|to news-sheet main page|
|to Pattaya Bridge home page|
|to bridge book reviews||to bridge conventions||to No Trump bidding|
|to bridge CD's and computer games and software|
Mon 10th N-S 1st Jeremy &
E-W 1st Janne & Hans V 61% 2nd Alan & Bam Bam 59%
Wed 12th N-S 1st Janne &
E-W 1st Alan & Jean W 60% 2nd Derek & Gerard 59%
Fri 14th N-S 1st Lewis &
E-W 1st Dave & Royd 60% 2nd
Bidding Quiz Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.
♠ AJ2 ♠ A63
♥ Q987 ♥ 985 With hand B RHO opens 1♣ and you choose to overcall 1♦.
♦ K32 ♦ AQ1082 Partner bids 1NT, what do you bid?
♠ AKJ3 ♠ Q94
KJ65 ♥ 74 With Hand D LHO
opens 1♣ and partner bids 1♠.
♦ KJ6 ♦ Q10765 doubles (promising ♥’s), what do you bid?
♠ A42 ♠ KQ10
♥ KJ7 ♥ QJ6 With hand F you would bid 2NT if partner opened 1♦.
♣ A63 ♣ QJ62 overcalled 1♦, so what do you bid in this situation? Still 2NT?
The Club Championships
Gold Cup = Best 30
Silver Plate = Best 10
Bronze Medal = Best 5
1875.8 Hans Vikman
1843.8 Dave Cutler
1834.0 Lewis Berg
1816.0 Janne Roos
1799.2 Bob Pelletier
1782.5 Ivy Schlageter
1727.5 Jan v Koss
672.7 Hans Vikman
661.8 Dave Cutler
661.1 Jeremy Watson
653.4 Lewis Berg
646.0 Lars Gustafsson
642.7 Ivy Schlageter
639.2 Janne Roos
636.1 Bob Pelletier
347.2 Hans Vikman
342.3 Dave Cutler
341.1 Jeremy Watson
337.1 Lars Gustafsson
335.8 Lewis Berg
335.3 Ivy Schlageter
328.5 Derek & Gerard
326.2 Bob Pelletier
Deduct a Point for the terrible 4333 type shape
♠ A42 What did you open with this Hand E in this week’s Quiz? You should deduct
♥ KJ7 a point for the totally flat 4333 type shape. So:
♣ A63 (b) open 1NT if you play a weak NT.
Where did this hand come from? The Christmas
2007 edition 86 of the
There are three bidding panelists, here’s what they had to say (playing a weak NoTrump):
Julian Pottage: “… at pairs (what we play at the Pattaya bridge club) I would open a weak 1NT.”
Bernard Magee: “1NT.
With a completely flat hand (4333) I generally take one point off and without a
ten or nine in sight there is no reason not to. Hence I would downgrade the
hand to 14 points and open a weak 1NT. Those who count losing t
So, pretty emphatic eh? – especially by Bernard Magee who simply repeats what Freddie North has previously stated in numerous lectures and magazines.
A note for Jean-Francois Fohrer. He made this blog entry “You have implied that Top English players would deduct ONE point for NT purposes when asked to show your evidences this is not at what they say… - NOBODY has ever mentioned ONE point”.
So here is just some more evidence that I am correct and your statement blatantly untrue, OK Vincit?? North (in other publications) and Magee are both VERY emphatic about deducting ONE point, Pottage did so by implication.
Deny a 4-card major? – part 1 Board 6 from Monday 3rd
Very ocassionally it works out OK to deny a 4 card major (and miss a 4-4 or better fit):
Dealer: ♠ AJ2 Table A
East ♥ Q987 West North(A) East South
E-W vul ♦ K32 - - pass 1NT (1)
♣ 753 pass 3NT (2) pass pass (3)
♠ Q843 N ♠ 10965
♥ 105 W E ♥ 64 Table B
♣ 98 ♣ KQJ102 - - - 1♥ (1)
♠ K7 pass 3♥ pass 4♥
♥ AKJ32 all pass
Table B: (1) Most South’s chose 1♥ and then it’s impossible not to bid 4♥
And what happened? N-S at Table A have just one
♣ stop, but East has no entry provided South
ducks the first round of ♣’s if one is led.
What actually happened was that West led the ♠3 won by dummy’s ♠J. A ♥ to the ♥A
and a ♦ to the ♦K
held and declarer then claimed his 10 t
The bottom lines: -
- Sometimes it works to deny a 4-card major, but usually only when you have the points outside the suit.
Deny a 4-card major? – part 2 Board 12 from Monday 3rd
But when you have oodles of points it’s another story...
Dealer: ♠ Q65 West North East South
West ♥ Q7 pass 1NT (1) pass 4♣ (2)
N-S vul ♦ A84 pass 4♠ pass 6NT (3)
♣ AK652 all pass
♠ 107 N ♠ 9842 (1) It’s minimum with no tens or intermediates,
♥ A1093 W E ♥ 842 but the 5-card suit makes it easily worth 1NT
♣ 109 ♣ J743 he bid Gerber first in case partner had a
♠ AKJ3 good 14 count, there could just be two aces
♥ KJ65 missing.
♦ KJ6 But the point is, what did you bid with this South
♣ Q8 hand C in this week’s quiz? Did you try Stayman
first to look for a 4-4 major suit fit or just launch into slam mode? Most did
Stayman, there are so many points that a possible 4-4 fit is unlikely to
generate a t
And what happened? North turned out to have the worst hand possible for South. But the slam is still about 65%; needing either ♣’s 3-3 or the ♦ finesse. Luckily the ♦ finesse worked. Five out of nine bid 6NT making. Two stopped in 4NT and one bid 7NT.
The bottom lines: -
- With a combined 33+ and relatively flat hands it’s usually best to play in NoTrumps, especially at pairs scoring. With a 4-4 ♥ or ♠ fit there may be a better contract in 6♥/♠, but most of the time 6NT will also make and you will get a terrible score at pairs if both make.
- At teams scoring it’s different of course, and a good (with honours) 4-4 fit is usually safer.
Dave’s Column Here is Dave’s input involving the play of the hand.
North South You are North, declarer in 6♦ and East leads the ♣Q.
♠ - ♠ AK86 Plan the play.
♥ AQ1098 ♥ J
♦ A107532 ♦ Q986
♣ 103 ♣ AK65
Dave’s Column answer Board 25 from Wednesday 12th
Dealer: ♠ - West North East South
North ♥ AQ1098 - 1♥ pass 1♠
E-W vul ♦ A107532 pass 2♦ pass 3♣
♣ 103 pass 3♦ pass 6♦
♠ Q109543 N ♠ J72
♥ 7432 W E ♥ K65 East leads the ♣Q, plan the play,
♣ 742 ♣ QJ98
West East You are East, declarer in 6♥, and South leads a low ♣.
♣ AJ9 ♣ 4
Dave’s 2nd Column answer Board 26 from Wednesday 12th
Dealer: ♠ Q108632 West North East South
North ♥ 53 - - 1♥ pass
Love all ♦ 2 2NT (1) pass 3♣ (2) pass
♣ KQ76 4NT (3) pass 5♣ (4) pass
6♥ all pass
♣ AJ9 ♣ 4 (3) RKCB
♠ 75 (4) 3 (or 0) keycards
♦ Q765 South leads a ♣ which dummy wins. West plays the ♥9 and
♣ 108532 finesses, South winning with the ♥K. South leads another ♣ which you ruff, how should declarer continue?
In an average game, East ruffs the second ♣, draws trumps, and tries to guess the ♦Q. But an expert is in no hurry to take a two-way finesse. He draws trumps and ruffs dummy’s last ♣ and next cashes the top ♠’s and ruffs a ♠.
Declarer is hoping for information – and gets it when South discards on the third ♠. Declarer then knows that North began with six ♠’s and two trumps. The ♣ suit is an unknown factor, but assuming that they split 5-4 then North can have no more than one ♦. So declarer cashes the ♦A and runs the ♦J.
- If you have a two-way finesse, try to get a (partial) count of the hand and go with the odds.
When partner opens we all know the general basics – 1NT or a single raise = 6-9; jump raise or 2NT with +-11 etc. But when partner overcalls at the one level these responses are different. Remember, a 1-level overcall promises only about 8 points. Here are two examples from Wednesday.
Responding to partner’s overcall – part 1 Board 11 from Wednesday 12th
Dealer: ♠ 842 Table A
South ♥ 1043 West North East South
Love all ♦ KJ9 - - - pass (1)
♣ 10875 1♦ pass 2NT (2) pass
3NT (3) all pass
♠ A63 N ♠ KQ10
♥ 985 W E ♥ QJ6 Table B
♣ A9 ♣ QJ62 - - - 1♣ (1)
♠ J975 1♦ (4) pass 1NT (5) pass
♥ AK72 pass (6) pass
Table B: (1) This South decided to open. It’s only 19 for the rule of 20 but with two 4-card majors and all of the points in the long suits I would not argue if you decided to open.
(4) A robust overcall which is fine, the alternative is 1NT.
(5) What did you bid with this East hand F in this week’s quiz? 1NT here is correct, it shows 10-12 opposite a 1-level overcall.
(6) What did you bid with this West hand B in this week’s quiz? If you understand that partner’s 1NT is 10-12 then obviously you should bid 3NT.
And what happened? 5 out of 9 E-W’s bid to 3NT but four went -1 (because of the unlucky ♦ position). So 1NT at table B making +1 scored a lucky near top.
The bottom lines: -
- 1NT by advancer opposite a 1-level overcall is 10-12 (with a stop).
All of this, plus other No Trump bids and No Trump responses when partner overcalls at the one or two level, are explained on the website:
General Bridge Topics > Responding with No trumps to partner's overcall.
Responding to partner’s overcall – part 2 Board 20 from Wednesday 12th
Dealer: ♠ KJ103 Table A
West ♥ KQ6 West(D) North East South
Both vul ♦ A42 pass 1♣ 1♠
♣ J98 3♠ (2) 3NT (3) 4♠ (4) pass
♠ Q94 N ♠ A8752
♥ 74 W E ♥ AJ9 Table B
KQ7 ♣ 652 pass 1♣ 1♠
♠ 6 2♠ (2) all pass
Table B: (2) This is the correct answer to question D.
And what happened? 4♠* went -2 for a joint bottom to E-W. 2♠ making by E-W was the popular result.
The bottom lines: -
- When partner overcalls say 1♠, then with 6-9/10 and three card support raise to 2♠. Both 3♠ and 4♠ are pre-emptive and with a good raise to 3♠ or more cue bid the opponent’s suit, this allows the contract to stay at the two level should partner have a minimal 8 point or so overcall.
All of this is explained on the website:
Conventions > The Unassuming Cue Bid.
Bidding Quiz Answers
Hand A: 2♣, Stayman. I would like much better ♣’s before I decide not to look for a ♥ fit.
Hand C: 6NT (or 4♣ if partner is in the habit of opening 1NT with a good 14 count). With so many points I would not look for a 4-4 major suit fit at pairs scoring.
Hand E: (a) 1♦, it’s not good enough for a strong 1NT
(b) 1NT – deduct a point for the 4333 type shape.