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Mon 9th  

1st
Jeremy & Sally
63%
2nd
Bob P & Robbie
61%

Wed 11th  
1st
Hans V & Janne
62%

2nd 
Paul Q & Terry Q
59%

Fri  13th    
1st
Hans V & Paul Q
63%
2nd 
Dave C & Ivy
58%
Bidding Quiz
     Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.

Hand A
Hand B
With Hand A RHO opens 1♥, what do you bid?
♠ AQ1085
♠ AJ7


♥ 108
♥ QJ95
With Hand B RHO opens 1♠, what do you bid?

♦ AKQ9
♦ J1065

♣ Q10
♣ A7


 


Hand C
Hand D
With Hand C RHO opens 1♠, what do you bid?
♠ KQ32
♠ KQ43 
♥ K752
♥ 986
With Hand D RHO opens 1♥ and you pass. LHO bids 2♥ and 
♦ AQ63
♦ 87
partner bids 2♠. RHO passes, what do you bid?
♣ 7
♣ AJ103

Hand E
Hand F
With Hand E RHO opens 3♠, what do you bid?

♠ 4
♠ AKQJ10872
♥ A2
♥ AKQJ
♦ AKQJ9
♦ -
What do you open with Hand D and what is you plan in the
♣ KJ532
♣ K
bidding?

Bidding Sequence Quiz
G
3♠
3NT
 

is this 3NT overcall here unusual (minors) or something else?


Current club championship standings
	
	Gold Cup = Best 30
	Silver Plate = Best 10
	Bronze Medal = Best 5

	1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10
	1880.2 Janne Roos 

1864.0 Hans Vikman 

1860.7 Paul Quodomine
1714.6 Johan Bratsberg
	669.2 Janne Roos 
655.4Hans Vikman 
640.1 Paul Quodomine 

628.3 Sally Watson
626.8 Tomas Wikman

619.8 Lars Broman
615.9 Jean Wissing

610.7 Johan Bratsburg
610.0 Derek & Gerard
609.5 Duplessy & Coutlet


	344.6 Janne Roos 

337.6 Hans Vikman
329.6 Tomas Wikman
325.4 Sally Watson
323.4 Paul Quodomine 
322.9 Lars Broman

322.7 Derek & Gerard 

320.3 Jean Wissing 

319.5 Duplessy & Coutlet

316.0 Sigurd Zahl




Silly ‘take-out’ doubles – part 1





Board 3 from Monday 9th August 

Dealer:
♠ KJ764



West(A)
North
East

South

South
♥ 4

-


-

-

1♥
E-W vul
♦ 1073

dbl
(1)
1NT
(2)
pass

2♥

♣ K743


2♠
(3)
pass
(4)
pass

3♥
(5)

all pass

♠ AQ1085
N
♠ 3


♥ 108
W
E
♥ K752


♦ AKQ9
S
♦ J84
 

♣ Q10


♣ J9865


♠ 92

 


♥ AQJ963

 

♦ 652







♣ A2





(1) What did you bid with this West hand A in this week’s quiz? This West chose a take-out double. Now it is generally accepted by the vast majority of experienced bridge players that a take-out double should be playable in the three unbid suits or else too strong for a simple overcall. I agree with this bid as it probably is a bit too good for a simple 1♠ overcall.

(2) Here’s where we start with the silly stuff. North asked what the double was and if it promised ♠’s. I was East and said that it was simply a take-out double. North felt that he should not bid his ♠ suit and chose 1NT, I would simply show my hand by bidding 1♠.

(3) Showing a good hand with ♠’s.

(4) North later explained that he did not double because he ‘knew’ partner would bid 3♥.

(5) I guess that maybe North was right? I can see no justification for South to bid this hand three times – he has already shown an opener with six ♥’s.


And what happened? 3♥ went -2 for the only + score to E-W, 2♠ goes down of course.

Silly ‘take-out’ doubles – part 2





Board 22 from Monday 9th August 

Dealer:
♠ 1053



West

North
East

South(B)

East
♥ 103

-


-

1♠

dbl
(1)
E-W vul
♦ A104

pass


2♣

2♥

2NT
(2)

♣ KJ852


all pass

♠ 9
N
♠ KQ8642
(1)
What did you bid with this South hand B(a) in 
♥ 762
W
E
♥ AK84

this week’s quiz? I don’t like this double at all, 
♦ K983
S
♦ Q2
 
the concept of doubling to show an opening

♣ Q9643


♣ 10

hand went out in the stone age and I would pass

♠ AJ7

 
(2)
What did you bid with this South hand B(b) in

♥ QJ95

 
this week’s quiz? Obviously you should not be
♦ J1065





in this predicament, but pass is clear. This 2NT

♣ A7



bid shows a hand too good for a 1NT overcall in most people’s style.

And what happened? South got his asked-for bottom when 2NT went one down. 2♠-1 by East was the popular contract. The bottom line: South said that he was not strong enough to overcall 1NT (but bidding 2NT over partner’s minimal response was acceptable?). 

Silly ‘take-out’ doubles – part 3





Board 22 from Monday 9th August 

Dealer:
♠ AJ974



West

North
East(C)
South

North
♥ QJ

-


1♠

dbl
(1)
1NT
E-W vul
♦ 872

all pass

♣ KQ4


all pass

♠ 106
N
♠ KQ32
(1)
What did you bid with this East hand C in 
♥ 9643
W
E
♥ K752

this week’s quiz? I don’t like this double at 
♦ J104
S
♦ AQ63
 
all, and would simply pass. 1NT is a pushy

♣ AJ83


♣ 7

alternative if you have no green cards.

♠ 85

 

♥ A108

 

♦ K95







♣ 109652



 

And what happened? West led a ♣, quite reasonable if East really had a take-out double, and South made the contract for a joint top.

Silly ‘take-out’ doubles – Summary

This article was prompted by North’s dubious question in part one. But, he does have a point! Everybody is entitled to know any deviations from ‘standard’ in the opponents’ agreed bidding. Apparently Robbie (part 2) and Sally (part 3) play that a double simply shows opening values. THI S IS NOT ‘STANDARD’. Of course you can play whatever system you like, but any agreements that deviates from what is ‘standard’ need to be alerted. So, if you adhere to this policy of making a take-out double simply to show points, then this NEEDS TO BE ALERTED by your partner, this new rule was agreed to by the club’s senior players.

What is generally played as a take-out double is on the web-site in the beginner’s bidding section. Basically it should be either:

a) Short (0,1 or 2) in the suit opened and playable (3+ cards) in the three unbid suits.

b) A single suited hand too good for a simple overcall

c) A NoTrump hand too good for a 1NT overcall.

If your partner frequently deviates from this then the double needs to be alerted. Take out doubles in the pass-out seat may be any shape and need not be alerted. Also take-out doubles of pre-empts may be any shape as there is not that much bidding space for alternative bidding.

Dave’s Column

Here is Dave’s 1st problem, on the play of the hand.
North
South

Bidding
♠ KQ43
♠ AJ1098

West

North

East

South
♥ 986
♥ 73


1♥



pass

2♥

2♠
♦ 87
♦ KJ
pass


4♠

all pass
♣ AJ103
♣ Q984

You are South, declarer in 4♠. West leads a top ♥ and East encourages. West continues with the ♥4 to East’s ♥Q. East switches to the ♦2. What is the ♥ position and which ♦ do you play?

Dave’s Column Answer

Board 16 from Wednesday 11th August 
Dealer:
♠ KQ43



Book Bidding
West
♥ 986

West

North(D)
East

South
E-W vul
♦ 87

1♥


pass

2♥

2♠

♣ AJ103


pass

4♠
(1)
all pass


♠ 52
N
♠ 76
(1)
What did you bid with this North hand D in this
♥ AKJ42
W
E
♥ Q105
 
week’s quiz? South must have a hand at least as 
♦ Q1093
S
♦ A6542
 
good as he has for a 2♠ bid in the Sandwich seat 
♣ K2


♣ 765

and 4♠ is fine. A pessimistic 3♥ (USB) is the

♠ AJ1098

 

alternative and 3♠ shows a much weaker hand.
♥ 73



 
♦ KJ


West leads a top ♥ and East encourages. West continues
♣ Q984

with the ♥4 to East’s ♥Q. East switches to the ♦2.
What is the ♥ position and which ♦ do you play?
If West has both ♦ honours you have no chance, so you must assume that East has one of the honours. Try to envision a layout of the opponents’ cards that will justify their bidding or non-bidding. Your first thought is that West must have the ♦A for his 1♥ opening in first seat. That is a reasonable place to start. Can you read the ♥ position with any confidence? Yes, you can. West surely has the ♥AK, probably also with the ♥J (East did not play it) and East had the ♥Q. What about the ♣K? , which is clearly important to you? There is no guarantee involved, but you have to assume that West has the ♣K for you to have any chance of making the contract. Once you credit West with ♣K, can he also hold the ♦A?
The answer is ‘almost certainly not’. If West has the ♦A, he has a nice aces and kings and decent trumps (AKJxx ) 15 point hand that would either have opened 1NT or would surely compete to 3♥, rather than risk selling out to 2♠. And that would leave East with nothing more than the ♥Q and ♦Q, a hand that would not normally merit a raise to 2♥.
So play the ♦K with confidence that your detective work has paid off.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Nobody bid game: 3♠*=, 3♠+1 four times.
Terry comment. I don’t really like the inference and comment “or compete to 3♥”. With aces and kings, good defensive cards, I see no reason for West to compete above the LAW.

Dave’s 2nd Column

Here is Dave’s 2nd problem, again on declarer play.
West
East


Book Bidding
♠ 85
♠ 103


West

North
East

South
♥ 7652
♥ AK3



-


1♠

2♦

2♠
♦ K107
♦ AJ9864

3♦
3♠

5♦

all pass

♣ K643
♣ A8

 

You are East, declarer in 5♦. South leads a low ♠ to North who takes the first two tricks with the ♠Q and ♠A. he shifts to the ♥J which you win. Plan the play.


Note from the book. If you can get this one, you are wasting your time at your regular job. There’s a national team somewhere saving a place just for you.



Dave’s 2nd Column Answer
Board 17 from Wednesday 11th August 
Dealer:
♠ AKQ764



Book Bidding
North
♥ J10

West

North
East

South
Love all
♦ Q32

-


1♠

2♦

2♠

♣ J9


3♦

3♠

5♦

all pass
♠ 85
N
♠ 103


♥ 7652
W
E
♥ AK3


♦ K107
S
♦ AJ9864

 

♣ K643


♣ A8



♠ J92



 
♥ Q984

South leads a low ♠ to North who takes the first two
♦ 5


tricks with the ♠Q and ♠A. He shifts to the ♥J which
♣ Q10752

you win. Plan the play.



The trick to making difficult contracts is to think big. Very big. Here, for example, you have to think huge! Even if the ♦’s come in you still have a ♥ loser, or do you?
If South has at least four ♥’s and five ♣’s he can be squeezed – if you get the ♦’s right. Well, if South has four ♥’s and 5 ♣’s, along with 3 ♠’s, he doesn’t have room for many ♦’s, does he? Cross to the ♦K and run the ♦10. Assuming the finesse works, run all of the ♦’s. As you play your last ♦, this is the forced 5-card end position:
♠ -
N
♠ -
You lead the ♦6, if South throws a ♥ then you
♥ 76
W
E
♥ K3
get two ♥ tricks. If South throws a ♣ then you
♦ -
S
♦ 6
get three ♣ tricks. Well done!
 

♣ K64


♣ A8



♠ -



 
♥ Q9


♦ -




♣ Q107

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3♠=, 4♦=, 4♦-1 and 5♦-2 twice.
The 4NT opening
♠ AKQJ10872
What did you open with Hand F in this week’s quiz?
♥ AKQJ

Of course you can use the 4NT for anything you like, but one common

♦ -

treatment is to ask for specific aces. See just how great the bid is with

♣ J
this hand! If partner has no ace you want to be in 6♠, if he has the ♦A you still want to be in 6♠, if he has the ♣A you want be in 7♠ and if he has both aces you want to be in 7NT.
The responses to this 4NT opening are:
5♣ 
= no ace

5♦/♥/♠/6♣ 
= that ace
5NT
= two aces.

The only bad thing about this treatment is that it never comes up!

Dave put these two deals, from an Australian simultaneous, when he was sitting out on the first round.
Dave’s 3rd Column


Board 18 from Wednesday 11th August 
Dealer:
♠ 864



Recommended Bidding
East
♥ J982

West

North
East

South
N-S vul
♦ 6

-


-

3♦

4♥

♣ A10986


6♦

6♥

pass

pass
7♦

dbl
(1)
all pass
♠ 10972
N
♠ J3


♥ -

W
E
♥ 106


♦ 109732
S
♦ AKJ854

 

♣ KQ54


♣ J32
(1)
Note, this is a good example of a forcing


♠ AKQ5



pass situation (the way that Paul Q and I,  
♥ AKQ7543


and I believe most, play it). To pass here
♦ Q





would show 1st round ♦ control and so 
♣ 7



this double denies 1st round control.
Bidding: The 3♦ opening gives South a nasty problem. 4♥ is certainly a sensible choice, even if a bit conservative. West correctly up the anti with a sacrificial bid of 6♦. As North, what do you do? You might shut your eyes and advance 6♥. You are set for a good score because 6♥ makes but West might save in 7♦ which goes down four if South gets a ♣ ruff.
Play: Against a ♥ contract the defence must lead a ♦ if they want to take a trick. 



And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 6♥= twice, 4♥+2 and 7♦*-3 twice.

Dave’s 4th Column


Board 19 from Wednesday 11th August 
Dealer:
♠ K



Recommended Bidding
South
♥ A97

West

North
East

South
E-W vul
♦ KJ62

-


-

-

1♦

♣ KJ1085


pass

2♣

pass

2NT
pass

3♦

pass

3♥


♠ A1082
N
♠ QJ974

pass

4♥

all pass
♥ 1082
W
E
♥ K65


♦ 104
S
♦ 975

 

♣ Q643


♣ 92

♠ 653



 
♥ QJ43


♦ AQ83






♣ A7





Bidding: 3NT by North fails on the obvious ♠ lead but 3NT by South will surely succeed – West can hardly lead the ♠A. On the bidding given 3♦ is forcing, with invitational strength North would bid 3♦ directly. South bids 3♥ to indicate a ♠ problem so North opts for the 4-3 ♥ fit.
Play: West leads a trump, ducked to the ♥K and the ♥A wins the return. Declarer must now set up ♣’s. Even running a ♣ to West’s ♣Q is OK. Now declarer must get his 10 tricks.

And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? 3NT= three times, 3NT-1 and 3NT-2.
Janne’s Column


Alerts 
I’ve been playing at this club for about four years and I have seen many pairs alert properly and some never alert. As bridge is a very honest game and some people perhaps don’t know when to alert I’ll give you some advice; actually it is very simple. Every time that you get information that is not obvious to the opponents you must alert. Every conventional bid must be alerted if it’s not standard in the club. For example, 1NT - pass - 2♣ or 1NT - pass - 2♦ do not need alerting if they are the standard Stayman/transfer resp.
But 1♥ - pass - 2♠ must be alerted. Some play this jump shift as weak in ♠’s, some strong and myself showing short ♠’s and ♥ support. You know what it means but the opponents don’t. There are so many more situations but try to remember that when you get information that the opponents maybe don’t please alert. It’s never wrong to do it.
How high should you alert? It has changed during the years but it is not so important. I suggest up to 4♦. If partner gives a wrong explanation of the alert you are not allowed to correct him but inform the opponents before the opening lead if your side is declaring; if your side is defending then you can say nothing until the hand is over.





Angelic play

Now for something completely different. Linda has come back from England and you never know what can happen when you meet her. This is what happened on Wednesday. She was playing with Gus, the always friendly Italian. Gus opened 1♠ and I passed and Linda bid 2♥. My partner doubled, Gus passed and I bid 3♣. Two passes followed and Gus bid 3♥ and all passed. Here are the cards:





Board 4 from Wednesday 11th August
Dealer:
♠ K54





West
♥ J875

Bidding
both vul
♦ 105

West


North
East

South

♣ J1075


(Gus)
(me-Janne)
(Linda)
(Hans)


1♠

pass

2♥

dbl
♠ AJ1032
N
♠ 8

pass

3♣

pass

pass
♥ A43
W
E
♥ KQ1062

3♥

all pass
♦ Q82
S
♦ K763
 

♣ Q9


♣ 632

♠ Q976

 
♥ 9

 

♦ AJ94





♣ AK84



Hans led the ♣AK and then a ♠. Linda won with the ♠A and ruffed a ♠. Then she ruffed a ♣ and played the ♦Q which Hans won, returning a ♠. Linda Ruffed and played the ♦K and one more. Hans won and played his last ♦. Linda ruffed with the ♥A and I had to under-ruff. Then Linda led a ♠ and ruffed with the ♥10 and then she had nine tricks, losing just two ♦’s and two ♣’s. I made none of my trumps. Linda never played trumps and that was perfect. Very well done Linda. 

<end of Janne’s Column>

Pre-emptive bids.

♠ 10xxxx
We have recently introduced the ‘Australian rule of 15’ for pre-emptive
♥ 10xxx
 
bids, and this applies to both openings and overcalls. Add up the lengths
♦ xx
of the two longest suits and the HCPs and if the total is 15 or more then 
♣ Ax
a pre-empt is acceptable. I am willing to stretch this to 14 for 2-level pre-

empts but three level (or 2NT if you play that) need to be 15. Janne informed me that one player overcalled with a Michaels with this hand. I would never dream of doing this (with zero points in the two suits) but it is only 13 for the rule of 15 and so not allowed. The only exception is the weak jump shift which may be extremely weak. 
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A:
dbl (with the intention of bidding 2♠ next go to show a hand too good for a 1♠ overcall. This is one of the exceptions where a take-out double is not playable in the other three suits. I guess that you could bid 1♠ if that is your style. The bid I would not make is 2♥, Michaels, and then bid ♦’s to show a strong hand with ♠’s and ♦’s – I would like a more shapely hand for this approach.
Hand B:
pass. This hand is unsuitable for a take-out double because it has ♠ length and is not playable in the other three suits. 
Hand C:
pass, with 1NT a not-too-bad alternative. But what is too bad is to double, with length and strength in ♠’s and a singleton ♣ this is totally against the generally accepted meaning of a take-out double. 
Hand D:
4♠, with an Unassuming cue bid of 3♥ as a more pessimistic alternative. Partner has overcalled at the two level in the ‘Sandwich seat’ and must surely have a very good hand.
Hand E:
dbl or 4NT, this is up to partnership understanding. If you play 4NT as a strong two suited take-out then that’s the bid. If you play the sequence 
3♠ dbl p 4♥ p 5♣ as strong with both minors then double. To bid a minor directly may miss a possible fit in the other minor.
Hand F:
4NT. It hardly ever comes up, but a 4NT opening is best played as asking for specific aces. Responses are 5♣ = no ace, 5♦/♥/♠/6♣ = that ace, 5NT = two aces. This is the easiest way to bid this hand as you need to know about specific aces.
Bidding Sequence Quiz Answer
G
3♠
3NT
 
The 3NT overcall here is natural (with a ♠ stop). 
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