Our website is www.pattayabridge.com†††††††††††††††††††††††† ††† Club News Sheet Ė No. 336

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880††††††††††††† †††† 19th April 2009

It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com

Mon 13th ††††††††††† 1stJeremy & Sally†††††††††††††† 63%†††††† 2nd †† Hans V & Janne†††††††††††††† 55%

Wed 15th †††††††††††† 1stJean & Terry Q††††††††††††† 61%†††††† 2nd †† Janne & Per-Ake†††††††††††† 60%

Fri 17th ††††††††††† 1stKjell & Odd†††††††††††††††††† 67%†††††† 2nd †† Dave C & Terry Q†††††††††† 64%



bridge news sheets to news-sheet main page Bridge conventions No Trump bidding book
Pattaya Bridge Club to Pattaya Bridge home page
recommended bridge books reviewed to bridge book reviews to bridge conventions to No Trump bidding
Bridge CD's and bridge games to bridge CD's and computer games and software  


Bidding Quiz†††††††††††††† †††† Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.


Hand A†††††††††††††† Hand B†††††††††††† With Hand A nobody is vulnerable and RHO opens 1, what

do you bid?

-†††††††††††††††††††††† J8

J74†††††††††††††††††† A2††††††††††††††††† With Hand B partner opens 1 (4+ ís) and RHO doubles,

64†††††††††††††††††††† Q7642††††††††††† what do you bid?

KQJ109643†††† K1062††††



Bidding Sequence Quiz


C†††† 2††††† 2NT†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 2 is weak, what is 2NT Ė natural or for the minors.

D†††† 1††††† dbl†††††† 2NT††††††††††††††(a) what is 2NT

(b) what would redouble be?


Ron Klinger web site



Gold Cup = Best 30

Silver Plate = Best 10

Bronze Medal = Best 5












Current standings


643.2 Janne Roos

638.9 Hans Vikman

625.5 Paul Quodomine

617.4 Sally Watson

612.8 Lars Broman

609.9 Bob Short

607.6 Per Andersson

601.1 Jean Wissing

588.6 Derek & Gerard

586.4 Johan Bratsberg

331.8 Janne Roos

329.0 Hans Vikman

321.7 Bob Short

321.0 Per Andersson

320.9 Paul Quodomine

320.7 Sally Watson

316.1 Lars Broman

313.5 Jeremy Watson

312.8 Dave Hurst

312.9 Jean Wissing




4-level pre-empt enough?††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Board 27 from Friday 27th


When deciding how high to pre-empt, one guide is Culbertsonís rule of 2,3,4. At equal vulnerability itís the rule of three which suggests that you should bid to the level where you expect to go three down. So with this West hand (which has 7 tricks) you should compete at the 4-level and so overcall with a pre-emptive 4. However, many people (including me) do not agree with, or bid according to, Culbertsonís classic rules. It is silly to assume that partner has nothing, and (as in this case) it looks quite likely that the opponents may have slam and so bidding higher than Culbertsonís rule suggests is very often the best policy. Also, a hand that has absolutely no defence (as this West hand) should consider pre-empting at a higher level.



Dealer:†††††††††††† QJ9543††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Table A

South ††††††††††††† A963††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West(A)†††† North†††††††† East††††††††† South

Love all††††††††††† 102†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††-†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† -†††††† ††††††† 1†††

††††††††††††††††††††††† 2††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 4†††† (1)††† 4††††† (2)††† dbl†† (3)††† all pass


-†††††††††††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† K862††††††††††††††††† Table B

J74†††††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† K10††††††††††††† †††† West(A)†††† North ††††††† East††† ††††† South

64††††††††††††††††††††††S††††††††††††††† QJ73††††††††††††††††††-†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† -†††††† ††††††† 1

KQJ109643†††††††††††††††††††††††† A85††††††††††††††††††† 5†††† (1)††† 5††††† (4)††† dbl†† (5)††† all pass

††††††††††††††††††††††† A107††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††


AK985†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††



Table A:†††† (1)What did you bid with this West hand A in this weekís quiz? Culbertsonís rule of three indicates that 4 is the bid, and thatís what this West bid.

(2)   Pre-empts always make life difficult and North really has little option but to bid 4 unless you play negative doubles to this level, but with a 6-card suit 4 is still probably best.

(3)   With a defence-orientated hand, East reasonably doubles.

Table B:†††† (1)As I said in the banter at the top of the page, Culbertsonís rules are old hat. I do not consider 4 as high enough and I bid 5.

(4)   North has the same problem but one level higher. Itís all a gamble at this stage (thatís what pre-empting is all about) and North decided to bid 5.

(5)   With a defence-orientated hand, East obviously doubles at this level.


And what happened? 4*=, 5*-2 and 5*-1.

The bottom lines: -

-         Culbertsonís rules are too pessimistic and are rarely applied these days; the modern trend is that you should bid up and pre-empt as high as is reasonable, especially with no defence.

-         It seems reasonable to me to assume that partner can contribute one trick and then apply Culbertsonís rules. But I just look at the vulnerability and use common sense.


Jordan 2NT††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Board 30 from Friday 27th



Dealer:†††††††††††† 5432†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West(B)†††† North†††††††† East††††††††† South

East †††††††††††††††† 1065†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† -††††††††††††††††1††† (1)†††dbl

Love all††††††††††† J985††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††2NT (2)††††† pass†††††††††† 3NT (3)††† all pass††

††††††††††††††††††††††† Q8††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

(1)playing a short , so promising 4+ ís

J8†††††††††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† Q106††††††††††† (2)What did you bid with this West hand B in

A2††††††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† KQ94†††††††††† †††† this weekís quiz? Redouble would show†††††

Q7642†††††††††††††††S††††††††††††††† AK103††††††††††††††9+ points but really should be more

K1062†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 73††††††††††††††††††††† penalty orientated. With just a doubleton

††††††††††††††††††††††† AK97†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† in both majors and length in partnerís suit

J873†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† I prefer a Jordan 2NT, showing +-11 or more

-††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††† points and a sound raise to 3 or better

AJ954††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† (3)Partnerís failure to double implies not much in the majors and therefore something decent in ís and 3NT is clear here.


And what happened? 3NT=twice; at the third table it was 3*+1, presumably when North made a ridiculous pass of a second double by South.

The bottom lines: -

-†††† If RHO doubles partnerís 1-level opening, then 2NT shows a sound raise to 3 (or more) of partnerís suit. This is the Jordon 2NT which is detailed on the website.††††††††††††††

-†††† More experienced players may wish to look up ďInverted Jordan for the MinorsĒ which is written up on the website > conventions > section 2. This would enable East to be declarer in 3NT (preferable with this holding).




Daveís Column†† Here is Daveís first input about the play of the hand.


North†††††††††††††† South†††††††††††††† You are South, declarer in 6. West leads the K which

KQ2†††††††††††† A4††††††††††††††† you win with the A and play the A upon which East††

J1064†††††††††† AK985†††††††† discards a . Can you see any hope of making this contract?

93†††††††††††††††† AJ5††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

AQ102†††††††† K43

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††

††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††



Daveís Column answer††††††††††††† ††††† Board 17 from Wednesday 15th


Dealer:†††††††††††† KQ2†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West †††††††† North†††††††† East††† ††††††† South

North†††††††††††††† J1064†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† pass†††††††††† 1†††††††††††† pass†††††††††† 1

Love all††††††††††† 93†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† pass†††††††††† 2††††††††††††† pass†††††††††† 4NT

††††††††††††††††††††††† AQ102†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† pass†††††††††† 5††† (1)††††† pass†††††††††† 5(2)

pass†††††††††† 6††† (3)††††† all pass

J93†††††††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††† 108765††††††††††

Q732††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††† -†††††††††††††††††††† (1)1 keycard (03,14)

KQ†††††††††††††††††††† S††††††††††††† 1087642†††††††† (2)do you have the trump queen?

J975†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 86 †††††††††††††††† (3)no (a return to the trump suit denies the

††††††††††††††††††††††† A4††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† †††† queen)

AK985†††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††




West leads the K which you win but East shows out when you lead the A, plan the play.

There is a small hope. You have to get rid of two ís with West following suit to all of your winners. For that to succeed, West needs to have at least 3 ís and, crucially, at least 4 ís. So start with the AKQ discarding a . Then lead a to the A and K and finally finesse the 10. You have to take the finesse, a 3-3 split will do you no good. However, if the finesse works you can pitch the last on the Q and then drive out the Q to make the slam.






Daveís 2nd Column†††††††††††† Here is Daveís 2nd input concerning the play of the hand.


Dealer:†††††††††††† A8542†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

East††††††††††††††††† 63†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††††† North†††††††† East††††††††† South

N-S vul††††††††††† Q94††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† -†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† 1††††††††††† pass

††††††††††††††††††††††† 643††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 2††††††††††††† pass†††††††††† 4††††††††††† all pass


KQ106†††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† You are North, defending 4. Partner leads the J†††† which††††

Q104††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† declarer (East) wins with the Q. Declarer cashes the A and

1085†††††††††††††††††† S††††††††††††††† J and then leads a towards dummyís K which you take

752††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† with the A. How do you proceed?


Daveís 2nd Column answer††††††††††††† Board 18 from Wednesday 15th


Dealer:†††††††††††† A8542†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

East††††††††††††††††† 63†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† West††††††† North†††††††† East††††††††† South

N-S vul††††††††††† Q94††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††† -†††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††† 1††††††††††† pass

††††††††††††††††††††††† 643††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† 2††††††††††††† pass†† ††††††† 4††††††††††† all pass


KQ106†††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† 7††††††††††††††††††††††††

Q104††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† AKJ985†††††† ††††

1085†††††††††††† ††††† S††††††††††††††† K73†††††††††††††††††††

752††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† AKQ†††††††††††††††††††††††††

††††††††††† J93††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††


AJ72†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††



††††††††††††††††††††††† 8542†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† This is the position, with you (North) on lead

††††††††††††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† having just won the A, what do you do?†††

††††††††††††††††††††††† Q94††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††

††††††††††††††††††††††† 64††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† i.e. which do you lead?†††


Q106††††††††††††††††† N†††††††††††††† -†††††††††††††††††† Appreciating the need for quick winners††

Q††††††††††††††††††† W††† E††††††††††† K985††††††††††† North led the 4. With the 10 in dummy, East

1085†††††††††††††††††† S††††††††††††††† K73††††††††††††† ducked, South won the J but declarer was now

75††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† AK†††††††††††††† safe, with just one more to lose.††††††

††††††††††† J9†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Would it have mattered if North had led the Q?

-†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Yes and no. It depends upon what happens next.

AJ72††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††But the Q is a much better play. ††††††

1098††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† If East ducks expecting North to have QJ9, he is in for a surprise and a continuation sets the contract.

What if East covers the Q? Itís not over yet, When South wins with the A and boldly underleads his J declarer still has a critical guess. If he finesses dummyís 8 he goes down.


And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 5=, 4=, 3+1 and 2NT+1.



Basic Signals when following suit Ė Pattaya Standard.


A few people have been confused recently about signalling. This topic is covered in more detail on the website > General bridge Topics > Signals in defence.


When partner leads an ace or high card, most people give attitude (indicate if you like him to continue that suit or not) and the majority of players in our club play a low card to encourage.


When the opponents lead a suit to which you can follow, then you should give count (high-low for an even number). So if partnerís first card is fairly high then he is showing 2, 4, or 6 etc. A low card would normally show an odd number. This signal would be confirmed when partner follows to the suit next time; it does no apply to the trump suit..


It is important not to confuse these totally independent treatments. Suppose you are playing Pattaya standard and declarer leads an ace, a low card from you is not encouraging Ė it is simply giving count (an odd number) and a high card would show an even number.


542†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† Example

63†††††††††† ¨DUMMY††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

Q94††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† You are East, defending a contract with these cards left

6††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† and you are playing low to encourage and standard count.


††† N†††††††††††††††† 7†††††††††††††††††† (a)Partner leads the A, which card do you play?†††††

W†††† E†††††††††††† J9†† †††††††††††† (b)Declarer leads the A and plays low from dummy,

†† S††††††††††††††††† J82††††††††††††††††††††† which card do you play?

††††††††††††††††††††††† 752

Remember. It is rare that you want to encourage/discourage a suit that declarer is leading Ė so give count when declarer leads unless you wish to deceive declarer (and partner).


Quiz Answers


Hand A:††† 5. 4 is far too feeble for me.

Hand B:††† 2NT, showing a sound raise to 3 or better. 3 is generally played as weak and pre-emptive. Double would show 9+ points but is a poor choice with 5-card support for partner and doubletons in both majors


Bidding Sequence Quiz


C†††† 2††††† 2NT†††††††††††††††††††††††††† 2NT is natural, +- 16-18 with a stop. It is not the UNT for the minors which is usually a jump in NoTrumps in a situation where it cannot be natural.

D†††† 1††††† dbl†††††† 2NT††††††††††††††(a)2NT is Jordan, showing +-11 or more points in support of ís

(b)redbl would show 9+ points, usually with no support for partner and looking for a penalty.

Signalling Quiz


(a)    the 8, high to discourage.

(b)   the 2, a low card to indicate an odd number in the suit. You cannot signal attitude when it is declarer/dummy who is leading. The 8 would simply show two (or 4 or 6) ís.


 Ron Klinger web site