Our website is www.pattayabridge.com Club News Sheet No. 335

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com

My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880 12th April 2009

It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com

Mon 6th 1st Hans V & Janne 68% 2nd Paul Q & Terry Q 57%

Wed 8th 1st Hans V & Paul Q 62% 2nd Rolf & Gell 61%

Fri 10th 1st Hans V & Janne 64% 2nd Ian W & Ivy 56%


bridge news sheets to news-sheet main page Bridge conventions No Trump bidding book
Pattaya Bridge Club to Pattaya Bridge home page
recommended bridge books reviewed to bridge book reviews to bridge conventions to No Trump bidding
Bridge CD's and bridge games to bridge CD's and computer games and software  


Bidding Quiz Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.


Hand A Hand B With Hand A RHO opens 1, what do you bid?

K10752 4

Q107 KQJ9653 With Hand B its unfavourable vulnerability. RHO opens 1NT,

KJ102 - what do you bid?

8 QJ864


Hand C Hand D What do you open with Hand C?

A862 982 With Hand D partner opens 1 and you bid 1. Partner raises

764 A9875 to 2 and this is passed round to LHO who doubles. RHO bids

KJ4 A72 3 (natural), what do you do?

AQJ 82

Ron Klinger web site

Bidding Sequence Quiz


E 1 pass 2 pass (a) What is 2?

2 dbl (b) What is the dbl, showing spades or take-out for the minors?




The main Soncran day for Pattaya is Sunday 19th, so the Bridge club is unaffected and will be open throughout Soncran week.

I am aware that the cards are getting a bit grubby, I will be getting new ones when Phil and Bob P return, they are both bringing some packs.

May I remind people to keep their cards on the table after play until the score has been agreed, this is especially important if you are playing the French pair.

Would people please remember to put the travelers back in the boards after the last round. There was a scoring problem on Monday when the French pair (who else?) simply left the traveler lying on the table to be swept away with the rubbish.



Congratulations to Hans Vickman, for achieving the triple (three wins in one week) for a 2nd time.




Gold Cup = Best 30

Silver Plate = Best 10

Bronze Medal = Best 5



Current standings


643.2 Janne Roos

638.9 Hans Vikman

625.5 Paul Quodomine

612.8 Lars Broman

610.1 Sally Watson

609.9 Bob Short

607.6 Per Andersson

595.8 Jean Wissing

588.6 Derek & Gerard

586.4 Johan Bratsberg

331.8 Janne Roos

329.0 Hans Vikman

321.7 Bob Short

321.0 Per Andersson

320.9 Paul Quodomine

317.5 Sally Watson

316.1 Lars Broman

312.8 Dave Hurst

311.4 Eddie Richart

310.1 Jean Wissing



Obey the Law Board 16 from Wednesday 8th


Dealer: QJ103

West J1064 West North East South(D)

E-W vul K5 pass (1) 1 (2) pass (3) 1

AJ5 pass 2 pass pass

dbl (4) pass 3 (5) pass (6)

AK64 N 75 pass pass (7)

32 W E KQ

Q8643 S J109

Q6 K109743





(1)   This hand complies with the rule of 20, and with most of the points in the long suits I would not argue with a 1 opening.

(2)   Playing a short

(3)   2 here would be conventional (Michaels) even over a possible short .

(4)   Nice bid, letting the opponents play peacefully in 2 is not an option. This double asks partner to choose between s and s.

(5)   However, with excellent s, East chose to bid them, fine.

(6)   What did you bid with this South hand D in this weeks quiz? This South passed because he only had 8 points. Points smoints points are irrelevant in competitive situations like this, what is important is the total number of trumps. South can assume a 9 card fit and should compete with 3.

(7)   This pass is correct it is South who has the extra trump and who should have bid.


And what happened? Four N-Ss played in 2 or 3 and all scored 140. There was a spurious score of 3-1 by North and 3 made exactly for the top to E-W.

The bottom lines: -

-         Obey the Law in a competitive auction, compete to the level of the known trump fit.

An interesting Multi-Landy Auction Board 2 from Wednesday 8th



Dealer: 10532 Table A

East - West North East South(B)

N-S vul KQJ986 - - 1NT 2 (1)

1072 pass (2) pass (3) pass


A9876 N KQJ Table B

1042 W E A87 West North East South(B)

A532 S 1074 - - 1NT 3 (1)

9 AK53 3 (4) pass 4 all pass





Table A: (1) What did you bid with this South hand B in this weeks quiz? There are a number of options and this South chose to bid a Multi-Landy 2, showing a single major suited hand.

(2)   West does not know for sure that South has s, so pass is best now as she can bid s next go assuming North relays with 2 and South passes.

(3)   But with a near solid suit a void in partners presumed major, North quite reasonably decided to pass.

Table B: (1) As I said, there are options for question B. 2 (showing s and a minor) being another. But with this powerful two suiter and 7 card suit I personally would like to bid something more. The 3 bid chosen here is fine and 4 is also worth considering.

(4) West decided to bid his s.


And what happened? Four E-Ws bid to 4: +1, =, and -2 twice. Another pair went over the top with 6-2 and 2 drifted 4 off for 400 and a decent score to E-W.

The bottom lines: -

-         A decent hand with 1705 shape is worth more that a conventional two-level bid over a 1NT opening (especially if it may get passed!).


Daves Column Here is Daves first input about the play of the hand.


North South You are North, declarer in 4 after East had overcalled in s.

AK 5432 East leads the K which West overtakes with the A and

AKJ107 Q98 returns the 7 to Easts Q. North ruffs the 10 which comes

Q843 A92next as West discards the 6. Declarer draws three rounds of

J5 432 trumps, West discarding the 9 on the third. Declarer then leads the A,K upon which East follows with the 10 and Q.

How should declarer play the s?

Daves Column answer Board 12 from Wednesday 8th

Dealer: AK West North East South

West AKJ107 pass 1 2 2

N-S vul Q843 pass 4 all pass



J9876 N Q10

43 W E 652

10765S KJ

A7 KQ10986






- After the start given on the previous page,

10 the situation is as shown.

Q843 How should North play the s?


You know that East started with 6 s, 3 s

J N - and at least 2 s. The auction tells you that

- W E - East is more likely to have the K and if so,

10765S KJ it must be doubleton or singleton.

- 986 So you play a low towards dummys A,

But when the J appears from East you duck!

54 The A will drop the K on the next round and

- the marked finesse will pick up Wests

A92 protected 10. Note that South should

- unblock the 9 on the first round of the suit. That is not important here as North still has a trump entry, but it is good technique.


And what happened at the Pattaya bridge club? Not surprisingly nobody found this line of play and everybody in 4 went one or two down. Other results were 3-1 and 2+2.



Daves 2nd Column Here is Daves 2nd input concerning the play of the hand.


West East You are East, declarer in 4 after South has shown a

AQ 9843 suit. South leads the 5 and dummys Q holds.

K93 AJ652 Plan the play.

8653 A

9642 KQJ


Daves 2nd Column answer Board 10 from Wednesday 8th

Dealer: J6 Book Auction

East 84 West North East South(A)

both vul Q974 - - 1 1 (1)

A10753 2 pass 3 pass

4 all pass

AQ N 9843

K93 W E AJ652 Table B

8653 S A West North East South(A)

9642 KQJ - - 1 pass (1)

K10752 2 pass 2 (2) dbl (3)

Q1074 (4) 5 (5) dbl all pass




Book (1) What did you bid with this South hand A in this weeks quiz? This hand is easily

Auction: good enough for a 1 overcall.

Table B: (1) For some reason this South passed maybe he (incorrectly) assumed that a 1-level overcall shows an opening hand? 2 (Michaels, showing s and a minor) is an alternative but I prefer the simple 1 overcall.

(2)   A help-suit game try.

(3)   South now decided to show his s with a double.

(4)   With a maximum and the AQ, West has an easy raise to game.

(5)   Unfortunately for N-S, North thought that the double was for take-out and so bid his best minor.


Anyway, assume you are East in 4 as in the book auction. What do you do after the Q holds the first trick? Declarer should plan to score 2 s, 5 s, 1 and 2 s. The best way to achieve that, however, is not with the normal play in s - K and a to the J. That will produce 5 tricks if North started with Qxx but runs considerable risk.

You do not need the Q onside. It is sufficient if the trumps are 3-2. So after the Q, cash the K and play a to the A. Then to the A, a to the A and ruff a with dummys last trump. If North did start with Qxx he will over-ruff but you are still alright he is over-ruffing with a winner which does not reduce your own length (so you still make 5 tricks). Either way, you then knock out the A and have 10 tricks.


And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 5* went -4 for 1100 and the top to N-S and this was closely followed by a silly 2*+1 which scored 870. Other scores were 2+1, 2+2, 3+1 and 4-1.



Correct signalling Board 5 from Wednesday 8th


It is not good enough to simply say that a low card is encouraging there is a difference between the two and another low card, and which low card you play may be important.


Dealer: A862

North 764 West North(C) East South

N-S vul KJ4 - 1 (1) 1 dbl (2)

AQJ pass 2 (3) pass 4

all pass

J3 N 74

J32 W E AKQ98 (1) What did you open with this North hand C in

A75 S 986 this weeks quiz? This flat 4333 with no

109764 852 intermediates is not worth 1NT and 1 is best.

KQ1095 (2) This South chose to negative double, I

105 would simply bid 1.

Q1032 (3) North, with a known fit, decided to jump,

K3 1 is better but leads to the same contract.


Anyway, on to the play. You are West and play low to encourage. Partner leads the A, which card do you play?

You should play the 3. Partner will take this as encouraging and will continue with the K, which is what you want him to do as otherwise a from dummy may be discarded on a . Partner continues with the K and now you play the 2. This now shows discouragement in the suit and asks partner to shift - you do not want a 3rd as this will give declarer a ruff and discard if partner has 6 s. Note what happens if you think that the 2 and 3 are equals and play the 2 on the first round. When you play the 3 next partner will take this as a doubleton with the ability to over-ruff dummy. If partner had 6 s this would present declarer with a ruff and discard. As it happens on this deal declarer has 3 s and so it actually makes no difference, but that is not the point.


And what happened? 4= four times, 3+1 twice.

The bottom lines: -

-         The 2 and 3 are NOT equals as far as signaling is concerned. It did not matter on this deal but its easy to construct hands where it is very important.

-         The two is a very important card in defensive play, especially if you play low to encourage. Playing the two when partner leads against a suit contract is unambiguous, you definitely like the suit for the two must either be low to encourage or a singleton. The lead of a two against a NoTrump contract normally guarantees exactly four cards in the suit. Other cards, like the three and the four may be misleading, the two never is. What a great card to have in your hand. Maybe you should add on a point for the possession of all four twos? (only joking).

-         Note that if you play low to encourage, are defending a suit contract and partner leads the ace of a suit in which you have a low doubleton (and wish to ruff the third round) then you MUST play the lowest of your two cards. The ? 3 followed by the ? 2 does NOT show a doubleton if you play low to encourage on partner's lead.

Bidding Quiz Answers


Hand A: 1. This hand easily has the values for a 1-level overcall. 2 (Michaels cue bid showing s and a minor) is a less attractive alternative.

Hand B: 3. I would bid 4 at favorable vulnerability. I feel that this hand is too good for a conventional two-level bid showing a long major, and also too good for a conventional 2 showing s and a minor.

Hand C: 1. Knock off a point for the totally flat 4333 shape, and with no intermediates and a horrible holding this hand is nowhere near worth 1NT.

Hand D: 3, obey the Law. You presumably have a 9-card fit and so you should compete to the 9-trick level.



Bidding Sequence Quiz


E 1 pass 2 pass (a) 2 is a help-suit game try that could well be 4-cards

2 dbl (b) The dbl is presumably showing s. 2NT would be for the minors but then he should have bid that last go.



 Ron Klinger web site