

for N-S. However, this is Pattaya bridge club and N-S got an undeserved total top when a mis-defence
let 4♠ through.

The bottom lines: -
- In competitive situations like this simply bidding one’s suit is just competing, any other bid is a game

try. If there is no room (say E-W were bidding ♥’s and not ♦’s) then double at (1) would be the game
try.



Bidding Quiz Answers

Hand A: Pass. Partner’s direct jump to 4♠ is a weak pre-emptive bid.
Hand B: Pass. And await partner’s ‘automatic re-opening double and pass that. If partner has just a minimal

opening then you will get a decent penalty. If partner has a good hand (so that you have game) then
you will get a huge penalty. 1NT is a very poor 2nd choice.

Hand C: 2♠. But only if your partner understands balancing.
Hand D: Pass. You are max but partner is not inviting you to bid on, he is simply competing.
Hand E: I would pass. I guess that some might bid 3♠ (just competing). Any other bid (3♥) shows a

much stronger hand.
Hand F: Pass. Partner has scraped up a bid in the pass-out seat and is bidding your hand for you and

likely has just 4 ♠’s. You will get a better score for defending 3♣ than for defending 2♥ had
partner passed. To bid (3♠ here) simply destroys his good work as you are bound to get
doubled.

Hand G: 2♣ followed by a jump to 4♠. This shows a sound raise to 4♠. If you play Swiss or Jacoby
2NT then that is obviously best.

Hand H: 4♠. A pre-emptive raise.
Hand J: 4♦. A splinter, showing ♦ shortage and agreeing ♠’s.
Hand K: Same as hand G. It is best not to splinter with a singleton ace as partner will devalue a king in

the suit.
Hand L: 2♠. Showing an enormous two-suiter that is worth a 2♣ opener in the ‘modern’ American

style. You probably won’t get enough from a penalty.
Hand M: Double. No reason not to go for the penalty if that’s what partner has in mind (very likely –

where are the ♥’s?).
Hand N: Pass. You have nothing special and partner cannot have a penalty hand with you holding this

♥ holding. A rare situation.
Hand P: 1♠. Showing a weak distributional hand with little defense for ♥’s. Dbl is also fine.

Bidding Sequence Answers 

For all of these sequences we assume that you play negative doubles

Q 1♣   1♥ pass What does the pass mean? Responder either has a hand that cannot make
a noise over 1♥ (so presumably very weak) or he is sitting with a ♥ stack
and waiting for opener’s double.

R 1♣   1♥ pass pass What does the double mean? That he has 13 cards.
dbl

S 1♣   1♥ pass pass What does 1♠ mean? A weak distributional two-suiter.
1♠

T 1♣   1♥ pass pass What does 2♠ mean? A strong distributional two-suiter.
2♠

U 1♣   1♥ pass pass What sort of hand does opener have for his pass here?
Pass An indifferent hand with good ♥’s.

V 1♣   1♥ 1♠ What does 1♠ mean? Natural and forcing. Some play it as showing 5+ ♠’s,
depending upon you answer to W below.

W 1♣   1♥ dbl What does dbl mean? It is negative. I play it as simply showing exactly 4 ♠
’s. Others play it as showing ♠’s and ♦’s.


