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My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880

24th Aug 2008
It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.
My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com
My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com
Mon 18th    
1st
Jeremy & Sally
63%

2nd 
Bob & Robbie
56%
Wed 20th     
1st
Lewis & Terry
64%

2nd 
Alan & Brian
63%
Fri 22nd      
1st
Bengt & Pedro
58%

2nd
George & Terry
57%
Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A it’s favourable vulnerability. Partner opens 2♥, 
and RHO passes, what do you do?

♠ J107
♠ KJ974


♥ 932
♥ Q1092
 

♦ 732
♦ 8
With Hand B partner opens 1NT, what do you do?
♣ A832
♣ 1073


Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C you open 1NT and partner bids 2♣, what do 
you bid?
♠ AQ
♠ K962


♥ AJ863
♥ Q6

With Hand D RHO opens 2♥ and this is passed round to partner
♦ Q93
♦ Q9865
who bids 2NT, what do you do?
♣ A42
♣ J10
Bidding Sequence Quiz
E
2♥
pass
pass
2NT

pass
3♣
What is 3♣?
F
1NT
pass
2♣
pass

3♥

What is 3♥? Is it sound and sensible?
The Club Championships
We now have five contenders qualifying for the Gold Cup competition. There are a lot of very good / expert players around now (Lewis, Paul Q, Jeremy, Hans V, Janne, to name but a few) so I think that there will be a few challengers to Dave emerging soon, there’s a busy four months coming up and more players means higher % winning scores.
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1821.3 Dave Cutler

1796.0 Sally Watson

1779.1 Ivy Schlageter
1766.2 Bob Pelletier
1707.4 Jan v Koss
	661.8 Dave Cutler

661.1 Sally Watson

661.1 Jeremy Watson

656.9 Hans Vikman 

642.0 Lars Gustafsson
641.3 Ivy Schlageter
634.3 Derek & Gerard 

626.5 Bob Pelletier
615.7 Janne Roos

613.5 Terje Lie
…

	342.3 Dave Cutler

341.9 Hans Vikman
341.1 Jeremy Watson

341.1 Sally Watson

336.9 Lars Gustafsson
335.3 Ivy Schlageter
328.5 Derek & Gerard

326.3 Tomas Wikman

320.5 Bob Pelletier 
320.2 Terje Lie
...


Open 1NT with a singleton?

South hand 25 from Friday 22nd   

♠ Q864
Two people opened this hand 1NT on Friday, this is against the club rules.

♥ KJ93
They both got bad scores and so no adjustments were necessary.

♦ A
If you feel that we should allow this, then let Dave or me know and if
♣ AQ107

there are enough people wanting to change the rule, we can have a vote.

It’s Stayman



Board 25 from Friday 22nd  

Dealer:
♠ 843

Table A
North
♥ AJ10854

West

North
East(D)
South(A)
E-W vul
♦ K

-


2♥

pass

pass
(1)

♣ Q76

2NT
(2)
pass

3♣
(3)
pass
pass
(4)
pass



♠ AQ5
N
♠ K962


♥ K7
W
E
♥ Q6

Table B
♦ AJ104
S
♦ Q9865
West


North
East(D)
South(A)
♣ K954

♣ J10

-

2♥

pass

pass
(1)

♠ J107


 
2NT

(2)
pass

3NT
(3)
all pass
♥ 932

 

♦ 732

 
♣ A832

Table A:
(1)
What did you bid with this South hand A in this week’s quiz? A very good basic rule is always raise partner’s pre-empt with three card support.
(2) And West has a fairly clear 2NT bid, had South bid 3♥ then 3NT would not be so clear (or wise).
(3) What did you bid with this East hand D in this week’s quiz? It’s surely best to look for a 4-4 ♠ fit and 3♣ here is Stayman.
(4) Apparently West (and also the North-South pair at the table) thought that 3♣ was to play. I believe that South said that West cannot have a 4-card ♠ suit as otherwise he would have doubled. Total nonsense. A No-Trump overcall does not deny a 4-card major and most sensible pairs play systems on after a NoTrump overcall, so 3♣ is most certainly Stayman. And it would also be very silly/illogical for East to remove partner’s 2NT to 3♣ as then the opening ♥ lead goes right through partner’s stopper.
Table B:
(1)
This South also failed to raise – with disastrous consequences.
(3)
Presumably this East had a sound reason for not bidding Stayman? 
And what happened? 3♣ went -1 for a clear bottom to E-W at Table A. At Table B North led the ♥J which was won with dummy’s ♥Q. Declarer took the losing ♦ finesse but North had no idea that the ♥’s were now good - because partner failed to support at (1). A ♣ switch would have worked but the unfortunate ♠ switch meant that declarer made his contract for the E-W top. 
The bottom lines: - 

· Always raise partner’s pre-empt with three card support.
· When partner overcalls in No-trumps, then systems (Stayman and transfers) are generally on unless you specifically agree otherwise.
Stayman Super-Accepts

Board 13 from Friday 22nd  

Everybody missed an easy 4♥+1 with these N-S cards. It seems that Stayman super-accepts are not well known?

Dealer:
♠ KJ974

Table A
North
♥ Q1092

West

North(B)
East

South(C)
both vul
♦ 8

-


pass

pass

1NT
(1)

♣ 1073

pass


2♣
(2)
pass

2♥
(3)
pass

pass
(4)
pass


♠ 853
N
♠ 1062


♥ 7
W
E
♥ K54

‘Expert’ Table
♦ AKJ65
S
♦ 10742
West


North(B)
East

South(C)
♣ KQJ5

♣ 986

-

pass

pass

1NT
(1)

♠ AQ


 
pass



2♣
(2)
pass

3♥
(3)
♥ AJ863

 
pass


4♥
(5)
all pass
♦ Q93

 
♣ A42


Table A:
(1)
This is a typical hand for advocating opening 1NT with a 5-card major. Open 1♥ and you have no way to show the strength and balanced nature of the hand.
(2) What did you bid with this North hand B in this week’s quiz? This is a typical Garbage Stayman bid; if partner responds 2♦ then you bid 2♠ to play.
(3) What did you bid with this South hand C in this week’s quiz? 2♥ is pretty obvious unless you have delved into the theory of Garbage Stayman a little deeper (or have read about it).
(4) North could try 3♥, but it’s really a gamble.
‘Expert’
(1)
Again the clear 1NT opening.
 Table:
(3)
Out experts know all about Stayman Super-accepts of course. This 3♥ bid is totally sound even playing Garbage Stayman – you are guaranteed a ♥ fit or else partner has invitational + values and you want to be in a game contract.

(5)
South has shown a maximum with 5 ♥’s and North has an easy raise to game. 
And what happened? Everybody was in 2♥ or 3♥ and everybody made 11 tricks. 

The bottom lines: - 

· Most bidding books say that when playing Garbage Stayman (2♣ bidder promises no points) then only the responses 2♦, 2♥ or 2♠ are allowed. This is superficial however, and super-accepts are logical and conform with the Law of Total Tricks. It is all explained in chapter 2.7 of “The Definitive Guide to NoTrump Bidding, Stayman and Transfers” – read it!
-
See the website: conventions > Section 2 > Stayman Super Accepts.
Dave’s Column
Here is this week’s Dave input involving the play of the hand. 
North
South
You are South, declarer in 4♥, West leads the ♣Q, plan the play.
♠ 864
♠ Q93
♥ J5
♥ AKQ1098
♦ QJ65
♦ A
♣ A832
♣ K74

Dave’s Column answer


Board 7 from Wednesday 20th  
Dealer:
♠ 864



West

North
East

South

South
♥ J5

-


-

-

1♥
both vul
♦ QJ65

pass


1NT

pass

4♥

♣ A832


all pass
♠ KJ10
N
♠ A752

♥ 732
W
E
♥ 64

♦ K104
S
♦ 98732

♣ QJ109

♣ 65

 

♠ Q93



♥ AKQ1098


♦ A
 



♣ K74
West leads the ♣Q, plan the play.
You have three ♠ losers unless East has both the ♠A and ♠K, plus a ♣ loser. Do not despair. You have a hidden treasure in the ♦ suit. 
Win the first trick with the ♣K, cash your red aces, enter dummy with a trump and run the ♦Q, discarding a ♠ if the ♦Q is not covered.
Assuming the ♦Q loses to West’s ♦K, the opponents can cash only two ♠ tricks and the ♦J becomes a parking place for the ♣ loser.

You have exchanged a ♣ and a ♠ loser for a ♦ loser. What a bargain.

And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 4♥= three times, 4♥-1 and 2♥+1.
Dave’s 2nd Column
Here is Dave’s second input involving the play of the hand. 
West
East
You are West, declarer in 4♠, North leads the ♦Q, plan the play.

♠ KJ87
♠ A1096

♥ AQ10
♥ K983

♦ 32
♦ A9

♣ A986
♣ 542

Dave’s 2nd Column answer


Board 8 from Wednesday 20th  
Dealer:
♠ 32



West

North
East

South

West
♥ J42

1♣


pass

1♥

pass
Love all
♦ QJ106

1♠


pass

3♠

pass

♣ KJ73


4♠

all pass

♠ KJ87
N
♠ A1096

♥ AQ10
W
E
♥ K983

♦ 32
S
♦ A9

♣ A986

♣ 542

 

♠ Q54



♥ 765


♦ K8754
 



♣ Q10
North leads the ♦Q, plan the play.
You have a possible ♠ loser, a ♦ loser and two ♣ losers. On the plus side you have a possible extra winner in a 4th ♥.

You could go all out and take the ♠ finesse one way or the other, if you guess right you make the contract and if you guess wrong you are down.
But there is another play, a play that combines chances (the magic words) in ♥’s and ♠’s. Play the ♠A,K, if the ♠Q drops draw the last trump and try to discard a ♦ on the 4th ♥. If the ♥’s split 3-3 you make 11 tricks.

However, if the ♠Q does not drop, you can always fall back on the ♥ suit breaking 3-3 or ♥J doubleton or 4 ♥’s with the player holding ♠Qxx. In any of these cases you still make the contract by getting rid of your ♦ before the holder of the ♠Q can ruff a ♥ and cash a ♦.
And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 4♠+2, 4♠+1 twice, 4♠= and 4♠-1. 
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
3♥, always raise partner’s pre-empt with three trumps.
Hand B: 
2♣, (Garbage) Stayman.
Hand C: 
3♥, that’s if you know all about Stayman super-accepts.
Hand D: 
3♣, Stayman – look for a 4-4 ♠ fit. If there is none then bid 3NT or pass 3♦ if you are in a pessimistic mood. 
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers
E
2♥
pass
pass
2NT

pass
3♣
3♣ is Stayman, obviously.
F
1NT
pass
2♣
pass
You would have to agree this, but I play that 3♥ here shows
3♥

a good 16-17 with a 5-card ♥ suit. And yes, it is sound.
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