Our website is www.pattayabridge.com                           Club News Sheet – No. 354

Our blogsite is www.pattayabridge.wordpress.com                                 

My home phone is 038 422924 and my mobile number is 083 6066880              23rd Aug 2009

It is best to use my home number to contact me unless I am at the bridge club.

My e-mail is terry@pattayabridge.com or pattayabridge@yahoo.com

My MSN messenger ID is tj_quested@hotmail.com

Mon 17th      1st    Bill P & Bob S                   58%       2nd =      Hans V & Paul S             57%

                                                                                    2nd =      Janne & Paul Q               57%

Wed 19th      1st    Hans & Janne                     67%       2nd    Guttorm & Sally                     61%

Fri   21st      1st =  Guttorm & Janne                              =      Bob P & Terry Q                   55%

bridge news sheets to news-sheet main page Bridge conventions No Trump bidding book
Pattaya Bridge Club to Pattaya Bridge home page
recommended bridge books reviewed to bridge book reviews to bridge conventions to No Trump bidding
Bridge CD's and bridge games to bridge CD's and computer games and software  



Bidding Quiz                    Standard American bidding is assumed unless otherwise stated.


Hand A           Hand B           With Hand A partner opens 1, what do you do?


Q96              AK3            

54                 Q87              With Hand B you choose to open 1. Partner responds 1NT,

J1098763      AKQ109      what do you bid?

Q                 J4                                        


Hand C           Hand D           With Hand C partner opens 2, what do you do?


K54              83                                              

A84              AK975         With Hand D partner opens 1 and you bid 1. Partner bids

62                 A65              1, what do you do?     

A7632          AJ3


And two problems from Paul’s Column:


Hand E            Hand F            With Hand E you open 1 and partner responds 2, what

do you bid now?

J54               J872                                          

AK5             864               With Hand F partner opens 1, what do you bid?

AK743         K74                                     

KJ                Q108



Bidding Sequence Quiz


G     1      dbl     1                   Is 1 forcing?

H     1      dbl     2                   Is 2 forcing?

J      1      pass   1      pass

1      pass   3                    Is 3 forcing?

Ron Klinger web site


A 2nd bite at the cherry                                        Board 27 from Friday 21st   


A sound maxim is to always immediately raise partner’s pre-empt when holding three trumps. A belated raise by North at table A proved disastrous on this deal.


Dealer:             K54                                            Table A

South               A84                                            West          North(C)    East          South

Love all            62                                              -                 -                 -               2         

                        A7632                                        pass           pass (1)      2            pass

pass           3    (2)      4            pass

83                       N               AQJ62                5              all pass

J105               W    E            2                       

K9874                S                AQJ103             Table B

KJ8                                      105                    West          North(C)    East          South

1097                                           -                 -                 -               2

KQ9763                                     pass           3    (1)      pass         3   

5                                                all pass



Table A:     (1)  What did you bid with this North hand C in this week’s quiz? Presumably North was hoping that 2 would be passed out, but this is not a good idea as it gives the opposition more bidding space.

                  (2)  This is unwise – it should have been bid last time.

Table B:     (1)  This North simply raised partner’s pre-empt, this is virtually always correct when holding three trumps and made it difficult for E-W here.


And what happened? 5=, 4= and 3+1. The bottom lines: -

-         It is usually best to immediately raise partner’s pre-empt when holding three trumps.

-         To pass and later raise partner is a bad idea (unless you have the values to double them later); the opponents have had room to exchange information and are more likely to know what to do.


Paul’s Column.                                         Some strange bidding from Friday 21st


On board 1 my partner and I had a fortunate misunderstanding.  Holding J54 AK5 AK743 KJ (Hand E) I naturally opened 1.  The opponents passed throughout and partner responded with 2.  I now had to choose a rebid.  Any number of NT would be ludicrous with J54 in an unnamed suit, a raise would be possible but a card short, and a rebid also a card short.  The obvious answer?  2!  Partner cannot pass this after responding 2 so it must show values in ’s.  Partner's next call was 3NT holding KQx xx xx AQ109xx.  I of course raised to 6NT with my fitting cards and solid quick tricks as well as a helper.  He later stated that after my "reverse" he felt justified in bidding game on only 11 hcp.  But what would I have bid after a 2 response holding xx AKxx AQxxx xx?  Surely 2.  2 was not a "reverse" but merely a temporizing bid showing heart values and allowing partner to bid out his/her hand.

Terry’s Comment. Regarding the xx AKxx AQxxx xx hand I would rebid 2 if partner considers 2 as showing reversing values. A reverse shows extras (15+) and your partner’s bidding was fine unless you have agreed that a reverse after a two-level response does not show extras. I (and many two-over-one system players have this agreement but it is just that – it has to be agreed). Also, you have to agree if partner’s 3NT is stronger than 2NT (assuming that 2 was a strong bid or else playing 2/1 so the auction is game forcing). In addition, I do dot agree that 3NT as a rebid is ‘ludicrous’. Partner has promised 11+ and must surely have something in ’s, although a slam might be missed and I agree with your 2 rebid provided you have the necessary agreements with partner.


      On board 4 an opponent heard his partner open 1 and holding J872 864 K74 Q108 (Hand F) after a pass bid what?  1? 2?  (They were playing 5 card major openings).  No, this self-proclaimed expert who is critical of everyone at the table picked a non-forcing 1NT!  When we bought the contract in 2, making, their 6-3 heart fit had been lost and 3 was making.

Terry’s comment. 1NT is totally ludicrous of course. With a weakish hand with three trumps worth only one bid it is standard practice to support partner rather than introduce the suit.


On board 21, which my partner and I did not play, we did note that one N/S pair holding J10 A10874 KJ2 A98 opposite AK754 KQJ65 Q105 -  managed to propel themselves all the way to 3 missing the cold slam in the 5-5 fit.  That would have been an interesting auction to see!

Terry’s comment. I don’t know their auction. At our table we interfered with an Unusual NoTrump, competed to 5, and they stopped in 5. I assume that there was similar interference and the pair you cite could not cope.


On board 26 an artificial opening showing both majors, weak, led the vulnerable opponents to play in 2 with a trump suit of J10962 opposite 73.  Why do people think these methods improve their game?  -300 against nothing.

Terry’s comment. Both sides were vulnerable and with a suit this poor I agree. These methods can work, but you have to be disciplined, especially when vulnerable. Anyway, people can play whatever conventions they like at our club.

It’s not forcing                                                      Board 7 from Friday 21st    


If you know that your side has values for game (and partner does not), then don’t make an invitational bid – make sure that any bid you make is either a game bid or else forcing.


Dealer:             83                                               Table A

South               AK975                                       West          North(D)    East          South

both vul            A65                                           -                 -                 -               1         

                        AJ3                                            pass           1              pass         1

pass           3    (1)      pass         pass (2)

J1097                 N               Q54                    all pass

J8432             W    E            Q10                  

J4                       S                Q98                   Table B

K5                                       109742              West          North(D)    East          South

AK62                                         -                 -                 -               1

6                                                 pass           1              pass         1   

K10732                                     pass           3NT   (1)    all pass



Table A:     (1)  What did you bid with this North hand D in this week’s quiz? This is a poor bid for two reasons – first: is should show a good 6-card suit; and second it is not forcing! If you really want to make a forcing bid in ’s, then bid 2, 4th suit forcing, and then ’s which I play as game forcing.

                  (2)  With a minimal opener and a singleton trump South obviously passed.

Table B:     (1)  This North simply bid what he thought he could make and this is the most obvious answer to question D.


And what happened? 3NT+1 twice, 3=.

The bottom lines: -

-         A jump in a previously bid suit is generally invitational, to make it forcing go via 4th suit forcing.



Dave’s Column           Here is Dave’s first on the play of the hand.


North               South                 You are South, declarer in 3NT. West leads the 5,

plan the play.

AK3             984

Q87              KJ2

AKQ109      532

J4                 Q532


Dave’s Column answer                Board 25 from Wednesday 19th


Dealer:             AK3                                           Book bidding

North               Q87                                            West          North(B)    East            South

E-W vul           AKQ109                                   -                 1    (1)      pass           1NT   (2)

                        J4                                               pass           3NT (3)      all pass


J2                       N             Q10765          (1)  2NT is a reasonable alternative.     

A10653          W    E          94                   (2)  Even with this lousy shape, with 6 points

J764                   S              8                           South must respond.

K8                                     A10976          (3)  What did you rebid with this North hand B

                        984                                             in this week’s quiz? This 3NT is correct,

KJ2                                           3 as chosen at one table is not enough.


Q532                                   West leads the 5, plan the play.       


You seem to have nine easy tricks with two ’s, two ’s and five ’s. And that is what the original declarer assumed. He won the first trick in hand, played a to dummy’s Q and cashed the K. East’s discard was a blow. Suddenly South realized that he did not have an entry to take the finesse. One down.

The correct play is simple… provided that you think of it at trick one. Play the Q on the opening lead. If East wins then you have two entries to the South hand. Here the Q wins and you play two top ’s, when the bad break appears you can force a entry to hand to take the marked finesse.


And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 3NT-2 twice, 1+2 and 3=.




Dave’s 2nd Column       Here is Dave’s 2nd input on the play of the hand.


West                East                      You are East, declarer in 3NT.                                      

A3                KQ3                 South leads the 4 and North plays the K.

652               A7                    Plan the play.

Q108            KJ953                                  

AJ654          K32                              


Dave’s 2nd Column answer              Board 26 from Wednesday 19th  


Dealer:             87654                                         Book bidding

East                  KJ9                                            West          North         East            South

both vul            A42                                           -                 -                 1NT           pass

                        97                                              3NT           all pass


A3                      N             KQ3            

652                 W    E          A7                  South leads the 4, plan the play.

Q108                  S              KJ953                  

AJ654                                K32                    







The key is to determine how their ’s are divided. Based on the opening lead, if North has the 3, ’s are 4-4 and it’s safe to attack ’s as the opponents can take only 3 ’s and a . But if South has the 3, ’s are 5-3 and it is no longer safe to attack ’s; four ’s and one will be lost. You must attack ’s for 5 tricks.

Duck the first . If North returns the 3 indicating that ’s are 4-4, your troubles are over (play on ’s). If North returns some other and South plays the 3, indicating a 5 card suit, try the ’s. If North returns the J then take the ace and watch if South plays the 3 or not.


And what happened at the Pattaya Bridge Club? 3NT+1, 3NT= and 3NT-1 twice.


The bottom lines:

-     The normal card for third hand to return with two remaining cards in partner’s suit is the higher. With three cards remaining the lower, this helps opening leader (and declarer) to know how the suit is dividing. But in this actual example North would have returned the J if holding KJ103 originally.


The weak jump shift                                             Board 24 from Monday 17th


A jump shift (say 1 p 2) traditionally shows a strong hand with a good suit. These days the more disruptive Weak Jump Shift is becoming more and more popular, and it proved very effective on this deal.


Dealer:             10875                                         West          North         East(A)    South

West                AJ83                                          1             pass           2    (1)    pass

Love all            AQ                                            pass           pass


(1)  A weak jump shift. A 6-7 card suit and

KJ2                    N               Q96                    insufficient points to respond 1.

Q102              W    E            54                

K5                      S                J1098763     

A10853                                Q                






And what happened? 2= twice, 3+1(S) twice and 3*(S)=.

The bottom lines: -

-         In my opinion the weak jump shift is more useful that the strong one (it comes up more often). One North asked me if it should have been alerted (he assumed it was strong). At our club we alert the unusual and a weak jump shift is very popular. I believe that under ACBL rules the weak jump shifts need alerting but am not sure (everything changes all of the time). I guess it’s safest to alert (or ask about) any jump shift as it could be played either way and I have no idea, nor desire to know, the latest WBF rules on this.



Bidding Quiz Answers


Hand A:    2, provided that you play weak jump shifts.

Hand B:    3NT. 3 is not forcing and does not show the power of this hand.

Hand C:    3. It’s virtually always correct to raise partner’s pre-empt when you hold three trumps.

Hand D:    3NT. This is the simple ‘obvious’ bid. An alternative is to bid 2, 4th suit forcing, to make the auction game forcing. What you do not do is bid 3 which is not forcing and partner may (did) pass.


And the two problems posed by Paul, with his answers:


Hand E:    2. Any number of NT would be ludicrous with J54 in an unnamed suit, 3 and 2 would both promise an extra card in the suit.

Hand F:     2. The 1NT found at the table is silly.


Bidding Sequence Quiz Answers


G     1     dbl     1                    1 is forcing…

H     1     dbl     2                   …but 2 is not forcing (redbl with a good hand).

J      1     pass   1      pass       3 is invitational. If you want to bid ’s as game forcing, then

1      pass   3                    bid 2 (4th suit) and then bid ’s over partner’s response.



Current club championship standings



Gold Cup = Best 30

Silver Plate = Best 10

Bronze Medal = Best 5











1890.8 Janne Roos

1875.8 Hans Vikman

1838.7 Paul Quodomine

1789.8 Sally Watson

673.8 Janne Roos

672.4 Hans Vikman

649.3 Paul Quodomine

633.8 Sally Watson

619.9 Jeremy Watson

618.1 Bob Short

615.1 Lars Broman

614.1 Ivy Schlageter

611.3 Gerard Hardy 

611.3 Derek Tyms

350.7 Hans Vikman

350.6 Janne Roos

333.3 Paul Quodomine

324.5 Sally Watson

321.8 Ivy Schlageter

321.7 Bob Short

321.7 Jeremy Watson

321.0 Per Andersson

316.9 Terje Lie

316.1 Lars Broman



 Ron Klinger web site